Suzuki TL1000R Dual Sport Reviews (17)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Suzuki TL1000R Dual Sport Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Suzuki TL1000R Dual Sport? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2007-02-16 2003 Suzuki TL1000R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am excited to say my 2000 TL1000R still rocks. I have owned it since new. Like a fine wine, it only gets better with age. This is my second Tl since I lost my first one to a Dodge Neon with only 643 miles. With the miles on the bike, the only problem I have had was the countershaft leaked at about 10,000 miles. don't know if it was my fault or their's, but it was under warranty. Besides that, my TL1000R runs like a raped ape with scalded huevos. Having over 24,000 miles on it, I hope I can get 24,000 more miles out of it. If it blows up, like Steve Austin, we can build it bigger, faster, stronger, like it needs to. No, not really but it will be fun. Have had it dynoed at 124hp/73 ft.lb. of torque on 93 octane N.W.Indiana crap gas with additives for emmisions. Loves to run race gas. It burns better, better milage, and has a great smell of lead. Screw emmisions, let your twins breathe (if you know what I mean). Only two things keep me from owning this bike a long time, my death or its demise i.e. stolen or totalled.
- Big Bob, Valparaiso, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-27 2003 Suzuki TL1000R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bikes is awesome. I've had it since it was new & haven't had any issues with it. The super low-end torque is awesome & then the bike is at 6000+ rpm, still pulls to it's redline.
- Mario, Chino Hills, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-15 2003 Suzuki TL1000R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Hey Suzuki bring back the TL!! I bought my 2001 TL this year and it is my first and last bike. I can't picture myself on anything else. This bike is just all around perfect. My height is the only thing that causes a little discomfort when I'm stopped at a long light. The way it handles around corners is smooth and effortless. Keeping this thing on two wheels seems to be the only problem you might run into.
- LTDav, Mishawaka, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-14 2003 Suzuki TL1000R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After years of riding lots of bikes & racing them, my TLR does it for me. It has RS3 Yoshi carbon cans, power commander(a must), TRE, then adjusted suspension to what I like. This bike is great, our roads are crappy in Australia, but the TLR rides better than any bike I've had, which includes a GSXR1000, GSXR1100 (great bike)Yamahas, Hondas, BMW, and Ducati (overrated). Too bad they don't make this bike anymore.
- keith giles, geelong, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-14 2003 Suzuki TL1000R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Tiller new in '03 and have rode for one season and put 13,500 miles on it. I moved up from a Katana and there is a crazy amount of difference. The sound of the Twin with the RS3 race canns on it sound like a dream. This bike handles extremely well for me being a little fellow. A lot of bigger guys ride the 450+ # bike, but it takes corners just as nice with 50 less pounds on it. I get compliments wherever I go on it and sometimes insults like, "Nice Gixxer". Some people just don't know. Would recommend this bike to anyone. Remember, Real men ride Twins.
- Jeff Sunderland, Avilla, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-14 2003 Suzuki TL1000R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
With some upgrades in the suspension and some fine tuning, this is pound for pound the best sports v-twin on the market today. You won't find a better v-twin for the price.
- thesandman, bronx, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-09 2003 Suzuki TL1000R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The TL is a strong bike that can be very unforgiving. I started on a GSXR 750 then in 2002 I got my TL1000R. You talk about surprise! Not many people believe me when I tell them it'll do 190mph easy and not feel a bump. And torque, it's got a bunch. I'm hooked on the twin!
- Me, Dallas, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-03 2003 Suzuki TL1000R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After owning several brands of motorcycles I would have to agree opon one thing, the TLR is probably the easiest to ride fast. Between the semi-comfortable seating, to the very stable and predictable front end, even the weight isn't a big problem for most people up to 8/10 pace, that's when the mass and the rear shock combine to make a jittery ride when leaned over. Oh and the rear shock, that rotary damper is a harsh pogo stick that even with adjustments doesn't get much better than a cheap bicycle. The motor is very linear past 3300 rpm under that there is a slight glitch at about 3000 to 3200 rpm, but you really don't notice it around town or on the freeway much just quick roll-ons in slow corners. The brakes work respectably with little initial bite, but progressive when squeezing a little harder. Braided lines make better initial bite and require less pressure at the lever. Another good thing about this bike is you can shed the weight and gain a lot more power for a relativly little cash outlay. Overall the bike is a solid performer, worth the price of admission and the sound will have you grining under your helmet every time you hit the canyons or freeway underpasses.
- SCOTT G., RIVERSIDE, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-21 2003 Suzuki TL1000R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had a few GSXR's in my day and then I bought a 2001 TLR about 2 years ago. I would have to say it was the best investment I have ever made. I tell you, at a 190 it rides like a caddy because you can't feel a bump in the road. Handles excellent on the turns and pretty stable on 1 wheel (if you know what I mean). Yes it is sad to see them go but all we can do is wait for Suzuki to manufacture a new even better V-Twin, I know I will be waiting. (Personal Quote: If at 100 m.p.h. Rain feels like concrete. What does concrete feel like?!?!?!?!?!)
- Dave Johnson, Fayetteville, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-16 2003 Suzuki TL1000R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Suzuki stopped production on the TLR in '03. It's a shame because this bike offers so much. Motorcycle manufactures are mainly interested in building smaller, lighter, and quicker bikes. The TL1000R offers more room, comfortable ride, and V-twin torque that the Liter bikes are all missing. The TLR is the best of all worlds. It's a sport touring bike, race bike, sport bike, and it's real fun to ride. It looks like a GSXR on steroids.
- MichaelJ Cumpelik, Shelton, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-21 2003 Suzuki TL1000R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was set on buying a V-Twin after owning my 1996 BMW R1100RSL. There is just something about the V-Twin sound and power. The TL1000R has it all, raw power, good handling and a comfortable ride. The only drawback (if you consider it one) is the choppiness of riding in 1st gear or simply at slow speeds.
- Teague, Billerica, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-29 2003 Suzuki TL1000R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
All I can say is V-Twin. After starting on a 600 Katana, then riding a GSX-R 750 and the Hayabusa, this bike really did it for me. Perfect fit for a 6'4" guy like myself. Plenty of leg room while being very comfortable on long rides. I would not recommend anything else. And about the V-twin, it sounds great. I still have the stock pipes but I'm think about the Yoshimura pipes. I have the yellow/blk. This bike is still an eye catcher. And by the way, I'm glad I have to 2003 model since that's the last year they'll be made. I got mine just in time.
- Sam J., Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-01 2003 Suzuki TL1000R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 1998 TLR and a GSXR-750. The TLR is in a class by itself. Those who own and ride one are of a different cut. Talk about an E-ticket ride just grab one and see for yourself.
- Wayne W, Dana Point, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-03 2003 Suzuki TL1000R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
For the rider under 160 lbs, this thing is killer right out of the box. But I am 200 lbs, so I need to get the mods the guys in the other reviews have added to unleash the hidden power on this beast. Open the throttle and hold on!!! Bottom line - 1 investment I do not regret - 0 to 160 results.....one evil grin
- Larry W, Bensalem, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-31 2003 Suzuki TL1000R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The TL1000R is definitely a beast on wheels. I have been riding my TL1000R for 2 years and I am still very impressed by the power on this bike! I love the mid range power on this bike. don't let the critics fool you. This bike has a top end speed from hell if you know how to ride it. If you add the full yoshimura exhaust system and a powercommander, you will be amazed at what you have on two wheels. The sound of a V-twin is a head turner!
- Marcus, Fort Belvoir, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-18 2003 Suzuki TL1000R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Suzuki has the number 1 line up for your enjoyment. Just got the 2003 TL it purs like a cat and has all the power you need. Sits Excellent for a 6'2" guy like myself. With the 2003's KAT 600, GSXR-750, and the Hayabusa in the yard I'll take the TL 1st. Thanks Derrick!
- Elijah Henry, Richton, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-04 2003 Suzuki TL1000R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is it, yes it's not the GXR but it rocks. Add the yoshi RS-3 cans, drop in an air filter and you're all set. The power commander tops it all off. It will pick up in any gear without popping the clutch. Not for beginners, although it is my first bike.
- Coolbreeze, Oceanside, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: