Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Motorcycle reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
4.7
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Motorcycles

Reviews

15 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

John

Parksville, British Columbia

Reviewed on 2009-08-14

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
These bikes are what realiablity is all about. At 117,000 kms the repairs that I have done amount to the cam chain extenders for 8 dollars and I replaced the u-joint on the drive shaft for 27 dollars. Of course some tires, brake pads, and a new battery, but hey that's just normal operation. Here comes the next 100,000 kms.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (7)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

tokyo billy

Aurora, Colorado

Reviewed on 2005-11-11

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought this bike, a left over 2003 model in Jan. of 2005. It had 9 miles when I got it and now has over three thousand problem free miles. It has excellent power, beautiful handling and very good balance. The only glitch in the bike is it will backfire occasionally when you turn it off after a short ride (20 miles or so). Gas mileage is in the 45 mpg range (a whole lot better than my F350 dually Ford with a power stroke engine). If you are looking for a big scoot, this is the one!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jim Russell

Woodland, Washington

Reviewed on 2005-07-22

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I'm 61 and have been riding for 33 years. I bought this machine in May of 2003. At 11000 it developed a slight oil leak which was repaired by the dealer. I have enjoyed many 200 mile plus rides without any problems. I would not hesitate to ride this bike across country.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Alex

Boston, Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2005-06-12

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Having been away from riding for several years and being accustomed to Sport Bikes, I decided on a Cruiser. This Kaw is a nice Bike with plenty of power to boot-around on. Too quiet so I changed the pipes to the V&H Straightshots. The change gave some noticable gains in the low-end. Kaw makes a great line of Bikes but I plan to eventually move on.....probably to H-D for the final purchase. No regrets in the purchase though and would recommend Kawasaki to anyone interested. Keep 2-wheels down.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

donald branscom

guerneville, California

Reviewed on 2005-04-22

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I like my Kawasaki 1500- when I get to ride it. When it had 560 miles the fan switch went bad and the fan stayed on all the time killing the battery. Then there was a recall on a fuel system gasket that could leak and start a fire. Then as reported by another owner of the same motorcycle on this website it started stalling after it was warm and you made a stop and then restarted it. That seemed to be solved when the Kawasaki dealer put in a new float needle. But 400 miles later it is acting up again having weird behaviors. I love the looks of the motorcycle and the features but I spent 10,000 dollars so I want to ride it, not sit at home waiting for repairs. The Kawasaki dealer has been great but still it is embarrassing to take it in the 4th time. Maybe they suspect me. I have been riding and racing motorcycles since I was 16 and now I am 55 years old.
Reliability
3.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mike Zucker-Dench

woodhaven, New York

Reviewed on 2003-11-05

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is without a doubt, the best looking, most comfortable, well balanced heavyweight I have ever ridden. I have owned mine for almost a year now and I use it to commute in NYC as well as for long runs almost always two up with my wife whose need for comfort made me select this over the Road King. We have even ridden it across grassy meadowlands and dirt trails to get to campsites and the bike for all its considerable heft, has always been sure footed and controllable. Although not the fastest cruiser out there, this bike is a torque monster and has it right from the bottom of the rev range. It has no vices and gives a tremendous feeling of confidence, I have been riding for over forty years and this is in my top three of all time for its splendid qualities and drop dead gorgeous looks. Add saddlebags, a crashbar and a windshield and you have a deluxe machine which whilst being impressively huge still manages to be surprisingly nimble. I have had no problems nor do I have any complaints.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Steve

Merrimack, New Hampshire

Reviewed on 2003-10-12

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have driven Harley's for years... a sportster, heritage softtail, and a low rider... and I find myself asking "Why did I not know about this bike before!?" It has better all around power, smoother ride, better sound with the Vance and Hines pipes added. Puts the old american cruisers to shame!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Chuck Fink

Graham, Washington

Reviewed on 2003-08-11

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
If you're going to be adding a windshield and saddlebags, do yourself a BIG favor and pass this one up. And instead just buy their Nomad that has most of these features anyway. Otherwise look forward to adding or replacing the following: the seat (TERRIBLE example on stock bike; comparable to sitting on a shoe box, especially for a big guy) Risers for the handlebars so you don't have to reach for em. Adding a windshield. I'd recommend a Memphis Shades product for easy off and on. Bags of your choice. Hard bags would be nice but are costly. Other than spending an extra $2000 for the mentioned upgrades/additions buying that Nomad "bagger" would have been a better choice in my opinion. But I do like my Vulcan Classic now that I've personalized it. Judging from the comments I get, others like it as well.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Byron Mays

Diamond Springs, California

Reviewed on 2003-07-27

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I purchased my 1500E in May of 2003, it is my first total street bike,(I rode a lot of dirt bikes, ie... Bultacos, Yamaha's). I did a lot of research and rode some Harleys, etc.., and it came down to a Yamaha 1100 V-Star and the 1500 Vulcan. I rode the V-Star and felt cramped, but just sitting on the Vulcan it felt right. From the first ride I was in love, this bike handles like a dream, I live in a rural mountainous area with a lot of twisty 2 lane roads and this bike lays down in the corners and rights itself just by your thinking about the turns. The power is there for the asking. My only complaint is that the engine noise takes a little getting used to, but I think most of it is from the cam chain adjusters getting ready to adjust. I find I can't stay off the bike, I ride to work everday.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ron

Rutland, Vermont

Reviewed on 2003-07-07

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just got the '03 Vulcan 1500 Classic. I've put about 350 miles on it and am more pleased with it every time I crack the throttle. This baby has some serious "grunt"! It rides and handles smoothly on our winding Vermont back roads. I can't wait to get past the break-in so I can crank on it! Lots of compliments on the bike's appearance, even from a Harley dealer! Accessories are abundant but extra chrome pieces are expensive although not really necessary. The bike is very handsome as is, right off the floor.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 15 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: