Kawasaki Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (460)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Chris from Jacksonville, Florida says:

My VN800A is just a hair over 44,000 miles and still running strong. Recently had the oil changed and the carbs cleaned and it runs as good as the day

Read More (460 reviews)

Have you owned a Kawasaki Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

Voted Most Helpful Review 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My VN800A is just a hair over 44,000 miles and still running strong. Recently had the oil changed and the carbs cleaned and it runs as good as the day I bought it new. This bike is almost bulletproof. It even survived my wife using it for the DOD required MSF course.
- Chris, Jacksonville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-10-22 2003 Kawasaki Voyager XII Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned 2 of these bikes over the years. I have loved each of these bikes since my first ride on the back of my father's bike as a kid. Reliable, comfortable and quiet bike to ride. Can't wait for next year to put more miles on my latest purchase.
- Perry Rupe, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2016-03-11 2003 kawasaki kx125 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
great bike, more low to mid power than most 125s of that era, a very capable woods bike
- Anonymous, ft dodge iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2014-05-24 2003 Kawasaki KX 500 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The KX500 is like gold. It keeps going up in value. Nothing can touch the sheer raw power inside this monstrous engine. Those that had 2-strokes when they were legal and allowed by the EPA knew what fun you can have day in and out. Now that the EPA killed 2-strokes; the value has only gone up faster than gold. MSRP in some cases has already been passed up for higher prices. The KX 500 is the most powerfull bike in the world. This bike will smoke any 4-stroker period! I am a pro since 1979 on my XR80! Those were experimental days. Since then the KX 500 is the final masterpiece. The bike is a little heavy compared to my skinny 250's but makes up hands down for the amount of disgusting cheating power it produces. It almost feels like I'm cheating everyone with their wimpy 4-strokes. See you in pits 4-strokers with a wrench in your hands. Seriously, just buy them all since they will be worth big money.
- mikeinnyc, Staten Island, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2014-01-01 2003 Kawasaki Voyager XII Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My brother has a Goldwing 1500 and it isn't as good compared to a Voyager 1200. Voyager is faster, better looking and easier to work on, too. It will out-run Goldwing hands down and it's smooth. It's great in the twisties and even better on the interstate slab 45-50 mpg. I have a 95 Voyager and it's a peach, adjustable everything, too. The factory seat is bad, but with the money I saved, I bought a Russell day-long seat...wow, and still have about 5 grand to play with. I do wish they had a reverse gear when pulling a loaded trailer but enjoy the savings even more. I have ridden the Harleys and Hondas and Yamaha touring bikes. This is hands down a winner for me.
- maxxo, cleveland, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2013-07-15 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I rode this bike for 26,000 miles. It's very reliable, has a comfortable seating position for taller riders, will cruise all day, 2 up, loaded at 75 mph. and nice big saddlebags. It is a heavy bike, but handles well for it's size.
- Anonymous, Clark County, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2013-02-01 2003 Kawasaki Voyager XII Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had many bikes in the past but nothing like this!!!! It is very quick and extremely smooth. It will cruise at 85 mph. all day in comfort, 45-50 mpg. to boot. It has a lot of leg room and seats. The handle bars adjust to your personal fit. My brother-in-law has a 92 Goldwing 1500 and I like this much better. I like the seat shape as it is more flat and you can move around much more as your are travelling. The seat cushions could've been thicker but it was built to a price point and most people upgrade from stock seats anyway. It is very durable and easy to work on when it is needed. Mine is a 2000. I also pull a Bushtec trailer loaded down as well. When pulling a trailer, it's just as smooth and powerful as it can be. All of this, at half the price of a Goldwing.
- jeff c., atlanta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-12-02 2003 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this 2003 Concours for my first bike at the urging of several people. The bike was a little top heavy and challenging in low speed turns but I quickly overcame that. I used it for commuting to/from work which was 110 miles round trip. It's a nice comfortable ride with adequate power on tap. I averaged 40 mpg. at 80 mph. The only real problem I had was even with the fuel valve in reserve mode, the bike would occasionally die after riding 170 to 200 miles. I finally attributed this to fuel starvation after visiting several forums and eliminating all other causes. I put a fuel pump in line with the carbs and tank and the problem went away.
- Stuart Townes, Boise, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-07-31 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's the most dependable bike I have had so far. I love its comfort and balance and its ability to hold the road in the windy conditions.
- kent adams, rolla, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-04-10 2003 Kawasaki KLX 400R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I went looking for a KTM bike but the price was too high. Before leaving the dealer showed me a KLX in excellent shape for less than half of the KTM. I immediately closed the deal. My daughter and I took it to Croom the following day and it rides great, the suspension is plush and that helps with my back. It has plenty of power to have fun in the trails. I've had it for a few months and it has beem flawless. It came with a full FMF pipe, Renthal bars and brand new tires. It is the best used bike I've ever bought. I will keep it until it disintegrates in my garage.
- Jorge Toledo, Saint Cloud, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-04-01 2003 Kawasaki Z1000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my Z1000 for five years and now started riding on a FZ600. When I got more riding time in and wanted more power, I bought the Z1000. It has all the power you need and moves around like a 600cc bike. The only problem with the bike is the driver's seat is hard and the rearview mirrors show your elbows no matter how you try to adjust them. But the bike pulls like a mad dragon over 4,000 rpms. and a gentle one below that mark. But overall I love this bike.
- Robert Stevenson, Baltimore, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-03-15 2003 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my second Concours, first one was a 1991, red. I now have a 2000 repainted in blazing flame blue, (Ford F150 colour). I have enjoyed both bikes. It has a great touring range. I have gotten between 500 and 600 km. per tank. I would recommend this bike to anyone over 5' 10. It is a tall bike and top heavy.
- john nielsen, Kingston,, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-02-13 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike from a previous owner who customized it and babied it, basically. She has about 20,000 miles and feels like she only has about 1,000! This bike is comfortable and easy to ride/control! I bought a "Johnny Pag" 300cc brand new for $3,300 and thought I was getting a deal!! I rode the thing for 300 miles and was scared I was going to kill myself only going 40 miles an hour! Something definitely wasn't right...so I looked into trading her in for a bigger better bike. When I came across this, the dealer promised me I would have a blast with this bike and even talked me out of getting a Sportster 883 and it was so worth it!! I can't stop thinking about it when I'm not riding and I ride it every chance I get!! I love it!! I feel safe and I know I can rely on it! I would recommend this bike to anyone, especially if your not wanting to spend thousands on a "Harley"! Personally, I think this bike beats out a Harley all day!!
- Anna, New Bedford, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-03-17 2003 Kawasaki KLX 125 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I race around my fields and it's pretty good. Mine bogs some times but over all it's pretty good.
- matthew, aquasco, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-05-25 2003 Kawasaki Z1000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought this beauty as a holdover in 05 for 2100 below retail, and it's the best money I've ever spent. As others have mentioned, I've never owned a bike that got so much attention. I guess it's because it doesn't look like everyone else's V-twin clone. I really enjoy walking to it after a day at work and saying to myself.."that's a cool bike!" I'm not bothered much by the vibration issue, lucky I guess. But I do get some serious butt burn from that seat. Maybe time for my first upgrade..a Corbin seat. Oh yeah, I love the pipes too, remind me of my old Z-1, hence the license plate StillZ1.
- StillZ1, Duluth, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-01-03 2003 Kawasaki Voyager XII Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2003 Kawasaki Voyager with only 1 mile on it. The bike has been great overall. The pros: proven design, reliable, smooth and responsive, large trunk will hold two full size helmets, roomy saddle bags, cruise control, and drive shaft. It is reasonably comfortable although a seat comparable to that on the gold wing would be better as would a higher seat for tall riders. The bike is fast enough -- I've had it up to 100 mph on a track with room more to spare. Cons: Kawasaki's front forks are notorious for developing leaks. These forks could use a bug shield. They appear a bit underbuilt for such a large bike and don't take your hands off the handle bars at low speed unless you want your cage rattled. Of course, no handed riding isn't the brightest idea either. Bottom Line: It's a great bike whether riding in town, commuting, or cross country. On one cross country trip I had it fully loaded with luggage, held the speed to 60 mph, and got 50 mpg. Not bad for a big bike with standard carbs.
- Ron, Mesa, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-11-05 2003 Kawasaki ZZR1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Having lived with the big Super-Kaw for some time now, I've had the chance to really evaluate its pros and cons. I've piled on an additional 6000-plus miles since getting it and I can more accurately comment on it. First off, it's still one heck of a machine. However, I found that it took me a while before I could really dial in the suspension to my liking. The rear shock is easy to adjust and getting the right pre-load and damping was made easy to do by Kawasaki's design team. The front forks took quite a bit more time to find the right setting. Part of this is due to the fact that you can only adjust pre-load on the front, so finding the right balance can be a little trickier. Where I live (I commute on highway almost daily) there are a number of pronounced expansion joints in the road. There was too much jolt on the front forks when I hit them. I learned that part of the problem was the fork oil needed to be changed (every two years according to the maintenance schedule). That made a huge difference and now it's really nice... good damping and excellent control, plus stability for cornering. While the weight of the big Kaw wasn't a huge issue with me, I nonetheless got rid of the stock exhaust and purchased an Akropovic Titanium and Carbon Fiber exhaust. This dropped about 20-25 pounds off the unsprung weight of the bike and made a huge difference in the handling, especially with less than a half a tank of fuel. Darn thing felt as light as a 600 underway (almost...). Did I mention the Akropovic exhaust sounds really sweet? And finally, although pretty comfortable to begin with, I got a pair of GenMar risers (raised the bars up about 1 1/2 inches and back a scosh) now it is indeed just perfect. All told, I'm still quite pleased with my Super-Kaw. It remains an economic, ultra reliable, mega fast, well handling, X-country express that is also still a looker. Money well spent.
- Bob H., Chesapeake, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-10-08 2003 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-12R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This thing is by far the fastest thing I had ever ridden. 150 in no time at all- and was still pulling like a train! Wheelie in every gear (but 6th, ran out of guts!). Home to work 45 miles in about 20 minutes. Awesome carving ability, great stopping power, and holy cow- the giddy up is incredible!
- Jerry, Gloversville, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-08-14 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
These bikes are what realiablity is all about. At 117,000 kms the repairs that I have done amount to the cam chain extenders for 8 dollars and I replaced the u-joint on the drive shaft for 27 dollars. Of course some tires, brake pads, and a new battery, but hey that's just normal operation. Here comes the next 100,000 kms.
- John, Parksville, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-18 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike in May 2009 with 3100 miles on it. I have had it 3 weeks and it is awesome. Not too big and lots of power and comfortable. I got a good deal on it too! Looks good and rides great.
- harry briggs, pekin, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-08 2003 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-6R 636 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the quickest bike I have ever owned. I think my 1986 VF1000R has a higher top end speed but I like the quickness of this 636. I have it set up with a 1 down in front and 3 up in the rear and it accelerates faster than GSXR 750 and close to a 1000, but the speedo ends up being WAY off. When it shows 75 MPH I am really going 63 MPH. This bike is very harsh to ride, but sticks like glue. Yes, it will hurt the wrists a little bit on long rides if you are a novice sport bike user, but I rode bicycles professionally so that position feels very natural to me even on 300 mile rides-----no wrist or posterior or back pains. I have so many mods to this bike to make it even faster than stock and for pure speed it is amazing. The aftermarket selection is HUGE and so far this bike burns almost no oil and VERY little coolant in the hot Texas summer. I am guessing reliability to be top notch as with most Japanaese bikes, but not quite as reliable as my KLR (bomb proof). Overall I am very satisfied. I give it 4 stars for comfort because I think most people will have some problems, but I like it. Everything else gets 5 stars.
- Paul T, Fort Worth, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-19 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike used with the 2000 miles on it. I like the bike except the stock seating position seems a little cramped, need some highways pegs I guess, but something to strecth out a little more. The brakes are weird for 6 pistons, I mean the front is touch almost grabby, but the rear seems soft, but once you get used to it you can manipulate them fine. Performance is definitely not a highlight on this bike as it is stock. HD wideglides will take this bike off the line. But I have read on here of guys putting about an extra 20 HP on these bikes, and that would do it for sure. So if you want preformance, get ready to add a few hundred bucks. I have V&H Pipes on it and they sound great, not too loud but just right. All my stock badges are removed and everyone stares at it. So you can be sure you will riding a nice bike. Over all, I would say Kawasaki built a good bike. I like it.
- Stephen, Frisco, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-17 2003 Kawasaki KLX 125 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had this dirt bike for about a year or two. The comfort is ok not really the best. It's pretty quick. The total speed I'll say about 60mph. It's a good bike to ride around on and if you want to hit it, it gets it right away.
- Riding king, Dinwiddie, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-03-11 2003 Kawasaki Z1000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike in April 2003. I've loved it from first sight. I've always got a lot of looks on this bike because they are unique. The stock seat is uncomfortable but a Corbin took care of that and the rest is history. I've done some mods to it and still love it. I do some commuting back and forth to work in the summer, but mainly ride on my days off for fun.
- Tim Anders, Pfafftown, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-13 2003 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-12R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After riding almost every type of bike there is, this one is by far the best for comfort (even after back surgery), and pure, raw, sick power. Riding on the highways you feel secure and you know the bike is planted firmly on the corners. A true (Super) Beast in all forms. Only problem is that you have to get used to riding with all your friends behind you.
- Gary, Lakeland, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: