Yamaha V-Max Cruiser Reviews on Cycle Insider (16)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha V-Max Cruiser Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Yamaha V-Max Cruiser? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2004-06-24 2003 Yamaha V-Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this bike. It has excellent power and looks and there is no way to confuse this bike with any other. I really like the fact that it is different. It is a legend in its own time. I would have no problem recommending this bike. I hope this helps out someone if they are considering a V-Max.
- Rick Cooper, Port Richey, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-14 2003 Yamaha V-Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned 93 Katana 1100, 03 SV 650s, 03 Harley V-rod and yes a 99 V-Max. So far the V-Max is my favorite. I must admit I love the V-Rod but The V-Max still wins. I am just waiting for an updated version. If and when that day comes I will be first in line to purchase one.
- 99 V-Max, Arlington, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-11 2003 Yamaha V-Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned Mr. max (how could anyone call this bike a she) for 6 years now and I still love the bike. He has a Hole Shot racing pipe, K&N filter, and jet kit. I can't help but wind it up through the first couple gears every time I get on it. With the exhaust I have it sounds like a dragster. It's strange, I can't explain it but other bikes won't pull up next to me at a stoplight. But reality sunk in when I rode my son in laws 02 Yamaha R-1. Miserable bike to tool around on with horrible ergonomics, but what awesome power! It is truly 1 or 2 levels beyond Mr. Max. It truly left me wanting more power from my bike but if I had to choose between slightly less power or the cruel and unusual riding position of the crotch rocket I'll stick with Mr. Max.
- al, bloomfield, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-01 2003 Yamaha V-Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Awesome power but jetted too lean from the factory. The engine is set to run way to hot for my taste. The Max handles poorly in curves but that is not why I bought this bike. The frame is not rigid enough for all the power the Max produces. The factory brake pads are less than desirable as well, they will ruin rotors. The Max is neither for beginners nor the knee-dragging cyclist. The MAX is purely for going really fast in a straight line.
- Chris, Pekin, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-08 2003 Yamaha V-Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
5'9", 32" inseam and 180 lbs. Previous bikes owned include the vulcan 500, vulcan 750, bmw 650 and bmw 1100. ridden a variety of others. Quite simply, there is nothing like this bike. Great torque throughout the powerband and teeth-clenching acceleration when v-boost kicks in. I am most struck by how well it handles, all reports and my expectations to the contrary. It steers extremely well at very low speeds so people and carts in grocery parking lots are less of an issue. And while I've yet to take hard highway curves at 90+ (still in break-in) I find the bike more flickable than my vulcan 750 and without the dreaded wobble I've read so much about when taking curves at legal highway speeds. My only complaints are ergonomic: putting my feet down at stops with butt planted mid-seat makes my ankles scrape alongside the pegs before finding purchase; the pegs are a bit more forward than most street bikes I've ridden and well back of any cruiser. but this could as well be the bike's complaint about my ergonomics and the problem is alleviated by adapting a different foot-lowering and raising technique. Also, putting the tach on the tank was just silly, though one does get used to it. I still occasionally miss the fit and finish and manners of the bmw 1100r, but I suspect once break-in is done, I will miss them even less. I must say this bike is not a cruiser. It is a street bike disguised as one, with bolt upright seating and knees forward of your feet. those in search of motorcycles which rest ankles above glute-level would do well to look elsewhere.
- Matt, phoenix, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-01 2003 Yamaha V-Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been through a few bikes. 1984 Yamaha Seca 750 1993 Yamaha Vmax 1996 Harley Anniversary Addtion 2001 Suzuki GSXR 1000 Guess which one I still own. Guess which one I still love to ride.
- Greg, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-22 2003 Yamaha V-Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Vmax is not a bike for the weak hearted. It needs a few mod's after you buy it. No other bike has lasted around for almost 20 years with the same style. I rode my first Vmax in 1985 and still today I love the power and looks. My 2003 Vmax is just an awesome looking bike keeping to it's self, until it's pick on and opens a can of woop-ass.
- Rick, Hemet, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-06 2003 Yamaha V-Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was 17 when i first rode a max.And I fell in love with it then and I am still in love with it now. I mean what can a guy ask for? 100+ horsepower right out of the showroom...v-boost at 6000rpm.. Smokes every stock and customized harley and that includes harleys factory hotrod the V-rod in stock form. I even remember the slogan for it, fastest production bike in the world and it undisputedly was till Kawasaki came out with the ZZ1100.
- Kumar, Iowa Park, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-18 2003 Yamaha V-Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I`ve finally bought my V-Max. She`s a 1985 beauty. It`s fun to drive, and it`s great to see the respect you get from others:"look he`s got a Max" If you`re still not sure what to buy, try one. It`s the ride of a life time. My Max roars and drinks, just like me. Greets from Holland
- VleksMax, Rossum DT, Netherlands

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-05 2003 Yamaha V-Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own a 2002 Vmax and in the first month I tossed the fact rubber , the grips and bought a windshield.The rubber was all over the road so I put mettzler me 880s on it .the grips were small and cheezy and in the rain at 75mph the windshield is a must. Now,I have a rocket in a cruiser body that I ride EVERY day .I love to know I can ride without the worries of breaking down , or having any lack of power. No I don't like to have to stop every 110mi for gas but if you want a goldwing buy one. If you want the quickest production cruiser made (and be worry free) then the VMAX is your bike.
- rider, pasco, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-25 2003 Yamaha V-Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought my 03 Max a few weeks ago and fell in love. Very fast and commands respect. Not the greatest for high speed turning, but I forgive her everytime the V-boost kicks in down a straightaway. Should have gotten one sooner. Can't wait to add a few items and make her even more fun to ride.
- Steve, Ashburn, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-08 2003 Yamaha V-Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
See my e-mail address. Same as my tag on Mr. Max. Definately the "tork king" of street bikes. Totally stock except for Corbin seat, awesome acceleration. Handles fine. Never had more fun on a bike. Mr. Max will remain a permanent occupant in this cowboy's stable. Unless of course Yamaha USA gets smart and updates the dinosaur !!
- Fred, Miami, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-08 2003 Yamaha V-Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Fun to ride bike. A little wobbly in the sweeping turns at 50+. Added a Superbrace to forks...makes front end feel stronger. No wobble above 100 mph yet. Killer power!
- mabryjz71, atlanta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-11 2003 Yamaha V-Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 1985 Mr. Max with just 7,000 miles in the summer of 2002. I owned a 2000 V-Star 1100 cruiser at the time, but that's sold now. The Max is just so much fun to ride. It gives you the straight line speed of a sport bike, with the comfort of a cruiser. It's not the best bike in the twisties, but that's not what I like do anyway. Buy a toe tag and take one for a ride!!
- Bob Maguda, Plantsville, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-06 2003 Yamaha V-Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Before you buy this bike, update your medical coverage and/or life insurance policy. First time I rode this Goliath, I damn-near flipped over. This bike is faster than one of those women trying to score with Joe Millionaire, especially after I installed a Jardine exhaust and re-jetted the carbs. I smoked more Harleys and "Import Racers" than Marlboros. My 27 y/o redhead girlfriend asked me if I'd rather have her or the V-Max. With a straight face, I said "her" then I went out and ride my V-Max and changed my mind.
- Dan, Lawrenceville, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-03 2003 Yamaha V-Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The V-max. Musle bike - extreme. I love my 2003 Max. Unbelievable power and acceleration. You want her to be pointed in a straight line when you turn her on. I found it to be very stable and smooth at high speeds (120mph plus)contrary to tales of speed wobble in older ones. I love to ride two-up, as it makes the Max want to rear up on hard throttling. Most fun and power you can get today without a chain. Most fun you can have with your pants on. It takes a darn good rocket to out-accelerate the Max. What can I say? Its a man's bike. It eats Harleys and spits out little bits of tattoo and leather. Only things I dont like, is the rider position is cramped for me - kills my knees and legs on a longer ride and I hate the flat black paint job. Oh, and by-the-way, the Max can be deadly on a driver's license!
- beeboy, B.C.

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: