Harley-Davidson Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (214)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Harley-Davidson Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Harley-Davidson Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2012-11-02 2003 Harley-Davidson VRSCA V-Rod Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I absolutely love my Harley VROD VRSCA. It is great riding on long and short hauls and handles great on straight-a-ways. It's harder to handle when travelling slow due to the rake on front end. I have really enjoyed my ride. I would not want to trade it for any other type bike.
- Steve, San Antonio, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-05-24 2003 Harley-Davidson VRSCA V-Rod Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding bikes since I was 10 and this is the best overall cruiser I have been on. If you plan to spend hours and hours touring around the country this is not the bike for you. I like the performance of the Porsche designed engine, rock solid external frame, stable low and long wheel base, all combined with the HD craftsmanship. As for performance. I wound mine up to 7,500 in 1st, 2nd, and 3rd and found myself doing more than twice the legal limit. Not sure how long it took to get there but I know it took my breath away. I shifted through to 5th and the Harley pedigree showed itself as the big v twin balanced out a super smooth throaty hum at 4,500. If you are not going to step up and by a high end BMW or Super high end Harley, you can't do better.
- Phil, Grayslake, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-03-20 2003 Harley-Davidson FLSTC-FLSTCI Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Recently had a VStar 650 Custom that was a very nice bike in its own way, but not for my true riding need of putting on some big mile days solo or two up. I've put 450 miles on the bike in the last two days and all I can say is wow. It isn't going to win any speed titles, but the way it pulls through the gears to 100mph is pure fun. The weight of this bike is so balanced that it doesn't seem like 700lbs under you. Rock solid at speed, but does run out of corner clearance quickly and scrapes the boards, but doesn't unsettle the turn...just gets your attention! The thing is that you just can't understand how beautiful this bike is until you really look her over. The fit and finish on the bike are excellent...far better than the competition. Love the EFI...just turn it on, wait for the injector light to go out and thumb the starter and ride on. The rumble is something that is imitated but never duplicated. I plan to do future updates with my take on two up and long hauls. This bike is truly fantastic!
- J Dog, Fishers, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-01-17 2003 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been looking to buy for a few years now, haven't ridden since my teen years. There's a lot of choices out there, but in my eyes, nothing beats a Harley. I focused in on a sporty, since it's been so long that I've ridden, and the sporty is the exact machine that worked for me. Fast, nimble and a load of fun. Now that I'm back in the saddle, looking to fill the garage with Harley #2, hmmmm I see a fatboy in the future!
- E. Kish, Liverpool, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-31 2003 Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 883 Hugger Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 883 Hugger last year with only 233 miles on her. I love this bike, we have been on 400 mile trips in a single day and I am usually the one that wants to go put some more on. The bike corners great and is low enough to the ground that it doesn't feel top heavy. I love my sporty and won't trade it for the world.
- Derrick, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-04 2003 Harley-Davidson FLHRCI Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my first bike ever in December and I fell for the Road King Classic 04'with 2132 miles. I did my homework and the local Harley dealer told me for the price you are getting a steal especially with all the chrome extras on the bike. I have put about 200 miles on the bike for I am not a big rider being my first bike but being 42 yrs old and always wanting a Harley I said why not and I don't regret one second of it. The ride though is pretty rough but I think changing the seat will do me good. I do have to admit though that these bikes if you don't be careful you can start spend money all day long getting things added so I must be careful.[smile]
- mark, waldorf, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-03-11 2003 Harley-Davidson FXST Softail Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike last summer privately and couldn't get over the power, ride and looks everyone gave it. The bike is a winning combination of everything right that Harley does. I have heard some complaints about the seat, but for a stock seat it wasn't too bad. I added a Big Sucker intake system, Arlen Ness slash pipes, pull back bars, new headlamp and GMA pulley-brake combo so that you can see the rear wheel. Overall it is a GREAT bike that demands attention.
- 03 Screamin Eagle Man, Brooklyn, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-03 2003 Harley-Davidson FLSTS FLSTSI Heritage Springer Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Wow I love this bike. My favorite Harley by far. My last Harley was a 2007 Fatboy. I like this a lot more than the Fatboy. This thing is so smooth down the highway. Why did they quit making this bike ? It is such a classic.
- Joe G, Minneapolis, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-08 2003 Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 883 Hugger Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was lucky enough to find this bike with only 186 miles on it. Since then I have put an additional 300 miles on it. I love this bike. I like riding it almost as much as riding my Dyna. Get one if you can.
- mark, Sanford, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-16 2003 Harley-Davidson FLHT FLHTI Electra Glide Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
2 nd. Twin cam, Put 87,500 mi. on a 99 FLHT. Have put 38,000 on this 03 FLHTI. Added Vance & Hines Long Shots. Awesome, everyone admires sound. This winter will install Stage 1 and P. Com. Can not say anything bad about these scooters. Have 2nd. set of Donlop E-3 skins. The front lasted 22,000 miles and the rear lasted 14,500. Try them, you will like them.
- R.C.B., Waco, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-07 2003 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have rode bikes for the past 15 years and this bike is my first Harley. It is by far, the most smooth and satisfying ride that I have owned. The styling and handling of the bike is excellent.
- Brad Helmick, Clarksville, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-25 2003 Harley-Davidson FLHR Road King Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently had service done to my bike about 120 miles ago (actual service on 4-28-05, haven't had a chance to ride this summer). My last ride was a few weeks ago and I noticed a metallic sound like a washer vibrating loose. I was just checking on my fluids and noticed there is no fluid in the tranny. Just to recap, I had a full synth fluid change 120 miles ago and the tranny is bone dry. This isn't a review of the bike which I still love to death, but just a heads up to folks who have a warranty and get your fluids changed by a dealer, check your levels before leaving the dealer. I'm going there tonight to 'suggest' that they come pick up the bike, check the trans for any possible damage (I can't wait to hear, "it was only 120 miles, you will be fine". If I will be fine, then they wouldn't have a place to store fluid for the device then, know what I mean? I don't have a great relationship with my dealer, so I'm hoping for cooperation there. Happy riding.
- Shore King, Audubon, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-22 2003 Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 883 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great, classic bike for around town. I ride 6+ hours often so the XLH 883 turned out to be way too small and underpowered for me. It's an awesome looking bike but I'd recommend it for folks under 6' and looking for something to cruise around town in. Since then moved on to an FXD!
- Winterhawk, Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-29 2003 Harley-Davidson FLHTC Electra Glide Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
62 Years old. Been riding since 1964. Several Harley's, Hondas, and one Yammer-hammer. Though I would try a somewhat newer scooter. First day ownership, 155 miles. Second day 175 miles, Sunday (third)135 miles. As a solo rider I have to say it is everything I thought it would be. Now The However, Two-up, slow speed and stops are very unsteady, TOP heavy beast..... On the highway, HOWEVER you forget all about it. The ride is very smooth, comfort is great, wife loves it. Better gas MPG than my old Gold Wing. Weather alert is great. Not a CB fan, however, I am going to install a VHF ham radio. Godspeed KE4EX Gary
- Ira G Neal, Newport News, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-20 2003 Harley-Davidson FLSTC-FLSTCI Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My wife purchased our 2003 Heritage Softail April 2003 for my birthday. It has been a great ride. I have the Carburated model and the only problem I had was that in cool weather I had to run with the choke out. I found a dealer who said "let me put a sound package on" The cost $100.00 That was considerably less then I had been quoted. Other dealers talked about different pipes, air filters etc. all for $600 to $900. What I didn't know is that anytime you modify your bike, even with H-D parts, you essentially void you warranty. The dealer assured me they will stand behind the warranty. What they did was bore out the baffles, and re-jet the carburator. The sound is great, not too loud, and the performance is greatly improved. The down side is I get around 40 mpg. It is worth it for the added performance. Also I have a service plan with my dealer. For a flat, up front fee of around $1600 I have free life time service on all my maintenance. It will pay for itself if you are sure the bike you have is the one you want to keep. Mine is!! I started looking this Spring at a touring bike, but after test riding and talking with a number of individuals, some salesmen, they convince me the the Heritage Softail is the best all round bike in the Harley line up.
- Richard Rodgers, Hartfield, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-06 2003 Harley-Davidson XL 883R Sportster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After years of riding vintage Japanese bikes and seeing these 883R's in magazines, I ran across one for sale at my local Kawasaki shop. Freak chance? Nah. It was bound to happen. After years of riding two stroke RD's, and vintage CB350's it was a new machine to me. Surprisingly, the myth of the H-D shakes isn't that true. The bike is the best money I have spent on a motorcycle. It is fun, VERY reliable, nimble and fairly light (530 pounds). The brakes are a big improvement over the single front disc Sporties. The suspension is okay for the bike, but non-adjustable. The ride is twant, and you will feel the bumps, as it's firm. The seat is comfortable, but on a longer 4-5 hour trip you will want to stop and get off for awhile. The riding position makes you lean forward a little bit, and is not the typical "cruiser" seating style. Stock power from the bike is pretty good. But you can modify these bikes for pretty cheap to perform much better. Riding the bike through town, I get waves and thumb ups. Stopping for gas involves people asking what year the bike is, and 20 other questions. Most people think it's a restored classic. The checkered flag and orange make you stand out in the crowd. If you don't want attention, this isn't the bike for you. Over all a good first Harley, but I would not suggest it for a first bike. Weight is up high and forward. Slow corners, and parking lot moves you notice it. I love mine to death and will probably not buy another bike to replace it.
- Matt, Kaukauna, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-24 2003 Harley-Davidson FXSTB-FXSTBI Night Train Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Out of all of the bikes H-D makes, this one definitely takes the minimalistic approach on overall looks and lines. Before Choppers became the perversions that they are today, it was all about taking a motorcycle and making it unique to the bare minimum. This bike fulfills that image. Well, this bikes has the lines, an attitude, and a unqiue feel from all of the other H-D bikes. A low rise (seat height) of 25.2 inches, a decent rake, drag bars, and sleek, long profile makes this a monster on just about any type of riding environment. Strong curves, open roadway, etc. You take it there, it will eat it up. Bottom line, it's more of an around the county and surrounding towns kind of bike. If you're going to go the distance, medium height apes might do you some good. It has a killer, low maintenance sleek look. It won't disappoint, I unofficially guarantee it!
- DagoSam, 'Carlsbad, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-12 2003 Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 883 Hugger Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love it, I just recently purchased it and have done a few upgrades (hypercharger, Vance&Hines pipes, chrome accessories, rejetted carb) and it runs great and looks awesome. This is my first Harley and I have ridden my Father's Dyna and Softtail, and although it is not as loud considering it's half the engine size it still sounds like a true Harley. I recommend this bike to anyone who is considering the buy. It's a 2003 883 Sportster Classic. I hope all of you have as much fun as I am having with my bike.
- TED, Bloomfield Hills, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-01 2003 Harley-Davidson FLSTC-FLSTCI Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned my share of Yamaha's and Kawasaki's back when I was into dirt bikes and even owned a couple "metric" street bikes, but I gotta tell ya, the only way to go on the street is Harley. I recently bought a new '04 Heritage (June of '04) and feel like I am reborn when I ride! I feel like a kid on a new mini bike. I started riding some 35 years ago (46 now) and I know what I'm talking about, so don't even try to argue.
- Flyin Coop, Fort Worth, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-25 2003 Harley-Davidson XL 883R Sportster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Here's what my 883R did for me: A few nice looking women waved. A bunch of little kids laughed and waved. A trooper let me go..enough said. A kid on a Ninja, who went by me at 150 said: " Yeah, you know, like a vintage Harley, man, that's where I wanna be at". I explained that it was an '03. He didn't get it but, hey, he showed respect.
- eddiekay, malverne, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-22 2003 Harley-Davidson FLHT FLHTI Electra Glide Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've now had this bike a little over a year, and it's the best of both worlds. Full dresser or add a chopped windshield, low profile seat and you got a nice boulevad cruiser.
- Super Dave, Calumet Region, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-20 2003 Harley-Davidson VRSCA V-Rod Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It takes riding, better yet, owning a V-Rod to fully appreciate how special this motorcycle truly is. I happily own a 2003 V-Rod and the riding experience gets better and better every time I get on it. I look forward to riding it each and every day. I dislike when it rains and when winter comes, because I have to park it in the garage and drive my SUV. The V-Rod is unlike any motorcycle that I've ever owned. I previously owned a Japanese Motorcycle, nice bike, but the V-Rod is much nicer to ride. Not because it's a Harley-Davidson, I'm not into the name on the motorcycle. I'm into the joyful experience that the motorcycle brings. Before, I was a part-time weekend rider. I would go a couple of weeks without even touching my previous motorcycle. The V-Rod is smooth and powerful. Not only does it look good, it rides better than it looks. Harley-Davidson hit a grand slam home run when they created the V-Rod. The liquid cooled Revolution engine is way ahead of its time. With Porsche's assitance, Harley-Davidson changed the way everyone will look at the forgotten Cruiser market and motorcyles in general. With 115 Horse Power at the crank shaft and 106 RWHP, 0-60 in 2.8 seconds with the stock motor on pump gasoline. Anyone wanting to the experience V-Rod should visit their local Harley dealer and see about taking a test ride. Guarantee it will be an experience that you won't soon regret.
- Big D, Lexington Park, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-17 2003 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have put approximately 3000 miles on my new 2004 Dyna Super Glide. With each passing mile, I am ever more pleased with the performance of this machine. Yes, I have boosted the performance of the EFI engine with the "Harley Tax" stage 1 upgrade (bigger air intake and filter, bored out the stock pipes, and remapped the EFI). The results in increased torque were worth the money, particularly with both me and my wife on board. The only negatives I have about this bike is that I feel the front forks could be a little beefier and the ignition key definitely needs to be moved somewhere up to the console versus underneath the rider's right side seat area. The key is very difficult, almost impossible, to insert while sitting on the bike! By the way, for your next oil change, switch to the Harley synthetic Screamin eagle lubricant... it costs more and it doesn't extend the miles between oil changes, but the bike runs about 15 to 20 degrees cooler with the synthetic versus the standard Harley oil... in my book that spells longer engine life. Also, the synthetic can be used in the primary chain case and the transmission making it a "one size fits all" choice. Overall, I am very pleased with my choice in the Super Glide versus the other Harleys I looked at, which included most other models. This bike is super responsive when you crack the throttle no matter if you are solo or if a passenger is on board.
- Roger Farmer, Marietta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-10 2003 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Not counting the 2 months I rode the 1200 Sport, the '03 FXD is the best first Harley I have owned. I find it impossible to stay off the throttle for very long. It could use more brakes like the FXDS and a steering damper if you ride the way I do. Even then I still get 33 MPG making black lines from light to light. The bars seem a little low but then it is a sport cruiser. I cruised from the LA Harbor to Fresno with one stop at about 85 MPH most of the way. My girlfriend was falling asleep so we made a coffee stop just before Fresno.
- Prospect Oil Slick, Harbor City, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-02 2003 Harley-Davidson FLSTS FLSTSI Heritage Springer Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Having owned a few cruisers, it was time to step up to the bar and get a Harley. Not just any Harley either, a Heritage Springer. Classic looks yet fully modern with up to date Harley technology, this bike never fails to attract attention.
- mike wadsworth, wolfville, Nova Scotia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: