Honda Valkyrie Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (28)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda Valkyrie Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Honda Valkyrie Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2007-04-03 2003 Honda Valkyrie Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the best bike ever produced. It performs, it handles, it cruises, it tours, it has style, and if you're a good rider you can hit the twisties and keep up with and even blow off a lot of the crotch rockets. It's absolutely solid and dependable and pretty easy to do routine maintenance on if you have a lift. It's too bad Honda stopped producing it. I test ride different bikes every chance I get and nothing is as smooth or comfortable to ride. The Triumph Rocket III is a powerhouse but it's also overkill. More power than you need on public roads (so does the Valkyrie for that matter) and it's not as pretty as the Valk but is very comfortable. I like the looks of the Kawasaki 2000 Vulcan but it's not as comfortable or smooth as the Valkyrie nor can you lean it as far in corners without dragging something. A Valkyrie is better than a Harley in every way. I like to ride and that's what a Valkyrie is for. I guess if I just wanted to ride from one bar to another or hang out at all the dealer parties a Harley would be fine, but bars and such aren't my lifestyle. The resale value of my Valkyrie may be terrible compared to Harley but who cares? I'll keep mine 'til I'm dead anyway.
- Mike Giebler, Louisburg, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-07 2003 Honda Valkyrie Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's my second, I trashed the 1st one on a deer at 48,000 miles. I have 43,000 on this one. I also have a 1800 VTXc that I use to commute to work I prefer the Valk. I can afford any bike I want but there is nothing finer than a Valk. Power, looks, comfort, style and quality. I did 5500 miles this year in two weeks; Chicago to California and back via Phoenix, San Diego, LA and SF and back. The year before it was the northwest and this coming year it will be the northeast. Never a problem, flawless performance, absolutely dependable machine. Honda made a huge mistake not upgrading the Valkyrie as it was with an 1800 engine. I'm looking for a tourer to replace my VTX so I can have two Valks.
- Bud Harton, Lleland, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-03 2003 Honda Valkyrie Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Had two Valks now, a 97 Standard and now have a 99 Tourer. Most reliable comfortable bike I have ever owned. I can and do blow Triumph R3's away in the real twisties. Have ridden all the new 06 and 07 cruisers that they are putting out, including all the Honda twins, (Hear me Honda, if I wanted a twin, I would buy HD) and not one of them feels or goes as good as a Valk.
- Colin Manion, Taumarunui, New Zealand (Aotearoa)

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-06 2003 Honda Valkyrie Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
O-Yea, ridin' buddy, my son and I, we've been ridin' the beast for three years. Lately we've been on the look out for a better bike. Think we may be ridin the beast for many more years to come. We live in MI where it's cool to ride most of the time, so we really enjoy the furnace between our legs, (nicknamed the turkey cooker). At 25 mpg it's nice to know you are getting dual use for your fuel. By the way, Baker Air Wings are the best up grade you can buy for the beast. Two of the Valks have driver's back rest which makes the Valk real close to my Lazy Boy. My riding bud really missed the handle bar buzz that he enjoyed on his old Kawie Concourse. At the Hoot. We had our beasts off road (through the median) and hill climbin in the hills of Kentucky, they'll do it all but it takes some good sized kahunas, and o-yea we've got-em.
- S. Maier, Caledonia, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-19 2003 Honda Valkyrie Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The best bike I have ever had the privilege of riding. Awesome all around. Oh by the way Harley guys, the next time we meet at a stop light I would love to answer your question "So, what is that anyway," but I don't want to embarrass you around your buddies after my Honda blows the freakin' doors of your little hoggy.
- Anonymous, Kokomo, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-23 2003 Honda Valkyrie Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Until this one. The looks, the power, the weight, the speed, the comfort, the handling, the torque, the reliability... Well, I could go on. I ride this thing in all types of weather and all year around. I've never done that with any other bike I have owned. This bike doesn't do well in the grassy areas. Well, use common sense. When gassed it will go straight to the ground. It will also do wheelies, but will come down hard at high speeds.
- Niterider, north, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-08 2003 Honda Valkyrie Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned Valks since they came out in '97. My present Valk is the Interstate. I have over 150,000 miles on them with no warranty claims! It is simply the "last word" in high quality heavy cruisers! The only draw-back I have noticed is the fuel economy on the road at high speed. When cruising at high speed the Valks will drop drastically in mpg, as low as 25 mpg. However, in town, nursing the bike, I get over 40mpg!
- Ben Sanders, Tucson, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-21 2003 Honda Valkyrie Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
You have already heard everything you need to know about the Valkyrie from a technical point of view. Let me take it to the next level. You are riding through the hill country of central Texas or the mountain highways of Colorado. On a Harley, or Harley equivalent, you will be able to associate yourself with Mother Nature. At the same time you will always have a strong association with the motorcycle due to its predominant sound and pulsation. On a Valkyrie the trip takes on a different dimension. The Valkyrie has no sound and the only physical sensation is the slight twist of your right hand on the throttle and the subtle but forceful acceleration of a quiet engine with exceptional dynamic range. After about 20 miles of riding you can completely disassociate yourself from the Valkyrie and it will be just you and Mother Nature. You may have to keep reminding yourself that you have not died and gone to Heaven yet. You simply experience Heaven on Earth on the latest evolution in motorcycles.
- Jerry Spoor, Austin, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-26 2003 Honda Valkyrie Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After riding Harleys, Moto X and 1100cc sport bikes, this is the last bike I'll buy. Good comfort, fantastic beast of a motor, sounds like a NASCAR and has the guys at the Harley shop drooling and scratching their heads. Predicatable Honda reliability, but I'm not sure if some of the cheesy plastic chrome parts are for weight savings or cost reduction. Best bike I've ever owned! Get one while you can.
- Grant Leslie, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-11 2003 Honda Valkyrie Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Had the Valkyrie for a week and a half now - what a bike! Smooth and quiet (especially compared to the VTwins I'm used to riding). Big, but doesn't feel like it. Handles great. Screams "customize me!", which I'm in the process of doing. A definite winner and keeper here!
- glenn0327, clifton, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-06 2003 Honda Valkyrie Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my valk in May 03 after not riding for about 23 years. I have logged 4000 some miles on her without one problem and have clocked 140 miles an hour with no trouble. I rode from Missouri to West Virginia round trip last October through rain and sunshine and she purred like a kitten. I will never part with her.
- Chuck Dodrill, Fort Leavenworth, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-30 2003 Honda Valkyrie Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It is heavy, but a dream on the road. Needs a windshield (which is ordered), but is a mechanical miracle. It draws looks wherever I ride or park it. I like it almost as much as my Acura CL-S. No one builds motors like Honda (see the Indy 500) and this is no exception.
- Jerry C Larsen, Seabrook, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-24 2003 Honda Valkyrie Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just a few months ago I purchased a new 2003 Valkyrie. I had wanted one of these beauties since I saw one for the first time. This bike is everything I thought it would be. Even the most die hard metric hater can't say that this bike isn't beautiful. I knew it would move, but I continue to be surprised at just how fast it is. It also handles incredibly well. It weighs in dry at 681 lbs but it handles like a much smaller bike. I have had a couple of run-ins with sport bikes which left them wide eyed. They finally caught up to me and wanted to stop and look at the Phat Lady. Their best parting shot was I bet you can't do a stoppie with that hoss. I prefer both wheels on the ground. This baby really performs, is comfortable, handles great, and can cruise at high speed all day long. This is a do everything cruiser. I LOVE IT.
- Roy Bradshaw, Flower Mound, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-01 2003 Honda Valkyrie Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I agonized for months before pulling the trigger. I love the looks and the feel of V-twins and the Valkyrie stands in stark contrast to everything V-twin. That said, I was wooed by the legend of the Valkyrie: terrific handling, exceptional performance, maximum comfort and all of this in a bullet proof package. I took the plunge without even test riding one. After 1000 miles, I can honestly say that it was one of the best bike related decisions I have ever made. The Valkyrie is everything they say it is and more. The engine is amazing. Silky smooth and she can run all day long at high speeds without breaking a sweat. The best thing about the engine is the go power. I mean crack the throttle, and it is GONE! Handling? This bike, despite it weighs 700 lbs, handles as easily as my Ace 750 once you reach speeds of a few miles per hour or more. And the fact that it uses pegs instead of floorboards, (dictated by the engine) means there is considerable ground clearence. You can really lean this bike over on her side before any touches pavement. This bike really is the great all around bike. It's a great touring bike, a boulevard crusier, a performace bike, you name the game and she's ready to play. If you love V-twins, it will take some time to get used to the new lines - and some may never get used to them. I guess it may come down to this: Do you buy a bike to ride or to look at? If you want a bike to ride, you must test drive this bike!!!
- Jladd, Crystal Lake, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-01 2003 Honda Valkyrie Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a bike that will be a legend in 50 years. And like some few legends of the '50s, there will still be some around, running strong. Utterly bulletproof, it just outperforms everything in every way. There may be something out there that will outrun it, but how does it look? Will it run like that all day, in all weather? How will the rider feel after 10 hours of 85 mph+. With two up! I routinely blow past guys hunkered over like a monkey humping a football, sitting straight up with my wife comfortably behind me enjoying the day at 115 mph and the only reason we come down off the throttle is to avoid catching up to the next guy too quickly. The bike would run there all day without complaint, vibration-free. If you want to make a lot of noise, maybe it's not for you. I like its sound, but some don't. Seems like a quibbling point to me, considering it's many other virtues. As a day rider, it will comfortably traverse about 700 miles, and you won't have to spend the next day at the chiropractor. I will never part with mine!!
- Rooster, Cranbrook, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-01 2003 Honda Valkyrie Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 99 Intersate and a 00 base Valkrie. The 1500 has a total feel of its own, a little heavy in the front but managable plenty of perfomance. A very beautiful machine that has a very stong following. Sorry to see it go! Mine will allways stay.
- randy, swanton

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-28 2003 Honda Valkyrie Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I sold my overpriced, paint shaker Road King and bought a Valkyrie Standard. It is the best bike I have ever owned. It has comfort, great brakes and the acceleration....It's like the hand of God slapping you in the back of the head. I hear that 2003 is the last year of the 1520 Valkyrie. I hope they bring the 1800+cc Valkyrie to market.
- Lou, Lyndhurst, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-29 2003 Honda Valkyrie Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Hehe....I am the newest owner of the finest machine ever built. I smile inside every time I turn the key to start her, knowing what awaits me...the looks, gazes, and positive remarks. I have never been in love like this before. I even had to express to my wife that I have never been in love with my vehicles (as she has claimed too many times in the past) from my 1978 280z (car) 1985 and 1988 BMW 325s. I had to admit to her the second night I owned this baby that I am truly in love with the Phat Lady. Only the accessories and road lay ahead.... god help me. Here is a funny story I must tell. On the night that I picked up my Phat Lady, my wife and I were riding her to pick up my car from the dealership. While in route, we pulled up to a Harley soft-tail and my wife asked me, "Baby what is the name of that little bike", I laughed inside and I said to her "Baby that is a Harley soft-tail." I am still laughing (inside). There is no better bike. The saga has just begun.
- tfresh, Jacksonville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-06 2003 Honda Valkyrie Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Very very sweet. It is one of the only bikes i would trade my 750 Magna in for. My friend has one (a 2000) and we switch bikes all the time. Great handling phenomenal power. Only downfall is the drivetrain noise which is quite loud and annoying. This may have been resolved in the past 2 yrs
- Karl, London, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-31 2003 Honda Valkyrie Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding this monster since 1998 and have never tired of it, I look at it now like I did when I first got it. A smooth, dependable and elegant machine, why look like all the rest, get the best.
- Steve Walker, Killeen, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-11 2003 Honda Valkyrie Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After looking at the Valkyrie for over two years I finally took the plunge and picked up mine on 5-31-03. I only wish I had not waited so long. As a rider for over 30 years and after having ten different Honda's I can say this is the finest bike I have ever owned. The power and ride on this bike is amazing. For something that is as big as this bike is it handles like a much smaller bike as the weight is carried up high. I had a 2003 VTX 1300 which was a fine bike in its own right but there is no comparision to the black beast. My only complaint so far is the seating position which I find some what crowded as my legs tend to get cramped after a very short period of time. Every time I crack the throttle though I forget all about my cramped leg. I can say without hesitation I LOVE this bike and it will be with me for many years.
- Don Curson, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-28 2003 Honda Valkyrie Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my 2000 I/S (I know this is for 2004) for a year now. I have 13K miles and I love it. I've had many bikes in my 30+ years of riding. But this is a great ride. "SHOW and GO". I had a Gold wing and thought that my next purchase would be a "NEW HD ULTRA" until I took both for a test ride. I fell in Love with the Lady Valkyrie the first time I saw one and after riding one, there was no way I could justify spending twice as much cash for the HD and give up so much. Granted nothing sounds as good as a HD but I could not trade dependability, longevity and great looks for the vibration and....well you know. It's a great ride and I've never looked back.
- Bob Blumenstein, Bella Vista, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-18 2003 Honda Valkyrie Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 2000 Valk Interstate. I'll give it up when the pry my cold dead butt off the seat.
- Brian Thew, oconomowoc, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-17 2003 Honda Valkyrie Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
this is the best all around motorcycle I've owned. power,handling,comfort, available options / accesories, etc.
- dan young, Newark, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-16 2003 Honda Valkyrie Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the BEST BIKE OUT THERE!!!!! I lost my senses a few years ago and traded my 99 Valk for a BMW.. Realizing my mistake and longing for the best. I lost the beemer and bought an 03 Valk...... I will NEVER give this bike up again!!!!!!!
- John, Cleveland, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: