Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (30)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2009-05-19 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike used with the 2000 miles on it. I like the bike except the stock seating position seems a little cramped, need some highways pegs I guess, but something to strecth out a little more. The brakes are weird for 6 pistons, I mean the front is touch almost grabby, but the rear seems soft, but once you get used to it you can manipulate them fine. Performance is definitely not a highlight on this bike as it is stock. HD wideglides will take this bike off the line. But I have read on here of guys putting about an extra 20 HP on these bikes, and that would do it for sure. So if you want preformance, get ready to add a few hundred bucks. I have V&H Pipes on it and they sound great, not too loud but just right. All my stock badges are removed and everyone stares at it. So you can be sure you will riding a nice bike. Over all, I would say Kawasaki built a good bike. I like it.
- Stephen, Frisco, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-12 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Meanie used with 3,500 miles on her and have put 12,000 miles on her since 04. Very stable at over 100 mph and very reliable in all but the coldest conditions. I have installed a DG Hard Krome exxcelerator pipe and Thunder mfg big air kit with power commander unit. Mods have changed stock rear wheel hp from 55 to 72. Torque up from 70 to 83. Not too shabby for the price paid. I would probably buy it again. Very striking in appearance, but I wish Kawasaki wouldn't have put those stupid tribal stickers on the tank. Would also love this bike more with mid-controls instead of the medium forward ones.
- Emil, Mukwonago, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-01-02 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
As this is my first bike, I researched and reviewed bikes for about 3 years before settling on my '03 Streak. Once I decided on and bought the Streak, the rest is history! I've never made a purchase in my 42 years that was so perfectly matched to me. It's an eye catcher; many people think it costs much more just based on its appearance. It's equally at home cruising the city, going hard and fast or touring through the backcountry. It rides comfortably and I've never gotten road rash on my many 250 - 300 mile trips. In my opinion, it's the best mix of cruiser, with power, sport bike handling and touring sensibility.
- Dave "Da OvaSeea", Victoria, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-27 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I researched this bike for several months befor buying it. I wanted a EFI, shaft drive, liquid cooled, cruiser. I was told a 1300 is good for highway cruising and 1600 is great. So I went for 1500 in the meanstreak. The brakes are great but take getting used to due to 6 pistons stopping the front. Torque is great for take offs, throttle control is great. No overheating in the Texas spring so far. Hope it continues!
- moochie, Bedford, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-10 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I started riding this past summer and the bike that I started on was the Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak. Over the past summer my Dad and I made six trips and went over 3000 miles. With most of our riding in Montana and Idaho, we got a lot of riding on winding roads, hills, and going through small towns. The bike handles corners well and is smooth at both high and low speeds. I have never had a problem with its performance when it's really cold or hot out. The cylinders do put off a lot of heat, however, and wearing chaps is a must, I've found. My bike is all stock with an after market windshield, and I can't say that it lacks in any area.
- Nathan Hall, Milltown, Montana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-23 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I hear some folks say the Meanie doesn't have enough power. That may be, but it has plenty for me. If you want something to kill yourself on, get a sportbike.I currently have 23000 miles on it with absolutely NO problems. I also currently own a '97 Vulcan Classic with 43000 miles. Sadly, I've had to have an all new wiring harness installed ($500.00 worth) because the original one wore through from vibration, and I've had a complete replacement stock exhaust system installed because the original one rotted out($1500.00 worth) but overall, it's been a great motorcycle also. Ride safe!
- James K. Carlson, Wallingford, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-16 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
13,000 miles in a year, have made trips to the Smoky's from FL and many other long rides without incident and much comfort. Had a recall to replace the oil filter with the pineapple type, didn't like that. Have moved to plus gas, seems to perform better without backfire or hesitation. Still averaging about 47 mpg with highway riding.
- Gene, Pinellas Park, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-16 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If your looking for a bike that is all there,the MEAN STREAK is for you. I had a budget to work with and for the money, she can't be touched. I threw the Vanes & Hines Longshots on and she sounds great. Big head turner! I am a first time bike owner and she rides great. Great balance and clean look. The bike is easy to custom out! The only slight drawback is it's a little sluggish on throttle response. don't get me wrong ....PLENTY OF POWER THERE!!!! I will take care of that with a Power Commander & hypercharge air intake. Do not hesitate to buy the bike. You will be glad you DID!!!!
- David Drezek, North Providence, Rhode Island

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-13 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am 31 years old and have never owned or riden a motorcycle (even though I always wanted one). I finally started to get the bug and I ended up with a brand new 2003 Mean Streak. I looked at all the companies and all the reviews. I choose the Meanie as it looks big enough, but is easy enough to handle for a newbie like me. I have only 200 miles on the bike, but I have loved every minute of it. No problems as of yet, and it has been so easy to manuever and train on. I love the looks, but the seat needs to go. I have a wife who is itching to ride, so I purcased a Mustang seat. I also will be getting a tad louder pipes that the factory installed ones (a bit too quiet). I was so impressed with the quality of the parts and componetry. I love my meanie and hope to have many fun memories on it!
- Mark Shields, Zimmerman, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-09 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2003 Mean Streak new several months ago. It has plenty of power, torque, and smooth shifting. One of the best suspensions I've ever seen on a cruiser. I've been riding for 26 years and I've been on a lot of cruisers, so take my word when I tell you that this bike is a winner. The only problem experienced was a loose heat shield on the exhaust, but that was easily fixed. Excellent bike. Would like to see a 2000cc engine on this bike if possible!
- CJ, Marion, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-03 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just picked it up after a month of comparative looking. Kawasaki was the brand, the Streak is the ONE! Very pleased. Sweet ride...handling 10 stars, value 20 stars!
- Blackhorse, Oregon City, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-31 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The best, hands down. Sounds great, looks great, and rides great. I looked at the VTX and V-Star. Nothing compares to this bike, thank you Kawasaki for this great ride. I am sold.
- Curtis Boyte, Mendenhall, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-26 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love my 2003 Mean Streak. I bought it in February of 2003. I have owned a 1974 750 Honda, 1985 Kawasaki 750 2 stroke (it was fast), and a 1993 KZ 1000 police bike (it was fast). The Mean Streak is fast. I broke it in hard and will race anyone. I have had no problems at all. I use 93-octane fuel. Changed the seat to a 2-passenger seat but it needs more padding. Added Le Saddle bags, hard shell and shield. They made going on rides with my wife and myself easier.
- larry edwards, franklin, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-22 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had the Mean Streak now for two months and have 3300 miles on it.If you are looking for a cruiser that has good proformance look no further.Handling breaking power and shifting very good.It handles very well off road too.
- David Niehaus, Roswell, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-09 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This being my first bike I really don't have anything to compare with. However it is everything I read about, it has a VERY smooth comfortable ride. I did read some reports about the power issue, to me if you want ALL POWER buy a Crotch Rocket. But if you want a ride that is easy on the body and More than enough power to get out of the way.... Then the MEAN STREAK is the bike for you.
- Jon, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-02 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my Mean Streak from the original owner with 625 miles on it. He had the dealer install V&H pipes so that was a bonus. Plus, I got the original exhaust system. It was too much bike for him as he wasn't an experienced rider. This is my first cruiser except for a HD Sportster I had years ago. Overall, I like the Mean Streak. Power wise, it has enough for me. I've thought about installing a Power Commander but hate to screw around with the factory settings. I have a ZX10 with pipes and DynoJet and it doesn't run right yet so I hate to mess with the Mean Streak. I find that the rear shocks are a little stiff for me. Too much of a jarring ride on rough roads. I put some air in them and that helped but still pretty stiff. The transmission shifts like butter - smoothest shifting bike I've ever owned. The neutral light and high beam light are misplaced. You have to look down to see them. I'd prefer the two lights be placed between the speedo and tach. I think that some of the chrome accessories are way overpriced and what is with the "stick-on" pieces? A chrome piece with "sticky-back" to hold it in place sucks. I purchased a Corbin seat and found that it was like sitting on a brick. Extremely hard and it didn't fit my butt at all. I like the looks of the Corbin seat but comfort comes first with me. The stock seat is way better than the Corbin in my opinion and I've had a lot of bikes with Corbin seats. Gas mileage is great, I average around 50 MPG. I've ridden around 2,500 miles and so far, no problems. I wish it was better suited to fitting bolt-on saddlebags. Great ride, great brakes, great sound with the V&H pipes. Would I buy one again? You bet!!
- Rich, Chico, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-29 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just had my Meanie 2 days and Im smilin - laughin, best bike Ive ever owned. I bought it new an 02 with custom purple flames its awesome. Know what you mean about the gas tank whistle I wondered what that was too. Seat is so comfortable, best ever and the bike is very classy lookin and technically SWEET!! Girl rider
- starhawk, Iowa City, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-19 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love my 2003 Kawasaki Mean Streak, I looked at all of its competitors when I went to purchase my first bike and this one just had everything I wanted with great looks. For the true customizer this bike is a canvas waiting to be used. My only complaint is the slight lack of power, when I first got it, it was great, but now that I'm used to it I can feel it needs more. Recommend the Power Commander III - Vance and Hines Straight Shots and then youll have a 80-90 HP Cruiser. I also think the Gauges are misplaced, but I've already fixed that! Has a few little things youll notice over time, but for the money it is hands down the best choice in its class. I've had other Harley Riders tell me for the money it is very sweet. Just couldnt justify spending double the money for the Vrod, although the Vrod is nice I like having the extra cash in my pocket! Make all the choices you want, but make sure you look at the Mean Streak, you'll be impressed!
- Anonymous, Phoenix, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-16 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Never owned any bike before. Just rode my friends Sportster a few times. I've had the Mean Steak for a couple of weeks. All I can say is ...its been a great bike to learn on. I couldn't see buying something twice,so I bought a great looking bike that's relatively easy to ride. It's got plenty of power for me and the brakes are impressive. So far I'm happy with the Streak!
- BLKJACK, Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-22 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
All I can say is that this bike is solid. If you like torque and riding on a fine machine then this bike is the one for you
- Jeff Howard, Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-20 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 2002 Mean Streak in April 2003 and to date I've logged 2100 miles (even with all the rain we've had!)and the bike has been flawless! The handling, comfort, brakes, style are right on for the power cruiser line. I considered the Road Star Warrior (too wide), the VStar 1100 (not a power cruiser), Honda VTX 1300 (not fuel injected) and the Sabre. The Mean Streak just has all the right parts and just feels perfect. Water cooled, fuel injected, radial tires, adjustable and air rear shocks, fabulous front brakes, a tachometer, dash mounted key, seamless tank..........I could go on all night. I am contemplating a set of DG Hard-Krome pipes (possibly the Xccelerator or the Sideburner)and a power commander. The only item that can be criticized is the power. It could use about 10 more horses and 10 more lbs. of torque. Stock it has no problem keeping up with the pack and even if there weren't any any add-on power upgrades I would still choose it over all the others.
- Ralph J. Delio, New Castle, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-08 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Wow! I can't think of one negative thing to say about this bike. I outgrew my previous ride, a 2000 Yamaha VStar 650 classic. This bike is 100 pounds heavier, yet feels lighter and more agile. I can take curves at speeds I wouldn't even contemplate on the VStar. The front suspension is impressive. The seat is surprisingly comfortable. My decision came done to the VTX (1300 and 1800) and the Nomad. The Marauder didn't impress me. If you've ever been on I-35 during summer rush-hour traffic, you'll appreciate a water-cooled engine. Kawasaki is giving great deals this summer.
- Eric Barrett, Georgetown, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-01 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well I've had my Purple Meanie for almost a month now--It's an 03 that I purchased 4/11/03. And 1700 miles later there are some observations I've made (pluses and minuses). On the plus side I was considering VTX, VROD, Road Warrior and the Mean Streak. I really wanted the VROD in the worst way just so I could say I own a piece of Americana--that and so the Harley riders would wave at me--NOT. Just one prob CASH. The cheapest VROD I found was 17,900--HD has priced the Average Joe who is looking to purchase a power cruiser right out of the market. (Nice job HD--hope ur CEO and board of directors are enjoying it). Next I looked into the VTX. My only complaint was that at 5'10" 170lb I just didn't feel right on it. Too much bike for my small frame. It then came down to the Road Warrior and the Meanie. After looking at numerous pics and reading numerous articles about the two I had all but committed to the more powerful Road Warrior. So I made the trip down to the not so local dealer who just happened to deal both Yamaha and Kawasaki. It's not until you are able to compare the two that it becomes apparent--in fact a no brainer. The Meanie is so much better put together. More chrome, better sitting position, and just compare the overall looks of the two. I don't know what nimrod at Yamaha designed that exhaust for the Warrior but that is a joke--worse than Honda's 6ft exhaust. Although the Meanie is the dog of the bunch there are solutions for the money I saved when I purchased the Meanie. Take the extra 1,000 and the power issue can easily be dealt with. Hard Chrome 2into1 Sideburner + Power Commander + Thunder Air Box brings the stock 62HP up to around 80HP. I definitely think that will be enough for the highway miles that I click off or any HD, VTX, or Road Warrior (stock of course) that might dare to challenge. As far as complaints I have only one concerning the Meanie. What the heck is going on with the gas tank venting through the gas cap. I'm understand that it has to vent somewhere but does it have to be so loud. Definitely a distinct whistling noise comes from the gas cap after you've turned the motor off. Kind of embarassing when people are admiring your bike and all the sudden it starts whistling. Overall my Meanie is as close to a 5star as a bike can get. You can definitely ride for miles and miles without your backside going to sleep. And the compliments haven't stopped yet.
- Mike Hugo, Chanute, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-29 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Got the Mean Streak 1 year ago. Did 3,000 miles in 3 months and then the bike spent the next 7 months in and out of the dealer shop! 3 electrical harnesses and many headaches later the bike seems to be back on the road...A disaster. Great bike when it runs but would need some more hp and reliability to be a 5 stars. I am now just afraid to install any power commander or anything so the bike will not fall apart!
- c hawker, greenbae, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-23 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Mean Streak about one (1) month ago. It is a really smooth ride with plenty of power. It really turns some heads when I am out in public. Nothing but praises for my Meanie....
- Ted A. Politza, Middletown, Delaware

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: