Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2003 Honda Silver Wing Scooter reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.9

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Scooters

Reviews

27 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

FLORENCE OWENS

jacksonville, Florida

Reviewed on 2009-08-28

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Honda Silver Wing

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
MY SILVERWING HAD 4,000 MILES ON IT WHEN I PURCHASED IT IN 2004. IT NOW HAS 26,500. I HAVE RODE IT SOUTH TO KEY LARGO,FL NORTH TO GREENBURG, PA. AND WEST TO BILOXI, MISSISSIPPI. PLANNING ON MAKING IT TO ST LOUIS, MO NEXT SUMMER. IT STILL RIDES COMFORTABLY AND SMOOTHLY. LIKE ANOTHER REVIEWER MENTIONED THE RIGHT SIDE GLOVE BOX ON MINE DOES NOT CLOSE PROPERLY AND THERE IS SOME RATTLING FROM THE FRONT END. EVERTHING ELSE IS FINE. I WOULDN'T TRADE IT FOR A MOTORCYLE IF GIVEN THE CHANCE. I LOVE IT.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

DAVID LEE

Brooklyn, New York

Reviewed on 2006-02-06

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Honda Silver Wing

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my scooter on September 9, 2005, at a real good deal. I got a leftover from 2003 with 0 miles. The choice was a no-brainer; I saved tons over the 2005 model. At first, I had an 80cc Elite in 2002, so it was scary for me to ride this big boy at first, but when I got a few blocks from the dealership, it was a breeze to ride this bike! The handling is superb and I love you can just apply that power when you need it. I rode it from NY to Ft. Dix, NJ, the military base. I got there in 1 hour and 10 minutes flat! The power while you are on the interstate is crazy! It keeps up with traffic effortlessly, I got up to 95 miles per hour, and the bike wasn't even broken in yet! A very well built machine, especially for large people like me. The legroom is a little stiff but bearable. The only downside to the overall ride is cornering, as you have to be extremely careful when doing so because the tires are small and are the tubeless type. On rain-slick or oil-slicked ground, you could take a fall easily especially if you're going fast. I only had 2 months of good weather to ride it; I plan to do some long-distance trips on it. I even got used to the bike when the 3-day transit strike was in effect... another test! The bike performed well in 20-degree temperature as I rode it to work. A very fine machine and well worth what I paid for it. Kudos to you, Honda! I wish Honda had their own line of accessories to dress the bike up, and a music kit. Years ago, they had a scooter radio kit for the 250 Elite.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jeff Siddons

Tulsa, Oklahoma

Reviewed on 2005-09-20

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Honda Silver Wing

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I'm still having fun commuting my 10 miles each way to work. I would always choose the scooter over the car if weather permits. It is mostly a motorcycle in scooter clothing with some limitations. I've noticed that pushing it around a highway curve and riding over a small road imperfection will cause it to get a little weird. The threshold for this happening is lower than a bike. I know it's scooter but you forget . . . The gas mileage could be better. It seems to suffer at highway speeds more than I would have guessed. I wish Honda would offer a choice of at least three different colors every year. Scooter people like color. At least the ones I know do. I'm still looking for a scooter like the BMW C-1 with a roof. Something with oomph, not the little 150cc models. I have a couple of small quality quibbles: <br /> The right-hand glove box cover after 5000 miles started closing poorly, it was rather flimsily constructed to begin with, and now at 10,000 miles sits, when closed at about 1/8 to the closure line. I haven't inspected it yet to see if it is adjustable but on first glance it looks like mostly plastic. Also I've noticed more rattles up front. I've had a full dress 1977 BMW and don't recall it making such noises. So I don't think the fairing is the culprit. One more thing. If you think you are going to hang with the Vespa, Lambretta gang think again. As my wife said when I first brought it home, "I thought you were buying a scooter?!!! While some clubs are open to "scooters" of all makes and welcome Silverwings, others don't feel they belong. And of course there is the modern vs. traditional tastes which will naturally separate out some folks into different leagues. The Silverwing and Reflex are definitely of the modern style. The most fun is trying to convince H-D riders at a gas pump to convert. They're good natured but can't imagine why I ride that thing. These days, with the price of gas, I get stopped almost every other day. It can be a guy asking for his wife or himself, women themselves and black guys and gals (I'm a white 53 year old male) stop me to inquire. This never happened on my motorcycles. You get to meet all sorts of people. What I never guessed would happen was the number of sport bike riders who wave head on thinking I'm one of their clan. The second look of surprise on the faces is a hoot as they shoot by. You should have seen the look on my face when I glanced over the other to see a white haired lady in her late sixties next to me on a screaming yellow Reflex. All in all, I love this thing and would buy it again in a heart beat. I have been paying attention to the SUZUKI BURGMAN 650 but have heard some stories of transmission problems once you've put the miles on it. I don't know how the Honda will do, so far almost 10K and not a peep. I chose Honda so I'd have parts in every corner of the US of A.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mike

Lowell, Arkansas

Reviewed on 2005-05-23

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Honda Silver Wing

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have just purchased my 2003 Silverwing and have come to realize that there just aren't enough hours in my day. I have just finished paying off my 1997 Jeep, which guzzles gas almost as fast as I put it in. So, I started looking at bikes and came across this one. I picked the bike up from Dallas just 2 weeks ago and I can't stay off of it. I work nights at my company and can't say how many times I have taken the Wing out at nighe just to get in a good ride. I have not had a chance yet to "ride" it on a long trip but that time is comming. However, I did get a chance to ride in the Ouachita Mountains, here in Arkansas and I must say that this bike is a blast. It has plenty of power and great storage areas. However, I wish it would have a power plug, so I can keep my phone charged but that it is something that you can work around. I have only had one major problem with the bike so far and that is the lack of use of sunscreen. I love the bike and look forward to many years/miles on it
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Martin Ball

Shelton, Washington

Reviewed on 2004-12-26

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Honda Silver Wing

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I put over 8000 miles on this bike in less than 8 months and as long as I'm dressed warm enough, I can easily burn a couple of tanks full of gas in a ride. I removed the driver's backrest for more legroom and arm stretch and have seen triple digit speeds on the speedometer! I would like a wider, taller windshield for winter riding and a Givi box for the back and would like a more performance calibrated transmission as I'm used to big bore acceleration.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Nolan F. Ward

Austin, Texas

Reviewed on 2004-11-29

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Honda Silver Wing

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
The Silver Wing is a teriffic scooter. I was initially put off because I had two recalls to repair problems that were mostly annoying (fuel tank and centerstand). After that, the experience has been wonderful, except in twisties at speed. The scooter doesn't like them. Other than that, there's plenty of power, even for two up. The seats are luxurious, and at my age (60) I need that. Storage space is excellent. The fit and finish is up to Honda's standards and they are about the best in mass production bikes. In the tighter turns, at speed, you will find the rear end not very complient. At unreasonable speeds, it is downright scary to be on. So at anything over 70, in the twisties, be on good behavior. Nobody should let that keep them from buying one of these machines. They're fast, fun, comfortable and reliable.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Perry Abott

Tucson, Arizona

Reviewed on 2004-10-01

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Honda Silver Wing

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Biking since 1968. Rode everything.Mostly Harleys. Liked all the bikes except Guzzi and BMW. Got tired of riding and looking at HDS. Too common. Everyone is riding them. Bought an '04 Silver Wing and revitalized my interest in biking. It will leave a stock H-D in the dust. Smooth and just great fun to ride and take trips. No shifting and easy to do your own tune-up at little cost. Some wind buffeting with no helmut in AZ. With helmut it's okay. This bike gets attention. I get 50 to 59 MPG. I think this will be my final bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John D. Verlin

Overland Park , Kansas

Reviewed on 2004-06-21

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Honda Silver Wing

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Bought an '03 Silver Wing last year at this time after having not ridden a motorcycle in 20 years (learned on a college roommate's Kawasaki 750). After ten minutes was up to 40mph coming home from the dealership and the first impression was that "boy, this is sure stable and balanced". Now, one year later, I have over 4500 miles on it and no complaints. Have taken several 200 mile + day trips on it and the only issue I had was a 40 mph side wind near Emporia, KS. Once I learned to counter-steer, I was able to deal with it. Six months ago I bought an '01 Gold Wing and love taking it on longer distance trips and riding the Silver Wing to work out, to my girlfriends, etc. Gets 50/60 mpg and stores a gym bag and then some. Have taken the Silver Wing to the grocery and brought home Pine Sol (one gallon), milk, apples and cookies in the storage area, but not a week's worth of food. I love both the Silver Wing and the Gold Wing. It's hard to decide which one is my favorite, which says a lot about the Silver Wing. The Silver Wing is also very quick off the line (0-45 in @ 4.5 secs). I've gotten it up to 85 mph and was told it can go to 110+ mph. Very soft, cushy seat. Have had a lot of people look and ask about it. Great job Honda! Can't wait to see your new 750 Silver Wing!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

D. Worley

Baton Rouge, Louisiana

Reviewed on 2004-06-19

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Honda Silver Wing

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I owned a motorcycle 30 years ago and got the itch again so I bought the Silverwing. WOW in 2 miles I felt that I had never left the saddle. This Motorcycle/Scooter is wonderful. It is fast, nimble, and just plain fun to ride. I wish that I had bought one when they first came out. This thing is soooooo easy to ride.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bob O'Hara

Altamonte Springs, Florida

Reviewed on 2004-03-22

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Honda Silver Wing

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is a sport bike with scooter seating. And a very fast sports bike as well. Not many sport bikes will get down the block faster that this one. It performs like a 1300cc. Mountains are a blast, just look ahead and plan your curves it will take care of the shifts. And on the downhill you will not even need to brake, just throttle back. It is much safer than a motorcycle on a wet surface due to the fact that you are not changing gears. I have done many 750-mile days on it and could still walk upright. Also has great lights, instruments and storage.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 27 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: