Indian Motorcycle Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (29)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Indian Motorcycle Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Indian Motorcycle Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2013-12-23 2003 Indian Motorcycle Spirit Roadmaster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The very first motorcycle ride I ever had was on a 1953 Indian Chief when I was 5-years-old. I fell in love and always wanted an Indian. Years later, after riding a 90 Kaw, and two Gold Wings, I saw this Indian Spirit and fell in love. I had to buy it. Right away I had a few problems with it, but got them fixed (warranty work/recalls) and it's been smooth sailing ever since. It starts right up and the performance is excellent. It's not a Gold Wing but it's still a lot of fun to ride for a couple hours and gets just loads of attention every time I take it out. What led me to buy this Indian was that this is an "AMERICAN" motorcycle. I take a lot of pride in telling people that "there's not one part, one piece, nut, bolt, wire, nothing on this bike that wasn't made right here in America, by Americans for Americans". Maybe it's not as fast as my old Kawasaki 900 Z1-B but it has more than enough hp. for 2-up riding. This is an "old school" cruiser and they don't make them like that anymore. I've been so pleased with this bike and it's like a old Timex - "It takes a lickin' and keeps on tickin'". This is my last motorcycle and will be passed on to my grandson when he's ready for it.
- Marty Smith, Kankakee, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-02-09 2003 Indian Motorcycle Spirit Deluxe Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this motorcycle for my wife, She loves it and so do I. This sickle has the looks, the power and it's surprisingly comfortable.
- LUCKY , Jacksonville, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-01-01 2003 Indian Motorcycle Spirit Deluxe Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love my 03 spirit deluxe. She's chrome yellow over pearl white. I get nothing but compliments where ever we ride, the ones I enjoy the most are from Harley riders, oh ya! I sit proud on my Iron pony. And because so many people ask about Indian, I get to enlighten the public on the history of Indian and where they can get thiers. To be honest, I wanted a chief when I walked into the Dealership back in the summer of 2003, but by the time I could actually get my hands on one (the spring of 2004)the Chief I wanted was long gone. So because of my ol'Lady I ended up with the one I now own. NO REGRETS. I love the fender style and the colors. All this make my bike a one of a kind here in Hampton Roads area of Virginia. I will, one day, God willing, own that Chief, then I can die happy, me on my chief and my gal on the Spirit.
- Ed Monarque, Hampton, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-08-10 2003 Indian Motorcycle Spirit Deluxe Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Indian new in 2003. I have ridden it for over 10,000 miles in all weather conditions, no problems whatsoever. I get lots of compliments on it, lots of polished aluminum on it, things you pay extra for on other bikes came standard on this bike. She's black with gold Indian script & pinstripes. I always wanted an Indian. It's not the same as everyone else rides, it's better.
- stanley l bair, dothan, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-16 2003 Indian Motorcycle Spirit Deluxe Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The old indian never dies! It has done its share of suffering and will soon gain the popularity it is due. The new Chiefs are great! I have been riding a 2003 Indian Spirit and thinks it rocks. I jumped on a newer ultra classic and felt like I was riding a limosine. My indian isn't as comfortable but keeps up well and has lots of power.
- Jon Bercier, Butte, Montana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-11 2003 Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Vintage black on black in 2003, 6 months before Indian went under the last time. While I don't put a lot of miles on the bike, this machine has been very reliable and I always get the most attention from enthusiasts at rallys and bike nights. The 2-up seat is not really that comfortable for long rides but great for local cruising. When the time is right I plan to get a new one and would highly recommend the Indian to all other contrarians. This is pure American.
- Steven W, Cleveland, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-03 2003 Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Chief in August of 2003 (luckily, with a 5-year aftermarket warranty, as I needed the drive belt and seals replaced in 2006!) and have been pretty happy with the bike ever since. As others have stated, it always elicits the question - is it a REAL Indian? - from someone whenever I'm out for a ride, and I've gotten pretty good at telling the story of the rise and fall and rise and fall and rise of the Indian brand. I've done a lot of mods/upgrades to the bike, and so I'm at the point that I'm happy with how it fits me (although fuel injection might smooth things out a bit). My only concern is what I should do if/when I want to try something new - I honestly don't think I can afford a new one. Anyway, I'll cross that road when I come to it. Safe riding, all. Mike G
- Mike G, Portland, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-03-19 2003 Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my blue/white Deluxe new in 2003 (accessorized so that it has the appearance of a Vintage). I have 3 other bikes and the Indian remains my favorite. It's impossible to ride without generating positive comments from other bikers, etc. The bike has been reliable, comfortable, and has a great sound. I am happy to see the Indian name return.
- Bill Foree, Marietta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-01-21 2003 Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I actually own a different 03 bike and a 03 Indian (guess I'm lucky). I believe the Power Plus 100 has a very noticeable difference in horsepower as compared to the other bike. When I ride the Indian, it always gathers a crowd. I get a lot of questions like, "Is it a real Indian?Of course I have to explain. I enjoy the feel of the Indian and the history behind the Indian Motorcycle tradition. The engine design (Power Plus 100) is beautiful, however, I like the added chrome on the 09 Indians and the 6 speed. Since buying the Indian I've put approx 4000 trouble-free miles on it and expect many more. Occasionally I use H-D poly oil on the drive belt. This eliminates the chirping sound when decelerating. Overall I love this bike.
- Wayne Ferguson, Glade Hill, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-09-05 2003 Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my bike new in 2003 and life hasn't been the same since. I fell in love with the traditional lines at first sight. Shortly after my purchase I learned of the close knit community of Indian riders that went with it - A camaraderie that is matched by no other.
- Scottdog, Enfield, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-12-30 2003 Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my Chief in July of 2002 and I have ridden it hard. I have had issues with it, the worse being the engine. I had it rebuilt and it hasn't failed me since. For an 800lb bike, she handles like a crotch rocket, and my floorboards prove it. She handles 130 mph easily with power to spare. My current dyno numbers are 104 HP and 112 ft/lb and the bike is basically stock with new air filter and exhaust. She rides like a recliner. 600 mile days are not unusual and don't wear you out. This bike is amazing. Ride safe.
- Jason P. Morris, Romeoville, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-24 2003 Indian Motorcycle Spirit Roadmaster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I checked out a lot of bikes when I was looking to ride again, but when me and my wife walked onto the lot where the 2003 Spirit Roadmaster was, the search was over. Whenever I'm stopped somewhere, one or more people stop and look at it while most say what a great looking bike it is. It's definitely a head turner. On top of the looks, the ride is great. The 1442 cc engine has plenty of power and the ride couldn't be much better.
- Jim Brown, Naples, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-07 2003 Indian Motorcycle Spirit Deluxe Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had mine for a year and a half now. The style and paint job is just amazing; this is one beautiful bike! The ride is relaxed and smooth but it lets you know at all times there is a big V-Twin under you. The exhaust note is deep and to me pleasant without being loud. The bike is not as refined as a Harley Softtail; the mirrors and handlebars are buzzy. Handling is just a touch better than Harley, as is acceleration. Comfort is again not as refined as Harley. Overall it's a good bike to ride and a great bike to look at.
- Johnnny V, Manhasset, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-14 2003 Indian Motorcycle Spirit Roadmaster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've put over 600 miles on my Spirit in one month. No runs, no drips, no errors. On top of that it's so darn good looking! This bike gathers a crowd every time it's parked. Harleys are great bikes also, but their common. Grab a piece of American history and ride on..."find your own road".
- BP, Powder springs, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-02 2003 Indian Motorcycle Spirit Roadmaster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is one awesome bike. I have ridden Harley's and others, but in my opinion this bike has the best combination of beauty, power and ease of handling at both slow speeds and on the highway. I have put over 500 miles on it in just over a week, and I still can't stop grinning every time I get on it. For a big bike it's user friendly. The low center of gravity makes it easy to balance, and the amazing, smooth power makes it a joy to ride.
- bruce verwey, three rivers, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-20 2003 Indian Motorcycle Chief Roadmaster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just purchased my Roadmaster that I have been dreaming of for such a long time. I am extremely pleased with the bike with the exception of the air box which will be replaced when I go in for my 500 mile service. The handling and the power of the bike is just great. I was extremely disappointed with Harley Davidson because they didn't want to strike a deal or budge on their price. Just on a whim, we went to my Indian dealer where they were more than happy to do whatever they had to do to make me a very happy customer. If there is anyone out there who is skeptical about buying one of these bikes, don't be. I would recommend one of these over a Harley any day of the week.
- Randy Kolb, Waverly Hall, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-27 2003 Indian Motorcycle Spirit Deluxe Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I test rode a Yellow and White Spirit Deluxe at my Local Indian Dealer. The bike had the Breather Kit and some Baffle work on the stock Indian Two into One exhaust and when I hit the throttle It snapped my neck back. Im a Big Guy at 300lbs and that Spirit had all the power to speedily and Happily move me along down the Road.
- Anonymous, Central Islip , New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-17 2003 Indian Motorcycle Scout Deluxe Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The 03 Scout is a solid bike with plenty of power. I've added new Vance & Hines straight shot exhaust, Doherty Machine power vents, lower crank vent filter, K&N intake filter,carbon/kevlar brakes and lots of chrome. This bike will never cease to be noticed wherever I ride it! Oh, by the way, if you put some of the performance parts in that I did, beware of the solo seat. You may just fly off the back ! The only problem I had was with the starter setup. Starter motor died in the first 500 miles and the starter gear bolt worked it's way out after 5000 miles. The stock brakes are a little weak but, servicable. All things considered, I love this ride and it really turns heads. Especially when you pop the throttle with those loud pipes ;-) I selected this bike over the Harley FXDL (Dyna Low Rider). I've noticed that Harley folks love this bike too! that's my 2 cents. I've been ridin' for about 22 years and I think I'll stick with this Scout for a long time to come.
- Mark Alsing, Woodstock, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-09 2003 Indian Motorcycle Spirit Springfield Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I picked up my 2003 Spirit Springfield last March. I have ridden a little over 3000 miles so far and I am very pleased. I have owned two Harleys and I have to say that it is as good or better than any Harley. It has all of the cool points of a Harley. Great classic American style, American made, Beefy high quality S&S Engine, and an old name in motorcycles that this bike deserves. If you want classic American looks, alot of attention, and a few thousand dollars of billet/chrome that comes at a standard price then this is the bike for you. Do yourself a favor and buy an Indian. do not pay any attention to the Harley propaganda.
- Charles Paul, Deming, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-24 2003 Indian Motorcycle Spirit Springfield Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I rode a 2002 Indian Spirit for over 1,500 trouble free, very enjoyable miles last summer. The 2003 versions are even better! The fit and finish has improved, the bike is tight, and is very balanced for an American built V-Twin. I loved this bike!
- Ray Jensen, Springfield, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-09 2003 Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love my 2002 Chief and the changes for 2003 only refine it more. I agree the air cleaner is terrible but Gary Stark of Starklite is making an aftermarket setup that will be available this month through him and Indian both. The awesome is a torgue monster...since we all know that HP without torgue is nothing. The ride is good...the handling on the road is good...though it can be a bit of a challenge at parking lot speeds but then again this is a big bike. Fit and finish is awesome and the amount of chrome that comes std is eyepopping compared to my friends on HD bikes. This bike has no more problems than any of the other American counterparts...including the Motor Company and Polaris/Victory... Finally, the naysayers that said it would only last a year or two were wrong...as were the calls of kit bike especially since it now makes its own frame and motor for the Chief. Many feel this bike is going to make it...and continues to grow stronger and better each year...afterall, how manyother companies are putting out a product this nice and refined after only 4 years back in business...? The Chief is a great bike...better than the Fatboy and Roadking in my opinion...and definately has more show and go than competitors. If you like Indian bikes and have wanted a classic ride...then buy one. If you are a fan of the motor company or metric cruisers...then you might be better with one of them..since if you do not get what you want the first time...you will never be happy. Just dont balk when you pay 3k over sticker for the Road King..and then sink 2-3k more in chrome...and another 2k in upgrades just to get your bike equal to the Chief off the showroom floor. Good riding, no matter what you choose...but the Chief is a great bike and will be around for a while and hopefully regain the glory as it knew as AMERICAs FIRST MOTORCYCLE company...
- Brock, Charleston, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-01-15 2003 Indian Motorcycle Spirit Springfield Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I plunked down 25 large rode it home,excited to show it off to my neighbors,and yea the bike looks cool,but thats where the love affair ends.I tried to start it and it coughed and sputtered and finally started.I thought it might have bad gas,so I had it towed back to the dealer.They drained the tank and I noticed a bunch of goo that came out the tank.The dealer cleaned it out since it was the first fill.The bike only had 10 miles on it.My neighbors are still laughing at me,as the tow truck had to be called again,this time because the belt came off,45 miles from home.2 tows in less than 100 miles.Happy?Not!!!
- bangman, lamesa, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-12-17 2003 Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The chief is so uncomfortable the air cleaner will wear a hole through your left knee.The motor shakes the poop out of you,so you'll won't be buying any Exlax.I tried to sell it back to the dealer,but he only offered me $15,000 for it.I took it and lost $12,000 in 2 months.What a nightmare!
- jason, El Cajon, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-12-13 2003 Indian Motorcycle Spirit Springfield Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
As with any product you can have a lemon 1 out of every 100 made. Look at all our great Cars. Look at all the recalls. I've seen more HD's die out the door then Indians. The Spirit has the looks and feel of Great American Steel. It's mostly made in America unlike HD's. 54% of HD's are made in other lands (Mexico, Japan, China and Australia) Get with the show. Indians are good bikes. Yes they have growing pains, but they're working them out. Go Test drive one and feel the heart and soul this bike has.
- Cromag, Holbrook, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-12-13 2003 Indian Motorcycle Spirit Deluxe Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Spirit is a good lokkin good ride. The fit and finish of all the chrome and paint is by far better then any other bike out there. The gears are set just right. don't condem the Scoot till you ride one.
- Cromag, Holbrook, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: