Suzuki SV1000S Sport Bikes Reviews (27)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Suzuki SV1000S Sport Bikes Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Suzuki SV1000S Sport Bikes? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2008-01-29 2003 Suzuki SV1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had the yearning for a liter v-twin for some time and the SV1000S has totally fulfilled it. The great thing about a stock SV1KS is that you can really build it up however you want. Some simple suspension upgrades will make this a potent track machine. Change the clip-ons, seat, and add some luggage and you've got a mile-eating sport-tourer. The power from the 996 motor is excellent. While newer 600cc supersport bikes will match the SV in straight line launches it's the torque at any rpm that makes it special. You can virtually leave it in any gear and have instant acceleration whenever you want it. I find the half naked styling very appealing especially with the belly scoop. Very cool for OEM plastic. OEM fairings are available but it's the half faired styling that sets the SV apart in my opinion. There are a few other liter v-twins on the market but for the money I don't think there is a better value than the SV1000S. There is a decent aftermarket available which makes upgrading and modding easy and not super expensive. But for me I think it's the uniqueness of the bike that sets it apart. A Japanese liter v-twin, easily made into track monster or sport-tourer. Easy to work on and to maintain. I think I've found motorcycling nirvana.
- Jeff C., Raleigh, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-26 2003 Suzuki SV1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is an excellent bike with great styling and lots of torque. I do however wish the seat was more comfortable. Other than that it is a great bike and I recommend it to all of you riders out there.
- Brad Smith, Niles, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-20 2003 Suzuki SV1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my SV for about a year now. I couldn't be happier. I have had several motorcycles including some dirt bikes (Suzuki PW50, Suzuki TS125, Yamaha YZ125 and two RM250's) and a street bike (Yamaha Radian 600) and I can tell you that the SV is a truly fantastic machine. don't get me wrong, the other bikes are great too, especially the Radian, and my 02 RM250, which of course are both in a different class entirely. The SV is fantastic though. Smooth power, great looks, torque, torque, torque, and who doesn't love the wonderful sound of a V-Twin Sport bike? I cannot say that it is the best bike out there, (I haven't owned them all), but I can say that if you are considering this bike, go put the money down because it will not disappoint. I have the Metallic Copper (which is beautiful) and it really turns heads and inspires comments. I have just a couple minor complaints about the bike. First, no fuel gauge. The fuel warning light is great but I wish I had some way of knowing if I need to stop at every town for fuel or not. Second, the butt-freakin' ugly rear mud flap fender afterthought. Suzuki should have made (and still should in the future) their aftermarket fender eliminator license plate bracket the stock part. So as you can see, with a $100 aftermarket genuine Suzuki part, and after learning the fuel economy of the bike, there really is nothing to complain about. Suzuki scored big on this one and I hope they continue to make this bike so it can gather the same following as the great SV650.
- Dave Ryan, Roosevelt, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-04 2003 Suzuki SV1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This week I bought a new SV1000S, because the price was right. I haven't ridden in 10 years and had forgotten what fun it can be. In 1978 I bought a 900ss Ducati at about the same time of year and am amazed at the first impression similarities. The SV seems to have the same long legged, steady steering, torquey, unassuming presence of my all time favorite Duke and I can hardly wait for break in to be over!
- orville johnson, olympia, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-19 2003 Suzuki SV1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have completed my 1000 mile break-in and as I waited for the first 600 miles to go I was impressed. Impressed by the fact that at 4,000 rpm's this baby is cruising at 70 mph and never flinches on the road. After 600 miles I was able to push her to 6000 rpm's where in 6th gear you are cruisinng well past any posted speed limit in America. What a smooth ride, even with the stock setup. I have incorporated Helibars into the front end which made a more than reputable comfort upgrade to the feel of the bike and then a Sargeant low profile seat which has completely made the comfort zone to the SV heaven. As I continue to upgrade the cosmetics of the bike, lower fairing, hugger, targa tail cover, the copper SV1000S takes on its true personality. It is a pretty unit with lots of appeal. But the true appeal for me is having traded in my Kawasaki Concours for this cherry of a ride.
- Ken Hammond, Washington, District of Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-06 2003 Suzuki SV1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Getting back into riding again after a 12 year hiatus. The bike has been fabulous. Incredibly sharp and precise handling, forgiving powerband, and comfortable ergos (after heli bar mod). Only 2k miles on it so far, so I can't really comment on the reliability. A great all around bike for a steal of a price. The only knock I would give is for the cheap front suspension bits. Why can't Suzuki lend the GSX-R 600(or even the 750) fully adjustable inverted fork setup to the SV? We'll never know. But that's my next mod.
- gesserit, Folsom, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-14 2003 Suzuki SV1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After doing months of serious painstaking research and reviews on which bike to purchase I finally decided on the 2003 SV1000S. Boy, am I ever pleased with this decision. Naturally, having nothing but the Motorcycle Safety Training demo bike (Honda 250 Night Hawk) to compare it to, I can't speak from a position of an experienced rider. However, I can say that going with the SV1000S rather than the SV650S was a better move for me even though it cost more. Frankly, I got a great deal on a Silver 2003. Not a big difference between the two. The bike handles extremely well, has great torque, and looks damn good in silver. I wasn't too keen on the copper. I had the dealer install a couple of extras: the full fairings, a gas tank bra, the taller, tinted windscreen and a rear fender. This bike looks awesome. I have only had it for two weeks and the compliments are just rolling in. The ladies love it! Shortcomings: As a new rider I am getting used to the warm crotch and the wrist position, but besides that, all is wonderful with my newest toy. My advice would be to check this bike out and look at left over 2003 or 2004 models as they will be selling at deep discount off MSRP out the door. Good luck... PEACE!
- J. E. Murrain, Fremont, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-04 2003 Suzuki SV1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great bike. Terrific engine, with lots of torque. Relatively light -- a good balance of nimbleness and stability. The styling is great in my opinion. On the downside, the ergonomics are aggressive. I knew this when I bought the bike and intend to replace the stock clip-ons with helibars or sunrisers. I also plan to upgrade the cans (probably will buy Yosh RS3) to free up that great engine sound.
- doug, greenwich, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-24 2003 Suzuki SV1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had an SV650 for a year, and I've been yearning for more power. I've found it in the SV1000S. I thought it would be even more wheelie-prone than the 650, but it isn't: it puts down the power and launches you without rocketing you skyward, which for me is reassuring. The suspension is a great upgrade from the 650, and even though the Sv1000S takes a little more leverage to turn, I can canyon strafe faster than with the 650 simply because of the acceleration I get out of corners. The one downside for a medium-height guy like me is the stretch to the clip-ons on long rides. I'm still debating whether I want the Helibar clip-on risers. The seat is as uncomfortable as it was on the 650, so I'm not complaining any more than I did before!
- Sid, Mountain View, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-23 2003 Suzuki SV1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After purchasing my silver SV1000S in October 2003, I thought the bike was one of the best looking naked bikes on the road, but the sound of the dual pipes didn't provide me with the sound that I was looking for to let other motorist know that I was coming through. So I replaced the dual pipes for a single Yoshimura RS3 mid pipe system and now the bike sounds like a tiger on the prowl. The bike was fast before I upgraded it, now it really screams. Riding with my friends who roll CBR's, Ninja 1200's and Gixers, I noticed a significant increase in performance. I also swapped out the winscreen for a Zero Gravity Double-Bubble to give me better wind protection at high (+100mph) speeds. My current project with it is to rip off the ugly rear fender and replace it with a Hotbodies Racing Undertail. As soon as I figure out how to take the fender off without cutting anything I'll post a picture of it.
- Philip Scott, Fontana, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-07 2003 Suzuki SV1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is one heck of a bike for the money. The Copper Paint is hot! The bike has gotten a lot of attention from onlookers. Silky smooth power and crisp handling. The only weakness is comfort. The seat is a rock and the handlebars are too low. I installed the Gel Seat and the LSL handlebars and wow what a difference! Now the bike is perfect!
- Patrick, Berea, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-19 2003 Suzuki SV1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Still a very nice bike for the price. However, not the most comfortable bike I've ridden. I took it on a 500+ mile trip and there is some vibration into the handle bars and foot pegs, I was hoping to get away from by switching from a inline 4 to a L twin. Power and torque is plentiful, I have had it up to 143 mph and had too much helmet buffeting so I had to slow down, (tank bag was in my way to get down behind the wind screen). I ran out of gas at 176 miles, and filled up, it only took 4.2 gal, manual says 4.5 for fuel capacity. The fuel light comes on at 3.1 to 3.2 gal, manual says it should come on at below 1.1 gal., so that seems to be right. I get about 44 mpg. Im still trying to get used to the hydraulic cluthch and dual throttle cables and fuel injection after riding old school stuff for 20 + years, But man-O-man it has power coming out of the corners.
- steve, porterville, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-19 2003 Suzuki SV1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just stepped up to the sv1000s from a very mild mannered 600 (Yamaha Secca II). All I can say is that I'm simply amazed. The bike has way more performance than I will ever be able to use, and I am pretty serious about improving my skill. I especially like the torquey motor -- being able to roll around a corner in a higher gear than I'm accustomed to and just rolling on the throttle. And the SOUND!!!!!!!!!!!!
- Jeff Medelberg, Cedar, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-29 2003 Suzuki SV1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought a new 2003 SV1000s. It was a little tall for me so I had it lowered 2 inches. It is more comfortable now for me when stopping or maneuvering it in tight spots. I like the narrow seat and am enjoying the ride.
- JD Lyons, Batesville , Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-16 2003 Suzuki SV1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am here to give an update on my nearly year old 03 SV1000s. I wrote the review "great real world motorcycle" shortly after I got the SV. So how do I feel about the bike after 11,000 miles? I still love it, everything about this bike is exceptional (except the seat) hopefully Sergeant will remedy the situation soon. The bike has responded wonderfully to suspension adjustments. Mainly for my weight I backed off the rear preload and that made a tremendous difference. With stock settings for my weight the bike would occasionally try to run wide when hard on gas out of corners and the rear wanted to skip a bit. I just softened it up and it cured both issues and I have never touched the suspension since. The fastest I can get this bike is to indicated 160mph. which is probably somewhere around a true 150mph. That redline in 5th. If I take 6th up she just wont pull after around 9000rpms and holds around 158mph. I think its aerodynamics (no lower fairings) and/or I would need to do something to get more high-end hp to go faster. For anyone who is curious about the top speed of the SV1000s. When I get a new chain I will change the sprockets up...so top speed will go down in a trade for more acceleration. I ride a lot with a friend that has a Honda RC51. I use him as a gauge being that the RC51 is probably the premier sports twin on the market. I have no trouble keeping up w/ him on his 51. He is not a slouch rider either; we have gone on long rides in the twisties and have gone about as fast as I ever want to go on public roads. The Suzuki can be all over the 51's tail through all kinds of corners. The SV1000s is an extremely capable street bike. Obviously, when we are going down the straights his 51 will walk away from about 135mph on up. When we do high speed runs the 51 will go by me at 160 easily but nothing like the GSXR750 or CBR1100XX of other buddies. If you want top speed get something else. I think the SV1000s is the best "street bike" for the money. If you want TO go faster than this bike can go, you need be on the track.... because you will never exceed this bikes potential on public roads. Final note...engine has shown no signs of power loss. After 11k miles and religious changing of Mobil 1 15w40, if anything the motor is still getting stronger. Well-done Suzuki!
- pasystm, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-01 2003 Suzuki SV1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I picked up the '03 SV1000S about a month ago and I am impressed. Suzuki really did their homework when it came to this bike. It has huge amounts of torque that is great for pulling out of corners. Just grab a hand full of throttle and this baby will go. The fuel injection mapping is superb. Silky smooth at any RPM range. Great bike for sport riding and the Sunday cruise. My only complaint is being 6'2" it is a little cramped for me on longer rides of over 100 miles. Other then that I have no complaints. Great job Suzuki!
- Chris, Cincinnati, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-15 2003 Suzuki SV1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I made a mistake. I settled for the 650s because my wife was watching dollars. The bike rides great but being a bigger individual it just didn't seem to have the oomph I was hoping my first bike would have. The 650 is great to learn on but I knew that I would want more so I traded after only a few months. Yes I got beat up a bit on the trade but do I regret the change? Absolutely not. The 1000S is everything I hoped for. I feel like I'm part of the bike as it does whatever I want with no hesitation. I ride 60 miles to work and have no comfort problems at all. The turns are a breeze and the speed is there should I need it. One can't go wrong with this one. I get a lot of compliments on the unique copper color. A stock tank bra looks very sharp as well.
- Chris, Yuba City, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-06 2003 Suzuki SV1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Out of Las Vegas across Hoover Dam and into Kingman Az. in January's 30 degree weather I pressed on across Route 66 toward Oatman and Bullhead City , this is the sport bike for everyone who refuses to grow up ! Power, handling, and superb suspension - this bike was made for the open stretches and sudden 15mph switchbacks that Route 66 has to offer. Transmission and clutch are ultra smooth and the back torque limiter does the job it was designed to do when having a spirited ride ! Suzuki has a real winner here with this new SV-1000s !!!!
- Bruce Maier, Las Vegas, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-02 2003 Suzuki SV1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'd been out of the saddle for a few years and got back in a couple of years ago. I thought that I'd ease myself back into things with a late-model GSXF750. Despite what the journalist say, it was a great do-it-all bike. But I got a bit bored in the end: it was just so smooth and fuss free. I wanted something that was more fun. I thought about 'what next?' for a while and finally decided on a SV1000s. It turned out to be a good move. The thing has lots of torque and handles pretty well around the twisty stuff. The brakes are reasonably good, but they feel just a little woody. The factory settings on the suspension probably need some altering. I'd read that the SV is a bit rough on class-B roads and that it wants to run a bit wide sometimes. True enough, but it's nothing a bit of suspension tweaking wouldn't fix. Straight out of the crate, the SV has loads of character. Crack the throttle and it goes. The ergos aren't bad at all: I can spend much of the day on the SV without getting sore. The riding position is committed without being extreme ... you won't need to consult your local chiropractor after every outing. The finish is good and it turns lots of heads. A set of after-market cans really improves SV's acoustics. There's nothing like that V-twin rumble. All in all, the engine is strong and the power delivery is user-friendly. The SV is surprisingly fast and it gets up to speed without any effort. It won't rip your arms out, but it's potent enough to put a smile on your dial. The V-twin burble, a few minor handling quirks and the way it vibrates all conspire to make the SV fun to ride. Make no mistake; the SV is a serious machine. Gripes? Only two: The fuel tank is a bit small. And I'd prefer a fuel gauge to the 'fuel warning' light. Recommend it? Absolutely!
- olly, Hobart, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-01 2003 Suzuki SV1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The SV is by far the neatest bike I have ever ridden. It has excellent power, and the handling is unreal. I would recomend this bike to any non-beginner.
- Todd Barlow, Danville, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-11 2003 Suzuki SV1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Before I bought my SV1000S I researched and looked into every possible 2 wheeled vehicle that I could for this was to be my first bike. I'm here to tell you that I am very happy with the decision that I made. Although I picked the silver colored one first it, was the wife who talked me into getting the orange metalic and I'm glad she did. This is one beautiful machine and handles like a dream. I took it to the BRC instructor who taught me to ride and he just loved and he owns the FZ-1. Some thought I was crazy to get 998cc bike as the first but at 6'2" and 240 the fits me just fine the ergos are comfortable and I can ride 100 miles easy with no pain. Until I can find another that fits me and gives me the satisfaction that I'm looking for make mine the SV1000S.
- pmgmason, San Antonio, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-24 2003 Suzuki SV1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding for three years now, and have owned two bikes. My first bike was a 1998 Honda Magna, which I loved dearly, but I traded it for a copper sv1000s. Never having been on a sportbike I didn't know what to expect other than power and speed. I was pleased after a week or two of riding to realize this is one awesome bike, in both power and comfort. I will say right now this bike is a better long tourer than my magna was. If you are hesitant about this bike because of what some magazines have said regarding the ergos, don't be. I have always been fond of twins, no pun intended, and this one is music to my ears. Strong off of the line, pulls hard in any gear above 3000rpms, and for some nice tunes roll the throttle to the meat of the torque curve, 6000rpms and up, and she growls like a wolf. One thing I love about this bike is the straight line stability at highway speeds. This was made even better by a mishap at 700 miles. I found a screw in the rear tire and the only size available, unless I wanted to wait a week, was a 190/50. I don't know how many would suggest putting a larger 190 tire on the rear, but it feels better if thats possible. On a purely eye candy note, the copper hue is hot. Every time I ride people compliment how good this bike looks, and always note the metallic flake copper. In all, I love this bike and have no regrets trading in my magna.
- Mike Willis, Richmond, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-06 2003 Suzuki SV1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned current VFRs, ZXRs and GSXRs and wanted a different bike. The SV1000S was a great value. The quality of the build seems to be excellent. First and foremost this bike is about motor - the twin puts out great usable power and provides terrific feedback - vibes and intake/exhaust notes. It has a very committed riding position for a street sport bike, I think that the clip-ons could be 1" higher and 1" rearward and comfort would increase without a loss of "touch" (I am 6'1"). That said it's not bad although you are against the gas tank unless you have arms like a gorrilla! Braking is good and got a lot better with aftermarket pads up front, I recommend this upgrade right off the bat. The chassis is a bit tough to figure out. I have read the other reviews and can't agree entirely with their "rock steady" reports. I find that the bike is prone to weaving. I have checked tire pressures and this is not the cause. I think that the bike is quite sensitive to cross and quartering winds and handle bar inputs at high speeds (100mph plus). I have raised my forks 5mm in the clamps and increased preload by two lines. I increased compression a bit to reduce dive. In the back I have increased preload by 5mm and increased compression abit as well to reduce squat. The bike feels better with these adjustments. The amplitude of the weaving has been reduced by about 60%... This bike will never be a GSXR but it feels great and the handling quirks make it a bit more exciting at slower speeds. I am going to look into a slightly louder exhaust and change the final gear ratio for better around town torque. Likely 1 down up front and 2 up out back (shortening the wheel base a bit as a bonus!). I would definitely recommend this bike for the street. It's tons of fun and the whole experience on the SV is as good as I've had it on the streets. This bike makes me feel good at speeds that were just boring on previous litre fours. Get one!
- Chris Fournier, Kitchener, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-29 2003 Suzuki SV1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I researched buying a bike for months and finally decided on a SV1000S. It was the best decision I could have made! The bike is comfortable (even for my 6'1' height), stylish, and fast!!! On the third day I owned the bike I took it on a 300 mile trip and didn't feel sore or in pain like I would on my old R6 at the end of the trip. Only complaint I have is that the aftermarket is slow on parts for this truely wonderful machine! I would recommend this bike to anyone!!!
- Jesse Morgan, Indianapolis, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-26 2003 Suzuki SV1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is all I could ask in a bike overall. I was skeptical as to the ergos with my height. But now realize that this bike was made for me. I looked at the FZ1 and Z1000. But for me they lacked the aggressive stance I sought. The feel was much like the Bandit 600 which was a fair little commuter bike but was buzzy as hell on the Interstate. This bike eats curves and begs for more. Although it can get a little warm at a red light in July. I feel as though I am on the griddle BUT HAPPY to be there. If you want an aggressive naked bike look no further. This is truly my dream bike. SportRider magazine talked bad of it but these are not everyday riders looking for a good time at a fair price. I am by no means a PRO such as the riders which reviewed the SV1000. But I know what I like and as it is many times reviewers have their heads firmly planted in their fore points of contact. Thus is truly a fine machine in lieu of performance and appearance. Sport meets Naked in this case. All I can compare the ride to would be being strapped to the fuselage of an F-15. Test ride one TODAY!
- R Daugherty, Cookeville, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: