Honda Cruiser Reviews on Cycle Insider (301)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda Cruiser Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Honda Cruiser? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2020-02-23 2003 Honda Shadow ACE 750 Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Yes I've not owned long but could be the best value per dollar except the Norton I bought for 500 dollars and sold for 1000, it will cruise comfortable on the interstate at 70 or instill confidence in the twisties, maint cost very low reliable won't leave you stranded, love the bike my 25th 50 years of riding.
- Russell Ray, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2014-11-22 2003 Honda Shadow Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This was my fifth bike - I bought this bike used with only 5,000 miles. I have had no major repairs and I've taken road trips yearly. This bike is great in city commuting as well as at home on the open road. I love the balance and the power-to-weight combination. So now with 37,000 miles, I'm looking to finally trade up to a "used 2008 VTX1800" and my son will enjoy my old and still very clean VT1100.
- Ron, Chicago, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-06-24 2003 Honda Shadow ACE 750 Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 2003 black and grey Shadow 750 deluxe. This bike has good power, sharp lines and beautiful chrome everywhere. Honda Shadows are exceptional bikes, very reliable and real head turners. People mistake them for Harleys. I would buy a Shadow again. It is too bad that Honda stopped making the Ace. I am sure that they would still have the following that they had before.
- christopher galloway, pennsauken, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-04-17 2003 Honda VTX1800 Retro Spoke Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Wow where to start? Raw power. I call mine The Beast! I bought mine used with 8,000 miles. The only upgrade added was the seats. I have short legs, my inseam is 28 inches to give you an idea. I have no problem at stops, both feet flat on the ground. I receive compliments/stares every ride. Handles like a dream.
- ELTDAB, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-09-22 2003 Honda Shadow ACE 750 Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike after not having one for the last 25 years. I bought this bike from the original owner with 3200 miles. I ride daily to work when the weather cooperates and I've racked up 1100 miles in 2 months. I think this bike is beautiful, my only wish for this bike is a 6th gear of overdrive. It's a bit buzzy at highway speeds.
- Ron Richards, Stephens City, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-09-08 2003 Honda Shadow ACE 750 Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
In six months I've put 8,000 miles on the bike. It has effectively become my car replacement. I spent a good amount of time working on getting it to fit me just right. As a tall rider it has worked great but definitely needed handle bar risers and a driver backrest. The engine guard also helped to add some weight to the front end which seemed a little light. The bike is responsive on the throttle and great for scooting around. I'm not a hot rodder so it has all the torque I'm looking for. With mpg hovering around 50 it's also nice on fuel economy.
- pstolle, Leander, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-08-11 2003 Honda Shadow ACE 750 Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding for 35 years. I have owned many bikes including Harleys, the last one being a Fat Boy. This bike by far out performs any of them. If you want a smooth ride along with looks, then the Honda Shadow Ace is for you. I will keep this bike and buy a new Honda Shadow Ace as well.
- jdog, Bellevue, Nebraska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-08 2003 Honda Shadow ACE 750 Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Been a lot of years since my last bike (also a Honda). Retired 2 years ago and bought this one. haven't regretted one minute. It is comfortable, well balanced and does all that I want it to. Plenty of power for the shorter trips I take.
- Mike, Neodesha, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-23 2003 Honda VTX (1800) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought my bike used in 2009. Started out looking for an 1100 Shadow Spirit then found this huge bike. I thought it was too big for me but took it for a test drive and loved it. Bought it right then and there. Comfortable riding position and sleek looks. Lots of paint colors to choose from. Love everything about the bike but it only gets around 35 mpg, which is normal for aftermarket exhaust. I would recommend this bike to anyone who doesn't mind the lower mpgs. My friend bought a new Harley three times the price of my bike. Best of wishes and enjoy the open road!
- Brent, Great Lakes, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-14 2003 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I started with the bigger bikes 800+ CCs for my first bike. In fact I have traded up quite quickly on my bikes, 800 to 1200 in a matter of months and have not gotten a bike below 1200 since. Had to ride a 250 cc for my motorcycle safety class and was so uncomfortable and had a hard time even controlling something that small with no power that I was convinced that anything below 500 CC was dangerous to even be on the road. So when my girlfriend wanted to buy a bike I tried very hard to talk her out of buying a 250 cc bike. Convinced her, but could not find a 500/800 CC bike that was small enough for her since she wanted her first one to be low enough to touch flat footed and she is 5 foot 2 inches tall. She even talked about buying a trike instead. Then I saw this bike and was convinced she would love its size, power, and look. I was right! Took her to see it and she fell in love and said that this is was her bike, this is the one for her. Since she did not have her MC license yet I had to ride it home from the dealership for her. Half-way home I was convinced that this was the best starter bike you could ever hope for. It has enough power for the highway, is comfortable to ride on, reasonably priced, and best of all is easy to control. Now, I even take it out for a spin every once in a while (I use the reason that I have to make sure everything is running right but really it is just a fun little bike to ride around town on). And, best of all my girlfriend is no longer intimidated by the thought of riding a motorcycle, in fact she is hooked and we get to spend quality time riding our bikes together. This bike is so comfortable to her that she is already talking about giving this one to her 16 year old son in a year and trading up. I have to say it will probably be a bigger Honda Shadow since both of us have been so impressed with their performance for my girlfriend and my other female friends that ride the 800 CC Shadow line of bikes. They just seem to be new rider friendly and that is a good thing when getting started riding motorcycles is intimidating enough as it is.
- Mark Krug, Independence, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-09-09 2003 Honda VTX (1800) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was looking at (and test rode) two different bikes before I stumbled upon a 2003 VTX1800. Right away I knew that I would buy this bike. It puts you in a natural riding position and its handlebars are at a comfortable position. The only negative is the seat is a bit hard. It's not bad when you first get on the bike; it's only after you have been riding for an hour that it becomes uncomfortable. I plan on getting a Mustang seat for it which should make the ride much more comfortable.<br />The bike shifts great, has excellent pickup and rides real smooth (even at higher speeds).<br />I would highly recommend this bike to anyone who loves to ride!
- Housefire2000, Abington, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-09-05 2003 Honda Shadow ACE 750 Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike. I purchased it before I knew how to ride a bike. I took the MSF class one month after the purchase and was glad to take it out as soon as I got the permit. Believe me, it was torture to just have it sit in the garage for that one month. The wait was well worth it! It rides great, is very comfortable and very reliable. I made the mistake of not checking the fuel twice but luckily the reserve was enough to get me to a gas station. I highly recommend this for new riders. I've been looking to move up but I am reluctant to get rid of this bike. The wife won't let me keep two.
- Noel, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-07-30 2003 Honda VTX (Retro 1800 Cast) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've taken long trips through the mountains and across the prairies and this bike won't quit. The fuel injection allows this bike to scream down the road at any elevation. For the price and performance I don't know how I could ever match it again. This after 28,000 miles of every extreme condition and speed there is.
- William Ardrey, Tulsa, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-07-27 2003 Honda VTX (1800) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I went to a local dealership bent on buying a Victory bike and they happened to have this 2003 VTX1800C sitting by the front door. I took the Victory for a test ride and came back thinking it was ok, but not great. Just for the heck of it, I decided to take the VTX for a ride. Let's just say I closed the deal as soon as I returned to the dealer. Looks, power, feel, balance; this bike has everything you could want. The only slight negative for me is the stock seat. Ok for shorter rides, but I will be upgrading soon to a Mustang, Corbin or some type of custom seat.
- Boaty, Eau Claire, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-01 2003 Honda VTX (Retro 1800 Cast) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After shopping for 2 years for the perfect bike, I found a sweet deal on a 3 yr. leftover '03 1800R. I know, how lucky is that? I had looked at several makes and models but being a man of large stature, the 1800 fit better by far. The performance is unsurpassed. I've only put 5k on it but haven't had the first worry about anything to do with the reliability or quality of the bike. And for comfort, amazing. It's great for the big boys out there. If I had 5 thumbs, they would all be up for this one.
- Jeff, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-11 2003 Honda VTX (Retro 1800 Cast) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own an 04 VTX 1800N. It's a sweet and powerful bike. I love it and it has a sweet custom paint job - orange/dark brown tiger strip w/tons of chrome. It turns lots of heads. It's priceless to me, eat your heart out Harley!
- HUGH, FRISCO, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-08 2003 Honda VTX (Retro 1800 Cast) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my retro VTX 06/03 and since then I have bolted on tons of chrome and a set of Vance &#038; Hines pipes. The VTX has been reliable. The only thing I have done is replace the tires at 4500 miles and change the oil every 2500 miles. Honda makes a great product and I am looking forward to owning this bike many more years.
- John, Fishkill, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-03 2003 Honda VTX (Retro 1300) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first cruiser and love it. I have driven sport and dirt all my life and decided to give this a shot. (it takes longer to heal the older you get) Easy to ride, handles well in traffic and plenty of power for crusing. The only complaint is the stock seat, numb bum after a hundred miles and you don't get used to it. I bought an Ultimate seat and now can ride all day.
- JCA61, Corner Brook, Newfoundland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-01 2003 Honda VTX (1800) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After the test ride I knew this was the bike I wanted. Get one of these and you better hang on for the ride of your life. If you want a real muscle machine this is the bike for you and you can pick up a low mileage 03 for a great price. Ride it, you'll buy it! You won't go wrong.
- Goosebill, Las Vegas, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-01 2003 Honda VTX (Retro 1300) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Awesome bike! I had a Yamaha 1100 Vstar and got rid of it - too small. The Honda VTX 1300 is the best bike I have ever owned. It has more power and rides better than I had hoped. I put sampson pipes and a pro hypercharger on it and had it dyno tuned. I was comming back from Sturgis last year with a passenger and fully loaded, and still got 50 mpg. My butt did not even get tired. The handling in the rain was perfect.
- Earl, Casper, Wyoming

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-30 2003 Honda VTX (1800) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm just a fair-weather rider that puts very little miles/summer. I wish I had more chances to ride (if I had saddle bags, I would). My bike is customized quite a bit. I wanted to share it to show what can be done with a stock VTX. I can't compare it to stock as I have never ridden a stock VTX. But, I can say this bike has tons of torque and is a blast to ride. I have always leaned towards Honda for the quality and reliability. If you are considering a big cruiser, you owe it to yourself to test ride a VTX1800.
- Jayson, Heath, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-25 2003 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Okay guys, I am 6ft 2in and 275. I ride 100 miles to work each way on my Shadow. I run on Interstate 75. Yes, the bike will carry big boys. Yes, I also have a 79 Goldwing. I like the sporster style ride of the Shadow. I get 42 miles to the gallon on average at 78 miles per hour. AND YES, the seat IS a PAIN in the butt. Definitely get a upgrade seat for it, mine has 8100 miles on it. I put 4200 miles on it the first year I had it which was 2005. I got mine new then and have loved having it. Mustang makes a great seat for it and vance hines make a great set of pipes.
- al , forsyth, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-04 2003 Honda VTX (1800) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had never owned or even ridden a Honda before I bought my 2003 VTX1800C. It's the most amazing piece of machinery I've ever had the opportunity to own! I took two road trips on it this year - once to Tennessee and once to Georgia (from New Hampshire). I didn't have a single issue with it either trip - and Georgia was down and back in 7 days (with a two day sight seeing in the middle). I'm 46 and had no problem putting 700 miles on her in a day and still getting up ready to do it again the next day! I may buy other bikes, but I will NEVER sell this one!!
- VTX1800Girl, Penacook, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-21 2003 Honda VTX (Retro 1800 Cast) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2003 VTX 1800R right out of the box. My last M/C was a new 1979 Honda Gold Wing, a plain Jane, nothing on it and it was pure power. My VTX has never been to the shop for anything, I change the oil and it has not been in for the valve check, if it runs good, don't mess with it!It's a Honda, it will last forever, very low maintence. I had the Honda package added at sale, upgraded widshield w/large light kit, studded saddle bags, sissy bar w/pad. Just came back from a 400 mile trip to San Antonio Texas, beautiful ride, smooooooth running VTX with power to spare. The only thing I changed was the seat, put a complete Mustang w/backrest(studded)seat, it rides even easier now on longer trips. I was behind a Gold Wing at 80mph all the way home, not a problems 2 up on my VTX. A superior M/C that you will not want to trade in unless it's for another VTX.
- L.L.Sherwood, Sugar Land , Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-30 2003 Honda ST1300 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike has been a joy to own and ride. It is very top heavy for a new or non husky type to ride. I just needed a better pilon bike. The ST, to continue to be sucessful with it's competion, needs to lose some weight and gain some power and farkles while retaining price competitiveness. For me, it was more than adequate for power. You can easily spend thousands in farkles making the bike fit you. The seat is good for only 200 miles (upgrade/airhawk), handlebar risers are a must and you need a trunk. Parking lots are a challenge even for a strong and expierenced rider. It is still a Honda with great reliability and drivability. Sell private if possible.
- Stephan Matta, Bremerton, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: