Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruiser Reviews on Cycle Insider (11)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruiser Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruiser? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2014-07-25 2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike has been reliable since June, 2011. My upgrades are grips, passenger floorboards and a top rack.
- Jeff Stephens, Kitchener, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-22 2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my second Yamaha. I previously owned an 82 650 Maxim. I found this one in a line of new bikes and I thought it WAS new. It was in great shape and 3 years later it's still starts first time everytime (with choke on at 1/2 way point) and has never disappointed me. 6th gear would be great but not many, if any had a 6 speed tranny in 03. My only complaint is changing the oil filter. If you wrench your own, plan on at least 45 minutes start to finish. The filter change requires removal of the front exhaust.
- Eric Groothand, Aiken, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-04 2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Since the V-Star was introduced, my dream bike has been the 650 Classic, mostly because I could afford it. When I saw this used 1100 at the shop where I was about to buy an '06, I fell in love. I came off of a Suzuki 650 and I'm so glad I chose the 1100. It is smooth riding, doesn't scream at me at 75 MPH, and easily carries a passenger. If you can afford the 1100, don't pass it up!
- JDaddyCo, Longview, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-23 2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike has been a blast but it's time to get the Roadie Silverado. The only complaint is the seat, 100 miles and you're done! Rest 15 minutes every 50 miles or so you just to have another break. So, get an aftermarket Mustang seat or a Pacific Coast Star (if they will make one for your ll00) if you plan to keep it awhile. I don't like noise so stock has been perfect. I saw a complaint about not being able to cruise at 80+mph. He must have something wrong with his, as this one will cruise all day at 90 mph and still has more. The tranny is a bit noisy shifting but that is the nature of these beasts. It always starts and always gets you there. It will cruise and stay up with or set the pace for any cruiser or touring bike I know of, but remember my bunch are "old geezers" and we got this way by not doing stupid stuff.
- jniles, Perry, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-16 2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a good quality bike, but I made a wrong choice for me. I wavered a while between the V-Star 1100 and the bigger Road star. Dealer talked me into the V-Star and said "it's plenty of bike". Well, if all I wanted to do was bop around town and take 1 to 2 hour slow paced rides, it would be. But that's not what I'm doing. I like to ride all day, and often have to ride on Atlanta highways, where if you don't run 80 mph, you get run over. This bike just won't (or just barely) do this. The Bike is great up to about 60 mph. After that, it vibrates like a son of a gun, and barely makes a level surface speed of 85 totally wound out. And yes, the valves have been adjusted at the dealer with no improvement. Sure, I'm not petite, but it should cruise at 80 with room to spare. Also, the seat will kill your tailbone after an hour or so. If you have any doubt between the two bikes, and you plan to do any longer distance trips, get the bigger Road Star...Wish I did.
- Big Joe, Atlanta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-10 2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Brand new ride- Very pleased so far- no surprises. I'm a typical middle-aged guy getting back into the sport after many years off the bikes. Researched the heck out the bike before purchase. Couldn't find a better combo of reliability, style for the price. Engine "taps" as expected, no big deal. Keep saying to myself there is a reason its called "the tapazoid!" Does need throatier pipes. Seems a touch cold natured, have to baby the choke a little to get going. Small wishes- a couple of extra inches back on the seat(I'm a "big" guy). Thought it would ride "bigger" than it does. Seems to beg for a "6th" gear as well at 55-60 mph. May eventually wish I dug up the extra 3 grand for a Road Star for the extra "umph". But still a great intermediate, part- time cruiser for the cash.
- Big Joe , Atlanta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-08 2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Spent over a year in the Boise area searching for the bike that would give me the most for the money. It has style, comfortable ride, and turns heads without adding anything. I still plan on adding custom pipes later but just enjoying the ride at this time. It has been over 25 years since I had my last bike and this really makes me wonder why I waited so long.
- Ray Seabolt, Meridian, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-25 2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is a cruisers dream. Handles very well and doesn't ride as heavy as it is. Lots of aftermarket items to choose from. After adding a Bub Big Willy exhaust, Kuryakyn Hypercharger, and rejetting the carbs the bike REALLY opened up. Cosidering the cost, I couldn't be happier.
- John Stewart, Moore, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-30 2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm a female biker, and have been riding for 33 years. This bike is the best bang for your buck that you'll find anywhere. The acceleration, gear shift, handling and braking are all excellent. With the center of balance, perfectly distributed in the middle and the short seat height, it makes it easy at stop signs or swerves to handle the bike. The only things I would add is to have an additional color besides the one (crimson/rootbeer combo), and to put a clock and fuel indicator on it, like the Suzuki's have.
- JT Williams, Springfield, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-21 2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I LOVE this bike... I gave it 4 stars only because the Seat wasn't very comfortable. I replaced it with a Mustang Seat and now She's PERFECT... Great Value for an awesome looking bike.
- Bob Arroyo, Atascdero, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-12 2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
What a ride! Nice value as well. Wanted an upgrade from a Vulcan 750. This fit the bill to a "T". It gets lots of looks and compliments. Added engine guard and passing lamps to really complete the look and character of this machine.
- Josh Dechter, Rockaway, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: