Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2003 Triumph Speedmaster Motorcycle reviews

4.8
Write a review
Reliability
4.8
Overall quality
4.8
Performance
4.7
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Motorcycles

Reviews

23 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Doclees

Harrisburg , Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2009-07-29

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Triumph Speedmaster

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Returning rider upgrade from a 79 Honda CB650. This is much more than I expected. Good slow speed handling once you get the feel of a cruiser over a standard. Rock solid on the highway at 90mph. Wet roads make me nervous. Moderate rain at 75mph with no worries. Less wind at 80 than my Honda at 65. 60 mpg at 75 mph. 50mpg at 85-90 with 10% ethanol. Yep it gets attention vs the same old V somethings. Mind your turn signals because you will never see your idiot lights to remind you.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ken Black

Houston, Texas

Reviewed on 2007-03-25

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Triumph Speedmaster

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just bought this bike and took it on a 600 mile trip into south Texas. This bike cruised so nicely and even at 90 mph with a passenger (as I passed a Harley) the bike handled very nicely. This is definitely a very sweet machine. I plan to install an 18 tooth front sprocket to get better gearing and better pipes, jets, etc. I know it will be really incredible with those mods.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Adam

motoursville, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2006-11-25

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Triumph Speedmaster

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just bought my Speedmaster a couple months ago. This is a great motorcycle, I've never even seen one similar while out riding yet. that's why I wanted it in the first place; it is a beautiful looking, unique bike (mine's Yellow + Black), it has plenty of power when you want it (a little more wouldn't hurt though and is readily available with aftermarket parts, pipes, jets, plugs, airbox removal, ignition, etc.), it is put together very well, and most importantly, it's not a H.D. like everybody else has. The bike is very smooth in the corners and during all around riding. Vibrations are almost non-existent compared to a H.D. I love this bike and wouldn't trade it for any other. Even if someone gave me a Sportster 883 or 1200, I'd sell it and get another Triumph Speedmaster. Period.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

J. Runnels

Indianapolis, Indiana

Reviewed on 2005-03-12

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Triumph Speedmaster

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After looking at every mid size criuser out there, I made up my mind that the Triumph Speedmaster was going to be my bike. After owning one, my feeings about the bike have not changed. There are a lot of good and quality motorcycles out there, but few (within my budget) have the history and tradition of Triumph. If you can't afford a Harley-Davidson then Triumph is the next best thing, especially if tradition and history are important to you. The real big keys for me about the Speedmaster are the feel and the looks of the bike. Every where I go I get looks and compliments on my Speedmaster. Even when I was out riding and stopped by a local Harley dealer, my Speedmaster was turning heads. Also, even the old school Harley bikers have come up to me to rave about my Triumph. To confirm other Speedmaster owner's reviews, if you want that trademark Triumph growl out of your bike, the slash cut pipe upgrades are a must. For safety as well as giving your bike that fatter look, I would also recommend the passing lamps. If you are researching your future motorcycle and you want a bike that has performance, style, with class and tradition behind it, and don't want to break the bank to get it, then I would strongly recommend the Triumph Speedmaster.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Eric

Lewis Center, Ohio

Reviewed on 2005-01-31

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Triumph Speedmaster

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Bought my '03 SpeedMaster in June of '04. Had 420 miles on it, has over 1100 on it now. Not bad for only having my temp license so far! The ride is great and comfy. Awesome alternative to the usual Japanese cruisers seen all over the road today. I wish the Speedie had more power, though, and wish the pipes were louder. I guess I'll have to go for the aftermarket pipes. A fuel gauge would be nice as well. I hate having to estimate my distance and worry about running out of gas.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Scott

Owasso, Oklahoma

Reviewed on 2004-08-10

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Triumph Speedmaster

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just picked up a new Triumph Speedmaster, I'm VERY pleased with everything about the bike. I park it at work and people stop and stare before they come in. I get thumbs up and "nice bike" from passing cars. People start asking about the bike when I'm pumping gas in it. Most didn't know Triumph still makes bikes. It's great on the highway, seat and ergo's are fantastic. It's very quiet, and rather refreshing when all my other bikes are very loud. James Dean rode one, so did Steve McQueen, and Marlon Brando... how cool is that? I considered a V-star or a Shadow, but there are so many out there right now. Triumphs are so few, I never see a bike like mine in the same parking lot. I think more people should test ride one before they buy a Japanese cruiser.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

M. Corrigan

Marysville, Ohio

Reviewed on 2004-04-10

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Triumph Speedmaster

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Bought the "sky blue" version, and really get admiring looks from all who see it. You can't mistake the Triumph sound, it just really sounds great. The only real complaint I have with this bike is the footrest position gets a little uncomfortable after a while. I'm glad I went to the Triumph versus the "Ho-Hum" hogs, etc. This is a pure motorcycle.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Matt

Asheville, North Carolina

Reviewed on 2004-02-19

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Triumph Speedmaster

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I took the class then bought this as a first bike. I love it. It's not fast enough to get myself in trouble, but up here in the mountains it does a great job getting my big butt up and running through the twisties. Everyone that's seen it loves it, especially after I got rid of the crappy stock pipes and got the Triumph off roads. The seat is comfortable enough for a couple of hours, but you get lead butt after that unless you take a break. It's honestly the best purchase I've made in a long time, and it is only getting better now as I add new stuff.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Alfonso Puente

Laguna Niguel, California

Reviewed on 2004-02-12

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Triumph Speedmaster

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The Bike has a great look to it. It rides smooth. I personally recommend adding additional things to it like footrest, louder pipes and of course lowering the suspension gives it a great chopper look.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

keith phillips

Wanganui, New Zealand (Aotearoa)

Reviewed on 2003-10-28

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Triumph Speedmaster

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Go for my first service tomorrow,800ks on the clock, I had to go to a cruiser type vehicle as I a BK (below knee) amputee. I traded a 955i sprintk3 model on my speedie, I miss the power of the tripple but I get where I am going alright on my speedie. a few things I would like to see changed on this model by the manufacturer. A low fuel warning light, or better still a fuel gauge would be a plus, do away with the useless rev counter and replace it with a clock, Indicator signal lights should be either side of the speedo, overtaking flasher system is a must for day and night riding, And if they really want a world beating lightweight cruiser then Triumph must put there new generation 955i Fuel injected motor in this or a modified frame. Can't wait for that to happen. This 800cc model though is a nice duel purpose wee bike. Shame about the pathetic pillion seat, if you could call it one. But it is reasonably priced as you couldn't by much of a HD for the price of a new Speedie now could you? Triumph you are listening to your customers and that's great...Keith from New Zealand
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 23 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: