Suzuki Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (135)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Suzuki Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Jim Earley from Kenai, Alaska says:

Back in late December 2002, I went to two Harley dealers in the Portland area and was determined to walk out with a new Dyna Wide Glide for $16,000. N

Read More (135 reviews)

Have you owned a Suzuki Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

Voted Most Helpful Review 2003 Suzuki Intruder 1400 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Back in late December 2002, I went to two Harley dealers in the Portland area and was determined to walk out with a new Dyna Wide Glide for $16,000. No doubt about it, cash in hand and ready to go. Both were closed for inventory. Just because I had the time to kill, went to kick tires at the Suzuki dealer just for kicks. Saw the Intruder 1400 and had to have it. I could have bought two for the price of one Harley. Have since sold the 2002 and bought a 2004 Intruder. don't care for the looks of the 2005 now that they have changed the style and the name. The Intruder 1400 is truly a great looking and riding bike with all the power needed and gets a lot of attention. The seat could indeed use some improvement and the tank could be a little bigger but those are minor details and after about 120 miles it makes a good time for fuel and to stretch. Ride safe.
- Jim Earley, Kenai, Alaska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2016-05-01 2003 Suzuki AN400 Burgman Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I previously owned a 2007 model - another awesome machine. But the (somewhat smaller 385cc) motor in THIS one is one of the nicest, sweetest, most wonderful motorcycle engines I've ever known. The fact that it averages in the high 60s mpg in town, and over 70 mpg on the highway, is a huge bonus. Very comfortable and road-worthy, holds plenty of groceries, and is just a plain JOY to drive. Will keep up with traffic, but really enjoys the backroads!
- Michael, Louisville TN

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-12-31 2003 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a really good machine. I bought it used a couple of years ago and I can't think of anything negative to say about it. It is extremely reliable, and so far it hasn't cost me a dime for parts or repairs. I've owned a lot of bikes over the past 40 years, including several Harleys, and this Volusia Intruder has proven to be one heck of a "Best Bang for the Buckinvestment.
- the airbrush guy, cheyenne, Wyoming

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-16 2003 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2003 Volusia, Aug. 2003 and it was the best bike for my money. I still love it, but she really doesn't like cold weather. I am a member of American Legion Riders Post 574 in Hudson Falls, NY and have had several comments by HOG owners who like the look and sound and then I tell them what I paid then watch the look on their faces. I am looking for new pipes hopefully this summer, maybe you'll see me at Americade. The biggest problem for me was the stock seat because the bolt was right on my tailbone, I've had back surgery and brain surgery and the Mustang with the backrest was the best $500 I spent.
- T Bone, Argyle, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-18 2003 Suzuki Bandit 1200S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm 51, raised on bikes on the farm since I was 13. Had over 14 bikes, dirt, street and dual sport. This one will put miles of smiles on your face. It is thirsty and chews up tires and definetly not for rookies. It is not idiot proof. It will probably flip in first and it will slide out in a corner if you just nail it. So discretion will give you tons of fun. Wait til after 4000 rpm before you nail it. You'll probably want to change the sprockets to give a more appropriate power band. It is geared too short from the factory. Live it up, with discretion.
- Dave V., Chandler, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-16 2003 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just completed a ride from Gulfport Ms to Alabama/Florida State line along the Beach. The Bike now has about 6400 miles and still pulls strong. Seams as though some people are non-believers, The ride had 15 total bikes and 18 people, 2) GSXR 750 1) Kawi 1000, 1) 750 Katana and 1) 750 Vulcan, the rest were Harley's. I kept up with the hogs even the ones with performance upgrades not bad for $6,300 able to stay with the crowd of 15k plus bikes. Still looking to put some Hard Krome 3" Staggered Straights on her to give her a little grunt. But as always still the Best Bang for the BUCK.
- Doak, Diamondhead, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-03 2003 Suzuki Hayabusa 1300 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First off there are 2 kinds or riders, the ones that dropped their bikes and the one that's gonna drop their bike. I did my dropping with a used BMW R1150R. Rode that for 5 months and put 6,000 miles on it (my commuter). Now the present. I just bought this 2003 Hayabusa that had 2.8K miles on it (silver and black with Yoshimura RS-3 pipes). I know I was blessed that I got it for a good price, (pristine condition). Rideability: This bike is not for the beginner!!! You will kill your self in a week if you do. Unless you are a very conservative driver like me and you have a reason and a will to live, like seeing my children grow up, then this bike will be for you. Not overpowering off the line, I was actually surprised that it was smooth off the first 2 gears unless you are really gassing it up. 3rd and 4th gear is the get up and go gears, and by the time you max out the 5th gear, you better be hanging on for dear life at around 165 miles/hour. 6th gear is still unattainable for me cause 5th gear already scares me at 165 m/hr. I only use 6th gear for cruising at 85 to save gas. Around the twist: very rideable around the twisty, not as agile as a 600 but a very good touring around the hills. I'm trying to make it more of a touring bike that I will used as my commuter. You have to tweak the bike to make it more comfortable. A little adjustment of the levers by dropping it lower so that you don't have to twist your wrist to brake of shift makes a big difference in your hands going numb or not. Once I get to my sweet spot position, it gets comfortable enough that my back and wrist don't hurt at all. I have ridden for 4 hours at a time, and I could have gone another 2 hours without being too uncomfortable or tired. The bike is awesome, the looks that I get and the crowd and people that come up to me wanting to talk about the bike is great. People and families that I don't even know come shake my hand and introduce themselves wanting to see the bike closer and ask questions about it, which never happened to me until I owned the BUSA. I am very satisfied with this bike. Now every time I walk into my garage and see her, I feel like she's talking to me and asking me do you want to go for a ride baby, I know you do! And in my mind, I'm like yeah baby you and me, Lets go for a RIDE!! haven't said NO to her yet!!! HEHEHE! Ride safe and God Bless.
- Mirador, Hayward, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-26 2003 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Every time I get out on my Volusia I get complemented on my soft tail. I bought it used and stole all the upgrades that the guy before me had installed. He sold it, too scared to ride after he spent all winter putting every piece of chrome that he could on it. Last weekend I rode with a 1200 Sportster and a custom chopper, yeah they could pull away on the straight but the handling on the Volusia kept me with them through the corners. I'm getting ready to jet and pipes and air filter to get a little more power but other than that, it's an amazing bike.
- Adam Mason, Ladoga, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-19 2003 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought it used when I decided to get back into riding after a 25 year absence. I don't know how I could have made a better choice. Strong through the gears handles great predictable. My wife was reluctant to agree to this purchase now I think she wants one of her own.
- Terry L, Oakdale, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-11 2003 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Handle's well, good power, unbelievable looks, everywhere I go somebody mistakes it for a Harley!Very low seat height and excellent balance make's for great around town crusing. I've yet to travel a long distance(150+)yet, but I don't forsee any problems. Great value and reliablity at any price!
- tngator, blountville, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-30 2003 Suzuki Bandit 1200S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After owning many bikes, I may have just found a home with this one. Fairly light, nimble and very, very fast. This is not a super sport bike, but it could pretty much fool you with jet like acceleration. Ya can't pulla wheel at 50, but just try to keep the front down in first or second. Anyway so much for the hoopla, It does everything pretty darn good, corners great, brakes are great, rides nice, so what more could you ask for. I got mine about a month ago, a 2003 leftover. About the only drawback is the milage which can be in the mid 30's if you like to twist the grip (but still, compare that to most cars). Hopefully in can get 40 on a trip. I am by no means a mainiac rider, and try to keep the peace most of the time. So if you are looking for a nice, sit upright ride, this 1200 Bandit should do the trick, and the price is right to. Enjoy
- Rick, Shirley, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-18 2003 Suzuki Bandit 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Had a curiser style bike for several years. I just didn't like the "laid back" riding position. The Bandit allows for a heads up riding position without hunching over the gas tank. I have the naked style. I added a National Cylce F-16 wind screen that really adds to the looks. I also have bar end rearview mirrors which I highly recommend. It gives a great view of what's coming up behind. This is a great bike at a great price.
- KGR, Fayetteville, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-16 2003 Suzuki Marauder Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Man the 1st time I saw this bike I wanted it. The guys at Hindes Performance Motorsports were really cool to work with. It was my 1st bike ever owning and what a ride. I've always ridden other friend's bikes once in a while. Now I have my own which makes me and my friends happy.
- Oz, Columbus, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-15 2003 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I took my motorcycle safety/riding course in March (the first time I had ever been on a bike other than riding double up with my husband) and got my Volusia on April 8. I can't say enough good things about this bike. It is easy to handle, rides great and is a super bike for a beginner. My biggest fear was not being able to touch flat-footed being as "vertically challenged" as I am but I can do so with no trouble at all. My husband rides a Victory but has been known to "borrow" mine from time to time.
- flagators, Bradenton, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-13 2003 Suzuki Bandit 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm 46 and I hadn't riden a bike in about 13 years and only rode a 250cc bike. I really like cruisers but, after spending a lot of time just sitting on them, I found that long trips could be a problem. I've had sugery on my lower back and although I'm fine nowb, sitting is my weak point. I found the position on the Bandit with my legs under me rather than out in front is a very happy position for my back. With only 350 mile so far I have no complaints. This is a very smooth and powerful bike. I bought it new this year, (05 but it's a 2003). People who ride say "Wow, that thing will pop wheelies". Well not for me, I'll keep 2 wheels down. I wanted plenty of power for 2 and gas mileage for weekend trips, 46mpg so far. I like the upright position which I improved with a riser kit. I'll update in the future.
- Tim Z, Chino Valley AZ, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-26 2003 Suzuki Bandit 1200S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Some folks are impressed by flash and novelty. But, for those seeking a terrific value, look no further than the Bandit 1200. Dollar for dollar you'll be hard pressed to find a better bike. The Bandit may not be the best in any single category, but it is exceptionally good in all of them. There are no compromises with this machine. It excels when cutting through DC city traffic or slicing through back-road corners. It is comfortable enough for all-day riding while providing outstanding performance. My only complaint might lie in the throttle response. It is not as precise as a fuel injected machine would be. Nevertheless, you will not find more comfort and performance for less money anywhere.
- DC Bandit, Washington DC, District of Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-18 2003 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've put on 27,000 hard miles on the 2003 Volusia VL800, crossing the Great West and riding I-40 to the Eastern End of the road. My beautiful machine is beginning to show the stress of age and abuse. Two of the three bolts on the muffler bracket fell off and wore the lower muffler out of a snug fit. The bolts hide behind panels on the right side of the bike. The loss of low-end torque from the exhaust leak was apparent. I had to weld the muffler to the T-exchange. Other than that the Volusia is still running hard and strong two up (see photo). I commute to work (seasonally) 70 miles round trip. It is an adventure on adverse days, a genuine pleasure on those other days of warmth and windless occasion. I can understand why Suzuki based the Boulevard C-series cruisers on the Volusia. Vuelve.
- tatatito, Thoreau, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-16 2003 Suzuki Bandit 1200S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the '03 model with 2400 miles on it. I was riding a GS 500 before. I test rode this and walked out of the dealership as the proud new owner. There's so much power, you don't even feel the weight of the passenger. It's a whole lot of bike, but it's made in such a way, you don't feel it. You just enjoy the ride!
- Tony Paul, Panama City, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-26 2003 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I picked up a lightly used Volusia on Wednesday (for what I think was a great price) and have put 300 miles on it from driving it home and on two other rides. I had the absolute best ride ever (this is my 4th bike) yesterday. A hilly winding country roads in perfect weather. The Volusia has ample power and comfort, and of course, it looks a lot more expensive than it is. I love the sound and the great balance between handling and cruising comfort. This one's a keeper.
- Don, St. Francisville, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-04 2003 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well it's almost been 2 years and she still turns heads. I have not rode as much as I'd like to. I have rode with several friends and did bike swaps half way through the ride. I have ridden similar bikes from the other manufacturers to include Hondas VLX and VT 1100 Saber, Kawi Vulcan 800 and the V-Star 650. All of these bikes are alright for the right person but were not as comfortable as the Ole' Volusia. But to get similar comfort I need to jump to the VTX 1300/1800 or the Road Star 1700. What a pay jump for similar comfort. So I'm looking to just stick with a few more upgrades to the Volusia like Bags, pipes (HK's) and maybe a gel seat for the posterior region. Still the best bang for the buck.
- Doak, Wichita Falls, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-04 2003 Suzuki Hayabusa 1300 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My 2004 Suzuki Hayabusa is fun to ride. Every time I walk into the garage I get the urge to just sit on it and reminisce about my most recent venture atop the most beautiful piece of machined metal I've ever seen. My top speed on my 'Busa is 185mph on a sunny fall Saturday morning. The urge to grab a handful of throttle when you find yourself first in line at a red light and shoot off into the distance while you know that everybody behind you is staring at you in envy and awe is irresistable. If you do not have a great deal of self control then the 'Busa is not for you. I often find myself barreling along at least 30 miles over the speed limit and normally I don't even realize it.
- Chris, Tampa, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-10 2003 Suzuki Hayabusa 1300 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the most comfortable sportbike I have ever ridden. This is probably due to the more favorable riding position. It is almost too large for someone of my size, but that is what is so great about the Busa. I don't feel like I'm trying to ride my son's tricycle every time I hop on to go for a ride! Suzuki makes one of the most reliable and mechanically sound line of super bikes. Not to mention they look better than most. My only complaint is the length and weight. If Suzuki could figure out how to safely shorten the wheel base 2.5 inches and lose fifty pounds, there would be no better bike on and off the track. Whereas right now it has gobs of power, but can't turn the way a sport bike is ment to, hense an overall rating of only 4 stars.
- kyle, bremerton, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-05 2003 Suzuki Bandit 1200S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased the Bandit 1200S in March 2004 as a brand new left over model and have no regrets. What a great bike, more power than you can safely use on the street. Torque output is beyond expectations. We're talking liter class performance for the price of a middleweight. Excellent features are included on this bargain bike: hydraulic clutch, center stand, dual trip meters, classy amber instrument lighting, fuel gauge (very accurate), nice wide wheels with wide radial tires, comfortable seat, excellent fairing and THAT motor!! Despite its big motor, the bike knifes through congested traffic like buttah. No problems so far except not having the time to take a week long trip. I've done extended day rides only so far and I must say I've never felt so fresh after putting a few hundred miles in the saddle. Get one quick 'cause it looks like 2005 might be the last year this beauty is produced for the U.S. There might be more modern machines out there but there is no other bike in its class that offers so much for so little cash.
- L. A. Bandit , Los Angeles , California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-13 2003 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I can't say enough about what an outstanding mid-size cruiser the Volusia is. To me it feels as if it doesn't belong in the same class as the 750 size bikes. The longer wheelbase makes it feel like a much larger bike and the performance is better than most in this class(even the Harley 883). It handles very well and has very good rider comfort. I truely think it is the BEST bang for the buck in its class. Only wish there were more custom parts for it.
- Mike Templeton, Middletown, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-26 2003 Suzuki Intruder 1400 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently upgraded to the VS1400 from a 650 Savage. Before I saw this bike, I was set on the 800 Volusia. But, after some investigation I determined it was a little large for me. The overall dimensions of the VS1400 were smaller than the 800 Volusia, but only 4 lbs heavier (dry). I feel very secure riding my Intruder. The weight keeps me from getting blown around. Turns are smooth and steady. It really snaps when shifting gears, so I have to let the clutch out easy. It is a lot of power but easily controlled by the rider. My rides keep getting better. As far as reliability; only time will tell but no troubles yet. I have great confidence in the Suzuki line. This is a great bike for the price. I got mine for a steal because it was last year's model.
- Amber , Battle Creek, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: