Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes Reviews (18)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2007-08-27 2003 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I did not actually look for bikes for 4 years but was very interested in them, and some friends helped me out pointing me in the right direction. But I have had the bike for a few months now and I read lots about it from the internet and bike magazines. I feel I made an exellent choice and I love it a lot.
- Jeff, Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-28 2003 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just purchased a previously owned 03 model. So far it is an excellent bike. I read a ton of reviews and asked a shop about the reliability of the bike and made the decision. I love the looks and the power is just right. My last bike was an 83 Interceptor I had through 86. This bike has more power, handles better and seems to be a good bike to get back into riding again. I will update as I get more mileas and see what happens.
- Rick, New Whiteland, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-06 2003 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my second bike, and I have owned it for about one year. I bought it used last year, with only 5,800 miles on it. My first bike was a 2000 Yamaha YZF-600R, which had great brakes, was pretty comfortable for a street bike, and the engine had a nice fat mid-range, but it was heavy and handled like a MAC Truck (comparatively). I sold it and found this GREAT deal on a 2003 Silver SV650S on message boards online: 5800 miles, stock, and nothing wrong with it for $3800! I had been researching for a long time on what to get. I had wanted a bike that handled well, had very good bottom-end and mid-range power, and didn't cram my knees up into my face (I am 6'1"). I bought it, and I was soooooo happy with the bike! I loved it how it was, but it wasn't quite enough. So, I put on a Power Commander, Two Brothers slip-on (sounds extremely sweet), K&N air filter, and a Corbin seat (HIGHLY recommended to replace the crappy stock seat). It is a MONSTER now, and I couldn't be happier... until now, in which I bought a 520 chain conversion, with a 15/47 sprocket configuration, a FenderLiminator undertail/fender eliminator kit, carbon fiber bar ends, and carbon fiber-look mirrors. It will be absolutely amazing with these mods (especially the sprocket/chain). It is very quick, though riding on the highway at 80 MPH is buzzy and high on the RPM's. I still need to get more comfortable grips, as they hurt stock. The stock suspension kind sucks, but I can deal with it (for now...). Other than that, it has amazing low-end grunt (easy wheelies), with good mid-range passing power, with a nice but somewhat limited top-end. It revs quickly and relatively highly for a V-Twin. In all, it is a MUCH MUCH MUCH better bike than my YZF-600R. In the end, it all boils down to the fun factor, and the SV650S deserves a solid 9 out of 10. Fun for cheap, what else is better?
- Josh B., Lake Zurich, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-13 2003 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have put 8600 miles on my SV 650S. Generally, I was treated well by the bike. Went down once on a slippery corner after locking the front wheel, but was unhurt due to the protective gear. Pluses: 1. The bike is very fun to ride. 2. Good acceleration - outruns sport cars such as G35, Z350, Corvette etc. (just do not try it with top of the line tuners). 3. Easy to handle in traffic and to park on a tiny spot. 4. Good mileage - about 50mpg on a highway. 5. V-twin is a sweet engine. Like the sound and torque. 6. Easy and relatively cheap to maintain and insure. 7. Good aftermarket support! Minuses: 1. Try to go 400 miles day and end up with your favorite chiropractor shortly. 2. Stock tires are Meltzer - slippery and too firm. Dunlop 220 are much better! 3. Stock saddle on all SV - bad - replaced with Suzuki gel after 200 miles due to the lack of comfort. 4. Brakes and suspension are average at most. Do not withstand the very aggressive riding well. 5. Plastic cowling is way too easy to scratch.
- Leon, Chicago, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-03 2003 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got the bike 2 weeks ago and i already love it! I put 35 miles on it the first day and did not want to put it away for the night. The seat is not the most comfortable but that can be fixed with the gel seat. I am very impressed with the fuel injected sv650s the power is there when you need it or even when you don't need it. The over all bike fits like a glove. I walked into my great dealer and told him what I was looking for and right away he put me on this bike, let me use a helmet and told me to go ride it. Ride it I did, and I was sooo impressed with the handling, driveability and performance that we put a hold payment on it and the next day took the hold payment off and signed the papers. I have driven a lot of other bikes and this one is the best I have driven. The power is amazing but the break in period sucks because the bike makes you want to give it more gas. If I were you, I would test ride it and see for yourself. RIDE SAFE AND RIDE WITH A HELMET.
- Mike Wolever, Hastings , Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-16 2003 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
For my first bike I think it's an awesome deal. I'm purchasing a gel seat since the original seat is a little too hard for long rides. But over all it's an AWESOME bike.
- Jason , Lincoln, Nebraska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-16 2003 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike and MAN!!!!!! Is it AWESOME!!! I've researched different bikes over the past 4 years and finally was introduced to this one last year...so I searched all over the place about this bike and made a decision on this one...I went from wanting the ninja 250 to the ninja 500r to the cbr600f4i to this gorgeous sv650s in copper. I wanted the silver but they ran out as I bought it back in December. I picked it up a couple of weeks ago and have loved it immensely. It's a great ride, very comfortable despite the lower handlebars. Its all stock right now and the first thing I plan to do is either put a new pipe or put the full fairing and paint it to match my Joe Rockets at red/white and black. Entering the biking world has been awesome...getting waves from other bikers, little kids waving from the backseat of their parents cars, not to mention girls staring and wanting a ride. Is 2-up riding very difficult to handle?? I want to wait a season before I take anyone for a ride as I improve my riding ability. I hate the break in period as I worry about surpassing 5000RPM. Anyhow, I love this bike and you will too. I'll keep you all up to date. Any Toronto SV650s owners out there?
- Michael, Toronto, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-10 2003 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well, had my SV650s for a bit over a month, and I can assert to both others, and myself that this bike is a steal. I had originally gone in to buy a CBR 600F4i, which was over 8 thousand dollars brand new, and wound up riding home on the SV. The engine is magic and feels much more powerful than the numbers would suggest. It handles very well and has a very integrated and unified feel about it. But of course, to sell a bike this good for so little, they did skimp a bit on the suspension, which was not a problem for me as I had planned to pay much more for the CBR 600. So, I junked the back shock and threw on an Ohlins and some Gold Valves up front, and that pretty much brought the handling into the way wonderful zone. It also allowed me to lower the seat height a bit, which is a tad tall from the factory. I may consider putting on some Convertabars, so I can raise the handle bars up a tad for longer distance cruising, but aside from that all is cream and sugar. I don't even feel a need to install an after market can, cause the stock performance is so good, as well quiet, which works well in my finicky neighborhood. Every time I climb on the SV, I am amazed at how easy it is to toss around, and how much speed the thing can develop as you push it. You can use the whole rev-range and make great use of the whole engine, whereas on a larger bike, most of the power is way out of the legal speed laws (at least in CA). Well, for the price of a new CBR 600, I got a SV650s with an Ohlins shock and other modifications. And people really like the looks of it! And that was not intended to be an issue with me. Mine is in that copper color. And I am selling my old Ducati Super sport because the thing is just not as fun and worry free to ride. The SV is really a pure rider's bike. I kind of see it as the Mazda Miata of bikes. The Miata is thought by many to be the purest sporting roadster out there, and that is how the SV feels to me. Just fire up the fuel injected V, and it warms up like a top and invites one to jump on and have fun. Poser Factor: 0. Honesty Factor: 10 you ride the SV for the right reasons.
- Damon, San Rafael, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-25 2003 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The only thing that will prevent you from enjoying this bike is an ego - because it's not a 1000. It's as much street bike as anyone needs to have, a great ride and carves corners with the best.
- grsand, Visalia, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-06 2003 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Considering the money spent, it is a great bike. With money saved you can still get an aftermarket pipe, undertail kit, and a few other mods for less than most competitors. Besides sporty v-twins sound sweet.
- madEG, Happyland, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-09 2003 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This thing is just so much fun. Cruising in town, twisties and slab are all very comfortable. Feel like the bike has a lot to give, but won't get out of hand. Handling in the hills is a real blast, and what a looker! Compliments all the time on the silver bike. If there's any real complaint, it would be the rock hard seat...may have to try a Corbin or the Suzuki gel.
- Chris, San Antonio, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-10 2003 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
RECENTLEY SOLD A SUZUKI 600 BANDIT TO LIVE MY V TWIN DREAM IN THE SHAPE OF A SUZUKI SV650S IN BLUE AND A BRAND NEW ONE WITH THE FUEL INJECTION. JUST SETTLING IN TO THE NEW RIDING POSITION A FEW ACHES AND PAINS BUT WORTH IT FOR THE GRUNT YOU GET OUT OF THAT 650CC ENGINE AND THE SOUND IS THE BEST.!!!
- JASON CAWTHORNE, HULL, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-23 2003 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Very stylish with attention grabber. I've had the bike a little over 3 weeks and on the first few days riding it I've had many compliments. It rides like a bat outta hell but can be easily controlled. I recommend this bike to the beginner-intermediate rider.
- Rick BK, Ballston Spa, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-22 2003 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got mine a few days ago. I wanted an R6 but settled for the SV650S cuz it's a little better for beginners, and I am very happy with the decision. It's my first bike and it's a lot of fun to ride. I try not to rev too high until it's broken in, but you can definitely feel the power, and in the right spot. It won't throw you off but its plenty fast, just can't wait until suzuki makes a lower fairing for it. Definitely a good buy.
- JP Craig, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-09 2003 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike that I have owned but have rode many of my friends bikes in the past. I've had my sv for not even a week and I love it. Im still breaking it in so I can't go past 5000 rpm for the first 500 miles but thats ok with me. Even below 5000rpm this bike pulls like a train. If your just starting out or have been riding for years give the sv650s a ride and see how impressive it is. It handles very well once tires are broken in after 100 miles on the odometer. I cant wait until this thing is broken in ive never opened it up all the way maybe a quarter of the way. Fun bike. Buy it and enjoy.
- IANB7, NORTH PALM BEACH, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-06 2003 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great price. Mine was arrived less than a week ago and I am already in love. It is worth every penny. If you want a great sport bike with out the hefty insurance bill the SVS is the way to go!!
- Mountain Rider, COULDER, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-04 2003 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently purchased the 2003 sv-650-s here in my local town of lynchburg, i got hooked up on the price at 5900 i felt very happy with that. first day i was taking it on back counrty roads and loving it, i was comfortable on it right from the start. I am 17 and this bike has more then enough power to make me happy for a male my age. It pops up quite easy now that i have broken it in. I would recomend this bike to anyone. I also help out on a local race team that travels all up and down the east coast and the drive has an sv 650 for the track and another one for teh street he loves them so much. the bike has help him take time off his laps on the other bikes he has by teaching him to stay on the trotle longer and get on the breaks later.
- Ben Gregware, Forest, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-18 2003 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
bike is amazing, handels, power, looks from everyone, exhaust sounds throaty but is gonna get a slip on. only thing bad is i wanted a blue one, and they don't have that color in the US , THATS OK THOUGH, ORANGE GETS YOU ENOUGH LOOKS!!!
- happy79, panama city, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: