Ducati Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (44)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Ducati Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Ducati Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2009-10-17 2003 Ducati 999s Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
As a vee twin lover, I have always wanted a duke and I find the 999 series to be more comfortable as a daily use bike than previous models. The handling and acceleration is just awesome.
- Keith Rowley, Cape Town, South Africa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-24 2003 Ducati Monster 800s i.e. Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I only bought a second hand Duc because there are not many main dealers here selling big bikes. So I had no preconceptions about Ducati or Monsters. Since I bought my bike nine months ago, I just love it more and more. Once you get your confidence, the acceleration is blistering. Worst thing is the sore hand with the clutch in heavy traffic. What's this about a clutch recall?
- Alex McGuigan, General Trias, Philippines

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-28 2003 Ducati Monster 800s i.e. Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great bike maybe not the highest horsepower but it puts the power it has to very good use. It is very fast. I haven't had any problems. Fantastic brakes and handling. This bike feels like an extension of the rider. It goes wherever you point it as fast as you want it. If you want something different, this is it. It holds you like an Italian lover and is just as expensive, but worth it.
- John Cappiello, Branford, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-12-02 2003 Ducati Monster 800s i.e. Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the finest machine and the best ride I have ever been on. And I have had 9 others, from supersport to cruisers. It is nimble, powerful, has great comfort for all day and torque on command. I've never had any problems at all with it. It's great with two up, though the back seat I was told needs help. Forget the specs, it just has a great feel and sound. It is a keeper.
- Steve Vivino, Uhrichsville, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-11-21 2003 Ducati Monster 620 i.e. Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My Monster was my first motorcycle. I have put 2k miles on it since purchase. For a person unfamiliar with motorcycles, it feels quite fast at first. Eventually, however, you will want a more potent mill. On the other hand, every other aspect of this bike is solid gold. It has the look, feel, sound (!), and manners of a perfect bike. I originally bought it for commuting, but the Ducati culture will suck you in! I'll probably buy a different bike soon, but by different I mean a Monster with a bigger motor. By all means, though, this is the best place to START.
- desmonick, Columbia, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-13 2003 Ducati Monster 620 i.e. Dark Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had nothing but a smile on my face from day 1. I bought the bike with 2 miles on it and it has broken in quite nicely. What I really love about the bike is the torque and power in the low gears. This bike was made to carve corners. With that said the only draw backs I have found with this bike is the stock pipe set up. I find myself scraping the pipes when I am leaning into sharp corners. This problem can be cured with the installation of high mount pipes. Also I know they went with a 6 speed tranny in the 2004. Very smart, because I find myself looking for 6th all the time.
- Jake Days, Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-19 2003 Ducati Monster 1000s i.e. Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my '03 M1000DS last September and rode it home the next day, clocking 500+ miles. It's not perfect but if you make mods (bars, seats, etc.) to make it fit you, you'll love the bike. This is my fourth Ducati and I get bored with bikes pretty quickly (six bikes in the last 4 years) and I can honestly say I plan on keeping this bike for many, many years.
- Jimbo, San Francisco, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-11 2003 Ducati 998 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First of all, I must confess that I am a sport touring person more that a sport bike rider. In fact, previously I was riding a BMW R1100SA. I decided to change bikes for 2 reasons: First I was not riding that much, so it did not make sense to ride every now and then with a brand new sport tourer just sitting in my garage. I initially got it for commute purposes. Also, the BMW is a bit heavy, which makes it difficult or challenging to just take it out just to get coffee in the neighborhood. Anyway, initially I was reluctant to get a sport bike because they are not comfortable. (My BMW was a 2004 with just 1000 miles on it and I traded it in for a Ducati). However, when I saw the Ducati 998 Matrix in dark green that perspective changed. I did not want a typical red sport bike because I felt that over time I would get tired of looking at it. Also, everyone has a red Ducati or sport bike. At first, riding the 998 was uncomfotable and I felt sore and tired. However, with each time that I rode the bike I adjusted more and more to its riding position. The bike is so much fun and fast. It looks so cool! This is the one bike that I enjoy looking at as much as riding it. Sometimes, I just go out into the garage with my coffee and just look at it and sit on it and start the bike up. Some nights I can't sleep knowing that I am going for a ride. I assure you 15 minutes on this bike and you feel completley satisfied.
- Paul Wright, Vallejo, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-08 2003 Ducati Monster 620 i.e. Dark Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm not a fan of the cookie cutter Japanese bikes. Ducati's have personality. I love my bike, the only complaint I have is the seat. Not too comfy on longer rides. When I tell people I have a "Ducati", their faces light up with interest.
- mike, san diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-11 2003 Ducati 999 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned a 999 for over a year now. Early models had a problematic dash. Mine was replaced. I've ridden other makes with similar early model "opportunities" so I'm forgiving. Maybe the real reason I'm forgiving is the bike simply over delivers as a sporting ride. Cornering, handling, suspension, thrust, and performance -- it all comes together on this bike. So do the looks. Not a me-too. The ergonomics are friendlier than the 998 Superbike model it replaced, but the attitude is still aggressive... this also makes sense when the Ducati comes into its realm -- at speed on a sporting ride or at the track.
- sfarson, Bailey, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-21 2003 Ducati 998 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my red 998 on March 15th 2003. Pulling away from the shop on that warm sunny day as a dozen other bikers looked on wishing that they were me, was something I'll never forget! Make no bones; while I do like to ride a bit, I'm absolutely in awe of the looks of this bike. Everywhere I go on it, people stare in an almost rude fashion. Looks wise, it don't get better than this in my opinion! I ran the bike in carefully, but in a record time of about two weeks, I had some time off work, the weather was good and I couldn't stay off the bike. Last summers riding was ace; the bike's handling is better than any bike I've ever ridden. Going through town is a bit of a pain at times but at the end of the day, whoever bought a 998 to poodle through town? I have no drama's getting my knee down and twisties I used to love on other bikes are simply awesome on the 998. I seem to find myself getting very frustrated at times due to other traffic such as cars, its then I realize that this bike is just so quick you tend to catch up with absolutely everything on the road! Reliability wise, I had one minor drama only 2 weeks after I bought the bike and god knows to this day what happened. Basically the bike wouldn't start. A bump start sorted this in a matter of seconds and its never failed to start again. Reliability superb in my opinion!!! In summary, this is one sexy sports bike and pose wise, it simply has to be near the top of the pile! To ride it leaves me an excitable, babbling buffoon as its precise handling and power rush absolutely thrills me to the core every time I take it out! Lads, the proof is in the pudding, my bike is 11 months and 1 week old; it's absolutely immaculate, still looks brand new but has 11,497 all dry miles on it already! I can't stay off it.
- Dave Marrs, Lincs, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-16 2003 Ducati 998 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'll tell you this bike is fantastic. My yellow 998 Testastretta is the ultimate combination of engine and classic good looks, You can keep your 999 and I'll keep my 998, forever; especially with cycle cat adjustable bars, Ducati Corse rearsets and Carbon Fiber Termignoni's with chip, Carbon Fiber airbox and better breathing air filter, Carbon Fiber intake runners with no restrictors, add a liberal sprinkling of carbon, and some black 10 spoke Marchesinis and this bike will keep me entertained for the next 10 years and then it will be a classic. I kid you not.
- yellow duc, new york, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-16 2003 Ducati Monster 800s i.e. Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Absolutely phenominal! Torque is beyond comprehension. Very easy to ride and handles like nothing else. Higher costs of ownership are forgotten everytime the throttle is twisted. Just over 3k in 3 months and no complaints.
- N STCYR, WORCESTER, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-08 2003 Ducati 999s Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have loved the Ducati for many years. My first Ducati I saw was a 750 Paso. It was beautiful with the huge fairing all in red. I then got heavly into Superbike / 500 GP racing and following all manufactures and riders. I saw the Ducati 851 materialize into 888, 916, 996, 998, and the 999. I knew I wanted a Ducati when in 1994 the Ducati 916 was released. Was there any other bike in history that made more of a impact than a Ducati 916? I think not. Anyways, I have had many new motorcycles with 88' Suzuki GSX-R 750, 91' Suzuki GSX-R 750, 95' Honda CBR900RR, 97' Suzuki GSX-R 600, 03' Yamaha R6 and now a Ducati 999s. I still have the Yamaha and what a great bike that is but there is something magical with the Ducati. It doesn't only say that it is beautiful but that it has class as well. All of the Ohlins components work great. The Brembo brakes stop fast with great feedback. The bike pulls like a John Deere tractor from idle and screams like a Banshee on top. Transmission is flawless. My only complaint is adjusting the desmo valvetrain for the first time. I have vast experiance working on motorcycles but if you don't have a STRONG understanding of the way things work mechanically then I suggest that you not even attempt it and take it to your local Ducati dealer for the valves intervals. With Eric Bostrom representing the US Superbike Series on a fully factory backed Ducati 999 things are looking a little better here in America. The WSB series is really the Ducati Cup anyways so I am not worried there. Lets just get Caparossi, Baylis, Hodgson, and Xaus ready for the MotoGP season to challange the Honda RC211V and Rossi on the Yamaha M1. It will be a wonderful year anyways.
- TLibonati, Sacramento, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-10 2003 Ducati Monster 620 i.e. Dark Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike. I probably will never own anything but a Ducati, I am sold for ever. My red Monster gets looks and comments all the time. It is a very "classy" bike. I also love the performance and handling. I have learned so much with this bike. Now I am seriously looking for the Monster S4, Red of course. What a wonderfully looking and performing machine. Great job Ducati!
- Amos Harting, Ballwin, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-10 2003 Ducati 749S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The seat and peg adjustments are useful and noticeable. You might even wish for more range of adjustment at the end of a 200 mile day. If you want one of the models without the adjustables then you can go with an aftermarket adjustable peg mount. Maybe soon someone will make an adjustable setup for the bars. In the meantime I'm modifying a 748/996 Cycle Cat bar riser setup for my 749S/999. Those 200 mile days are too short!
- Miller, Portland, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-28 2003 Ducati 999s Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike and it made me feel happy. All I can say is wow and amazing.
- Jay, needham, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-21 2003 Ducati Monster 620 i.e. Dark Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Although I don't have a lot of experience in riding (just 3 months), I'm a quick learner and a keen observer. This bike is definitely stylish; that's not in question. Road handling is great, though keep in mind that I haven't ridden many other bikes, I've had no engine or other mechanical malfunctions, and performence is adequate. The only problem I can relate is the uncomfortable seat. Seems my crotch always ends up smashed against the tank. Aside from that, the bike is great. I can't wait to upgrade! The S4 is calling my name.
- Mariner, Honolulu, Hawaii

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-29 2003 Ducati 999 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 999 ducati in San Francisco, I shipped it from there to Toronto. I waited for a week to get this bike, I was so excited. When it arrived I was astonished. I wanted to take it for ride but it would not start the battery was dead. (But before I carry on let me tell you about my history. I worked on ducati's back in Italy, I have a motorcycle technical license also auto, truck and coach I have been doing this trade since the age of 11 had built go carts to custom cars with 800 horsepower superchargered, updates in mechanical coarses. At this present momement taking cnc and electrical engineering coarses. Anyway I did a draw test on the battery. Does not have enough amp to crack over the stater. So I put another one from my r1 identical gs battery. It barely cracked over, after it reached 200 f it started to leak coolant. I did a pressure test, leaking coolant on some of the hoses all of the hoses needed to be tighted another half a turn and some even more. One hose was shreded, I replaced that. So know I started the bike and went for a ride. What a ride but after 30 minutes my speedo was not reading anymore my rpm gauge was off by 2000 rpm and my chech engine light comes on and off. I pulled over shut the bike off let it cool down. Tried to start it did not start, called a friend boosted the battery and drove it home. I left it in the garage and called ducati customer service three times emailed them three times no reponse. After looking at the bike a few times saw some rust in the welds and again coolant on the bottom of the fairing. Know I am bringing the bike to Velocity its a Ducati dealership to get serviced in 2 days will right report to see if the problem is solved. So far this bike is junk and it hurts me to say that but it is. Thank you for reading.
- Joseph Bengiovani, Toronto, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-24 2003 Ducati Monster 620 i.e. Dark Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Wow. I got my monster in June of 2003 and have since put close to 4000 miles on it. I really love it. It fits like a glove, looks astounding, and runs very dependably. I have not experienced any of the complaints people have had with this bike at all. It is a little more expensive to maintain but jesus, it's a Ducati not a Jap bike. It handles great and I really can't say anything bad about it at all.
- john k, madison, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-18 2003 Ducati 749S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
THis is the best bike ever, too bad I didn't go for the 999 but I still love mine.
- Alberto, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-12 2003 Ducati 999 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Best bike I've ever ridden. Have ridden an R1, CBR, and other Ducatis. This bike is it!!! Test it for yourself at a participating Ducati dealer and you'll know what I'm talking about!! BTW, its now the World Champion.
- Sonny, United States

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-30 2003 Ducati Monster 1000s i.e. Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have made 5000 kilometers so far, and everytime it's suprising to see how the 1000 cc engine takes up!!! really a great engine.. I used to drive the 996 and 998 and thought I would miss something, but I don't..
- Fred Boonstra, Almere, Netherlands

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-29 2003 Ducati 749 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is definitively the best Ducati I ever owned (and I owned a few :-)). Rode 10.000 km on it. Not one problem!! This bike is so easy to ride. It's extremely stable. Leaning angles?? I have to buy new knee sliders every month. It's fast enough for me. It will never give you unpleasant supprises because of uncontrolable power. Because the bike is extremely strong (torque) too it's very easy for the average rider (like me) to pull out of corners unbeatably fast. And the sound.....I have a Termignoni racing kit on it and an open clutch cover.. It's a symphony (in red) although the basses are a bit less then in a 998.
- Etje, Zoetermeer, Netherlands

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-27 2003 Ducati 749S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's handling is superb, braking is excellent and the overall ride is harmonious with the rider. I have noticed only two design flaws: The way the kickstand is positioned is not well placed. You have a tendency to brush the surrounding area. It would be nice if it stuck out a little more. Second: The mirrors are completely worthless. You really can't see directly behind you nor off to the side. The bike's power is great even at lower RPM's (Not quite broke in yet...) and shifting is definitely a Ducati. Overall... The only regret I have is in regards to not buying the 999... :)
- Sean, Green Bay, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: