Yamaha Road Star Cruisers Reviews (16)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha Road Star Cruisers Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha Road Star Cruisers? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2018-05-03 2003 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding almost 60 years and owned everything from a Honda 50 to a Gold Wing and several Harley Ultras..... This thing is like a two-wheeled car......too big, too heavy and too ponderous in traffic. Look for something less.......
- Ron Forneris, Vancouver, Wa.

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-22 2003 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this bike! It couldn't be any more comfortable. It has a great stretched out riding position. My uncles Dyna Wide Glide felt too tall, my Budz Soft Tail felt kinda cramped and my Chopper budz Big Dog vibrated itself to oblivion. It cracked the front head bolt and almost killed him. My ROADSTAR ROCKS! Now I need more power!! PIPES AND JET KIT to come soon!
- Mike Ocasio, Bellevue, Nebraska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-28 2003 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Was looking around for a large cruiser bike for myself since last year my wife & I shared a Vulcan 800(great bike) and it was time to get one of my own. We stopped by my dealer's Open House last April. Liked the new 2004 1700 Road Star. Talked to a few riders at the open house that had a 1600 Road Star that all said they loved it and wouldn't buy anything else. Almost all of them said it had enough power and the extra expense of the 1700 wouldn't make a difference. In the showroom they had a 2003 Silverado loaded. Good left over 2003 price but, didn't like the studs. The sales guy said he had another 2003 used non-Silverado just like it (black denim/deep purple) in the storage area. Took a look at it, had him start it up - I was sold. Loved the rumble & shake of other big American bikes up to twice the price. The story goes: previous owner bought it last year, rode it to his farm in Howard County Maryland, brought it back late in the fall '03 and traded it for an ATV. I bought it with 109 miles! Have enjoyed it ever since. Many friends wish they had come across the same deal.
- Mark M, Sykesville, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-17 2003 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
What a disappointment. Had bike for two weeks and it has been in the shop twice for head gaskets and gas tank imploded. I test rode a 03 Goldwing now that is a bike no comparison between the 2, should have listened to a friend. I thought Yamaha finally put together a good bike. The bike also has carburetor problems, but I was wrong. I have been on a lot of bikes but don't even look at this one, the 04 1600 Road Star.
- Chuck, Killeen, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-18 2003 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After the break in period was over, wow, what else can you say? More power than you need. Handles like a dream. Sure turns heads. Mine is two tone silver and burgundy. If you're going to be a biker get a road star.
- G W M, Sherbrooke

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-11 2003 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my 03 Midnight Star last year and added several accessories. The ride is exceptional and the windy days do not hinder the power from this bike. The long hours spent riding has been enjoyable until I received a recall on this bike. Now they are having trouble getting replacement parts for the recall and highly recommend not riding. This is the only draw back on the machine itself. It does definitely pull you down the road nicely.
- Mark Leason, Winslow, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-06 2003 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had been looking for 6 months at all the road bikes I could find. I have ridden and investigated Harley's, Honda's, Yamaha's, etc....I bought the Yamaha Road Star, and have loved every riding moment. I get lots of compliments on the looks, but the ride and drive is what keeps me happy.
- E. L. Hopper, Sapulpa, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-15 2003 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding bikes since the late 70's - dirt bikes and street machines. I recently decided to settle down and get a cruiser. Although money was a critical factor, I still considered a mid-priced Harley as an option. After test riding a few Harley's, Indians, Kawasaki's and Honda's ( I almost bought a Valkyrie), I finally picked a 2003 Yamaha Road Star. The dealer had a customized 2003 deep mocha Road Star that was lowered, had Bub pipes, custom fenders,paint & signals. At first I thought it was a Harley from a short distance - and when it was fired up, oh! man I was stoked. It's thunder rumbled throughout the store. When I road it, I was hooked and felt like I had gone to heaven on a 1600 cc twin. As of this writing, there is no better cruiser with this kind of style, power, performance and cost. Every Hog that passes by always does a double take.
- Emsley Lopez, Redlands, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-07 2003 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have an 03 roadstar silverado, added Baron big air with K&N filter,jet kit,Vance& Hines long shots. On the interstate I got 49.15 miles per gallon couldn't ask anymore than that from this bike. If your looking for a good ride check one out.
- John Harris, Poteau, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-23 2003 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Had my Roadstar for 4 months now. It does everything I ask it to do. It does it well and immediately. It has plenty of power and a real nice top end. I purchased this bike on the advise of a dealorship who sold almost everything. Honda, Suzuki, and others make some really nice bikes. I am glad I chose this one. Fits me, (6'1"), and the way I ride.
- P D Hodgens, Chelsea, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-21 2003 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've ONLY OWNED 3 BIKES INCLUDING THIS ONE AND IT'S THE BEST BY FAR. THEY SHOULD PUT A WARNING LABLE ON THIS BIKE. WARNING THIS BIKE CAUSES INSOMNIA. I STAY AWAKE JUST THINKING ABOUT RIDING IT. MINE IS DEEP MOCHA OR BROWN. IT HAS PLENTY OF POWER,ROOM ENOUGH FOR 2 COMFORTABLY,SMOOTH AS SILK,CRUISES AT 75 OR HIGHER EASILY,GETS GREAT GAS MILEAGE FOR A BIKE THIS SIZE(EAT YOUR HEART OUT 1500 INTRUDER OWNERS),LOOKS GREAT, SOUNDS AWESOME. BELIEVE ME YOU CAN'T GO WROMG WITH THIS BIKE . IT ONLY TOOK ME A WEEK TO GET 85O MILES ON IT AND that's NOT RIDING IT EVERYDAY.THE QUALITY OF THIS BIKE IS GREAT. THE MAINTENANCE IS PRETTY SIMPLE COMPARED TO SOME OTHERS. AND I KNOW SEVERAL PEOPLE WHO HAVE PUT OVER 30,000 MILES ON ONE IN A YEAR WITH NO PROBLEMS. BUY THIS BIKE YOU'LL LOVE IT.
- CHARLES, C'TOWN, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-12 2003 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Been riding nothing but Harley since 1965, changed to RoadStar after riding a friend's bike. I had heart surgery 2 years ago and had to quit riding the Harley due to the ride and handling. Bought the new Roadstar last week and now I love it!!
- TC Blake, Greensboro, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-26 2003 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding for 33 years now.I have owned close to 20 different bikes,mostly metric since 1970.lots of Honda`s and 3 Harley`s.I have looked at the 1600 Roadstar for 2 years and bought one May 5 of 2003.I`m glad I did! What a ride! It handles very good for it`s size.Nimble,but it let`s you know its under you.The seat and floorboards fit,I`m 6"2 and it fits me well.This machine rides like a champ and it does turn heads.1060 miles now and can`t wait for the next ride.If your looking for a big bike,check out the RoadStar.And don`t forget,Live to Ride-Ride to Live.
- Tom Alexander, Holgate, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-09 2003 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a follow up to the initial review I had given. I am now coming up on 1000 miles ( would have a lot more except for the record rain fall this year in NJ). The more milage the bike gets, the smoother it becomes. I've added a sissy bar, rack, and T style drag bars and Iso grips. The biggest difference is with the handlebars. It makes maneuvering much easier. As for the bike, I LOVE IT. It has plenty of power, but of course I want more. It does pull nicely from the line, and for a bike this size, it does handle well. I've scraped the floor boards a few times already. Coming from a Suzuki SV650S, this bike is COMFORTABLE. A friend has a customized Harley Night Train and he was impressed by the handling and power of the Roadstar. For anyone looking for a reliable, comfortable, and powerfull cruiser, this bike fits the bill. Also, I did look at the 1500 Vulcan and the 1500 LS Suzuki Intruder, but they didn't seem to have the same level of refinement and quality of the Yamaha. Purely subjective though.
- Ken Rauch, Cliffside Park, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-09 2003 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had been wanting to purchase a bike for the longest time. At 48 years old, I decided it's now or never. Being a very technical person and a first time rider, I left my ego at home when investigating what was out there in the cruiser category. After looking at all the manufacturers, their designs, quality, performance, fit/finish, price vs value, & availability of accessories, the Yamaha Road Star Silverado came out on top in virtually every category. Well, I've had my Silverado now for about 2 months, took the MSF Basic Rider Course (should be a requirement for all riders), and have been riding almost every day. This bike is absolutely awesome!!!! For a new rider, it's a bit intimidating at first, due to the size, weight (750 lbs with fuel and accessories) and torque. But once you get used to it, WOW, what a ride!!, and at probably 9-10G's less that that other brand, H----y, it makes it that much sweeter. I'm still in the break-in period, so I'm being easy on the throttle, but the acceleration, handling, and overall performance are everything I expected and more. Wherever I ride, the bike turns heads, including those of the HD riders. 1600cc's, a classic design, lots of chrome, big fat whitewalls, what's to complain about?? I purchased the Road Star Silverado (Anthracite Gray)with an additional $1,500 worth of accessories (list) and the Yamaha YES extended service plan. The purchase was on the 3.9% finance plan till 2005. Cheap money, I was going to pay cash, but with those rates, I'll use Yamaha's money for the next 22 month's. We are talking a DEAL here. A new door has opened up for me in riding a motorcycle, and Yamaha has provided me with the right vehicle to enjoy all the experiences that come with riding.
- Jose Hernandez, Hawthorn Woods, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-21 2003 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Been riding since 1968, and this is the best bike that I have ever owned. Although it weighs over 700 pounds, it does not feel heavy in turns and responds well in traffic. The weight really is a plus during interstate riding, and the engine torque makes this bike perform like machines that are two or three times more expensive. I was first thinking Harley or Indian, but the price and performance have made me glad that I chose the "Star".
- Ron Wood, Chapel Hill, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: