Honda CRF230F Dirt Bike Reviews on Cycle Insider (28)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda CRF230F Dirt Bike Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Honda CRF230F Dirt Bike? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2005-05-22 2003 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike over easter break and I am very pleased with it. It has a great varity of parts and bore kits you can buy to make it lighter and taller. The only thing that I don't like about it is the seat is uncomfortable. It's like it never breaks in. The e-start is very reliable and the bike is great on trails, jumps, mud, and even the road. With all we've been through, she's still holding on strong.
- Billy King, Myrtle Bitch, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-20 2003 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It runs very strong and it's very reliable. It works great for beginners. The seat is very uncomfortable and the forks are way too soft for big jumps. If you are tall or have long legs, it will probably be too short for you.
- Chris, Meridian, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-14 2003 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This was an awesome bike with my transition between an XR 100 and 125, it was a lower seat height but good power. I'm now 6 foot and looking for a new bike. Most likely a 250x but it's an awesome beginner to intermediate bike.
- curtis, ss, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-10 2003 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm sort of a rookie. I've rode on my friends' bikes and other bikes but I never had one of my own. I finally convinced my parents to buy one just a couple of weeks ago and we bought a used, but in great shape Honda CRF 230F. This bike has so much kick and torque it's unbelievable. I recommend it to anyone, but if you're going to buy anything for it I recommend a pipe. It increases you power dramatically.
- CRF230 Stud, Sacramento, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-22 2003 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently had an XR-100 and my parents suprised me by getting me a 2003 CRF230F and man am I glad they did. I love this bike, it has all the power I need to do whatever I want, when I need to go fast it goes and the suspension is great. The only thing I don't like is when I ride in shorts, my knees slide up and down on the gas tank and the upper seat giving me brushburns, that is just from moving when I ride and it's not like that when I wear my riding pants. But all in all the bike is great, and I love it. I would recommend this bike to anyone who already has previous riding experience, is at least 5'5" and wants a great perfoming trail bike with tons of power and great suspension.
- Tyler Lyon, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-09 2003 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my CRF230F in November of 2002 and spend as much time on it as possible. I do most all of my riding in the mountains & it has no problem getting where I need to go. I am even able to keep up with the "big boys". The only down fall I have found is the front suspension could be stiffer for the type of riding we do. GREAT BIKE!
- Debbie, Copper Mountain, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-13 2003 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought mine a month ago and was really surprised with the power this bike has. My bother-in-law suggested to get a 500 or larger. He even agreed that this 230 has a ton of power, even for a guy his size.
- Tony M, brentwood, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-10 2003 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Hey people, this bike is great! I heard a lot of people talking this bike down with lousy suspension comments and stuff, but I can't find a thing wrong with this bike. It has great power throughout the RPM range and it's fast. I even made it through some deep mud today with no problem. If you're looking for a great bike for trails with good power and speed (never mind the decent price tag) then look no further - it's all here.
- Matt, Jupiter, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-28 2003 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my CRF230f about 2 weeks ago and I have not been riding much because I already had a broken arm before I got the bike but I have ridden some and man I had some fun tearing up my grandmas field. I have only popped about a 2 foot wheelie but with a broken arm that's pretty good but man I just wanted to say that the 2004 Honda CRF230f is about the best 4 stroke trail bike in its class I suggest it over a Yamaha TT-R225 for sure man my friend has a TT-R225 and man I can smoke him without even trying and I can barely do the clutch, but he is trying to sell it so he can get a CRF230f later.
- ben richmond, Fairhope, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-19 2003 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned this bike since Jan 03 and bought it to go with my expert dirt bike friends. I'm 57 and just started dirt bike riding for a couple of years. My friends suggested this bike..it's great. I've had the new suspension installed front and rear (BBR). This modification made a world of difference...every adult needs to consider it. I've geared it down a couple of teeth (added two teeth to rear spocket). Great power now for going up those steep hills and crawling around rocks. The bike is now perfect for me to go where my friends go...maybe not as fast, but I will get there. I don't think there's a better bike for the money and my particular situation....See ya in the desert..or mountains...
- Gary, Phoenix, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-03 2003 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
good enough bike, though I've hit some climbs requiring me to slip the clutch to make it all the way. I bought this really because of the seat height. I strongly suggest getting an aftermarket exhaust, such as the Big Gun. Makes a noticable difference in performance, and you won't believe the sound you get!
- me, here, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-14 2003 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is the best thing for the money on the market today. I have had my 2003 for about 8 months now and I love it. It has been reliable and rugged. I have done everything from long trail rides to sand, mud, and even some pretty steep jumps and it handles everything. My wife got the Yamaha TT-R225 which would be this bikes counter part and it doesn't even come close to the quality or ride-ability of the CRF203F.
- Chuck C., Fillmore, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-09 2003 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Crf230F in the summer of 2003 and I love it. It's my first bike and I can handle it like I'm a pro. My friend Steve has a blaster and I keep up with him. This bike has so much raw power it's not even funny.
- Ray, Hubbard, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-29 2003 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This a great bike! I started out on this bike. I am 14 and i can handle it very well. This is the greatest trail bike. It hasn't died on me yet going up a hill. And another cool thing about this bike is, i can do very long wheelies and some good endos on it. So all together its a great bike!
- Jeff, Kent, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-19 2003 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought two of these four months ago and love them. They are perfect for trail riding.
- BJones, Dallas, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-13 2003 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm 44 and have been riding an '86 Honda Fourtrax 350 for the past 17 years and just recently decided to get back on 2 wheels. Got my '04 CRF230F 3 weeks ago and I can't stay off of it. Its totally awesome to ride on the trails around my house. It makes me feel like a kid again. It has plenty of power and the handling was very easy to get use to, especially after being on 4 wheels for so long. The electric start is definately a plus at my age, and I think its way under priced, although, I'm not complaining. If it is Honda reliable like my Fourtrax I'll have it for along time too. Oh, and the '86 Fourtrax is still running strong. Ride Red!
- Michael, Austin, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-11 2003 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got my crf yesterday and it is one sick bike. I have already ridden it a few times. It has got some power and the powerband is pretty nasty if you are not careful. I thought that the suspension was great.
- Shaun Kalajzic, Cadoux, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-21 2003 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am 39 yrs. old and recently decided to get back into trail riding, since I just got transferred to NH. I grew up on Honda four strokes and actually had a pair of XR200's, before the XR200R became available. I absolutely love the CRF230F! I was a littlle leary upon purchasing it, and nearly opted for the XR250R. The price tag convinced me, and I feel confident I made the right decision, because my riding is mostly through tightly wooded areas. The bike has plenty of power, and an excellent suspension. I highly recommend the CRF230F to any rider, new or experienced.
- Robert Bianco, Belmont, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-12 2003 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This honda is perfect for new and learning riders. A low first gear, great handling as well as the electric start all help. For shorter trail riders this is a great bike (taller riders may have a few problems being that this bike is rather short) I have ridden through diverse conditions and have had no major problems. The low gears as well as nice speed when you reach the higher gears as well as extremely nimble handling allow it to conqour any trail in your path. The suspension is not too good and the stock tires are a little slick but nothing that will cause major problems. As far as competition goes this bike is not that serious but for play trails and learning it is ideal.
- a peake, bakersfield, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-06 2003 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am 15 years old, and about 4 months ago I purchased a new CRF230 and my dad got a CRF150 for my mom and sister. now, I have ridden my dad's race-prepped XR500R and I will tell you that the 230 is actually MORE fun to ride than that 500. despite what some spoiled people may say, even my dad says that the CRF230 has incredibly surprising power and i would agree entirely. it WILL pull on your arms if you roll on the throttle in 3rd and 4th gears, and it will climb hills in 2nd gear, and if not, it has a great granny gear. low-end is good, but rev it up and it gets really surprising. i can't unleash all the power it has since it does make the scenery come up pretty quick. i can say, however, that i have gone over some foot or foot-and-a-half tall rocks and tipped over since i am only 5'6" tall. i have jumped this bike before, and it works just fine despite being hindered by it's relatively high weight. this bike is in my opinion the best value there is. It does weigh a claimed 259 lbs and doesn't have the Honda 230's power! i could go on so much more, but i should just say -- find someone who has one and ride it so you'll want to buy one. the 230 is more than worth every single cent spent on it.
- Murf, Denver, Colorado, Bahamas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-23 2003 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought a crf230. I have been riding two strokes all my life. I am 35 years old and decided to get something more mellow. At first I was very disapointed with the power output. I you learn to ride the powerband maybe you will like it a little more, but to compare the fourstoke with the two stroke. four strokes suck. I only like the idea that it doesn't bother the neighbors. I can go on bike rides at 11pm without having the neighbors call the police. I also don't have to get two stroke oil in the middle of nowhere. I am used to having fun, and that means catching air in the jumps. don't try this with the crf230, just keep trail riding. I am thinkig of buying upsidedown suspension for the front. Something out of a 125 two stroke racer. The bike is exelent for the price. The starter is priceless. The quality is superior. This bike will probably last all my life cause I have two kids that can grow into it. The option of getting lights is very obtainable. Any attempt to bring out more power calls for a change in jetting. before you put exhaust or intake mods you should purchase a jetting kit.
- Andres Anzalotta, miami, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-22 2003 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike runs very well, no kickstarting involved...which is good because it is cold blooded-like most. Has plenty of power for a first-rider in the mid-size weight. I assume It will eventually not have enough power for me...but right now I'm happy!
- Brian Seckel, Galion , Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-18 2003 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My friend's CRF230 is one cool machine! It goes uphills like it is flat land. The CRF230 make the trails seem like a playground!
- Steven Wright, Signal Mountain, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-27 2003 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am 13 years old. I just received a CRF230 for my birthday and I love it. This bike is the best bike for trails. I have riden other trail bikes: xr's, tt-r's, and many others and this doesnt even compare to these. The CRF230 will blow them out of the other. If you need a new bike, I highly recommend this bike. It is great for trails, with enough power for open tracks. There is only one minor downside to this bike, the weight. For its size, the 230 is a little on the heavy side, weighing about 240 lbs. Other than that, this bike is simply the best!
- Andrew, Hackettstown, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-23 2003 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This a great bike for trail riding. don't believe because it's a 230cc 4 stroke that you can run with the 125cc 2 strokes, not going to happen. Perfect for my size at 5' 6" and 145lb. I wish it had a little more power but that could be because I've ridden moto cross bikes before. I'll modify the bike a little for some speed but for trails I'm loving it.
- Reggie, Frisco, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: