Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (25)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2007-05-02 2003 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am entering my 3rd year with my REX and it still continues to impress me ride after ride with its real world power, handling and reliability. Mine is all stock and starts up every time I hit the button. Can't say enough about the practicality of this sport/standard. Fun to ride as a communter or in the twisties. More than enough power to keep up with and in some cases beat the sport bike riders. It's just a plain old fun bike. Out of the 10 bikes I have owned, this one is my all-time favorite.
- DA, Carterville, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-02 2003 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Owned/ridden many bikes. This is one of my favorites--does everything very well. Does get a little uncomfortable on longer rides with the stock seat, but that's easily improved with a Corbin.
- Joe Fecher, Ellington, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-17 2003 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
What a fantastic bike. Massive torque, untold power, terrific styling... it just goes on and on. I had owned Hondas up to this point but when I saw a ZRX1200R I just fell for it. Love at first sight. I love retro styling so this was the bike for me right off the bat. This is a lean, mean muscle machine and it is NOT for the weak at heart. In fact if you have a pacemaker I recommend staying away from this rocket. I think the bike handles great. Then again, I'm not a bike guru. I just like to cruise and feel the wind and be outdoors. Every now and then I take her up beyond 4000 or 5000 RPM's just to enjoy the rush, but for the most part, I'm all about shillin'. If I wanted a race bike I would have bought a GSXR or something. I don't like being bent over the tank like a monkey when I ride. I've never understood that riding position. It is SO uncomfortable. The ZRX has the perfect riding position for me - although I was surprised at how high the pegs were... or how low the seat was. Anyways I'm going to get a Corbin and I hear it will lift me up an inch or two and that should be just right. I think this is one terrific bike and I would highly recommend it to anyone. I will probably always keep mine because it's timeless looking and has all the power I will ever need.
- WestSyeed, Sacramento, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-12 2003 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
When I last wrote a review I had a full Muzzy pipe and dyno jet kit with the K&N filter! That dynoed at 148hp at the crank! Then ignition advancer locked in plus 4 degrees went on and back to the dyno for a 155 hp at the crank first run! I been debating about the sprockets? Well I made the right choice! I went down one tooth on the front sprocket and up three teeth on the back! It really woke up this animal! Back again to the dyno and remapped the computer so it's dialed in right on the money and we now got an awesome pass at 160hp at the crank! I've been on a Hayabusa with a pipe! This bike runs right there with the Hayabusa! The only problem keeping the front wheel down coming out of the hole! It will come up in all gears! But what a ride !
- john bestetti, philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-13 2003 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this bike! When I do ride for long periods, my rear does get sore surprisingly! I am already planning to purchase a Corbin seat with a backrest for passengers. I don't like to spend a lot of money on aftermarket items, but this one is necessary. This bike has awesome torque. Great for any kind of riding. No back pain ever! Everyone gives thumbs up, kids and older riders too! I love my Green ZRX1200!
- David, Sacramento, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-19 2003 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my ZRX 1200 still new in the box. Candy Apple green, it was a real looker. I test rode the 1100, which was essentially the same bike with less power. I wanted a new all out big bore sport bike but couldn't justify spending over 10 large and that's when I found the rex. I love the retro looks and massive torque. It was a thrill to ride. What I didn't realize how uncomfortable traveling long distance on the highway would be. On my VFR I could just lay on the gas tank and travel for hundreds of miles at 90+mph. I'd say the rex is happiest around town. It's very flickable for its size and is at home from stoplight to stop light.
- David Tiffany, Howard City, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-28 2003 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got one last year. I was surprised how easy it is to ride. Not for the inexperienced rider though. Fast and reliable. Use it everyday for work. I like everything about it except for the seat on longer rides. Like the looks and power of the bike!
- Manuel Islas, Santa Monica, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-06 2003 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Moved up from a V-Star to the zrex... and 5,000 miles later, haven't looked back. With the added Muzzy pipe, K&N filter & jet kit, she rocks! Perfect seating position (I'm old) enough power and handling, and then some. I've ridden a lot of bikes, and she's the one for me.
- Nancy, Atlantic City, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-18 2003 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Wrote a review on this machine back in May. Anyway this is money well spent. You can't get this kind of performance for so little invested. First mod should be exhaust and jetting. I went with the Dale Walker slip on, Stage II jet kit, and K&N filters. Last Dyno run resulted with 118HP at the wheel(that's 128 @ the crank) and 80lbs tq. Handling is top notch,(for a replica racer) but the only week link would be in the fork area. Get a fork brace this will cure the problem w/ flexing. One word of caution invest in a steering damper. This bike will go into a tank slapper if your not careful. On the street it carves through traffic like a "Ginsu" knife. In summary with 6000 miles since purchaced in late May, I couldn't find much fault with the ZRX. It's fun to ride solo or two-up. (Do your sweetheart a favor. "don't scare the crap out of her) I highly recommend this ride... Good Luck
- John G. SImpers, Spanaway, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-11 2003 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The ole zrex is pretty good in stock format and completes multi-mission role well. The real personality of the bike emerges when modified. This bike responds awesome to a pipe and jet kit. So if you are looking for a do it all or a hooligan "see ya holmes" in your face 1/4 mile burner bike look no further than the zrex. The price and the insurance rates are very attractive.
- Edward Peatross, brandon, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-02 2003 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have liked this bike since it came out as the ZRX1100R. It looks "right" in that "Japanese Superbike" way. I have owned several fully-faired sport bikes, low bars, scrawney seats, tiny tanks...you know the type. The more extream the bike, the less I actually rode them. My wrists and knees could not handle it for more than 100 miles. My passenger actually refused to ride with me any more. Finally I realized A) I don't race, just ride fast. B) Riding 100 miles is just a not enough. C)My passenger makes these long rides fun. That is why I bought the ZRX1200R...in blue! It does it all! Rides comfortably, handles well, seems upscale compared to the Bandit, 919 and FZ-1 and has more power than anyone could ever need. It gets 50 mpg, two up at 65-75mph and goes forever on a tank of gas. Down sides??? The seat sucks!!! Way to soft, but there is an easy fix...a Sargent seat. Also the bike is heavy! You only notice this when you push it around or put it on the race stand though. Hey KAWASAKI, how about a clock and dual horns??? Oh, and like the other reviewer, I beat an R-1 in a stoplight drag race and surprised both of us by doing so! Buy it (and the Sargent seat)...you won't want to get off.
- Mark, Douglas, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-24 2003 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this REX! Front end lifts up in 2nd gear with just roll on throttle. Great torque in all 5 gears! Nice around town comfort. Awesome street fighter! Kick stand keeps the bike a little to upright for my taste although no accidents yet. Can't wait to get my Muzzy's installed!
- Rider, Virginia Beach, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-22 2003 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My 7th bike, and by far the best so far. I just sold my 02 VFR...the ZRX (blue 03) is so much more comfortable, much more powerful, especially with my full Muzzy system and Ivan's Jet kit. All day comfort, great looks, raging power (just ask my sportbike buddies) and overall appeal. Best bargain in all of motorcycling!!!
- Steve Michaud, Minot, North Dakota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-16 2003 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Retro only in looks, Handles very well, Power is just fantastic! "Not for the faint of heart or inexperienced rider". I love it!
- Brian Muhl, Baltimore, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-11 2003 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got mine in blue on 8/27/03, after a long period of debate between the 03 Honda Super Hawk 996 (in blue). I decided against the 996 because i sometimes ride double (wife is purrrfect passanger on weekend trips:). Am with only 120 miles thus far and am dying to feel what's available above 4000 RPM. Bike is as comfortable as my 86 Night Hawk 700; Athough at 5'9" I can notice that it's a little bit heavier when i come to a stop, or when i'm pushing it in and out of the garage. Wonder what the ZRX would be like if Kaw gave this bike a 6th gear...? Only disappointment is that there's no center stand option. Looks and power are superb. Can' wait for 1300 miles. All my buddies are getting bored!
- RC, New Orleans, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-10 2003 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought my blue 2003 ZREX in May. I hadn't owned a bike in ten years. Wanted an all around bike that was comfortable, reasonably priced, and handled well. The ZREX fit the bill perfectly. It reminds me of my 1984 Honda Nighthawk with its bikini fairing and mostly upright seating position. The monster motor is icing on the cake. It's an absolute blast to ride. More power than I could possibly need, handles great, and is much more comfortable to ride than any sportbike. I would recommend the ZRX1200R to anyone. The only drawback is the lack of wind protection, but it's not a big deal to me.
- Kingfish, Moravian Falls, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-29 2003 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Had my rex for a couple of months now, sold my beloved 73 Z1 900 to finance it, no regrets at all, in 73 the Z1 must have been mind blowing-but we`re in 2003 now, and it was time for an update. Haven`t seen a bad review of this bike. Just come back from `Brands Hatch` completing a 700 mile round trip in some weather that I won`t forget in a hurry! Nothing ruffled rex, cruising at 75-85 in torential rain, the thing was just planted to the road. Already E-mailed Kawasaki to see if they will bring out next years model with this years ZZR1200 motor(fuel injection+150BHP) Now thats the ultimate factory rex me thinks. A little more comfort in that seat department wouldn`t go amiss!
- arnold ringpeace, swanpool, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-24 2003 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I grew up riding bikes, primarily YZ dirt bikes later graduating to the street on everything from Harleys to Hondas. It's been about 15 years since I have owned a bike until March 03 when I bought a new Honda Shadow ACE. Although the ACE was a good looking bike, it didn't have the kind of power or smoothness that I was looking for so I sold it. After doing some research, I found out about the Kawasaki ZRX1200R which reminded me of the KZ's of the early 80's which I thought back then were awsome. This bike is even better. The power is beyond description and it is very smooth in riding and handling. Simply put, it's the kind of bike that makes you want to ride it all the time!
- kc, Shreveport, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-23 2003 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Picked mine up in April 2003. Wild acceleration and great handling. An aggressive machine that has timeless style and sex appeal.
- Bill Terry, Fort Mcmurray, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-16 2003 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Update from review posted 7/10/02. I purchased a new 2003 blue and silver Kawasaki ZRX1200R this April. In spite of all the rain I now have 2500 miles on her. I am 53 years old and had been looking for good all around bike. I test rode one at the Honda Hoot in June of 2002, and knew this was the bike for me. This bike has not disappointed me in any way. The power, comfort and handling are excellent. Have rode it up on the Cherohala Skyway and every curvy road I can find. We are planning to ride the Blue Ridge Parkway Labor Day Weekend. I know this bike will be great on an extended trip.
- Mike Cox, Wartburg, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-01 2003 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own a 2003 ZRX1200R(blue and silver). I've owned several bikes and this one by far is the most pleasureable to ride. The combination of power and comfort are unsurpassed by anything out there. The most power for dollar ratio going. I have frame sliders,a fender eliminator kit,a muzzy bolt-on and jetted carbs. It can lift the front tire in second gear with no clutch needed. Very nimble for a sport standard bike. This bike does not disappoint.
- Fred Nunez, Shelton, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-30 2003 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
All the power you could ever use. Great riding position. geared tall, but with tremendous torque, you do-not need a 6th gear, rpm at 60mph is about what most are with 6th gear. 5 gal. plus tank capacity allows for good cruising range and just plain fun to ride. Am 56 years old and riding sport bikes has just gotten to be a pain in the back...great bike, but not for beginners, they will get in over thier heads, definately most bang for the buck..heck most bang for twice the bucks..love it.
- ED, corpus christi, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-26 2003 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my 2003 ZRX after seeing it at a bike show in Chantilly, VA. I've always wanted one but just couldn't get past the green color scheme and that I have a 87' ZL1000 Eliminator which at the time I thought there wouldn't be much difference between the two bikes. WRONG! The Eliminator is a fantastic bike but in a completely different manner. When I saw the ZRX in the Blue scheme with non-blacked out rims I called my wife immediately and told her that I was trading my new 2002 Concours in for the ZRX. I think she thought I was kidding. OH WELL! The ZRX just flat out ROCKS! Great riding position for taller riders. Super smooth engine with great power! Handling in my opinion is very light and nimble but starts to feel a little heavy when put into a tight corner at higher speeds. But I may need to work more with MY cornering skills. Braking is very nice and smooth. The bike just becomes part of you on the road. You really don't man handle this thing at all you just do what you want and it responds immediatlely. It's very well behaved on all roads. I am really impressed with how easy it is to adjust the chain and keeping the rear wheel aligned properly. Awesome Swingarm! The ride is very comfortable. I like it much better the the Concours as funny as that sounds. I use to get muscle fatigue around the neck and shoulders with the Concours but the ZRX sits more upright and that discomfort doesn't exsist. It's a great long distance position! Use caution with aggressive first gear take-offs. The front wheels comes up in a hurry and can take you by surprise. Second gear will bring the wheel up as well but it's not as violent. This is with no clutch, just caused by twisting the throttle. WEE HAW FUN! I currently have about 3000 miles on mine and I've done nothing other change the oil and filter, lube the chain, and give a bath or two. Corbin offers non-removable colored matched bags and a variety of seats for the ZRX, Muzzy offers a coulpe of different performance packages as well as a steering dampener and aluminum cooling fan, Throttlemeister has a passive bar end cruz control. For me some must own after market equipment. To sum this up. Great all around bike. The bike I've been wanting for a long time because it fits your everyday needs and desires. Comfort, performance, and beauty (in Blue) all wrapped up in to one. Life is good! Ride to Live Live to Ride, Ritchie Smith
- Ritchie Smith, Denton, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-26 2003 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have four bikes and the zrx is the one I ride the most.It's more fun than a box of firecrackers
- tom mc, charlotte

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-14 2003 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Handling ***** Power ***** Fun factor ***** Comments so far from other riders...I've had 3 good and 0 negative!! Now that I can take it up to 6000rpm I am starting to appreciate the awesome power of this machine.
- Bill Terry, Fort McMurray, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: