Yamaha Sport Bike Reviews on Cycle Insider (109)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha Sport Bike Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Yamaha Sport Bike? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2011-05-09 2003 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have aproximately 6,000 miles on my bike on the street and who knows how many on the track, as I disconnect the speedometer on the track. (probably around 1,000+ miles on the track). This bike is great! The acceleration is exactly the same as the R6's of the same years. The only reason I gave it a 4-Star on performance is because I'm comparing the suspension to an R6. The front forks are just a little weak stock for the track. All in all, I ride this bike as a daily driver on the street and race it on the weekends and have had zero problems with it.
- alex, lincoln, Nebraska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-01-19 2003 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've now owned my 03 R1 for almost a year. I've owned many bikes, CBR6's, GSXR'6s, ZX9R, ZX636 and an R6. Two bikes ago I owned a ZX9r which ripped and was a joy to ride (2002). When I sold it, I bought a 2007 GSXR600. I was quickly disappointed by the gixxer coming from an bigger bike so I immediately started looking for a little bike. I found my R1 and actually traded the guy plus cash on his end (he was afraid of the R1, first time rider). This bike has hauls, I thought my ZX9 with 130 at the rear wheel was fast. Well, this R1 has redefined what fast is for me. Quite simply, it rips. The only thing I can say that is lacking is Rider feedback in the front end because it's so smooth (when riding hard/spirited) which is a great thing for a experienced rider but not so much for an intermediate or beginner. This bike will do exactly what you tell it to, then a little more if you get cocky. It will not allow you to make a mistake and punish you when you do make a mistake. If you're a beginner, stay away from this machine or stay away from riding it hard. The Mill whispers sweet nothings in your ear begging you to push it harder, be careful. This handling is bar none, tip in is great and confidence inspiring as long as you're in the right line. The bike responds well to a bit of trail breaking and doesn't stand up too quick. It will roll on wheelie in 2nd, no whacking twitching the throttle to get the front end skyward. Overall this bike is a very nice machine, just make sure you feed it and handle with care because this thing will eat you the first time you decide it's been bad and needs a spanking.
- Mike, oregon city, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-09 2003 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great power across the board, with handling to match. Comfortable riding position for city/Hwy/touring/cruising. Next best thing to a full sport bike. Reviews in Motorcyclist & Cycle World will confirm my review for 2003-FZ-1. Reminds me of Triumph, BSA, XLCH, Norton, of past with addition of more power, handling, and Hi-Tech.
- J. Wise, Sharon, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-24 2003 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this bike in the spring of 2003. I had not rode a sportbike for about 12 years. After riding this bike for about 2 days, I decided that I would need more low end speed. I changed the front sprocket (1 down) and the rear sprocket(2 up). Stage 1 jet kit(dynojet). Yosh slip on pipe. Frame slides. Stock tires sucked so I got pirelli diablos. They work fantastic with this bike. My buddy has a 2002 R6(stock). I can take him in any set of twisties. On the straights, he has me a by little in the top end. This bike is definitely more comfortable than the racing bikes. Also can do power up wheelies with ease.
- Jason, Pottstown, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-16 2003 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased an 03 R1 in WV. The 04 models were already out so I got a great deal for a new R1. I've had two other new sportbikes and a cruiser over the last nine years, and they were all good bikes, but none of them have compared to the R1. I have had no problems with the bike. I chose the 03 because of the price and I wasn't sure about buying a bike with the exhaust under the seat. I was afraid that there would be excessive heat, but that doesn't seem to be a problem from what I've read. I moved to Lafayette, LA in 05 and miss the mountains and curves in WV. I can't wait to ride it again in the mountains where the bike really shines. If you're looking for a used sportbike and can find a used 03 R1 that's in good condition, I highly recommend the purchase. Be careful and please do your racing on a track!
- Samuel, Lafayette, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-04 2003 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I use to ride a YZF 600 but I have now moved to a R1 BIG BOY. I love it!! There is nothing that compares to instant throttle response. When you roll that grip back and you have to tighten your hold on the bike because it wants to throw you off, than you know you have a powerful machine. I ride it rain or shine and I feel safe doing so because of the superb way that it was designed.
- Ricky , Portland, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-19 2003 Yamaha FJR1300 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I would make this bike a six speed, improve the heat issue above 90 degrees outside and maybe bump the displacement up to a 1400 or 1500cc. The 'o6 FJR has made some of the improvements so I will probably trade my '03 for an '06. I was considering the new Kawasaki 1400 Concours but I don't think it looks as good as the FJR.
- Tom, Saint Charles, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-03 2003 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm a new rider, and I have to tell you, if this is the way someone is supposed to feel when riding, I will ride for the rest of my life. I am the second owner of my R6, because the 1st owner didn't have time for it, but he has a lot of compliments for it, he loved it and he praised it; he was sad when he sold it to me, and I was the happiest man in the world, what a great machine! Flies through corners and is fairly comfortable. I honestly feel like I can get out of any bad situation on the road when I'm on this bike. Great choice!
- Danny (Charlie), North Plainfield, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-20 2003 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Work in Norfolk Va. and Own home in north west PA. Make the run on weekends. 864mi round trip. Leave Friday afternoon back Sunday. Wanted an R1 but since I turned 50 in January and the R1 laydown riding would have been a bit much. FZ 1 Great Bike. Other bikes owned FJ1100, 1968 sportster, 1979 Honda 750F, 1973 KAW h2, CX 500 honda. Shadow 750, 1983 GS1100ES. I like the FZ1 the best by far.
- Gary, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-07 2003 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I would have to say that this has been the best bike I have ever had the pleasure to ride. The handling is great and the power for a 600 you can not beat. I am now stationed in Korea and I do not get to ride, so mine is sitting in the garage but I can not wait to get back home and ride again.
- Travis Marshall, White Pine, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-16 2003 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike and I bought it used in November of '04 with 3000 miles it is now June and I have over 13,000 miles. Yeah that's right this bike is awesome. Highly recommend. It is even good on long rides and once the suspension is set up it corners like nothing else. I have riden other bikes and it only makes me miss mine.
- ClintG82, Holloman AFB, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-18 2003 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
THIS BIKE IS GREAT. I WENT FROM A KATANA 750 TO THIS, SO I GUESS ANYTHING IS AN IMPROVEMENT. I LOVE THE R1. IT'S LIGHT, SMOOTH, AND COMFORTABLE. HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT TO ANY LEVELHEADED, MODERATE TO EXPERIENCED RIDER. RODE THE WIFE AND SHE SAID SHE FELT LIKE SHE WAS FLOATING. OH AND IT'S VERY FAST.
- jason , eglin afb, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-07 2003 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Quite outstanding in every way, smiles after each ride!! One ride and you will know what everyone is glowing about here. Pro's: power, suspension (terrific compromise between sport and cruise comfort), ergos (great bike for tall folks) Cons: resale value (alas, all Asian imports suffer from this). Should have bought a used one.
- D Burris, Abbotsford, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-03 2003 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this as my first bike, (ever) having rode a couple dirt bikes, and I found the YZF to fit my needs perfectly. It would roast my friend's '99 CBR600 up to about 4000 RPMs in 3rd gear, and he didn't gain much on me after that, and none top end. The low end of this machine is incredible. I started building power at about 2500, with enough to lift the front tire at 3200 with a little help from the clutch. The seat, wow. Incredible! I rode this thing for 300 miles at a time on numerous occasions and never had any problems. I also enjoyed the stability through corners. The only complaint I have is weight. I mean, it weighs more than an R1!! But for those who are satisfied with mediocre performance (I could take on any car confidently. I almost ran against a Lamborghini) and want a comfortable bike, this is it. Passenger comfort is also awesome. Alas, a car pulled out in front of me, not seeing me, and totalled the bike. I am currently in the search for more power, but can't find anything nearly as comfortable as this bike.
- Shane Brisendine, Fort Collins, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-08 2003 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is the love of my life! I can't wait to ride it! The power and response that you get from this "no less than race ready" bike is incredible! I consider myself a good rider but even at the track I will never be able to harness all of this bike's power! Yamaha is heads and shoulders above the rest and it looks like it will stay that way with the '05 model upgrades. As for me I am keeping my '03 R6 and might get a new R1 as a garage buddy for it! Thanks Team Blue!
- R6Sam, Charlotte, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-02 2003 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've ridden bikes for more than 35 years and I've had the pleasure of owning many bikes. I've had up to six at one time. The FZ-1 is a great standard. It is the only bike I really need. I find that I jump on the FZ much more often than I do on my 800 Interceptor or my Honda Valkyrie Interstate. It is comfortable, fast, and lots of fun to play on. Most kids on sportbikes don't have a clue what it is. I have taken on a 954RR a ZX 9 and a GSXR 750 and left them in the dust. The 954 should have beaten me but I think it was a novice rider(why he was on a 954 I'll never know) The two things that I don't like about the bike would be the leg room is cramped (but I'm 6'4" tall) and I've had to replace the clutch plates already. I've had faster bikes, I've had more comfortable bikes and I've had bikes with better turning ability, but overall in the real world this is a very capable daily driver.
- J. C. SHAFFER, ELKHART, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-02 2003 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I can own any bike I want, and have several, but the best bike Ive ever owned is the FZ-1. It is fast. It is all day comfortable. It is easy to handle in town. It can do highways no problem. Add a taller windscreen and hard bags from Givi or corbin, and you have a great sport tourer. It is two bikes in one. Under 6000 RPM, its an easy to ride daily bike. From 7000 to 12000, it is a real performer. Just when I think I've driven the bike to its limit, I realize I'm only in third gear and have three gears left. I've owned a Gold Wings, ST 1300, BWM 1150 RT, Yamaha FJR, Harleys, Honda cruisers, and Yamaha cruisers, and a VFR. The FZ-1 is the only bike to actually make me laugh inside my helmet. An R-1 may be faster, but try riding it for longer than an hour.
- shai nyi, pontiac, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-29 2003 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is by far the best beginner to advanced rider's motorcycle you could possibly ever own. The thing is super forgiving up in the corners when you're first learning to ride and are a bit jumpy leaning into the corners apex. It has plenty of speed to get you in trouble in a big hurry, if so desired. It has an awesome gas tank capacity that will get you more or less about 250 miles to a tank. It has the most comfortable seat in any super sport full fairing bike available on the market. Has plenty of power down low where you would need it for every day driving and when you're out on the track has a nice high Rev limit to tear up some serious rubber when needed. I am usually passing most 1 liter's in the corners because of the lack of bottom end torque. This would normally spin your rear tires, thus being able to hammer the throttle on a Thundercat giving you a serious advantage if used properly. You can start out on this bike without any prior knowledge of riding a sport bike and go from there to a complete professional on the corners of your local mountain. If you're looking for a bike that has it all plus lots more, then this is the bike for you. It'll take good care of you, if you take good care of it.
- Jesse Van Wickel, Santee, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-17 2003 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
How long can these reviews be? I doubt I have enough room to say everything good about the '03 R1 that I would like to. After nearly a year of ownership, 4000 street miles, and years and years of experience with other makes/models, I am as happy with the R1 as the day I rode it home. The level of overall refinement of this machine is inspiring. The fuel injection system is pure brilliance. The Yamaha's fit and finish are far superior to any of the three Honda motorcycles I've owned, despite Honda's reputation for supremacy in that area. The engine's seamless spread of torque/power is comparatively astonishing, and hard throttle application anywhere above 8000 rpm is adrenalized accelerative nirvana. The brakes are powerful and intuitive, the transmission smooth (enough) and positive, and the handling characteristics very nearly the Holy Grail of supersport handling. What few flaws, then, could marr this otherwise perfect showing? The seat is wonderful but the riding position is less so. Combined with a bit of engine buzziness through the bars at midrange rpms, this leaves something to be desired for long-haul superslab rides---but that's not what the bike was really designed for! The stock Dunlop tires should be replaced with something more inspiring before the bike ever rolls off the showroom floor. In short, if you're considering an '03 R1 for purchase, it is extremely unlikely that you will be disappointed with your decision.
- xpovos, Murfreesboro, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-09 2003 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this bike! I have had it now for 14 months and hate to get off of it. It is the smoothest 600 I have ridden to date. It kills at the track.
- Cody Bushman, Thornton, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-11 2003 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my 04 R1 in early February and still am smiling. The power is awesome, going into hyperspace when hitting 10k RPMs. The transmission is like silk and the handling a dream. It falls into corners and can be flicked around with ease. The 100 mile an hour wheelies on PCH are cool:) The bonus is it looks good! What great fit and finish - not cheasy like the ZX-10. I feel like I am wearing Armani but driving a Lamborghini. It is the best bike I have ever owned - although I still love cruising on my FZ-1!!
- Mike, Huntington Beach, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-04 2003 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Reading some of the other reviews I was a little intimidated by this bike although I really wanted it and liked the looks. I purchased my blue Fazer and she sat as I rode my honda nighthawk 750 (another good bike). I finally took the Fazer out yesterday and all concern vanished, she handles like a dream, smooth power and acceleration, light and responsive handling. I just want all newbie's to know that although she is a rocket she is very very docile if YOU want her to be. Just don't rev her up and you'll be fine. I've read comments about problems about slow speed cornering but it must be rider inexperience because I've had no such problems. Practice your MSF technique's and all will be well. This bike is a big jump up from my nighthawk but I can handle her with ease, the key is CONTROL, learn to handle her, learn to control your right hand, don't shy away from this bike if you want it, just take it easy and ride safely!! Have fun!
- Ed R, Kaneohe, Hawaii

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-09 2003 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought a 2003 R1 and this has to be the best bike out there. The acceleration and handling are beyond words. You think about it and the bike responds. Even at 6'3", I found the ride to be a comfortable one and before I knew it, hours had passed. If you're looking for a bike to buy, make it this one!
- Delano Davis, Killeen, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-12 2003 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 2001 R6, which is my first bike ever and I can't begin to explain the feeling it will provide you. The R6 is a very powerful 600-class bike and handles amazingly. You wont go wrong getting any year R6 and it's by far the best 600cc bike on the market. that's just my 2 cents.
- Roni , Germantown, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-04 2003 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm on the other end of a 24-year hiatus in riding anything. Got a wild hair and went out and bought a 2003 R1 in October and have not stopped grinning since! The bike is so light, so fast and it handles like a dream. I have never ridden anything like it! The R1 has an awesome engine, excellent brakes, flicks into turns effortlessly and powers out of them, in any gear, with gusto. I'm looking to complement my R1 with a Hayabusa next year for the longer runs, though the R1 is comfortable enough for now.
- Cearbhallain, Lake Elsinore, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: