Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (22)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2004-08-17 2003 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have put approximately 3000 miles on my new 2004 Dyna Super Glide. With each passing mile, I am ever more pleased with the performance of this machine. Yes, I have boosted the performance of the EFI engine with the "Harley Tax" stage 1 upgrade (bigger air intake and filter, bored out the stock pipes, and remapped the EFI). The results in increased torque were worth the money, particularly with both me and my wife on board. The only negatives I have about this bike is that I feel the front forks could be a little beefier and the ignition key definitely needs to be moved somewhere up to the console versus underneath the rider's right side seat area. The key is very difficult, almost impossible, to insert while sitting on the bike! By the way, for your next oil change, switch to the Harley synthetic Screamin eagle lubricant... it costs more and it doesn't extend the miles between oil changes, but the bike runs about 15 to 20 degrees cooler with the synthetic versus the standard Harley oil... in my book that spells longer engine life. Also, the synthetic can be used in the primary chain case and the transmission making it a "one size fits all" choice. Overall, I am very pleased with my choice in the Super Glide versus the other Harleys I looked at, which included most other models. This bike is super responsive when you crack the throttle no matter if you are solo or if a passenger is on board.
- Roger Farmer, Marietta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-10 2003 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Not counting the 2 months I rode the 1200 Sport, the '03 FXD is the best first Harley I have owned. I find it impossible to stay off the throttle for very long. It could use more brakes like the FXDS and a steering damper if you ride the way I do. Even then I still get 33 MPG making black lines from light to light. The bars seem a little low but then it is a sport cruiser. I cruised from the LA Harbor to Fresno with one stop at about 85 MPH most of the way. My girlfriend was falling asleep so we made a coffee stop just before Fresno.
- Prospect Oil Slick, Harbor City, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-09 2003 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first Harley Davidson and I have no regrets. Factory performance through a stock airbox and mufflers were OK but very restricted and lean. After rejetting the carb and upgrading the intake and exhaust, the bike was amazing. No stalling or popping and 12 more HP/8 lb-ft of torque. The best thing I ever did. Just installed a 14" tinted windvest windshield, the 2nd best thing I have done to the bike. I do alot of highway riding, and what a difference it makes. It looks great, too. Another plus is all of the things you can customize on this particular motorcycle to make it your own. The bike is stable, handles well and is very smooth. With the addition of the windshield, riding is effortless combined with the rubber mounted engine. You can't tell that you've been riding a motorcycle when you get off. I highly recommend this motorcycle to entry-level and experienced Harley enthusiasts. I was a little intimidated at first, but after a few miles the bike grows on you and fits like a glove. Good Luck.
- Jim C, Somerset, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-28 2003 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The quest was simple. One black FXD. It took a month to find the right bike. I figured it would take a year to put together an adequate review. Harley has made a great effort at putting forward a good platform for the beginning rider (that'd be me) to get a big twin with full suspension. I'd been on Sportys and Softails, and at 6'2" and 274 lbs, I need suspension, power, and a bike that didn't look like the Harley equivalent of the clown car. At the time, I also needed a bike that was relatively inexpensive. Truth be told, I think the FXD is the best, all around, value in the Harley-Davidson family. I cannot praise this bike enough. The stock handlebars are outstanding. A couple of friends have ditched their bars to pick up the stock FXD bars. The only issue of comfort is the stock seat. It's a mighty grim ride after about 45 minutes. Otherwise, this is a great solid bike. I've had no trouble starting, and I live in Chicago. We ride in pretty brutal weather. Hey, once the snow melts, the bikes are out. Yep, I rejetted the engine, put on the Screamin' Eagle air cleaner, and new pipes. I know everybody gripes about this so called "Harley Tax." that's really not it. It's the federal EPA and state/local noise restrictions that make a stock Harley a bit anemic in performance. Like everyone who buys a new air cooled bike, if you want performance, you'll be modifying. I learned to ride on this bike, and I strongly recommend it for a new rider with some talent at riding (it's not a straight beginner bike). I just never was comfortable with a Sportster, but a big tourer was daunting. After six months on this bike, tragedy struck, and I buried a parent. Certainly a sad situation, but my dear departed left some money to a good son. I paid off my debt and went to the dealership to get an upgraded bike. Maybe a Heritage Softail or Road King. You know, after a bunch of rides and price comparisons, I kept the FXD. Remember Harley fans, it's got the same engine of the other two bikes, but has over 100 fewer pounds of weight. Instead, I added some nice chrome bits, a new seat, and outstanding (and roomy) saddlebags. Oh, yes, she'll tour like a Road King for 5 grand less. If you're looking for a deal and don't want the bike everyone else has got (Road King, Heritage Softail, Ultra Glide) try out the FXD. I'm glad I kept mine.
- Rob, Oak Park, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-22 2003 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought mine new in 7/03 it had floorboards, windshield, stage one, and saddlebags. I've added a tachometer and heritage detachable backrest. I got to have the floorboards, forget the saddlebags. They are way too small for the cost! I ride mainly in Sierra foothills and it is fabulous. Mileage is great and at 3,800 miles I love it. The only one complaint would be rear shocks are way too light when riding two up. It will bottom out over RR tracks at 40mph with 125lbs passenger. Just need spring to get here!
- John Strohmaier, Galt, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-02 2003 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Got my glide in October of 2003! Reviewed it then and am gonna post a follow up! This bike is a lot more than I expected. Put 10,000 miles on the first year, neglect the car and pretty much everything else...that's the only bad thing about it...You tend not to give a damn about anything and just wanna ride! As far as extras...Vance and Hines short shots, 12 inch apes(which really look cool as hell cuz it offsets the way the speedo looks on the bars), solo seat, tall sissy bar with no pad, and lowered it an inch in the ass end. This bike ran great when I got it and only seems to get better. Hoping to take it to Myrtle Beach Bike week this year. If you're looking for a traditional style low and short bike this machine is tough to beat.
- m031, Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-08 2003 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I like so many of the other readers/reviewers have owned other types of motorcycles. I decided on the FXD mainly because it was the least expensive and had a big engine. I have enjoyed every mile; well maybe not the first 500, because I had to keep the speed under the recommended 55 MPH. I have added enhancements to the bike, to include pipes, chrome pieces etc,. The only complaint is that the accessories are very expensive. But, if you look hard enough via the Internet you can find discounts. Otherwise, I am very happy with my First Harley.
- Scott McCabe, St. Leonard, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-05 2003 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Picked up mine in earley June installed python III exhaust system highway pegs , never had foreward controls don't miss them , highflow air kit , and jetted the carby , the bike is one sweet machine handles great , runs great , sounds excellent , love to ride her as much as I can , this Harley is a gem , can't stay off my bike for a long time its addictive and therapeutic to say the least , great bike for money , very content.
- Joe, Manville , New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-29 2003 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my 2003 FXD in May 2003 and find myself creating errands to run so I can ride it more. My only complaints are the stock pipes too quiet, and the lack of forward controls. I don't know anyone who has owned a Dyna for long without putting forward controls on it.
- Gavin Still, Fort St. John, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-17 2003 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding motorcycles for 20 years and this my 4th HD. This is by far the best one. Quick, nimble and comfortable.
- Tom Delsordo, Little Meadows, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-06 2003 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Got it back in Oct.02 Vivid black put 3700 miles so far.This is 1 sweet running machine.I had the dealer put on the s/e air box,rejet the carb at the first service 685 miles took the baffles out of the stock mufflers myself sounds sweet and the performance is right on the money.If you are looking for a true road warrior go for the FXD!
- Buzz Chatman, Bedford, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-01 2003 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I picked up my 2003 FXD in October 2002. I fell in love with it my first ride, but wanted to wait awhile before I bragged or complained about it. Let me tell you, for the money, this is an awesome ride. It's reliable, handles well and has great power and gets looks and compliments everywhere it goes. There are many after market goodies available to make customizing very easy. Some people say it's a Sportster with a big engine. I rode sportsters, it's nothing like a Sportster. If you want to own a Harley that performs just as good as the expensive ones, this is it.
- Frank M. Semeraro, West Paterson, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-21 2003 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Diggin this bike big time. Had a 1997 Suzuki Intruder 800. Not enough power like this FDX. I jumped on this great buy.
- Dino, Chicago, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-05 2003 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Picked up my 2003 FXD about a month ago, got back on after a nasty accident on my 99 Sportster 1200C in 2001. I'm alive, can walk and now likely to demonstrate to inattentive drivers how their cell phones can be used as suppositories. The difference is between my 1200C and Dyna are like night and day... the FXD handles superbly in the city and offers the big bike ride on the highway. Rejetting the carbs and some V&H Longshots have improved the sound dramatically(left the baffles in for back pressure). The chrome compliments the black paint scheme beautifully, have got nothing but compliments and phone numbers!
- Rob, Covington, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-31 2003 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My wife and I entered the shop on a cold Friday night in mid January.I had previously owned a number of Harleys in the 70's,having sold my last 78 FXE Superglide shortly after the birth of my son. I had always wanted to purchase another, but had some not so fond memories of the breakdowns, the oil leaks, and the parts that sometimes bounced down the pavement as you rode. One look at the new 2003 model and I was in love again. Everything was bright and shiny and there was no oil on the showroom floor under any of the bikes, a problem that was all to common with the bikes of the 70's. We left at closing time having purchased a black 2003 Superglide that had not yet been delivered. After riding the bike now for over 700 miles I can tell you that these are not the bikes of the 70's. They still have that wonderful Harley rumble and all the mystique associated with H-D, but none of the old problems. Very powerful, smooth, and rides wonderfully. Harley has truly produced an excellent product that anyone would love. I can tell you I will never be without one again.
- H. Dwight Wilson, Evansville, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-03 2003 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been bitten by the motorcycle bug, hard. I was looking around for a bike that kinda reminds me of my first bike, a 1976 Honda 550 Four and it had to be at least 1000cc's. The first time I saw an FXD, I was hooked! What sucked was you didn't see them at the dealerships in the SF Bay Area because they sell fast. 2 years later, I was at dealership I previously visited a week before I purchased my FXD. They had 5 XD's...some with spoke wheels, some with mags, some were vivid black and others were gunmetal pearl. I couldn't make a decision...well, one week later, I didn't have to make a decision, there was only one left, the gunmetal pearl FXD with the mag wheels....identical to the one in the 2003 HD catalogue. My only experience riding a Harley was on a Shovelhead in the early 80's....I could've sworn I lost a filling. j/k. that's why I had the dealer fire up the FXD before I began to sign the papers. I was semi-shocked, the bike didn't vibrate or make noise the way I thought it would, infact it was smooth and quiet...what's up with that? Yes, I felt like I was on my old Honda!!!! I know you guys might think I'm nuts, but I'm not. We can thank our fine friends at CARB (California Air Resources Board) for that and for the "deceleration pop". that's right, after you let off the throttle, you get that "pop". Harley has to run the their new bikes so lean (a/f mixture) so that it doesn't mess up the catalytic converter. They need to comply with the stringent CARB laws. I guess riding a quiet bike is ok...if you don't mind riding a gelding when you could be riding a stallion. But the popping can get annoying especially when you've downshifted before you enter the turn, then accelerate out of it. What is the remedy? A Screamin' Eagle Air kit and a pair of Cycle Shacks slip on pipes? Am I going do that? I can neither confirm nor deny. The bike looks magnificent, it performs well on the freeway. that's basically what I'm looking for, another vehicle to commute to work with at least one day a week about 100 miles round trip...a road warrior. With a simple twist of the throttle, I was up at 80mph. No, it's not rice bike quick, but that's plenty fast for me and it does ok on the twisties. I did test drive a Victory Classic Cruiser...I liked how it looked, I liked the price, it had more ponies than the FXD, and it is made in the USA; however, it's not a Harley. The final decision came down to the Ball & Chain, she likes to play "keep up with the Jones" and she said to get the Harley, the softtail...but I liked the FXD....she never heard of a Victory. I also looked at the Yamaha FJR1300 and the Buell ST3. I never saw a Yamaha FJR1300 on the floor at all...kinda like the FXD and I couldn't get the Buell...it's too small for me...I'm around 260 lbs. Do I have regrets or buyer's remorse? Kinda. In my haste, I forgot to get accessories for the bike because I was so happy to get the Harley at MSRP, excellent interest rates, and at the monthly payment I wanted. I should've added the Heritage passenger backrest, a pair of dyna hard bags, a sports rack, and a windshield to the price of the bike...oh well. I don't mean to digress, I was going to buy a TREK OCLV...the same one that Lance Armstrong rides in the Tour de France, but my kids talked me out of it. They wanted me to get the FXD....I'm glad I did.
- Smenckmen, Oaktown, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-02-27 2003 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my 2001 FXD with forward controls, a must for a 6 footer. I have converted my bike too 34 degree wide glide front end. Lowered it with progressive 412's 11".s and a 21" front tire. Before I did any of this I purchased this bike for 12,000.00. I have fully cusomized the bike carb, exhaust, chrome kit 150 rear tire, bullet blinkers, hidden wire drag bars, etc... I have total in the bike 6,000.00 in parts. It is such an easy bike to work on and to ride. I did all work myself, that saved alot in itself. I can say without any doubt that I am riding one awsome FXD that will flat out haul ass and turn plenty of heads. I will be showing the bike this summer to see what others think of my work. If anyone is looking at getting a Harly and is looking at adding parts to their liking then I would first look at this inexpensive bike and then custom it out the way you like it. If you look at the price of a Wide Glide and the fineshed price of my bike you won't see much of a price difference and I can say without any doubt I have a one of a kind Harly that rides and looks awsome
- Kevin, Augusta, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-02-21 2003 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just received my 2003 Dyna Super Glide after waiting 19 months for it to come in. It was well worth the wait. This bike looks great and has all the power and guts you will ever need. It also handles very well. This is my first big engine bike and for the money, I think it's the best value around, especially for a Harley. Though the bike does not come with forward controls, It's not a problem. You can't miss what you never had. I would strongly recommend this bike to anyone, especially for a first time bike owner.
- Frank M. Semeraro, West Paterson, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-01-31 2003 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased a new 02 883C Sportster in Oct 2002 and althought a great little bike, traded it in on a new 2003 FXD Dyna this month. Have put 250 miles on, Vance & Hines Long Shots and all stage 1. Wow, what a machine. Smooth, more power than I could ask for. Shifting is smooth and much more solid than a Sportster. Hard to keep it under 55 durning break-in. This is a killer bike and I highly recommed it!
- Bob C., Dallas , Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-01-25 2003 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just purchased my first bike, a 2003 FXD (Dyna Super Glide). This is one awesome machine and for the price, I made an excellent investment. The FXD rides and handles outstanding! I would highly recommend this bike as a first Harley to anyone!
- Doug, Pembroke Pines, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-01-06 2003 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I waited 20 plus years for this. Had bikes in my teens and early twenties. Got married and had a family. Now getting back into it. This Super Glide fits me perfectly. It handles well and has all the power I need. I got the Gunmetal Pearl. This is a bike I will enjoy for years to come and would recommond it to anyone. Have a safe ride
- David A. Vince, New Albany, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-10-23 2003 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had the new Super Glide for a month now, and just passed 500 miles. I've had Harleys before and always liked them. But inflated dealer prices have kept me away for years. I've owned several Japanese cruisers, and a couple of sport bikes. My last bike before this was a 2002 Kaw Meansreak. I've been told over the last few years that Harleys can't compare with Japanese technology. You could fool me anytime. This bike is Super in many ways. Rock solid on the road, and handles like a dream in town. The best looking bike I've had in years. My first bike was a 54 Panhead Hydra Glide, which I liked very much. But they've come a long way since then. I love this bike! If the Motor Co. could keep there dealers from gouging everyone on the price, I'm sure there would be many many more Harley owners out there.
- Jack Langley, Sioux City, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: