Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers Reviews (49)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2012-04-29 2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike gives me the style, comfort and power I need. The stock exhaust are terrible sounding. I put a set of COBRA pipes on it and it sounds like a true bagger. I've ridden Suzuki, Hyosung, Harley, Honda and United Motors. This bike is better than them all. I love it!
- Mark, Toledo, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-25 2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike at age 36, fell in love instantly and don't regret it at all. While I do drive it back and forth to work quite a bit, the majority of the miles have been put on it with my wife on the back. She loves the bike almost as much as I do. The only complaint is the stock seat. If you intend to do any serious long distance riding, invest in a Mustang Seat, it will complete a work of art!
- Chris Binion, Copperas Cove, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-12-18 2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my license in Sept 2004. My first bike was a 2000 Classic 650. By the end of 2005 I knew I needed more power. I traded to the 2003 Classic 1100. Wow, what a plus. It handles great. It's very comfy. I have put on 7,000 miles of mostly weekend summer rides (MN resident). Love the style of the 2003. I took my first road trip this year; it was perfect - no problems. Winters are very lonely and I can't wait until spring.
- Barb Donovan, Champlin , Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-12 2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had this bike for a bit and will simply say that it is, for the money, the best cruiser you will find in it's class. Honda has a similar but still heavier version that I feel doesn't compare as far as handling is concerned. If you are looking to commute 'stop-go, stop-go' type traffic as I do, the bike handles incredibly well. If you just want that slow 2 hour ride it's as smooth and easy on your body as I have ridden. The power is there all the time, even when carrying a rider. The bike itself gets a lot of looks and people comment about how nice it is. I have done quite a few addtions to my bike but even as it was off the lot it will get people talking. The seat is the only issue that I could comment about in a negative sense and it would be slight. You need to personalize a seat that will fit you right and this stock with the bike one simply is that - a stock seat. It will never feel perfect like an addition of a Corbin or Mustang made. Overall I am impressed with the cost of maintenance compared to my old Gold Wing and Roadster. Both previous bikes took a small fortune to service and they constantly were having to be worked on. This bike, full service, is about $180.00 every 2000 miles or so and I have not had a repair to do yet.
- Arthur Scarr, Anna, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-30 2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought the used V Star 1100 about 2 weeks ago after not riding for nearly 24 years. (Only rode a Suzuki 450 for about a year). This V Star had 5100 miles, garage kept in mint condition, and with all the upgrades previous owner installed, I couldn't pass it up at a very reasonable price. Took the MSF class and finally took her out for trial runs a few days ago. All I can say is WOW, what a great motorcycle. Ran great, plently of V-Twin power on demand, easy cruising at 60mph in low 5th gear (almost felt like she wanted to run in 4th at that speed). Shifting was very positive, shaft drive smooth as silk, stock seat was good, but would need to be changed for very long rides. Great bike.
- Bruce, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-11-11 2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought it used in August'04, with 9k miles on it. It was very well maintained, and like new. As of October '05, it has 30k. I never a problem, it is very reliable, and runs great. I have the dealer service it every 10k (carb-synch, valve adjust,etc). I do my own oil changes every 4k.
- K Wier, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-06 2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought mine in Gastonia, N.C. on a Friday, had my 600 mile service on Monday, left for bike week at M.B., SC on Wednesday. The next week, 19 hours to Texas, 10 hours day one, 9 hours day two. I agree with most reviewers that it needs a little more oomph at 70 MPH plus, however the weight is good. The only issues I've had are a costly starter repair at 15,000 miles and at 30,000, sounding weak again. Maybe it's just me, I go through a lot of rear brakes every 3K or so, I keep a spare set in stock. She is my girl and I take her everywhere I can. She is very comfortable, short or long rides. No Regrets. Thanks for space - keep the rubber side down.
- Stewart McPherson, lewisville , Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-04 2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike in July 2005. First bike in 24 years. The prior owner went to a Harley. I love the bike for in town w/momma on the back. I little underpowered on the highway with a passenger. The Vance Hines slip on sound great. May go to a Road Star to haul mommas but around.
- Stubby, Appleton, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-24 2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
There's a problem with these reviews. We only ride a few bikes, own fewer, and generally, since we love to cycle, we usually love what we ride. My buddy bought a Suzuki C 50 Boulevard (800 CC) at the same time I bought my Used V Star 1100 Classic. His bike is more confortable to ride, and has a better riding position. But my bike has a Way Better Powerplant, better sound with stock pipes, with much wider power band in each gear. Plenty of power with this baby - but be Warned, it's Rev Limited, so it won't go faster than 105 MPH. It seems to me to have plenty of power, even up into the nineties - feels like you're not really pushing it too hard. Another BIG PLUS on this bike is Two Discs UP FRONT, and ONE in the rear. You'll want, and use all that breaking power. My buddy keeps saying my baby is in the "sweet spot" in the mid-range cruiser market. I think he's about right. This baby is big, but not so big that I'm worried I can't back her up, and manhandle her, when needed, to move around a parking lot. You buy a much bigger bike, you're lookin a a bunch more weight to have to boss around. If you're reading this review, it probably means your looking to buy one used. MY experience, with Yamaha, is they make good bikes that last, it's a great power plant.
- John Durbin, Columbus, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-28 2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had no problems with the bike at all. Great ride and a great value. I would buy it again with no hesitation.
- Butch Kiles, Mansfield, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-28 2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my V Star for 2 years now. I have ridden in hot, cold, dry, and wet weather and it runs and handles great. A mustang seat is a must if you are going to ride any distance. The bike has plently of power for me and my wife both (We are not small people either).
- Oakhill, Dayton, New Brunswick

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-27 2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I traded my '97 Virago for this bike - one of the best moves I've made! Excellent power and handling, and the price couldn't be beat. I've dressed her up quite a bit, and get lots of compliments everywhere I take her. If you're in the market for an all-around cruiser, this is the bike to consider - no disappointments!
- Scott Freire, Alexandria, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-13 2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After 2 years, 3 months as of this writing, my Cerulean Silver 2003 V-Star 1100 is still performing like a champ. It has all the power and agility I want or need to travel the beautiful back roads of Alabama or Missouri (where I lived when I bought and reviewed it before) or cruising the Interstate highways. It is still looking the part of the champ that it is. The seat is a bit stiff on long rides, so guess what my next upgrade is. You got it. Keep 'em between the ditches!
- Leon Lindsey, Birmingham, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-29 2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned: <li> 1993 Sporty 883= Peppy, but too small. <li> 2000 Road King= Nice, but to "couch-like". <li> 2002 Dyna Super Glide= Dud I really like my father-in-law's Heritage Softail. However, I'm done with spending lots of $$ on Harley's. Japanese bikes are technologically advanced and much more cost effective. In comes the V-Star 1100, looks like a Heritage and is 1/3 of the cost. I absolutely love the bike. I only wish I would have started here instead of ending up here. "You only live once, so ride".
- Randy, Temecula, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-21 2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After trading in my Ninja, I got my VStar Classic. It has just as much power and far better comfort. Rode this for 50 miles right after I got it. My legs would have been buzzing from the vibration with the last bike. Plenty of power and a really nice ride. Turns heads as well from it's great style. Unlike others I love the sound of this. Throaty, yet soft. Like a lion growling softly. <grin>
- Rod, Des Moines, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-31 2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I sold my 650 and got the 1100 on 2/7/04. As of 3/31/04, I've put 1600+ miles on this bike and love every minute of it. My only regret is the saddlebags...I love the look of the bike without them but need them to carry stuff! Most people are really impressed with this beautiful bike and so am I.
- Lisa Smith, Conroe, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-20 2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my V-Star last October. I am exceptionally satisfied with the complete bike. It has a great power, it is beautiful in the Cerulian Silver and it handles very well. I am glad I bought it. The pipes are muffled, but that wouldn't be too hard to change. Hooah! SFC Lindsey
- Leon Lindsey, St. Charles, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-04 2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my bike in August 2003, and I love it. I wanted a Harley-Davidson so bad but when I saw and rode this bike I was thrilled. I get a lot of compliments on the bike. It's so comfortable and is a definate eye catcher. It's a keeper!!
- Cheryl , Pine Bush, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-06 2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have put almost 3000mi on my new 1100 classic in the past two months and I love it. It is a great bike for the money. It rides nice and is easy to handle. The brakes are surperior to many of the newer bikes I have ridden. The stock exaust is a bit quiet though. The passenger foot pegs are too close to the pipes. The stock seat is also a little on the hard side. These are all things that can easily be changed, while adding character to the bike. This bike looks great and with a few personal touches can look even better.
- Geoff Dortch, Whitewater, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-12 2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I did alot of research, and had a difficult time choosing between the Vstar 1100 and the Roadstar! Since I'm on the short and light side (5'-5"/170 lbs.), I went with the Vstar. Good power, light and responsive and fun to ride. This bike is an Eye catcher/Great Cruiser. Put 600 miles on it, the first 5 days!, unfortunately I had to work! Looking forward to spending all that money I saved on dressing her out, and even making her a little louder! Winner Ride!
- Brett Giessman, Brentwood, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-06 2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just bought 2003 V-Star 1100 classic. Rides very well, plenty of power, and looks good. Bike looks best with a solo seat. Could use a deeper sound from the stock pipes.
- Robb, New Canaan, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-06 2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
JUST SOLD MY 1995 R100TRC BMW, THAT I THOUGHT WAS THE BEST. THE 2003 VSTAR 1100 SILVERADO BLOWS IT AWAY. BEEN RIDING FOR 30 YEARS AND THIS IS THE MOST FUN I've EVER HAD. THANK YOU YAMAHA
- JEFF BONEM, EAST NORTHPORT, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-24 2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my 2003 1100 classic last week, now 5 days later I have over 600 miles on it. I love it. I've got Hard Chrome pipes ordered, and will go from there a piece at a time. I don't intend to overdo it just enough to make it mine, The ease of control, lack of vibration and burning desire to ride to another town is what it's all about to me.
- Darwin, Centralia, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-19 2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this bike. I have from the beginning. It was inexpensive, attractive, and just what I was looking for. Shaft drive means never having to do any belt/chain repairs. It runs like a tank. And the customizations available for the 1100 are much more abundant and cheaper than the Road Star. A few problems I have are the whine at highway speeds. Also, it could stand to be a tad bigger. The bike looks great from the rear, but the front end is a bit cluttered, and I hate the plastic gusset cover up front. All in all, a great bike.
- Jason Friend, Columbus, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-16 2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This thing is insanely fun. Drives great, fun to customize (30+ additions), whatever. The addition of slip-ons, jet kit, and filtercharger make it sound right and move out. Also removed the AIS System (It's like they think everyone lives in California!). Highly recommended.
- gunnygorge, Gunnison, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: