Kawasaki Z1000 Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (42)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki Z1000 Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Kawasaki Z1000 Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2012-04-01 2003 Kawasaki Z1000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my Z1000 for five years and now started riding on a FZ600. When I got more riding time in and wanted more power, I bought the Z1000. It has all the power you need and moves around like a 600cc bike. The only problem with the bike is the driver's seat is hard and the rearview mirrors show your elbows no matter how you try to adjust them. But the bike pulls like a mad dragon over 4,000 rpms. and a gentle one below that mark. But overall I love this bike.
- Robert Stevenson, Baltimore, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-05-25 2003 Kawasaki Z1000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought this beauty as a holdover in 05 for 2100 below retail, and it's the best money I've ever spent. As others have mentioned, I've never owned a bike that got so much attention. I guess it's because it doesn't look like everyone else's V-twin clone. I really enjoy walking to it after a day at work and saying to myself.."that's a cool bike!" I'm not bothered much by the vibration issue, lucky I guess. But I do get some serious butt burn from that seat. Maybe time for my first upgrade..a Corbin seat. Oh yeah, I love the pipes too, remind me of my old Z-1, hence the license plate StillZ1.
- StillZ1, Duluth, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-03-11 2003 Kawasaki Z1000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike in April 2003. I've loved it from first sight. I've always got a lot of looks on this bike because they are unique. The stock seat is uncomfortable but a Corbin took care of that and the rest is history. I've done some mods to it and still love it. I do some commuting back and forth to work in the summer, but mainly ride on my days off for fun.
- Tim Anders, Pfafftown, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-02 2003 Kawasaki Z1000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is a blast bought new in 03 and still love it. Was originally looking for a supersport but after one test ride, never looked back. Have a mate with an 05 ZX10 who pulls away on the straight on the race track but always catch him in first corner. Being naked only issue is long runs on the freeway when you have no choice, but that just means you should take the fun way home. Could do with more low down pull under 4000rpm, but you just ride around it. If you're after a bike that gets you around town, race track or even weekend runs, this bike does it all in an upright comfortable position. Only issue I found was that the steering was light over 120mph, but this is because the suspension was not set for my weight. Also added a steering dampner for good measure.
- Mudgee2005, Sydney , Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-05 2003 Kawasaki Z1000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this one in the orange. The miles let you know that it is only an "in town" bike. The power and the looks just always set it apart from the rest. Powerwheelies/burnouts are never hard to do. Great all around in town bike. Seat is not meant for any long distance riding. A buzz from the engine is quickly cured by some #8 leadshot in the bar. Clutch lever rattle is solved with a piece felt. One of the few fuel injection bikes that is spot on from the factory. Enough low end grunt to easily pull through traffic. The price was soooooo right for the perfomance and handling.
- rider, denver, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-07 2003 Kawasaki Z1000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I set out to buy a busa, i was lookin for major speed (open hiways of NV.) when i got the insurance quote i almost passed out . 2600.00 a year for a 39 yr old with no tickets or accidents. my freinds at a local dealership recommended i ride the finance managers z, one ride is all it took, i counldn't write the check fast enough , this is an excellent bike for the money it handles like a zx and has enough power to peel your eyelids off, not to mention it's head turning jaw dropping looks . i have had many bikes in my time ( in fact i sold my harley to get another rocket) and never have so many people asked about them (what is that? looks like it's haulin' ass just sittin there....). the bike only had 2300 miles on it when i bought it three weeks ago so it is just like a new bike . and the yosh system on it sounds incredible. i have had it up to 161 ,it is stable as a rock ,and will get there faster than you can flip a coin, though the clutch lever has an annoying buzz at certain rpm, and i feel very comfortable laying it down around corners at speed. i am at 4500 ft abOve sea level and it runs great, i know it will do at least 170. not quite the 220 of the busa but i am not disappointed at all, i made a great choice for a great bike . thanx, PJ , P.S. IF you're GONNA DO IT , DO IT SAFE!!!
- P. Baker, Hawthorne, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-07 2003 Kawasaki Z1000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
So far I love the bike. People always look and the bike seems to be rather rare. At least here in south louisiana. I haven't seen one on the road except mine. Seats are hard, side stand is akward to use other than that I love the bike and consider it to be vastly superior to the riding position on most sportbikes As you get older you will feel the riding position on sportbikes to be cramped and cruiser bikes make you look like a geek in a stratolounger reclining chair Black Bike is beautiful and fast.
- Justin Anderson, Morgan City, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-05 2003 Kawasaki Z1000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the bike brand new in 03'. I have about 8000 miles on it. don't get to ride a whole lot, but when I do I love every minute. The bike is very fast. Once you get the RPM's up there you literally have to hang on. I have only got it to 140. It gets a little windy going that fast. I get a lot of compliments. I was once at a gas station filling up (37MGP) and this old couple in their 70's said nice bike. The only complaints I have is it is hard to see behind you with the stock mirrors. The clutch lever vibrates at 5000 rpms and the seat is a little hard and I have been having problems with my back tire wearing funny. There is a flat spot in the center of the tire. This is the second tire and I have made sure that I had enough air in it. Just wondering if anyone else has had that problem.
- Tim Pirsig, Hanlontown, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-18 2003 Kawasaki Z1000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a leftover 2003 z1000 and it is awesome to ride. I have had cbrs and a gsxr and im here to tell you this is much more fun and the comfort is no comparison. I ride every Sunday with the ningas and the gixxers and I am with them step for step. Great for wheelies and stoppies if you buy one you will love it. Pretty good top speed I had 140mph did not have alot more throttle left but how often are you at 140?
- John Ruark, Bivalve, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-23 2003 Kawasaki Z1000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well, 720 miles in the bag. My '03 Z1000 is awesome. The more upright riding position makes it perfect to just cruise around town or take a nice trip on the highway. It has plenty of mid-range power to getty-up. don't expect to challenge the supersport from the line, however. You have to hit 2nd gear pretty quick on the Z1000. But face it, the Z1000 was not designed to drag. It is perfect for the person who does not want to mingle with those who have death wishes. Once out of 2nd gear, however, the "Z" is like a fighter jet. It takes the turns and curves every bit as good as the super sports. If you buy one, don't ride for more than an hour without a corbin saddle. Your rear will take longer to get the numbness out. The stock seat really sucks. Purchase the after market windscreen. Highway riding is not fun when your faceshield is covered in lovebugs. Otherwise, the Z1000 is well worth the money. Kawasaki did itself proud with this one. Too many beginning riders are succumbing to the propaganda of buying a sportbike and ending up a spot on a semi's grill. Enjoy motorcycling the way it should be enjoyed.
- J. Glover, PT ST Lucie, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-29 2003 Kawasaki Z1000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got my new Z1000 about 4 days ago. I got the 2003 model on a closeout sale and I just couldn't pass it up. So far I have put 150 miles on the bike and I have to say I am impressed with the performance and comfort of the bike. I am a very large ex-football player and this bike is more comfortable for me than I expected it to be. I will write another review once I get past the break-in period and can let this thing really run. Very happy so far and would recommend this bike.
- Eddie, Knoxville, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-07 2003 Kawasaki Z1000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Since purchasing bike in August of 2003 have over 9500 miles on it. Winter riding was extremely chilly with little wind protection but the bike still is the most fun I have had on any bike to date. The seat could be more comfy but don't let that deter you. This is a great commuter bike. I commute 40 miles one-way to work and with the combo of great brakes and power it makes the task easier. Love this bike. Hope I can get 100,000 miles from it, as much as I ride. Watch the speed... it can creep up on you unnoticably. I have already had my first experience with that and a not so understanding officer of the law. I love the looks of the pipes, I just wish it was louder. My bike gets lots of looks.
- Eric Barr, Newville, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-08 2003 Kawasaki Z1000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Yep, I wasn't sure when I bought it, but now, wow, awesome!! I was interested in a second hand sport bike (GSR750R, CBR900 or R1). Then I saw this bike (black and red) it was a leftover. Check out some articles. Check this out: Kawasaki Model Z1000 ('03), Hp125.1 @ 10,250, Torque68.9 @ 8000, Quarter-Mile10.69 @ 126.72, Roll-on 4.00, Net-Weight 493lbs, and Ergos 25.9/18.2/7.3. It is faster than any 600's, Suzuki Bandit's and many more. Was really surprised. Anyways, I bought the bike and I am really happy with the performance. I owned many many motocross and 4-wheelers but only 1 streetbike which was a Honda V-30 500 12 years ago when I was 17. There's one modification that I will be doing which is changing the front sprocket from 16 to 15. The bike will almost power wheelie in 2nd gear but is just missing a little something with the change of the sprocket it should fix that problem. I'm anxious to see the change that will occur. I let you guys know. Well that's all for my comments. Hope it helps. Again awesome bike, Thumbs up Kawasaki.
- Mike, Grand-Falls, New Brunswick

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-29 2003 Kawasaki Z1000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just got my new 03 pearl orange Z1000 and right off the dealer showroom, I was getting attention and compliments left and right more than when I had my monza red 01 monster. Performance wise Z1000 fuel injection far better than Ducati. Handling about same, but maintenance I think I'm going start saving big. Little complaint about shifting at low speed (clanky). I think the bike is just too new. The rides on highways, better start doing some exercises for your neck because you can easily go over board and with no wind protection...oh boy. City riding is such an ease to go in and out of traffic. Go get one already... left over 03's are bargains.
- Elmer dela Cruz, New York, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-19 2003 Kawasaki Z1000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
As a first bike, I thought a liter bike would be way too much for me to handle. Although other riders appreciate the power of the Z1000, as a new rider, I can tell you this bike is very easy to handle and is certainly a confidence builder as long as you are gentle on the right hand side of the bar! (grin)
- ringwraith, Tampa, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-19 2003 Kawasaki Z1000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the Z1000 in July and put more miles on it than I had on my 82 Yamaha Virago in the past 2 years. I stop for gas at around 160 miles, my Virago at about 55 miles. There's nothing worse than stopping every 45 -50 minutes for gas. I also feel more comfortable on the Z than I did on the Virago. It has good getup and go, and performs great in turns and breaking. The only problems that I found are that the mirrors didn't give a good view directly behind you. I added a third mirror off the end of my handle bar and this gives a good view directly behind me. My second complaint is that I have wide feet and I some times have a hard time feeling the shift of gears in going in both directions. Other than that I love it. Great bike for someone not wanting a sport or cruiser style bike, this gives you both.
- Bill Miller, Skillman, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-14 2003 Kawasaki Z1000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought one after a biking layoff of 6 months, (the Fireblade was getting a bit of a handfull with the traffic pressure round here, so was sold). Had a lot of choice from this group, FZR1000, 1200 Bandit, Triumph etc, decided the styling was the overriding factor. It goes well, probably as much power as the Fireblade, but more usable. There is a power step at about 6000RPM, but it's not as pronounced as the 93 Fireblade, so the engine is easier to use. It probably could do with a flatter power "curve" to make town riding easier, but it is not hard now. Took it over to the Isle of Man to see relatives and had to go round the TT course. It's just as fast round the 37 3/4 mile circuit, but not so much of a handfull. Buy One You wont regret it, feet up donuts, wheelies, stoppies and keeps up with full on sports machinery on real roads.
- DWQ, Liverpool, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-22 2003 Kawasaki Z1000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Having had the Kawasaki z1000 2003 model (in Black) for the past 3 months , I can honestly say it earns many positive comments wherever I ride it, it is a real attention grabber! The first impression upon mounting the bike is the comfortable riding position, the high "renthal" type bars are a comfortable reach and the pegs are reasonably high mounted giving a blend of both upright and semi-sporty stance. The seat is angled forward giving the feeling of sitting just above the front wheel , making the bike feel very small indeed.The dash is very compact and neat with everything you need in a single unit. The tacho can be hard to read with polarised sunglasses on. The fuel gauge is very non-linear. Start up the engine and there is a nice burble (although somewhat muted) from the quad pipes. The engine has plenty of power on tap especially from 4,000rpm upwards , open the throttle quickly and I reccommend you hold on tight! It copes easily with city traffic and always asks you to take the long way home. Turn in is quick but not flighty and easily managed with the high, wide bars. The ride is well controlled , not sports hard and not cruiser soft. The gearbox can sometimes be clunky and noisy but once warmed up is easy to use. The brakes are strong and fade free but emergency stops require a firm grab of the lever. To summarise: Good Points: Great looks,strong performance,comfortable riding position,good brakes,great handling with standard tyres giving good grip,sounds and feels good,suprisingly good wind protection for a naked bike. Bad points: Some vibration through pegs(engine is mounted directly to frame without rubber mounts),tank capacity of 17 litres gives range of only 200km,fuel gauge stays high for ages then drops dramatically,tacho can be hard to read.
- Dave Bryant, Sydney, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-15 2003 Kawasaki Z1000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this motorcycle. The power is incredible! The handling is beter than I expected. This is my first fuel injected bike and all I can say is that it works great. This thing is as docile as a lamb, or as ferocious as a lion, depending on throttle input and gear choice. You almost can't bog this engine and it pulls like a rocket from almost anywhere in the revs. I have about 1300 miles on the bike and a permenent grin on my face. I would tell you more, but I have to go take a ride. Bye!
- Mike Johnson, Indianapolis

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-07 2003 Kawasaki Z1000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm a short little dude from Petawawa Ont. I bought my Z1000 in late May and can't say enough abut it. I took it out to BC and back and had the best time in my life. The Bike's a little tall for me but at 5'5" not much isn't. The best bike out there.
- Mark Jones, Petawawa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-15 2003 Kawasaki Z1000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Incredible handling very nibble and light.Im' 6,3 and the ergos are perfect for me. Seating position incredible ...feels more motocross style seating position, seat uncomfortable after 4-5 hour drive. Lots of vibrations and wind turbulance at high speeds. No wobbling at high speeds even with crappy roads. And overall perfect bike for all situations.
- daniel desbiens, montreal, Quebec

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-07 2003 Kawasaki Z1000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I used to be a pure dirtbike rider and until recently I hadn't ridden dirtbikes for quite some time. About 3 months ago I got a Kawasaki Super Sherpa Dual Sport bike thinking I would only ride it on the street to get to the trails. I found myself riding more on the street than on the dirt. I figured it was time to get a real street bike, get rid of the sherpa and go for a dedicated dirtbike next summer. I like the look of the bare bikes and at first I was looking to get a Ducati monster or BMWs F 650 CS and then I came across the Z1000. What a sharp looking bike. I was a little intimidated by the engine size and HP as I have never ridden a bike with this much power before but, I figured if I respected it then all would be good. I haven't read one review that has any major negative things to say about this bike. I went down the next day and bought the bike from a local dealer. I didn't even have to haggle with the saleperson as they were running a sale, took me all of about 15 inutes to purchase the bike and came back and hour later to pick it up. The only mod I'm making so far is to use the fender eliminator from ride engineering and maybe later get some mirrors that stick out a little farther on each side.
- jethroafrosheen, Charlotte, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-21 2003 Kawasaki Z1000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my Z1000 for a couple of months and I keep getting all the blokes on sportsbikes coming past me on one wheel at 100kph. But hey! I have nothing to prove. Love the power and if you get up it from the start it turns into a rocket.
- Mick Grehan, Brisbane, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-19 2003 Kawasaki Z1000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my rippen orange Z1000 for two months and have over 3,900 miles on it. very few minute quarks, nothing you cant fix in the garage. Rages corners and wheelies great! I love it.
- Elijah, Ukiah, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-18 2003 Kawasaki Z1000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Purchased one of the (rare) green Canadian models...only mods so far are CompetitionWerkes fender kit and smaller three-way carbon fibre running/signal lights. Next purchase - taller and slightly wider windscreen or something along line of small upper fairing. Reason, the thing is extremely fast and comfortable, perfect for street use or weekend trips, but it just needs a bit more wind protection. Kawasaki - smooth it out a bit and crank up the power! Signed, one happy owner.
- Bruce, Ottawa, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: