Yamaha Motocross Bike Reviews on Cycle Insider (86)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha Motocross Bike Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Yamaha Motocross Bike? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2011-01-25 2003 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike has lots of power and is crazy fun. This bike is great for the track.
- YAMAHA #222, camas, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-11-28 2003 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 2003 YZ 85 and it rips!!! The power band is extremely strong and sometimes it can be a little too strong, ha ha. But otherwise I love it. An YZ 85 is definitely the better buy over a stupid 150 4 stroke racing bike. Yamaha for life!!!
- Gavin Grant, Albuquerque, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-09-30 2003 Yamaha YZ250 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
GET THIS BIKE! I absolutely love it and I consider myself a 4 stroke guy. This bike is crazy. Bottom line, ridiculous. Has been ripped out of my hands before, it's just that strong. Yamaha is renowned for terrible bottom but amazing mid and top. It has alright bottom, AMAZING mid and pretty good top. Make sure you grab the next gear once it starts to fall flat otherwise you will get thrown over the bars. Chug and lug or ride it like Stewart and it will still go fast. Pulled holeshots over 450s and 250fs all day. It just falls into corners wanting to get out of the corner fast and very smooth and down the next straight. Handles like a 125 but has the power of a dragster. Loves to be whipped, it was made to whip. The forks are a little harsh and bottom quite a bit but need the compression to be turned out a few clicks. Shock is pretty good, not bad. The chassis is not as good as my 04 crf250r but the motor make up. It packs the heaviest hitting motor I've ever ridden and I've swung legs over 450s and 700 quads. It's sometimes uncontrollable and I love it. I'll be putting V-Forces on it for more bottom and mid for the trails. All in all, buy this bike, will not be disappointed. Honestly, greatest all around bike, trails, freeriding, racing. No problem, bring it on, the bike will just eat it up
- Luca Casinelli, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-08-11 2003 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It is an awesome bike, but I do wish it had a lighter frame. It runs awesome, handles great and I love this bike to death.
- brandon, San deigo, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-16 2003 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently bought this bike from my friend. It was a steal. Complete bike - all it needed was a new piston and fork seals. My friends thought it would suck because I got it for so cheap. I got it running and have never ridden something that fast. I got on my yz250f and that bike just seemed like a pile compared to the yz125. I couldn't even believe I ever went fast on my 250 compared to it. Hands down the most fun I have ever had with a bike. The only thing I don't like is that I don't know if I should keep my 250 now!
- Zach, Phoenix, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-10 2003 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This thing flies!! I race a 2008 crf150r and I thought that had a lot of snap after carb adjustments but I got this 2 days ago and...I can't believe it! It starts 1st kick cold!! yz85s are just as fast stock. I almost flipped off the seat coming off a corner. I have drove 250 and 125 2 strokes that are all bored out and I still think this could beat it out of the hole! This will beat any 85 out there, and if you know how to ride a bike like I do you will be amazed and smoke anyone out.
- Nick, Mishicot, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-04-13 2003 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Wow, what can I say? Due to the economy bikes are cheap! Great deal. Want to know why? Because this bike has like 5 hours on it. I checked the pegs, zero wear. Gear shifter lever, zero wear. Grips do have wear but when dont they after riding it for 5 hours? Sprokets, zero! So I basicly get this bike stock but with a few amps like new pipe and exhaust. So I ride it for three hours and even though I'm small for 14 I can really cope with this bike! Plenty of power. Adjusted the suspension perfectly for me and all of a sudden jumps aren't as scary as they were on my cr85. This bike was amazing right off the bat. All I really had to do was drain the gas and change the tranny fluid (cause it was sitting around for 7 months.) I always knew Yamaha had the best 125 but they REALLY have it dialed. Great job Yamaha. If you're contemplating going out to buy a Yammy 125 just do it already. 2-smokes are the funnest thing you will ride and they will keep up with 250f's.
- Andrew B. Cameron, Port Angeles, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-12-07 2003 Yamaha YZ250 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding for a little over a year now and this bike is amazing. I can jump it as high as I want to. Sometimes a little too high. It has the power to bring the front tire off the ground in every gear. I'll race people at local parks and everyone thinks I'm crazy just because I'll ride wheelies doing well over 80 mph for miles. The bike has a lot of power but it is easy to control. I'm not really good at MX, but when it comes to Enduros, no one can catch me. The suspension of this bike lets me hit roots, rocks and bumps wide open and hardly feel them. The only downside of this bike is that I wish it had a little bit more on the top end. A stock YZ250 will probably do 70 mph. I have mine geared to probably reach 85-90. I would like to hit the 110-120 range. But that's the only downside to the bike.
- scott, Gainesville, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-23 2003 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is awesome not only in tracks but also in trails; bike's never gave me any probs in technical single-track uphills, whether or not I run with the 9-oz steely flyweight or not... Honestly, though, I prefer trail riding the blue ripper w/o any flyweight on, rain or shine. don't believe people saying that 125's are hard to use in trails. Those who say that are the same people who don't know how to use 125's. It's the best bike (so far) I had that I used exclusively in trails. My former dirt bikes, Honda XR200, Kawasaki KMX125, and Yamaha DT125, don't even come close to it...
- dtkiko, Manila, Philippines

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-08 2003 Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike can take a beating!!! I grew up riding CCC runs (trail riding) in Michigan. I rode since I was three and have rode a CBR900RR since 1999. This bike was different than anything I had ever rode and I crashed it a lot! I don't mean tipped over either I mean knocked out crash landings! Luckily for me and the bike we now get along a lil better. The suspension was a lil stiff for my weight so I changed the spring rate and that has helped a lot. I obviously race C class due to my lack of experience but it is so much fun and this bike had held up great to the abuse! I just got my radiators straightened due to previous crashes and I am installing braces, even though I don't crash as much with the speed I ride now. If I do crash it will definitely be hard.
- John, Davison, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-10 2003 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This has to be one of the best motox bikes that have ever been manufactured. I have owned this 2003 Yz 250F for a couple years and it has treated me better than any other bike I have owned. If you do proper maintenance on this bike it will last you forever. In comparison to other two strokes, I don't think there is. I live in Maine where the winters are ICE cold and the summers have perfect riding conditions with average temperatures from 65-80 from May till September. My only problem is craving to ride it in April when the snow is melting. I took the bike out and didn't do my routine maintenance before ripping down my road with it and unfortunately blew it. My own fault but $1,800 later and my bike still hasn't given me a problem (knock on wood). This bike is perfect for the average trail rider down to the every day motocrosser. I definitely recommend this bike to anyone who loves pure horsepower, immediate throttle response and reliability!! Do oil changes with Yamalube factory oil every week and you shouldn't ever have a problem and remember to always clean your air filter and lube your chain before every ride. It WILL prolong the life of your bike.
- Kenny Ouellette, vb, Maine

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-07 2003 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had this bike for about six months now and it is awesome. The power is great and I smoke all my friends on the track or on a straight away. It's a reliable bike. I had to re-jet the carbs for the altitude because it came from Colorado where it was a little more above sea level than Albuquerque.
- James C., Albuquerque, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-14 2003 Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding motorcycles for over 20 years. I have ridden, Hondas, Kawasakis, Yamahas, Suzukis, 2 stroke and 4 stroke and this is the best so far, KTMs a close second. It makes riding effortless and if you could compare the ride it is like driving a cadillac. The torque is amazing, and even tough it is way too much bike for my abitility it is nice to know that you have all that power on demand. The suspension is great too.
- Fast drop Inc, Torrance, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-25 2003 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my second dirt bike. It is very fast and is an awesome bike. I would recommend this more than Honda, Suzuki, Kawasaki or any others... I wouldn't recommend this bike for beginners because it is clutch and quick.
- BRIAN, YARDVILLE, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-09 2003 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got a yz125 this last Monday and it's great; It's so fast you need a wheely bar if you come on to her on pavement every gear, she will lift even loose gravel. I did have problems with this bike - just the plugs keep fowling but the guy said he had the carb set for racing so you have to drive the crap out of it. Other than that, it's the best bike ever.
- tim, shuby, Nova Scotia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-31 2003 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My dad owns this bike and he lets me ride it. This bike is very fast. All you have to do is turn the throttle half way and you rip like a rocket, get her wide open and you are going light speed! I own a TTR125LE and the TTR is like a wimp compared to it. The larger wheels are awesome, you don't have to worry where any rocks are. The front suspension is sweet, you dont even feel the bumps. You can rip over anything. The one surprising thing about this bike is that it is managable on the trails too. If you want to go slower in the trails, you can without stalling. I recommend this bike to anyone who is looking to get a 250F.
- Daniel Holder, Pleasant Valley, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-15 2003 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is so darn cool, I could ride wheelies forever, ramp as high as I could possibly go, I like the power band, it's powerfull, this bike has great handling, great power, plus speed...this bike rocks!!!
- Marcello, Questa, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-24 2003 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
IVE BEEN RACING 2 STROKES ALL MY LIFE AND THIS BIKE IS THE BEST. IT REALLY HAS ALOT OF ACCERATION AND I CAN WHELLIE IN 6 GEARS I GOT 60 FEET OF AIR ONCE. THE SHOCKS HANDLED IT REALLY NICE. I ALSO DO FREESTYLE OUT IN CALIFORNIA IN L.A. OVER SUMMER. GREAT BIKE FOR THAT TOO. NOTE: picture is me riding it all stock
- KEvin Johnosn, AVon, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-08 2003 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is all performance. With the Yamaha engine it's a rock. I've had some crazy crashes and it's still in line. Nothing bad to say about this bike. Fast, Powerful and looks sick. Blows it's competitor;s out of the water. It is much more comfortable then a Ktm. If your looking for a bike get the Z machine.
- Madi, Haydon, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-04 2003 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great bike but needs a little bottom end power. I rode the Rm 85 back to back with my bike, and the Rm has a lot more bottom end power. The bike is great, as long as you keep it in the powerband. Has awesome suspension as long as you ride it aggresive.
- Chad Brown, Tieton, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-01 2003 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
A great bike for an amateure rider. A big step up from a stock 60 or 65. One of the best things about this bike is the suspension, but the seat is too hard. You could come off a triple and case it pretty hard and you would only feel it a little bit.
- Jessie Willoughby, Iron River, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-24 2003 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is great. I just started racing this year and I am already in the head of the pack with the YZ85. This bike is fast! I have gotten close to getting a holeshot with this thing and I just started. You beginners have got to be careful and don't get too cocky because you'll regret it!
- Mike D, Shelby Twp, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-22 2003 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a GREAT bike. It's my first bike that I have owned. SCARY fast and reliable. I can beat most 4 strokes and some 125 2 strokes. Great bike for jumping. I don't race, but it's the best 85cc class dirtbike there is.
- Corey, Joppatowne, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-20 2003 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is by far the best that I have ever had. It is very comfortable, responsive, and very reliable. This bike is great for both long and short distance rides. If you also like to go off jumps like I do, I suggest you get this bike.
- Jason Sesto, Torrance , California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-24 2003 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is an awesome bike! This is my first year racing at Lake Geneva raceway and this bike is a really great bike to start out with. I think the YZ85 out-performs ALL other 85's stock. Has the broadest power band for sure. You pop wheelies like crazy!
- Kevin Graham, Wadsworth, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: