Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2003 Kawasaki Z1000 Motorcycle reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Motorcycles

Reviews

42 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Robert Stevenson

Baltimore, Maryland

Reviewed on 2012-04-01

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Kawasaki Z1000

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've had my Z1000 for five years and now started riding on a FZ600. When I got more riding time in and wanted more power, I bought the Z1000. It has all the power you need and moves around like a 600cc bike. The only problem with the bike is the driver's seat is hard and the rearview mirrors show your elbows no matter how you try to adjust them. But the bike pulls like a mad dragon over 4,000 rpms. and a gentle one below that mark. But overall I love this bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

StillZ1

Duluth, Minnesota

Reviewed on 2010-05-25

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Kawasaki Z1000

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Bought this beauty as a holdover in 05 for 2100 below retail, and it's the best money I've ever spent. As others have mentioned, I've never owned a bike that got so much attention. I guess it's because it doesn't look like everyone else's V-twin clone. I really enjoy walking to it after a day at work and saying to myself.."that's a cool bike!" I'm not bothered much by the vibration issue, lucky I guess. But I do get some serious butt burn from that seat. Maybe time for my first upgrade..a Corbin seat. Oh yeah, I love the pipes too, remind me of my old Z-1, hence the license plate StillZ1.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tim Anders

Pfafftown, North Carolina

Reviewed on 2009-03-11

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Kawasaki Z1000

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought this bike in April 2003. I've loved it from first sight. I've always got a lot of looks on this bike because they are unique. The stock seat is uncomfortable but a Corbin took care of that and the rest is history. I've done some mods to it and still love it. I do some commuting back and forth to work in the summer, but mainly ride on my days off for fun.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mudgee2005

Sydney , Australia

Reviewed on 2007-05-02

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Kawasaki Z1000

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is a blast bought new in 03 and still love it. Was originally looking for a supersport but after one test ride, never looked back. Have a mate with an 05 ZX10 who pulls away on the straight on the race track but always catch him in first corner. Being naked only issue is long runs on the freeway when you have no choice, but that just means you should take the fun way home. Could do with more low down pull under 4000rpm, but you just ride around it. If you're after a bike that gets you around town, race track or even weekend runs, this bike does it all in an upright comfortable position. Only issue I found was that the steering was light over 120mph, but this is because the suspension was not set for my weight. Also added a steering dampner for good measure.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

rider

denver, Colorado

Reviewed on 2006-09-05

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Kawasaki Z1000

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought this one in the orange. The miles let you know that it is only an "in town" bike. The power and the looks just always set it apart from the rest. Powerwheelies/burnouts are never hard to do. Great all around in town bike. Seat is not meant for any long distance riding. A buzz from the engine is quickly cured by some #8 leadshot in the bar. Clutch lever rattle is solved with a piece felt. One of the few fuel injection bikes that is spot on from the factory. Enough low end grunt to easily pull through traffic. The price was soooooo right for the perfomance and handling.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

P. Baker

Hawthorne, Nevada

Reviewed on 2005-09-07

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Kawasaki Z1000

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I set out to buy a busa, i was lookin for major speed (open hiways of NV.) when i got the insurance quote i almost passed out . 2600.00 a year for a 39 yr old with no tickets or accidents. my freinds at a local dealership recommended i ride the finance managers z, one ride is all it took, i counldn't write the check fast enough , this is an excellent bike for the money it handles like a zx and has enough power to peel your eyelids off, not to mention it's head turning jaw dropping looks . i have had many bikes in my time ( in fact i sold my harley to get another rocket) and never have so many people asked about them (what is that? looks like it's haulin' ass just sittin there....). the bike only had 2300 miles on it when i bought it three weeks ago so it is just like a new bike . and the yosh system on it sounds incredible. i have had it up to 161 ,it is stable as a rock ,and will get there faster than you can flip a coin, though the clutch lever has an annoying buzz at certain rpm, and i feel very comfortable laying it down around corners at speed. i am at 4500 ft abOve sea level and it runs great, i know it will do at least 170. not quite the 220 of the busa but i am not disappointed at all, i made a great choice for a great bike . thanx, PJ , P.S. IF you're GONNA DO IT , DO IT SAFE!!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Justin Anderson

Morgan City, Louisiana

Reviewed on 2005-08-07

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Kawasaki Z1000

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
So far I love the bike. People always look and the bike seems to be rather rare. At least here in south louisiana. I haven't seen one on the road except mine. Seats are hard, side stand is akward to use other than that I love the bike and consider it to be vastly superior to the riding position on most sportbikes As you get older you will feel the riding position on sportbikes to be cramped and cruiser bikes make you look like a geek in a stratolounger reclining chair Black Bike is beautiful and fast.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tim Pirsig

Hanlontown, Iowa

Reviewed on 2005-08-05

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Kawasaki Z1000

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought the bike brand new in 03'. I have about 8000 miles on it. don't get to ride a whole lot, but when I do I love every minute. The bike is very fast. Once you get the RPM's up there you literally have to hang on. I have only got it to 140. It gets a little windy going that fast. I get a lot of compliments. I was once at a gas station filling up (37MGP) and this old couple in their 70's said nice bike. The only complaints I have is it is hard to see behind you with the stock mirrors. The clutch lever vibrates at 5000 rpms and the seat is a little hard and I have been having problems with my back tire wearing funny. There is a flat spot in the center of the tire. This is the second tire and I have made sure that I had enough air in it. Just wondering if anyone else has had that problem.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John Ruark

Bivalve, Maryland

Reviewed on 2005-07-18

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Kawasaki Z1000

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought a leftover 2003 z1000 and it is awesome to ride. I have had cbrs and a gsxr and im here to tell you this is much more fun and the comfort is no comparison. I ride every Sunday with the ningas and the gixxers and I am with them step for step. Great for wheelies and stoppies if you buy one you will love it. Pretty good top speed I had 140mph did not have alot more throttle left but how often are you at 140?
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

J. Glover

PT ST Lucie, Florida

Reviewed on 2004-08-23

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Kawasaki Z1000

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Well, 720 miles in the bag. My '03 Z1000 is awesome. The more upright riding position makes it perfect to just cruise around town or take a nice trip on the highway. It has plenty of mid-range power to getty-up. don't expect to challenge the supersport from the line, however. You have to hit 2nd gear pretty quick on the Z1000. But face it, the Z1000 was not designed to drag. It is perfect for the person who does not want to mingle with those who have death wishes. Once out of 2nd gear, however, the "Z" is like a fighter jet. It takes the turns and curves every bit as good as the super sports. If you buy one, don't ride for more than an hour without a corbin saddle. Your rear will take longer to get the numbness out. The stock seat really sucks. Purchase the after market windscreen. Highway riding is not fun when your faceshield is covered in lovebugs. Otherwise, the Z1000 is well worth the money. Kawasaki did itself proud with this one. Too many beginning riders are succumbing to the propaganda of buying a sportbike and ending up a spot on a semi's grill. Enjoy motorcycling the way it should be enjoyed.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 1 - 10 of 42 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: