Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2003 Suzuki SV650 Sport Bike reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
4.8
Performance
4.7
Comfort
4.5

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Sport Bikes

Reviews

29 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Previous owner

Dallas, Texas

Reviewed on 2011-04-23

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Suzuki SV650

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
It's a great bike all around. It's a cult classic and commutes well. It's track day/mini twins are my favorite, twisty fun! It needed a battery a few months ago as well.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dustin Taylor

Tracy, California

Reviewed on 2007-05-08

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Suzuki SV650

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I absolutely love this bike. I started on a street legal dirt bike then bought the 03 sv650n. I will probably never get ride of this bike. It's a comfortable sitting angle with the look and feel of being on a super sport bike but with out the back ache of being hunched too far over. I gave it a 4 in comfort because it's not as comfortable as a touring bike but I'm able to go on 200 mile plus rides with a group no problem. I also gave it a 4 in quality because with this year the radiator sticks too far out to the sides and if you drop it, all the weight of the bike will hit the radiator on the ground.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

mp885

Thousand Okas, California

Reviewed on 2007-05-07

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Suzuki SV650

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought this bike new and have thoroughly enjoyed each and every mile I've put on it. It has performed flawlessly. Even though I'm starting to look for a new bike (for doing some longer distance touring), I won't be selling the sv. It's too much fun.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

N/A

Indiana

Reviewed on 2006-06-25

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Suzuki SV650

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is everything I read it would be. It has a lot of punch and is very flickable. I rode almost 300 miles yesterday and no problems. Of course you will need to get off the bike after about 80-100 miles to regain feeling in your butt and hands. The stock seat is not great and the vibration can get to you. However, it is a vee so it is excpected. I'm getting the Suzuki gel seat. This is a good all around bike and I would recommend to anyone.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Shane Britton

Charles Town, West Virginia

Reviewed on 2005-11-04

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Suzuki SV650

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After growing tired of looking at the long list of boring metric cruisers out there I finally decided to look for what I wanted. The perfect bike to get me back into riding. I'm a big guy so everyone told me that a V-twin was THE way to go... well, okay. Did that have to limit me to a cruiser? Ask Suzuki and they say NO WAY! Try the SV series. I checked out a new 2005 SV1000S... very nice but a little too boy racer and the riding position was a little too forward for my liking. Had they had the 1000 in a SV naked version I probably would have bit. As it was I turned my attention to the "slightly" used market and found a gorgeous blue SV650 not far from me. I went and took a look, sat on it, started it up... perfection! I bought a 2 year old 2003 with only 2025 miles on it. After a week of riding it now I like it more and more every day. I haven't ridden in over ten years (1990 Honda NX 250) and I'm surprised at how quickly it all came back with this bike. It's comfortable enough for my work commute and it seems like it would even be fine for a day trip. The low end and mid range power are perfect for my riding style but if need be it gets up and goes too. Can't say enough about it. I love it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kathy

Tennessee

Reviewed on 2005-02-04

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Suzuki SV650

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have only been riding for 1 1/2 years, currently riding a 1986 R65. My 17 year old son has a SV650 that he is selling because he just purchased a 2002 R1100S. He has done several things to the SV including the addition of a sargent seat, scorpion exhaust, and different sprocket. I rode it about 350 miles a couple of weeks ago and fell in love with that little bike. 90% of the ride was twisties and this bike loves those roads. I sure do hate to see this bike sell now. Trying to talk him out of it. To me it is an all around great bike. My recomendation is that everyone have one in the garage. For the money, this bike can't be beat. All around great handling and running bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Derrick

Chula Vista, California

Reviewed on 2004-08-30

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Suzuki SV650

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my first bike and I must say that it was a wise choice. I did my research, bought the bike and took the time to learn how to ride it (including a safety course) and I am very pleased with my choice. I have over ten thousand miles on it in about 6 months and it has held steady all the way. I would recommend this bike to a beginner only if they are going to take the time to learn how to ride properly. If you don't respect the bike, it will tell on you.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John O'Brien

canterbury, New Hampshire

Reviewed on 2004-08-23

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Suzuki SV650

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is so nimble, it will do just about anything you want it to do. I should probably put a 200lb weight on the front tire, seeing I can't go anywhere without popping or riding wheelies down the road. Maintenance is easy, first service is under $100.00, and after that, performing your own oil chages and general maintenance is a snap. One problem is the seat, not fun on long rides. And tires are a little on the pricy side. I found that out with only 600 miles and a galvanized nail. Put the new Dunlop 208 on it and handles beautifully. Overall the bike is fun and I'll probably keep this when I plan on getting a new bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Michael

Orlando, Florida

Reviewed on 2004-07-02

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Suzuki SV650

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is great. Fast, under 12 sec 1/4 mile. Stable, balances so easily even when it's barely rolling. When my son steps up on the back, I can hardly tell. In fact, I've had to look to make sure. Torque at low rpm where you need it in the city to still have fun. A perfect commuter, but hauls on the interstate, tops out over 130 mph. I've only been to 124 mph, plenty left, but traffic only gave me a short save stretch. Always mixed revs so far. Two oil changes so far. New filters.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

hogposh

westminster, California

Reviewed on 2004-06-25

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Suzuki SV650

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought an SV650 brand new about 5 months ago as my main form of transportation; it's not easy being a graduate student. I like the styling and the color(mine is blue). I was also checking out a Honda 599 but the Honda was overpriced(what was Honda thinking?!). Besides, the Suzuki looks much better. I really enjoy the low end power so that I don't need to shift often and it takes off quickly from a stop without too much clutch slipping. Also, the V-twin sounds a whole lot better than an inline engine. I can't wait until I can get an aftermarket pipe on this baby. I plan to keep this bike for a long time and modify it because it is so much fun to blast around on, especially around the city. I plan to buy another bike next year and it will be none other than the SV1000S. My plan is to ride cross-country on the 1000.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 29 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: