Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2003 Suzuki GSX-R1000 Dual Sport reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Dual Sport

Reviews

33 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Rick McKeever

Maple Lake, Minnesota

Reviewed on 2004-03-07

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Suzuki GSX-R1000

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my third sport bike and what a bike it is!! Power, agility, great looks all rolled into one sweet package. I've had a 600, 750 and been on numerous other sport bikes but none come close to the GSX-R KING. Highly recommended!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

gixxerchick1000

tacoma, Washington

Reviewed on 2004-03-06

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Suzuki GSX-R1000

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I am only 130 pounds, so I would have a hard time holding a heavier bike, but the GSX-R is just right, lightweight and leans in the corner like a baby. I love it, I wouldn't want another bike. If someone asks me about a bike, I tell them the best and sweetest bike is the GSX-R. I have been riding for a while now and started out with a 1997 GSX-R, but was ready for an upgrade. Last year when I bought the 2003 GSX-R 1000, I took it slow, just like with a horse, you got to get used to it, it goes both ways. But now I am riding the guys in the ground and I love it. My advice is, do not start out on it, and only ride with experience because it has way too much horsepower.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Brent

Columbus, Ohio

Reviewed on 2004-02-29

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Suzuki GSX-R1000

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have owned four Honda's over the past 15 years from the Hurricane to the 929 & 954 and now I know what I was missing. I walked into the dealership looking to purchase the new R1 (which I had already placed money on) and there she was, my new 2004 GSXR1000. It was like the sky opened up and the angels started singing. As far as power goes there is no comparison, it is the GSXR hands down. While the others have tried to catch up Suzuki has stayed true. I have heard many people talk about their cars saying it was just as reliable as a Honda Accord all the while thinking then why not buy the Accord? The same goes for sportbikes. If you want the best (and are experienced) then purchase the GSXR....DO NOT SETTLE FOR LESS!!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

LES

TORONTO, Ontario, Bahamas

Reviewed on 2004-02-10

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Suzuki GSX-R1000

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
In the real world all you need is a 600. This bike is my second GSXR1000. It is the same as my first. Too fast, too much fun, and too expensive to insure. It is more comfortable than the other manufacturers 1000cc bikes. I have ridden it 950 miles in one day. All that ached were my shoulder joints and right wrist. The gas mileage is good, around 43 mpg at a cruising speed of around 80 mph. The handling is good, especially compared to an old sport bike. The suspension if firm, but compliant. Stock settings pretty much do the job. The engine is what keeps me owning one. The acceleration is just nuts. I have ridden the 954, R1 and ZX9r. They don't compare when it comes to the feel of acceleration. They may not be much slower on paper, but for acceleration feel they lag behind. The downside to the power is that you really can't use it. There is too much, but then again all the 1000's have too much. What use is all that power if you cannot use it? If you want a more practical bike, get a bandit. Rode that bike too, nice bike. But doesn't have the poser quality that most people who ride sport bikes want, myself included. The finish quality is poor. If you want good quality finish, get a Honda. The lacquer on the tank is fading after only 1200 miles, from the friction of my jeans. The black paint chips easily also. When I first bought the bike the front suspension was garbage. A fork fluid change cured that. The so called fluid from the factory was like treacle, and caused the problem. Chains have to be cleaned and lubed regularly. Rear tires are finished at about 4 to 5000 miles. Front tire on my 2002 squared off and had to be replaced at 5000 miles. Probably due to too much straight line riding. Rode my 1000 at Deals Gap. If you want to know what your 1000 will do, take it there or somewhere similar. The bike was in its element, and when you ride it on such roads you know what Suzuki intended this bike to be. A few times I screwed up, but the bike just shrugged it off. The bike wheelies easily, even on the power in 3rd at 80 mph. Doesn't wiggle or weave when it comes down at that speed. Very solid. On cold days you have to watch the throttle control. It will spin the rear tire easily. Changing the oil is fairly easy. So is other basic maintenance. There is no such thing as a boring ride on this bike. How can it be boring when you have to concentrate all the time on not giving it too much gas. If you are into sedate riding or don't have experience or confidence in your riding ability, don't buy this bike. It is not the type of bike to buy as your first bike, because it would take too long to learn to ride with any skill. Sure there are people who buy them as first bikes, and tell the world that they are easy to ride and how well they are doing. I have been riding a lot of years, I race, and I can tell you they are wrong. This is not a bike for the inexperienced. Those people should buy a 600. It is all you need in the real world. They handle great and 150 mph is not slow. They are also cheaper to run on a daily basis. To finish. I love this bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

eric brown

arlington, Virginia

Reviewed on 2004-01-18

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Suzuki GSX-R1000

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
My 2003 GSXR1000 was my 3rd sportsbike and I was a Kawasaki fan. But when I got my GSXR1000, all I am going to say is wow.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Marcus Baker

Bay Minette, Alabama

Reviewed on 2003-12-23

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Suzuki GSX-R1000

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Purchased my 2003 silver GSXR1000 in August of 03. Plenty of power in every gear. Beautiful in silver but a little too quiet with stock exhaust. Got to purchase a Yoshi slip-on. Best bike on the street today!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Roy M

Baker, Oregon

Reviewed on 2003-11-24

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Suzuki GSX-R1000

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Bought a Honda F4 a couple years ago and put 14k on it touring. I'm now setting my GSXR up for touring. So far 197 miles. It holds a line better than the Honda. Of course its fast, but any liter bike is. The real technology is in the fuel injection. It is silky smooth anywhere, which makes it easy to go slow or cruise. I actually bought it for its looks. I could have had any liter bike. Always thought I would get an R1, but after riding the GSXR and realizing how docile it can be I opted for it. I'm 6'1" and the R1 seems just a little smaller. The 954 felt a little more comfortable, but I'll put higher bars on it anyway. I got 45mpg on the 1st tank going speed limit.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Chris Coles

Calgary, Alberta

Reviewed on 2003-09-23

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Suzuki GSX-R1000

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is insane. Very hard to keep the front tire on the ground. So much power/torque you could drive around in 6th gear even as low as 40km/h and still have insane pick up. Or drive around in first gear which will get you to 140km/h - good way to waste gas. Nothing beats this and if it is close switch to third gear and you are guaranteed to smoke them. I have raced R1,Tls, 2002 GSXR 1000,9R, ETC. Fully recommend this bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Reg

Charlotte, North Carolina

Reviewed on 2003-09-21

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Suzuki GSX-R1000

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have to be honest, this is my first bike although I have ridden others(600's mostly). I was ready to make my first purchase. I thought of the 750 but i decided on taking the BIG plunge and go for the BIG DAWG in the yard. I was a little worried at first due to the throttle response being so "touchy" but I have since gained a better understanding and respect for it. Since purchasing the bike I have shipped it to Germany where I am stationed. I have seen another side of the bike. It is truly amazing. I must add I got it up to around 9000 rpms and thought I was going to take flight. The braking on this thing is down right amazing. Each day that passes I learn to love a little more of this machine. I am getting my mind set to take it on the world famous Autobahn soon before the cold weather sets in. I would definitely recommend this awesome to anyone that might be undecided on the current selection out there.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

FastBikes4Life

Chicago, Illinois

Reviewed on 2003-08-23

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Suzuki GSX-R1000

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I came off a 2000 Hayabusa to get a new GSX-R1000. At first the lack of bottom-end power (in comparison to the Busa) was a concern. Now that the bike is broken-in and I can really use its midrange, I have NO complaints! This thing is lightning quick and a dream come true through the turns. Much, much easier to ride than my Hayabusa and beautiful in silver. No complaints at all. GET ONE TODAY!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 1 - 10 of 33 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: