Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2003 Suzuki SV1000S Sport Bike reviews

4.8
Write a review
Reliability
4.8
Overall quality
4.8
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.4

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Sport Bikes

Reviews

27 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Jeff C.

Raleigh, North Carolina

Reviewed on 2008-01-29

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Suzuki SV1000S

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I've had the yearning for a liter v-twin for some time and the SV1000S has totally fulfilled it. The great thing about a stock SV1KS is that you can really build it up however you want. Some simple suspension upgrades will make this a potent track machine. Change the clip-ons, seat, and add some luggage and you've got a mile-eating sport-tourer. The power from the 996 motor is excellent. While newer 600cc supersport bikes will match the SV in straight line launches it's the torque at any rpm that makes it special. You can virtually leave it in any gear and have instant acceleration whenever you want it. I find the half naked styling very appealing especially with the belly scoop. Very cool for OEM plastic. OEM fairings are available but it's the half faired styling that sets the SV apart in my opinion. There are a few other liter v-twins on the market but for the money I don't think there is a better value than the SV1000S. There is a decent aftermarket available which makes upgrading and modding easy and not super expensive. But for me I think it's the uniqueness of the bike that sets it apart. A Japanese liter v-twin, easily made into track monster or sport-tourer. Easy to work on and to maintain. I think I've found motorcycling nirvana.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Brad Smith

Niles, Michigan

Reviewed on 2005-05-26

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Suzuki SV1000S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is an excellent bike with great styling and lots of torque. I do however wish the seat was more comfortable. Other than that it is a great bike and I recommend it to all of you riders out there.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dave Ryan

Roosevelt, Utah

Reviewed on 2005-04-20

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Suzuki SV1000S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have had my SV for about a year now. I couldn't be happier. I have had several motorcycles including some dirt bikes (Suzuki PW50, Suzuki TS125, Yamaha YZ125 and two RM250's) and a street bike (Yamaha Radian 600) and I can tell you that the SV is a truly fantastic machine. don't get me wrong, the other bikes are great too, especially the Radian, and my 02 RM250, which of course are both in a different class entirely. The SV is fantastic though. Smooth power, great looks, torque, torque, torque, and who doesn't love the wonderful sound of a V-Twin Sport bike? I cannot say that it is the best bike out there, (I haven't owned them all), but I can say that if you are considering this bike, go put the money down because it will not disappoint. I have the Metallic Copper (which is beautiful) and it really turns heads and inspires comments. I have just a couple minor complaints about the bike. First, no fuel gauge. The fuel warning light is great but I wish I had some way of knowing if I need to stop at every town for fuel or not. Second, the butt-freakin' ugly rear mud flap fender afterthought. Suzuki should have made (and still should in the future) their aftermarket fender eliminator license plate bracket the stock part. So as you can see, with a $100 aftermarket genuine Suzuki part, and after learning the fuel economy of the bike, there really is nothing to complain about. Suzuki scored big on this one and I hope they continue to make this bike so it can gather the same following as the great SV650.
Reliability
2.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

orville johnson

olympia, Washington

Reviewed on 2004-12-04

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Suzuki SV1000S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This week I bought a new SV1000S, because the price was right. I haven't ridden in 10 years and had forgotten what fun it can be. In 1978 I bought a 900ss Ducati at about the same time of year and am amazed at the first impression similarities. The SV seems to have the same long legged, steady steering, torquey, unassuming presence of my all time favorite Duke and I can hardly wait for break in to be over!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ken Hammond

Washington, District of Columbia

Reviewed on 2004-11-19

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Suzuki SV1000S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have completed my 1000 mile break-in and as I waited for the first 600 miles to go I was impressed. Impressed by the fact that at 4,000 rpm's this baby is cruising at 70 mph and never flinches on the road. After 600 miles I was able to push her to 6000 rpm's where in 6th gear you are cruisinng well past any posted speed limit in America. What a smooth ride, even with the stock setup. I have incorporated Helibars into the front end which made a more than reputable comfort upgrade to the feel of the bike and then a Sargeant low profile seat which has completely made the comfort zone to the SV heaven. As I continue to upgrade the cosmetics of the bike, lower fairing, hugger, targa tail cover, the copper SV1000S takes on its true personality. It is a pretty unit with lots of appeal. But the true appeal for me is having traded in my Kawasaki Concours for this cherry of a ride.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

gesserit

Folsom, California

Reviewed on 2004-10-06

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Suzuki SV1000S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Getting back into riding again after a 12 year hiatus. The bike has been fabulous. Incredibly sharp and precise handling, forgiving powerband, and comfortable ergos (after heli bar mod). Only 2k miles on it so far, so I can't really comment on the reliability. A great all around bike for a steal of a price. The only knock I would give is for the cheap front suspension bits. Why can't Suzuki lend the GSX-R 600(or even the 750) fully adjustable inverted fork setup to the SV? We'll never know. But that's my next mod.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

J. E. Murrain

Fremont, California

Reviewed on 2004-09-14

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Suzuki SV1000S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After doing months of serious painstaking research and reviews on which bike to purchase I finally decided on the 2003 SV1000S. Boy, am I ever pleased with this decision. Naturally, having nothing but the Motorcycle Safety Training demo bike (Honda 250 Night Hawk) to compare it to, I can't speak from a position of an experienced rider. However, I can say that going with the SV1000S rather than the SV650S was a better move for me even though it cost more. Frankly, I got a great deal on a Silver 2003. Not a big difference between the two. The bike handles extremely well, has great torque, and looks damn good in silver. I wasn't too keen on the copper. I had the dealer install a couple of extras: the full fairings, a gas tank bra, the taller, tinted windscreen and a rear fender. This bike looks awesome. I have only had it for two weeks and the compliments are just rolling in. The ladies love it! Shortcomings: As a new rider I am getting used to the warm crotch and the wrist position, but besides that, all is wonderful with my newest toy. My advice would be to check this bike out and look at left over 2003 or 2004 models as they will be selling at deep discount off MSRP out the door. Good luck... PEACE!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

doug

greenwich, Connecticut

Reviewed on 2004-09-04

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Suzuki SV1000S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Great bike. Terrific engine, with lots of torque. Relatively light -- a good balance of nimbleness and stability. The styling is great in my opinion. On the downside, the ergonomics are aggressive. I knew this when I bought the bike and intend to replace the stock clip-ons with helibars or sunrisers. I also plan to upgrade the cans (probably will buy Yosh RS3) to free up that great engine sound.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Sid

Mountain View, California

Reviewed on 2004-06-24

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Suzuki SV1000S

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I've had an SV650 for a year, and I've been yearning for more power. I've found it in the SV1000S. I thought it would be even more wheelie-prone than the 650, but it isn't: it puts down the power and launches you without rocketing you skyward, which for me is reassuring. The suspension is a great upgrade from the 650, and even though the Sv1000S takes a little more leverage to turn, I can canyon strafe faster than with the 650 simply because of the acceleration I get out of corners. The one downside for a medium-height guy like me is the stretch to the clip-ons on long rides. I'm still debating whether I want the Helibar clip-on risers. The seat is as uncomfortable as it was on the 650, so I'm not complaining any more than I did before!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Philip Scott

Fontana, California

Reviewed on 2004-06-23

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Suzuki SV1000S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After purchasing my silver SV1000S in October 2003, I thought the bike was one of the best looking naked bikes on the road, but the sound of the dual pipes didn't provide me with the sound that I was looking for to let other motorist know that I was coming through. So I replaced the dual pipes for a single Yoshimura RS3 mid pipe system and now the bike sounds like a tiger on the prowl. The bike was fast before I upgraded it, now it really screams. Riding with my friends who roll CBR's, Ninja 1200's and Gixers, I noticed a significant increase in performance. I also swapped out the winscreen for a Zero Gravity Double-Bubble to give me better wind protection at high (+100mph) speeds. My current project with it is to rip off the ugly rear fender and replace it with a Hotbodies Racing Undertail. As soon as I figure out how to take the fender off without cutting anything I'll post a picture of it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 27 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: