Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2003 Yamaha Road Star Cruiser reviews

4.6
Write a review
Reliability
4.7
Overall quality
4.8
Performance
4.6
Comfort
4.6

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Cruisers

Reviews

16 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Ron Forneris

Vancouver, Wa.

Reviewed on 2018-05-03

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha Road Star

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I've been riding almost 60 years and owned everything from a Honda 50 to a Gold Wing and several Harley Ultras..... This thing is like a two-wheeled car......too big, too heavy and too ponderous in traffic. Look for something less.......
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
3.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (14)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mike Ocasio

Bellevue, Nebraska

Reviewed on 2007-02-22

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha Road Star

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I love this bike! It couldn't be any more comfortable. It has a great stretched out riding position. My uncles Dyna Wide Glide felt too tall, my Budz Soft Tail felt kinda cramped and my Chopper budz Big Dog vibrated itself to oblivion. It cracked the front head bolt and almost killed him. My ROADSTAR ROCKS! Now I need more power!! PIPES AND JET KIT to come soon!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mark M

Sykesville, Maryland

Reviewed on 2005-03-28

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha Road Star

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Was looking around for a large cruiser bike for myself since last year my wife & I shared a Vulcan 800(great bike) and it was time to get one of my own. We stopped by my dealer's Open House last April. Liked the new 2004 1700 Road Star. Talked to a few riders at the open house that had a 1600 Road Star that all said they loved it and wouldn't buy anything else. Almost all of them said it had enough power and the extra expense of the 1700 wouldn't make a difference. In the showroom they had a 2003 Silverado loaded. Good left over 2003 price but, didn't like the studs. The sales guy said he had another 2003 used non-Silverado just like it (black denim/deep purple) in the storage area. Took a look at it, had him start it up - I was sold. Loved the rumble & shake of other big American bikes up to twice the price. The story goes: previous owner bought it last year, rode it to his farm in Howard County Maryland, brought it back late in the fall '03 and traded it for an ATV. I bought it with 109 miles! Have enjoyed it ever since. Many friends wish they had come across the same deal.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Chuck

Killeen, Texas

Reviewed on 2004-04-17

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha Road Star

Shop this motorcycle

2.0
What a disappointment. Had bike for two weeks and it has been in the shop twice for head gaskets and gas tank imploded. I test rode a 03 Goldwing now that is a bike no comparison between the 2, should have listened to a friend. I thought Yamaha finally put together a good bike. The bike also has carburetor problems, but I was wrong. I have been on a lot of bikes but don't even look at this one, the 04 1600 Road Star.
Reliability
2.0
Quality
3.0
Performance
3.0
Comfort
2.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

G W M

Sherbrooke

Reviewed on 2004-03-18

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha Road Star

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After the break in period was over, wow, what else can you say? More power than you need. Handles like a dream. Sure turns heads. Mine is two tone silver and burgundy. If you're going to be a biker get a road star.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mark Leason

Winslow, Arkansas

Reviewed on 2004-03-11

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha Road Star

Shop this motorcycle

3.0
I purchased my 03 Midnight Star last year and added several accessories. The ride is exceptional and the windy days do not hinder the power from this bike. The long hours spent riding has been enjoyable until I received a recall on this bike. Now they are having trouble getting replacement parts for the recall and highly recommend not riding. This is the only draw back on the machine itself. It does definitely pull you down the road nicely.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

E. L. Hopper

Sapulpa, Oklahoma

Reviewed on 2004-02-06

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha Road Star

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I had been looking for 6 months at all the road bikes I could find. I have ridden and investigated Harley's, Honda's, Yamaha's, etc....I bought the Yamaha Road Star, and have loved every riding moment. I get lots of compliments on the looks, but the ride and drive is what keeps me happy.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Emsley Lopez

Redlands, California

Reviewed on 2003-11-15

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha Road Star

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've been riding bikes since the late 70's - dirt bikes and street machines. I recently decided to settle down and get a cruiser. Although money was a critical factor, I still considered a mid-priced Harley as an option. After test riding a few Harley's, Indians, Kawasaki's and Honda's ( I almost bought a Valkyrie), I finally picked a 2003 Yamaha Road Star. The dealer had a customized 2003 deep mocha Road Star that was lowered, had Bub pipes, custom fenders,paint & signals. At first I thought it was a Harley from a short distance - and when it was fired up, oh! man I was stoked. It's thunder rumbled throughout the store. When I road it, I was hooked and felt like I had gone to heaven on a 1600 cc twin. As of this writing, there is no better cruiser with this kind of style, power, performance and cost. Every Hog that passes by always does a double take.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John Harris

Poteau, Oklahoma

Reviewed on 2003-09-07

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha Road Star

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have an 03 roadstar silverado, added Baron big air with K&N filter,jet kit,Vance& Hines long shots. On the interstate I got 49.15 miles per gallon couldn't ask anymore than that from this bike. If your looking for a good ride check one out.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

P D Hodgens

Chelsea, Alabama

Reviewed on 2003-08-23

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha Road Star

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Had my Roadstar for 4 months now. It does everything I ask it to do. It does it well and immediately. It has plenty of power and a real nice top end. I purchased this bike on the advise of a dealorship who sold almost everything. Honda, Suzuki, and others make some really nice bikes. I am glad I chose this one. Fits me, (6'1"), and the way I ride.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 16 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: