BMW Dual Sport Reviews on Cycle Insider (91)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with BMW Dual Sport Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Les from South Florida says:

Cons: heavy heavy bike would not recommend for a new rider, repairs and maintenance are not exactly user friendly, top heavy difficult to handle in ti

Read More (91 reviews)

Have you owned a BMW Dual Sport? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

Voted Most Helpful Review 2003 BMW K 1200 LT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Cons: heavy heavy bike would not recommend for a new rider, repairs and maintenance are not exactly user friendly, top heavy difficult to handle in tight and close quarters. Pros: extremely smooth motorcycle, meant for hundreds of miles a day with no problems, the weight seems to disappear when at speed, "drive it like you stole it"!
- Les, South Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-12-22 2003 BMW R1150R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The BMW R1150R is a marvel of handling, quickness, and power. All of the reviews I read did the bike no justice at all. The bike I found using Cycle Trader is in excellent condition and delivers great bang for the buck. There were only 13 to 15 bikes of this model listed nationwide at any given time. The R1150R I found was within 100 miles of me and was about midrange in price. The Bike is fantastic, the dealership, not so much, but that is another story. Like all BM's, you think turn and the bike is halfway through. When I twist the throttle the bike not only moves, it jumps. The reviews said it would not win any races and was a bit heavy. Bull*&@3. This bike is definitely fast and light weight. The exhaust note, while not a Harley, has a bark and the tail pipe is stainless steel. The last BM I had back in '78, had a problem with rusty pipes. Hopefully, gone are those days. After reading everything I could on the R1150R, I am very, very surprised at the overall speed and agility.
- Bernie Camp, Central Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-08-13 2003 BMW K1200 LT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Cons: very top heavy and tricky to handle in tight quarters, difficult to maintain because of all the "tupperware". Pros: very smooth bike, extremely comfortable for long distance rides, can take a lot of hard riding and not even breathe hard love my K1200LT
- Les, Fort Lauderdale

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2016-03-05 2003 BMW K1200 LT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
CONS: If considering a 1200LT you must have a minimum inseam of 32 inches. The Front seat is limited in its height adjustments and only go up from there. BMW does make a low profile seat that might get you an extra 1-1.5 inches but for an extra $300. If you ride 2-up; You might want to consider the passenger weight... Pref less than 175lbs. as they sit higher than you and the center of balance is high. You have to get rolling to a min of @ 7mph before the handling feels comfortable. Also, alot of parts to remove for services. PROS: Agile pleasure once rolling! All issues so far have been minor and inexpensive to repair for competent handy-person. (Owned from 25kmi-34kmi.-today) MODS: Added a battery disconnect. for winter/extended storage.
- Anonymous, NC

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-12-25 2003 BMW K 1200 RS (ABS) Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I started riding again and recently bought a 2005 R1100S. It's a great bike for short rides. I started to do 300+ miles per day and got too sore after the ride. It could just be I'm not as young as I used to be. This past fall I purchased a used RS and 500-mile days are now followed by dinner and dancing with my wife. This bike has it all; looks, speed, handling and all day comfort. Switched to city lids and carry just enough for a quick change of clothes and snacks. If I had to choose just one bike, the R1100S would have to go.
- Rich Adua, Madison, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-26 2003 BMW R 1200 CL -Custom Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my R1200CLC for just over 2 years, I am more than happy with the performance of this machine. I generally use the machine for touring this bloody big country I live in and I have to say its performance is fantastic. The comfort levels are great, to the point that my wife accompanies me on all my rides now, something that she wasn't keen to do on previous machines. The braking ability of this machine is phenomenal, especially when you live in a country where kangaroos and emus feature high on the road kill register. Economy (m.p.g.) is a plus, it can be some distance between petrol stations. I have fitted a towbar and now tow a Shadow Trailer when we go camping (Shadow Trailers are built in South Australia, check them out) and it can be fully laden and not be a drag on the machine. I applaud BMW on this machine.
- Brian TODD, VICTOR HARBOR, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-18 2003 BMW R 1100 S BoxerCup Replika Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Got my '04 BoxerCup new. Street riding is way cool. Have about 10,000 mi on it now. The only part of the bike that sucks are the shocks. Although others have written about low power and feel of the assisted braking system, on a short track like Infineon, it works well enough to make RC51 riders give you an unsolicited high 5 after you beat them to the corners and execute -the pass. When you get it-you know what to do. The Grin Factor, it feels great.
- Ace Olfre, San Francisco, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-28 2003 BMW R 1150 RT (ABS) Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am a police motor officer in NC and we just acquired a fleet of 2006 1150rt's. The bikes are amazing. I just got back from a two week motor school and took the bike through mud, sand and tons of low speed course work. The bike performed as good or better than the Harleys or Hondas. It's a little top heavy in the low speed tight turns but once you master that, it's a great bike. Performance is top notch, just wished it had a little more inspiring exhaust note. Can't imagine better brakes.
- shawn, winston salem, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-04 2003 BMW K 1200 LT-C Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2003 K1200LTC used with 1800 miles on it and have about 6800 on it now. This includes a trip from Austin to Arizona and back. This bike is so smooth and comfortable on a long trip and handled the winding highways in OK and AR with amazing dexterity, especially considering we were riding 2 up and loaded with clothing for a 5 day trip. Plenty of power and cross winds are no big deal. The bike does feel top heavy at speeds under 10 mph. Above that speed, the weight disappears and the bike becomes extraodinarily nimble, especially for a bike this size and weight. While the seating position is generally quite comfortable, I need to stretch my legs after about 100 miles in the saddle. Overall, a very well-built, well-engineered machine that delivers a wonderful riding experience.
- Ron S., Austin, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-12-07 2003 BMW K 1200 RS (ABS) Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After owning three Hondas, the last one being an Africa Twin, I went to BMW for a bit more power, in the form of the GS1150 Adventure. I ordered the bike with full extras. Since there were no bikes in stock for a test ride, I was told to go to Nicosia, 66 miles way, to test ride one they had there. However, while I was waiting to ride the GS, I couldn't avoid being drawn to the slier and red beast (K1200RS). I asked if I could test ride it, the dealer obliged. I went for a 10 mile run with it and on arriving back at the dealers, I was grinning from ear to ear. I changed my order without even test riding the GS. I initially bought the RS with the intention of keeping it for one year and then part exchanging it for the GS, as I originally wanted. Two years and 20,000 Km down the road, I just can't seem to get enough of it. The seating position is great offering plenty of comfort on long rides and plenty of power on tap. The brakes are second to none! The only logical thing seems to be to buy the GS and keep the RS too. I just can't get rid of it.
- Richard Didonian, Limassol, Cyprus

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-11-22 2003 BMW K 1200 RS (ABS) Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike just keeps getting better the longer I ride it, the engine is breaking in just right. I know BMW has stopped production of the bike in this form. For sport touring, this bike is great. I spent 3 days riding in the rain and the bike handled perfectly in the mountains of NC, I might add. I though of buying a K12s, but I test rode it and decided that my RS is the love of my life. No mechanical problems, but I've gone through two sets of tires.
- Me again, Greensboro, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-19 2003 BMW F 650 GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
In less than 3 months, I've put 5,225 miles on this bike, and tested it a little in the dirt. As my first "big" bike (my other is a DRZ-200), I love it. It handles and runs well, has good brakes and great mileage (65-70 MPG, depending on how fast I'm running). This bike has ruined me for all other makes. 532 miles was my longest ride - very comfy! Oh, and great service from my dealer. Thanks guys!
- Michelle, Scottsdale, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-16 2003 BMW F 650 GS Dakar Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
In all respects, the bike is great. I've taken it on long trips riding 300-450 a day, loaded with the set of bags or sometimes unloaded but two up, and sometimes in dirt roads. Every mile it has been a pleasure riding it. I wouldn't venture with it on very rough dirt roads (I've got a smaller dual sport for that), though I'm sure if I replaced the Tourance/T66 with knobbies it would do fine in most cases. I did have some problems, all fixed under warranty, and the dealer was very helpful here: instrument panel replaced as the odometer mileage would most often reset 1-2 miles less after each trip. Mirrors (the old ones, no longer made, sometimes flipped over at high speeds/acceleration), also a piece of trim on tank fell off, and I need to put it back (I got a new set under warranty). Mechanically, it's superb otherwise, and I like the engine purr. I got over 60 mi /gal quite often.
- anonymous, boise, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-13 2003 BMW K 1200 LT-E Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm a proud owner who enjoys the ride and handling of this bike. Buyers: be aware that the final drive has a bad reputation. The rear brake rotor is poorly designed that equates to brake squeal and becomes so loose that it sounds like it will fall off any moment. The radio display window becomes etched over time and requires much care. The factory seat is much better than in years past but still pinches on long rides. Rider position while ergonomically correct for short rides still falls short on the long haul. Jpegs (Hwypegs) are a joke. All this aside, I wouldn't own another brand bike of any type.
- David Bailey, Fayetteville, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-07 2003 BMW R 1200 CL Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
An excellent motorcycle. Highway driving is a pleasured. The engine specs (61HP) seems low yet this bike feels like it has much more. Some reviews claim that this bike has no passing power, nothing can be further from the truth, lots of passing power at any speed. Very light weight bike compared to other cruisers on the market. Driving at 120 to 130KM/hr just feels great. Claimed top speed (160Km/hr) is also incorrect, this bike will easily exceed 180Km/hr. This bike is comfortable to ride. Stopping/Breaking is unmatched by any other cruiser I've ever driven and the suspension, front and rear, is perfect for my weight. No flexing of the frame at any speed . Headlights are bright and excellent for night riding. I do find the engine a bit noisy but the exhaust and wind noises are so minimal it's hard to complain. The windshield design is a bit strange, it works well for deflecting the wind yet I found the rain to be a problem. The front end stability is more than impressive with no diving under any braking. Low speed handling takes a little getting use to. Brakes are great yet extremely sensitive and also take a bit of getting use to. Gas mileage(>55 Mpg)is very good. What I like the most about this bike is that it attract a lot of attention, is very different and there are not many of these bikes around. Overall I am extremely satisfied with this bike and I would recommend it.
- C. Thibeault, Welland, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-03 2003 BMW R 1200 CL Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike has been everything I could have hoped for. I commute with it and use it for pleasure. Love the 6th gear, heated seat, heated grips, ABS brakes, comfort, and 4 headlights.
- Brent, Statesboro, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-17 2003 BMW K 1200 LT-E Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My 4th and final bike! Meets and exceeds all expectations. Gave it a "4" on performance ONLY because its not as responsive as the rockets! It will get to whatever speed you think might be neccessary, Just give it a moment after 60 MPH. But go ahead and pull out in front of that truck if you wish.
- Jeff Reagor, Turlock, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-18 2003 BMW F 650 GS Dakar Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have previously owned a R100GS (34000mi)a R1100GS (36000mi)and a R1150GS (6000mi)and have enjoyed ridding all these bikes, hence the purches of the F650GS Dakar. I down sized because I had moved to the mountains to which I used to commute, and for my recreational ridding up and down the old mining roads of the Sierra's exploring old gost towns in the mountains. I have not been disapointed with this bike in as much in what I purchased it for. It's lighter than the last two GS twins so it's a little easier to ride on dirt roads. (more fun to explore with)It's as comfortable as any of the other three GS modles I have owned. (Great seat)And although I would like to see just a little more power (maybe an HP modle?)it has adequate power for its intended purpose and my ridding style (but when was "too much, too much?" BMW has added the heated grips to the 2005 Dakar modle, but still really need to add a center stand to the Dakar! Great bike, I have had lots of fun on it. Great stuff
- Cliff Bellas, Paradise, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-14 2003 BMW R 1150 RT (ABS) Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently purchased this bike from it's original owner and I am loving it more everyday. I am not a "snooty" person, but when I am riding it, I feel like I am part of an elite club. I have yet to see another one of these bikes on the road, and of the ones I have seen for sale online, very few of them have been the Titan silver color. This bike epitomizes sexy and sleek, is so easy to ride, has plenty of power for rapid acceleration onto an on-ramp, and all of the ammenities that are included standard have been great. The bike is rock solid and like a fighter jet.
- JMP, Corinth, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-26 2003 BMW R 1200 CL -Custom Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The only two things I can think of that are even remotly negative are the fork mounted fairing (causes bike to be a little clunky and awkward but only at parking lot speed) and the lack of a good (meaning economical) place to put highway pegs. I love this bike and can cruise all day long and still be ready to ride some more.
- James, Yukon, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-21 2003 BMW F 650 GS Dakar Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Mine is a 2003 with no ABS. I've got 8000 miles on it with no problems. Very slight surge in mid range that I cured completely by better fuel and using a cleaner to keep the injector clean. I cruise all day getting from one area to another at 80+ mph and push the bike pretty hard. After riding other big singles, this is THE thumper to have if you need to cover any real distance since it is so smooth at speed. I replaced the original Metzlers with Avon Distanzias. Made a big difference on the pavement, tracked straighter and kept a line. Not so good in the dirt though. I run two sets of big lights, and the 400 watt alt keeps right up. The seat is a little too firm for me, and I don't like the narrow footpegs. I'm a big guy and would like to be able to add more preload to the rear shock. It's too soft when I'm all loaded up on a trip. The Dakar takes a load WAY better than a KLR or XR and I like the accessories availablity. I have had NO problems, and as I said I run it pretty hard. I would highly recommend the DAKAR for anyone who likes to cover some country, on the street or two track fire trails. It is an excellent machine for combination requirements, it's just not a dirt racer.
- jdg, twin falls , Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-10 2003 BMW K 1200 RS (ABS) Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
As a premise for this review: I ride with GSXR 750's, GSXR600's, R1's and Hayabusa's. Most of the riding done on this bike is on the top end of street sport riding. The bike itself is capable of keeping up with top notch bikes and most of the riders on them. Put a skilled track junkie on an R1 and you are sunk, but 99% of the population on that level of motorcycle only exploits the bottom 40% of its potential. You need to be revving over 2k for a brisk start. Hammer the throttle at 1,000 RPM and the motor will say "whaaaat?" and you won't go very far till 3,000 rpm. The motor is very satisfying from 2,000 to 9,000 rpm and if you keep it between 5 and 8k you can boogie with the big boys for sure. The bike is very comfortable, and it is VERY satisfying to be able to ride hard and fast ALL day long. You can literally trade in one set of exhausted and sore GSXR riders for a second set and keep going nonstop. The motorcycle is heavy, very heavy, and that weight translates into almost herculean effort in switchbacks. No kidding, stay on the balls of your feet and use Keith Code's "Pivot Steering". That being said, it is an outstanding sport tourer, it is fast, comfortable and handles like a dream.
- Scott Poole, Tampa, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-25 2003 BMW R 1150 GS Adventure Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Have had just about every GS sold in America. This new Adventure towers over the original 1000. It's a huge bike with 8 gallons of fuel. I bought it for its looks alone. I wasn't sure about the knobbies, but it was no problem cruising at 90 mph, very smooth with no vibration in the handles. It's not quite broken in yet, but runs well. Wheelies easily in first and second gear. Have a Corbin seat, Aluminum sidebars, larger windshield (C. Bailey 4"taller, 4"wider) which keeps the wind off on the highway, and a tank bag. You won't see too many bikes like this around and it gets a lot of looks. People aren't quite sure what it is. that's okay by me. Could use a little more power, thinking about the chip and a pipe but don't want it too noisey. Will probably go with the street tires next, even though I like the knobby look, will probably be a little bit smoother and handle a little better. This bike keeps up with most and is great for large riders. I like the looks of this much better than the new GS 1200, but may get one of those for my wife. I wish someone would make an "under the seat" exhaust for this bike.
- Steve R, Delray Beach, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-21 2003 BMW F 650 CS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I went into the bike shop with NO intentions of buying a bike, especially anything other than a cruiser. Low and behold, just like women, all it took was a wink and a whisper in my ear and I fell in love. :) There she was, ready for me to ride her home. What a beautifully sculpted body! I completely freaked out when I saw the odometer with only 600 miles on it! The girl that had it before was too short to ride it, I heard. So, I took her to BMW, had the service done, put a couple hundred miles on her this month and now I'm waiting for the rain to stop! I have experienced nothing but joy with this CS. I dream about her and have even woken up talking about her, leaving the person laying next to me wondering who the hell I'm talking about! An amazing ride, to wrap it up. I completely recommend it. The CS comes factory equipped with the touring tires, but they can put on an off-road set that's specifically for the CS. Mine has the touring suspension as well, so as far as I can tell, it's a touring bike! Albeit, a small touring bike, but it's SO comfortable, who cares?!
- Sharon Vrla, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-24 2003 BMW K 1200 GT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my K1200GT on Oct 1, 2004 and I've been having a great time. The bike is smooth, powerful, refined, and extremely comfortable on 350 mile trips. The heated grips and seat, cruise control and adjustable windshield are fantastic! I just returned from a trip to NJ, and several 3 series BMWs kept coming close to get a better look. I was cruising between 80-90MPH in temperatures around 45 degrees with heavy cross winds - the bike was unperturbed, and solid. It takes those winding roads flawlsessly, and inspires confidence in every situation. I plan to own this bike for years to come!
- Sifu Kai, Severn, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: