Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (18)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2009-06-18 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike in May 2009 with 3100 miles on it. I have had it 3 weeks and it is awesome. Not too big and lots of power and comfortable. I got a good deal on it too! Looks good and rides great.
- harry briggs, pekin, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-11-08 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike, a 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 750. After 18,000 miles and a few times of going down, I've still got nothing but good things to say about this bike. It's yet to fall apart, make any horrible noises, or lose any power. Though some call it, with love, the HBUBF (Hairy Butt Ugly But Fast), I disagree. The clean, classic styling is a good change of scenery from all of these 'Big Boy' Wanna Be bikes. You know, the ones that try to look like their larger counterparts of the same model, but just aren't. Well, the style of the Vulcan 750 sets it apart from all others. It's got style, class, comfort, and dare I forget the power? No. This bike tears up the street, and a lot of other bikes of similar size, and even a few bigger bikes. But let's not make this a competition, even though I blew the doors off of a friend's Shadow Aero 750. If you'll look, they don't have any doors anymore. I regularly go on 200-300 mile rides, and I'll be taking my Vulcan to its second Biketoberfest this year. Good for cruising, scooting around town, commuting to work, and even blasting away from red lights like a psychotic maniac, though I've never done that, of course... The Vulcan has never let me down and I've only got a few small things I would change about it, and I'm working on it, when the money comes in. Many happy miles behind me, and many happy miles to go. The only other bike other than a Vulcan I'd ever consider riding, would be a Yamaha V-Max. Take that for what it's worth. I'm picky. The Kawasaki is built More-Than-Ford Tough, and can take a beating. It comes with more features than other bikes can dream about: hazard lights, center stand, tachometer, fuel gauge... Need I go on? This bike will never leave you wanting, and will be an enjoyment for years to come. The cost is affordable, it's liquid-cooled, it hasn't changed for years, and, and, and... I could go on and keep writing, but why? Go test drive one and I'm sure you'll enjoy yourself.
- William Wright, Auburndale, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-24 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought the 2003 Vulcan 750 2 years ago when I was 58 years old. Have been riding bikes off and on for over 30 years. Have had two seasons of trouble free riding, and did lots of research before I decided on the 750. Think I made the right decision. A few personal comments that might help those considering the Vulcan 750: 1) Senior riders-this bike is easy on the lower back. The 80's chopper-esque riding position lets you sit more upright, and not hunched forward to reach the handlebars. that's a good thing for older riders. 2) I disagree this is a good first bike for beginners. It's 750cc (62 hp), and dry weight at 480+ lbs. Most starter bikes at the motorcycle safety courses run 175-250cc, and might weigh a couple of hundred pounds (+/-). This bike hauls butt, and can feel heavy to any newby who weighs less than 175 pounds. I suggest you start smaller and buy up to this one when you're ready. 3) Two BIG pluses - it comes standard with tachometer and fuel gauge(you won't know you miss them till you don't have them!!), and the tach/speedo sit on top/center of the handlebars, not on the gas tank, so your eyes can remain mainly on the road as you glance down to look at the gauges. Big safety factor. 4) Have been amazed that I seem to be the only guy riding a Vulcan 750 (that I've seen anyway) with after market pipes. Bought the Cobra slip-ons shortly after purchasing the bike. They look great, and the sound is loud, but not obnoxiously loud. And the performance increased NOTICEABLY! So those of you wanting to get some more scoot and rumble, try the slip-ons. No need to re-jet the carbs. It's everything I bought it for, and the youngsters still come up and admire it when I stop to fill up. Ride safe, and you can ride longer. Trust me.
- Steve Ehart, Edinburg, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-18 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2003 in August last year. 3000 miles later and I can't say enough good things about this bike. Quick, responsive and easy to maintain. It's a great bike around town or on the open road.
- Breezy, New Hope, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-16 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had the Vulcan 750 picked out on looks beforehand but your reviews have been right on. I love this bike! I have had several bikes in my younger days but havn't been on one for over 15 years. I picked my Vulcan up just before the Labor Day weekend and found it to be easy to handle with plenty of power even with the breakin restraints. It was comfortable and fun enough to get over 500 miles on it that weekend so I could get my grand prize of two more grand of RPM. I sold my wife on the gas milage which is great but the truth is I had the fever again and this bike is the cure. The features and low maintenance technology make it a good commuter and the looks and power make it a fun for the weekend ride. I am 5' 8" 180 lbs and this motorcycle feels just right. I just hope it holds up cause I will be commuting 60 miles one way. I have 1400 miles on it now mostly hitting the farm roads at night. Its very comfortable but I have to shift my weight a little after about an hour of riding. Thanks to your reviews I now feel like I have the perfect bike for me at this time.
- Sam Watson, Waco, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-04 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding since 1965,and traveled over 350,000 miles on 9 bikes: Honda 305 Super Hawk, CB-450, & 3 CB-750's full dress, Kawasaki 750 LTD, Goldwing 1100, Kawasaki Concourse & my current 1995 Vulcan 750. Without a doubt, it is the best all around bike for the money! It has all the high-tech features of big touring bikes; i.e., shaft drive, fuel gage, temp gage, tach, spedo, liquid cooling,& center stand + 50mpg at 70mph riding 2-up with faring, bags, & full rack on the rear...and I'm a 200lb+ rider! It's quick and very nimble. My business partner & I bought Kawasaki Concourse's together...a very quick sport-touring bike like the Honda ST-1100, but after 12,000 miles I sold it because the riding position, foot position & grip position were all too "crotch-rocket" like. He still has his and he says he has trouble keeping up with me as we on-ramp to the freeway, and we tour at 80-90mph with a couple BMW RT-1150's all day long with ease. Riding position is a comfortable "feet-forward" position without the need for add-on highway pegs. My ONLY complaint is the relatively small 3.6 gallon gas tank, forcing me to stop every 150 miles. Yes...it is that comfortable that with a bigger tank I could just keep going. (You know most riders say that have to get off and walk every couple hours.) Oh...yes it's a v-twin...but it's as smooth as the in-line 4 Concours and Honda CB-750. That in itself really surprised me. And...I just blow by the guys on the Harleys...they can't keep up...
- ALAN MOSS, KANSAS CITY, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-20 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own a 2002 Vulcan. It's an absolute joy to ride. For starters, the seating position is perfect with all of your instrumentation in front of you. The stock seat offers adequate comfort. There are some more comfortable aftermarket seats available. The Vulcan handles nicely in turns and has a good amount of grouns clearance. It offers a stable ride around town and/or on the freeway. The engine offers enough power for new riders to grow into yet experienced riders won't outgrow it in a season. (I've taken a Corvette, Harley V-Rod, and a Katana 750 off the line!) Overall, the Vulcan offers out-of-this world performance and value at a down-to-Earth Price. There is no other bike on the PLANET that can give you the same features, power, handling, and comfort as the Vulcan 750 for the price. TIP: To make your Vulcan or any bike run cooler & smoother, use a 15w-40 "Diesel Oil" such as Shell Rotella-T, Mobil Delvac 1200 or Castrol RX Super.
- Joe , Lakewood, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-24 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the Vulcan 750 a year ago and have put 1500 miles on it. I did a lot of comparison shopping before choosing the Vulcan. For the price, the VN750 has more features by far. It is perfectly balanced in corners and has power to spare when you twist the throtle. The only complaint thus far concerns a bit of leakage around the final drive. Apparently I am not the first Vulcan 750 owner to experience that. The only immediate solution is to check the final drive grease levels from time to time and to top off as needed. I have not taken it on super long multi-sate tours but it is always a joy to ride around town. I'm 180 lbs. and start to squirm a bit after an hour in the saddle...the seat is a touch spongy for the long haul. Like I said at the top, the Vulcan is a great bike for the money.
- George Mello, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-01 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought an '03 Vulcan 750 after a few years absence from riding. I tried to look objectively at all offerings in this bike class and found that the Vulcan 750 offers more features (instruments, drive shaft, non-maintenance lifters, etc.) than it's competition. I guess what I am saying here is that the Vulcan 750 has the most bang for the buck. I seriously looked at the Vulcan 800, but several issues (chain mess, cleaning rear wheel because of chain, spokes to be cleaned, lack of instruments, valve adjustments, etc.)I chose the Vulcan 750. Yes, the Vulcan ears are a bit weird, but they can be shaved!
- Kevin Ritchie, Lebanon, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-11 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 1992 Vulcan 750 and it has been a perfect bike. I use it for both cruising and commuting. 25 miles one way to work. It's a comfortable ride, plenty of take off power though lacks high end a little, but for a cruiser theres not much need for top speeds much over 100. The bike has been unchanged for many years and that's a good thing as Kawasaki built perhaps the perfect "just above entry level" cruiser. Easily handled in any situation not too big for smaller riders and not too small for larger ones either. I am 6'2" and very comfortable on it. For 2003 I beleive again no changes were made so if you're thinking about it, get it! Great bike, great price. ride safe, have fun
- JOhn V, Gilbertsville, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-04 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had the bike for four months and have gone about 2000 miles. For the first 1500 miles it ran like a dream but then developed a severe valve clacking noise and significant vibration. The dealer put four new lifters in the front cylinder which quieted the noise somewhat but the significant vibration remains. The dealer has had my bike for more than two months now but no solution as yet to be found. I guess the guys at the shop felt sorry for me so they are letting me ride a really nice loaner bike of significant displacement (1600cc!). Perhaps this is a marketing ploy to get me into a big bike (and it may have worked). Its been so long since I've riden my Vulcan 750 I'm not sure I really remember how she rode. I do remember I really liked this bike prior to the noise/vibration difficulty but there is something wonderful about that much torque in the large engine of the loaner. I hope they get my bike fixed soon even though it means I will be giving up the monster machine. I am now leary about the quality of Kawasaki given this bad experience.
- Phil Brown, Apex, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-25 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After 4500 miles and two seasons on my Vulcan 750 I still love my bike. If you're in the market here's the deal. This bike is built to live at higher revs and run very smooth. On the open road you'll be running 4000+ rpm's with very little vibration. It has the power to keep up with bigger cruisers and handles well. You'll feel the bigger bumps but always have control. Beefier suspension would be nice. I had to change the seat ($350). Some people like it but after 1/2 hr my butt was numb. Full instrumentation ,low maintenance and reliablility make this bike a great value. Getting accessories can be a pain but this bike doesn't need much.
- Peter Dali, Great Neck, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-16 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned 4 motorcycles before purchasing my 2002 Vulcan 750. Hands down, this is the best all around motorcycle for the $. What other motorcycle offers you features like shaft drive, liquid cooling, full instrumentation, and centerstand for $6,000? I get about 50 MPG, 42-45 if I ride aggressively. As a 200lb rider, the engine has enough power to meet any riding condition and is smooth as Britney's bottom. I rode 7,000 miles last season and never once, even on a long trip, felt fatigued. You would spend double, or triple the price of a Vulcan if you bought a custom Harley or a "Power Cruiser." Trust me when I say there is no other bike on the market than can match the price, performance and features of a Vulcan 750.
- Joe , Belmar, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-02-18 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike for the comfort of riding on the freeway. The 750 Vulcan is the easist bike and the most balanced bike I've ever ridden. There is plenty of power at any gear you choose. Its an absolutely fun bike to ride. Not many bikes have a gas gauge and shaft drive on the 750cc size. If your looking for a commuter plus a bike to ride on weekend, check this one out.
- Thomas M. Reynolds, Bremerton, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-11-18 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike is for anyone that wants a smooth cruiser and is also a great touring bike. It has everything you need from a fuel gauge to self adjusting valves, ect. You can ride and keep up with about any type of bike. You can't go wrong with the price either. Test ride and see for yourself.
- JM, Newark, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-18 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
As a returning rider (an older as well) I looked at a lot of bikes before making the big leep. After lots of thought, I chose to purchase the '03 Vulcan 750 because of the many stock features it has (too many to mention, but shaft drive, adjustable shocks, dual front discs, and lots of gauges are at the top)included in its MSR price of $6100 (although my dealer gave me a great deal!). Having ridden many bikes before, including shafts, this bike is really awesome: there is virtually no vibration, and I mean at any speed or rpm range; the mirrors are as clear as a bell. Of course there is a bit of a rumble at low rpms until you reach cruising speeds, but that just adds to the pleasure of the ride. don't listen to many of the reviews from the mags, this bike is wonderful, the finish is great, and although many reviewers balk at the "outdated" styling, everyone I've met thinks it looks great! The best decision I've made in years. I love this bike!
- DA, Richland, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-17 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have 1400 miles and am very happy with bike overall, but I just experianced a couple of problems. I noticed a graphite looking substance on the rear wheel that turns out to be leaking from one of the final drive seals. I also noticed that my engine cover was leaking at the seam supposedly due to O-rings around the screws. I asked how could the drive seal leak on a bike that is less than 2 months old? (Yes, I put 1400 miles on in less than 2 months) The mechanic suggested that it was probably due to improper installation at the factory. On a minor note, my side cover emblems are coming off and they are replacing those as well. My only other gripe is how few accessories there are. Despite the problems, I still love the bike and I guess it was just my luck of the draw. I still give it a 5 star rating and can't wait to get it back
- M DeFreitas, Mohegan Lake

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-13 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike can go up a hill from 0-85mph in just 6 seconds (Up a hill at 8% Grade Impressive!" The shaft drive and Liquid Cooling Allow for high mileage road trips and little Maintance, "We can't forget to check tire pressure and the rest of the standard pre-flight check list, before heading off into the wild-blue yonder"! My 2003 Vulcan 750 had to be engineered by the best; "Unless there really are Vulcan's among us". This bike can take turns like a hot knife tought butter. Its breaking power is smooth and you don't have to worry about getting your nuts crushed by the gas tank. The duel air intake, duel exhuast, and duel front brakes, and comfort for duel;"I mean two". Makes a great touring bike with double the pleasure of any Kawasaki Motorcycle. Measured to a V-Rod by Harley Davidson, the Vulcan 750 would be the brother of the Harley V-ROD. A Harley Davision is just an over-priced lable; Harley's are good bikes, but just over priced for any practical Biker. The Vulcan 750 and the rest of it's Vulcan Clan are all good quality and reasonable priced Motorcycles. All in all, the Vulcan 750 is a bike you should see to buy; go look at one; go sit on one; feel it, smell it, lick it;"NO don't Lick it"; but really, see if you can find a used one; "I bet they will not sell it".
- Gregory A Monk, Danbury, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: