Yamaha Cruiser Reviews on Cycle Insider (221)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha Cruiser Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Yamaha Cruiser? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2018-05-03 2003 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding almost 60 years and owned everything from a Honda 50 to a Gold Wing and several Harley Ultras..... This thing is like a two-wheeled car......too big, too heavy and too ponderous in traffic. Look for something less.......
- Ron Forneris, Vancouver, Wa.

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2014-07-25 2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike has been reliable since June, 2011. My upgrades are grips, passenger floorboards and a top rack.
- Jeff Stephens, Kitchener, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2013-01-11 2003 Yamaha Road Star Silverado SE Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2003 Road Star Silverado Silver Edition in October of 2011. I rode it all of 2012 and I will tell you this is the nicest bike I have been on to date. It has loads of power, even two up, and I am a big guy. I love the look, feel, way it handles and the power is amazing. I bought it with 7,000 miles and the 2,000 I put on it was a joy. I putting on passenger floorboards for the lady, Baron Highway bars with pegs for me and looking forward to another season. It's a great bike!!
- Terry Tupps, Crestline, Ohio, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-06-14 2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought mine in December of 2011 from a local dealer with 23,500 miles on it. I have right at 27K on it now and could not be happier with my choice. I love it overall, but that seat gets uncomfortable on long rides after several hours.
- Robert Wagner, Sand Springs, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-04-29 2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike gives me the style, comfort and power I need. The stock exhaust are terrible sounding. I put a set of COBRA pipes on it and it sounds like a true bagger. I've ridden Suzuki, Hyosung, Harley, Honda and United Motors. This bike is better than them all. I love it!
- Mark, Toledo, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-01-11 2003 Yamaha Road Star Silver Edition Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had #31 of 1,600 for about eight months now and I am very pleased with the bike. It was completely stock when I purchased it and it still is. Why mess with perfection? I was looking for a Harley RoadKing when I came across this beautiful bike and it was pretty much a no-brainer. It has better looks, more power and is by far the best value on the road today and for years to come.
- Bill Quinn, Marion, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-01-05 2003 Yamaha Road Star Silverado SE Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's the best handling and riding bike I have ever owned. It's super fast, what a pleasure to ride.
- Freddie Watts, Picayune, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-05-17 2003 Yamaha V Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I only had the bike about four days now. I've put about 120 miles on it since I picked it up. I had an 2007 Virago 250 that I rode for years. It was a great starter bike. i just finally found a bike that I liked just as well that was bigger.
- Aaron, Sherwood, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-10-04 2003 Yamaha Road Star Silver Edition Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
So far so good. I bought it used from a police captain who no longer rode in 2008. I had a Yamaha V Star 650 Silverado but wanted a bit more horses and more comfort for the wife. Boy, did I get a deal. I thought the 650 was a nice bike, but the RoadStar has it beat. Everyone that has seen this bike can't stop commenting on how nice it looks. The only negative and this is pretty much for any bike, is the rider and passenger seat. While more comfortable than other stock seats, I will replace mine so my wife has more room. The stock passenger seat is only nine inches wide. Aftermarket ones are 13 to 14 inches so more room equals more comfort. Plus rider seat will sit 'more in the seat' and not on it.
- Marc Stavale, Lehigh, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-22 2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my second Yamaha. I previously owned an 82 650 Maxim. I found this one in a line of new bikes and I thought it WAS new. It was in great shape and 3 years later it's still starts first time everytime (with choke on at 1/2 way point) and has never disappointed me. 6th gear would be great but not many, if any had a 6 speed tranny in 03. My only complaint is changing the oil filter. If you wrench your own, plan on at least 45 minutes start to finish. The filter change requires removal of the front exhaust.
- Eric Groothand, Aiken, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-25 2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike at age 36, fell in love instantly and don't regret it at all. While I do drive it back and forth to work quite a bit, the majority of the miles have been put on it with my wife on the back. She loves the bike almost as much as I do. The only complaint is the stock seat. If you intend to do any serious long distance riding, invest in a Mustang Seat, it will complete a work of art!
- Chris Binion, Copperas Cove, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-02-22 2003 Yamaha Road Star Silverado SE Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike rides great and sounds awesome. My wife loves to ride on it too. It has lots of power.
- kris, anoka, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-11-26 2003 Yamaha Road Star Silverado SE Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had the honor of owning one of these great beasts, but unfortunately, lost it in my divorce. I did, however, before losing the bike get to do some great and distant runs one of which was almost 2,000 miles! From Bellingham, WA to Victorville, CA, in November of '03 on a weekend when there was constant precipitation, from ice and rain, to fog and snow. I saw it all beginning with the relentless Washington rain and the Oregon mountains' black ice to snow in Northern California, rain on its coast and heavy fog in the Fresno area; the elements never let up! During that 40 hour marathon run, although I lamented endlessly over the evils of nature, my silver Road Star never complained, never let me down, did everything I commanded of it and delivered me to my destination safe, unrattled and filled with pleasant memories of a great adventure on the ultimate cruiser!
- frederick jones (Mr.Anchorage 1999), tucson, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-04-07 2003 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I grew up with Harleys. Everyone in family rode a Harley. Unfortunately I couldn't afford a Harley so I started looking around and got the V-Star 650 this past September and fell in love. It is my first bike and it does everything I want it to. It handles well, is lightweight and easy to move around in. It is a great bike and I would recommend it to anyone.
- Juan Plakio, Seaside, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-12-18 2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my license in Sept 2004. My first bike was a 2000 Classic 650. By the end of 2005 I knew I needed more power. I traded to the 2003 Classic 1100. Wow, what a plus. It handles great. It's very comfy. I have put on 7,000 miles of mostly weekend summer rides (MN resident). Love the style of the 2003. I took my first road trip this year; it was perfect - no problems. Winters are very lonely and I can't wait until spring.
- Barb Donovan, Champlin , Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-10-21 2003 Yamaha Road Star Warrior Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought a one-owner 2003 Road Star Warrior less than a week ago and love it! I thought about buying this bike for quite some time, and now with a little more experience under my belt, own it and would recommend it to anyone looking for a hot metric V-twin. It has loads of power, is beautifully designed and is seriously a piece of artwork! I am 100% satisfied with the performance, ride, cornering and comfort (Corbin seat). I would buy another Warrior without hesitation.
- T-Bone, Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-12 2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had this bike for a bit and will simply say that it is, for the money, the best cruiser you will find in it's class. Honda has a similar but still heavier version that I feel doesn't compare as far as handling is concerned. If you are looking to commute 'stop-go, stop-go' type traffic as I do, the bike handles incredibly well. If you just want that slow 2 hour ride it's as smooth and easy on your body as I have ridden. The power is there all the time, even when carrying a rider. The bike itself gets a lot of looks and people comment about how nice it is. I have done quite a few addtions to my bike but even as it was off the lot it will get people talking. The seat is the only issue that I could comment about in a negative sense and it would be slight. You need to personalize a seat that will fit you right and this stock with the bike one simply is that - a stock seat. It will never feel perfect like an addition of a Corbin or Mustang made. Overall I am impressed with the cost of maintenance compared to my old Gold Wing and Roadster. Both previous bikes took a small fortune to service and they constantly were having to be worked on. This bike, full service, is about $180.00 every 2000 miles or so and I have not had a repair to do yet.
- Arthur Scarr, Anna, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-03 2003 Yamaha TT-R125-E Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have this bike and my parens and siblings including me ride it. It gets ran at least 2 times a day between all of us. It has the amount of speed you need, but not too much. Great for jumps and trails.
- Terra Gibson, Callahan, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-22 2003 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this bike! It couldn't be any more comfortable. It has a great stretched out riding position. My uncles Dyna Wide Glide felt too tall, my Budz Soft Tail felt kinda cramped and my Chopper budz Big Dog vibrated itself to oblivion. It cracked the front head bolt and almost killed him. My ROADSTAR ROCKS! Now I need more power!! PIPES AND JET KIT to come soon!
- Mike Ocasio, Bellevue, Nebraska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-19 2003 Yamaha Road Star Silver Edition Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have # 385/1600 with over 28000 miles I've enjoyed every trouble free mile. Last July we rode from Weiser, Idaho to the Glacier National Park in Montana and no problems. Sylvia is one Hell of a bike.
- Ron Greene, Weiser, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-28 2003 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own a 2003 V Star Custom and I have 5100 miles on it. I bought the bike new as a left over. The bike is all I need. It has good pick and handles good. I live in New England and it handles the mountain roads very well, you need to shift more. The back tire is one of the biggest, even the new Harley Sportster has a smaller tire. Bike is great at 55 to 60, you can do this all day long. The negative so far has been a replacement of the fork seals at 3,000 miles at a cost of $225, the 500 mile check up which includes valve adjustment came to $310. The maintenance schedule call for valve adjustment every 4,000 miles. I tried to have Yamaha pick up some of the cost of the fork seals as I told them that they were either put in wrong at the factory or the seals themselves were bad, no luck. If the bike truly needs valve adjustment every 4,000 mles this is going to be an expensive bike to own. I have retired and plan to do a lot more riding. The dealer here gets about $200 to adjust the valves. Love the bike but I have owned other bikes where the valve adjustments were every 10,000 miles. They were not V twins. I am going to listen carefully to the valves and see if I can go to 7,000. To date I have spent over $500 dollars and have 5,100 miles on the bike and if I do the valves it will go up to $725. This seems a little high. I should have checked the maintenance schedule before I purchased the bike. I have some good manuals. I am thinking of adjusting the valves myself, this could be a bad idea. Have fun out there.
- Aldo Rosingana, Westfield, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-19 2003 Yamaha PW80 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is a great bike for new riders. It's great to learn the basics on. I've had the bike for 3 1/2 years and it has been very reliable and has no damage from minor spills.
- Eric, Ellicott City, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-25 2003 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
You can have your FatBoys and your Runes...for overall boulevard bruiser good looks, power, options and comfort...I'll take my Roadie any day!! Simply put, this is a rider's bike. Gobs of torque, and all the bells and whistles one needs to make a ride in relative comfort to Sturgis, Hollister, or wherever the road takes you. The Silverado edition adds great value with the windshield, studded seats (if you like that classic style as I do), backrest and saddle bags. Have taken this baby from northern BC to Sturgis twice now, as well as rides around Washington and Oregon State, never had a problem with anything...just too much fun!!
- Tombstone81, Prince George, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-18 2003 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2003 Roadstar Silverado new in 2004. Ater the first ride I fell in love with it. Great torque and power. I have done 400 mile day trips on it with never a problem. Even if I got a new bike I wouldn`t sell this one, she`s a keeper.
- Dan Webster, Canyon Country, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-30 2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought the used V Star 1100 about 2 weeks ago after not riding for nearly 24 years. (Only rode a Suzuki 450 for about a year). This V Star had 5100 miles, garage kept in mint condition, and with all the upgrades previous owner installed, I couldn't pass it up at a very reasonable price. Took the MSF class and finally took her out for trial runs a few days ago. All I can say is WOW, what a great motorcycle. Ran great, plently of V-Twin power on demand, easy cruising at 60mph in low 5th gear (almost felt like she wanted to run in 4th at that speed). Shifting was very positive, shaft drive smooth as silk, stock seat was good, but would need to be changed for very long rides. Great bike.
- Bruce, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: