Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers Reviews (20)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2008-04-07 2003 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I grew up with Harleys. Everyone in family rode a Harley. Unfortunately I couldn't afford a Harley so I started looking around and got the V-Star 650 this past September and fell in love. It is my first bike and it does everything I want it to. It handles well, is lightweight and easy to move around in. It is a great bike and I would recommend it to anyone.
- Juan Plakio, Seaside, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-11-15 2003 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
2003 Classic 650. Purchased new in June 2005 from a dealer. First long ride was 950 miles and I was sore. (don't think I'll do an iron butt.) The seat is now broken in and quite comfy. Runs and pulls really well. Two up can be a little doggy going uphill, but hey, it's a 650. Solo, it is a great bike. I'm getting 50mpg around town and 44 on the road at a steady 75mph. It handles great and is quite nimble in the curves. I love the low seat height as it creates a low center of gravity.
- T R Anderson, Billings, Montana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-27 2003 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Absolutely love this bike. Not knowing whether I would enjoy riding, it would have been hard to spend 15 to 20 thousand on a bike, just to turn around and sell it. Fell in love with riding the first week. The 1100 Classic is good looking, runs great, and is very dependable. I have bought a lot of accessories from the Yamaha catalog. They are good quality, nice fitting parts. Although, they are expensive. The bike is very comfortable. The seat is pretty good for stock. I cannot think of one negative thing about this bike. I expect to ride this bike for about 4 years. (Just have to try out the Harley lifestyle).
- Kevin Ray, Salt Lake City, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-28 2003 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought my Classic new, late last June. Love going out on the country/farm roads here in Ohio and putting around. Not much of a freeway rider and in my opinion the 650 isn't really setup for a lot of that anyway. That 5th gear needed to have a little extra range, but that is the only negative I can come up with. Not that they won't run at those speeds and take it. Just that it feels like the RPMs are pushing it. As for me, it's just fine because I don't like the interstate and didn't need a "BIG" bike for the kind of riding I like to do. For boulevards and country roads...she's perfect.
- Jeff Hochradel, Baltimore, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-23 2003 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first cruiser. I originally went with a sport bike, but liked the look and feel of this bike better. I have received lots of compliments on the sound and look of the bike. Definitely a good buy.
- michael helgoth, liberty, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-19 2003 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have 17,000 miles and 1 year on this bike. I commute every day an average of 60 miles/day. I should have bought the 1100 for its better highway cruising but the comments I receive from people that see the bike more than make up for the buzzing at 65-70 mph. I'm 6 ft. tall and the bike still doesn't feel like I'm all over it. Crash bars with pegs helps though. The extended warranty may be something to think about. I went with the two-year plan. Good thing, because the drive shaft/differential coupler splines just stripped out two days ago. Off to the shop! Great bike for the money though!
- Mike Morris, Enterprise, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-18 2003 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got the bike less than a month ago and find myself wanting to ride it all the time. Whether it is down the street or to work. I had a great fear of bikes and took a course to see if I would like it. I love the feeling of the openness of riding. I thought this bike would be too heavy for me, but you get used to the weight very quickly. It has power and turning abilities like a smaller bike. Great first timers bike. See ya on the road!
- C. Perez, Bedford HIlls , New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-15 2003 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got this beauty, and I love it already. I have only ridden it down the street and back a few times, but it is very smooth, easy to operate, and a dream to ride. Who says cruisers aren't fast? Obviously they were wrong. This bike is solid and stable, and has enough power to roll down the highway at the speed limit around where I live (65mph).
- Ryan Brewer, Kettering, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-31 2003 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Plenty of power for myself (intermediate) and my wife (beginner) as a passenger. It's not a bullet bike...it's a cruiser and it performs as such. I highly recommend it for beginners (my wife is 5'4", 130lbs and handles it perfectly with or without me as a passenger as a first time rider). It's a great intermediate bike that many people mistake for a Harley, without the price tag of one. Plenty of upgrades/add-ons available for this machine from Harley sounding pipes, saddlebags, windshields, backrests, hyper chargers, jets for the carbs, highway bars and more.......the sky's the limit.
- Jim Molosz, Clinton, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-22 2003 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is just a solid character. A cruiser that you don't need a second mortgage to afford. I have had my bike over a year now and still love it. I am a daily rider, I live in Georgia so I can ride it most of the year (and I do). I was only getting 38 MPG, but now that it is broken in, I'm getting 45. With gas prices the way they are, I'm loving it (filled it up for $6 yesterday). You can get parts anywhere. Last week I bought and oil filter from an AUTO PARTS STORE! (not the dealer) I bungee packages to the passenger seat when I have to go to the post office or run errands. I wish it had a little more power, but I think the 650 keeps me safer.
- Tony, Columbus, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-01 2003 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great first bike and everyone thinks it's a Harley. You cannot get more for your money and it sounds more meaty then the Honda. I have put 2200.0 miles on my bike in the first 6 weeks. I'm addicted and I just can't stay off it, my only worry is I think I will outgrow it soon only because it could use a little more passing power on the freeway. I have lots of power left after 80 mph but it could be more responsive. Hopefully new pipes and a K&N air filter will give it the edge it needs.
- Tom Locke, Irvine, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-06 2003 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike in 20 years and am very impressed with it's quality and ride. The V-Star gives the rider much confidence. The 650 is very comfortable on the street but seems to work a little hard at freeway speeds. it may just be the riders view becasue the engine seems to like the speed and RPMs. It's great looking bike and is very forgiving for it's weight and power ratios.
- Chris Seemann, Moorpark, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-09 2003 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well, ever since I can remember I've loved the idea of riding motorcycles but it wasn't until I graduated from college this year that I decided to buy myself the ultimate graduation present. After many weeks of researching I had my choices down to about 3 bikes. I had bad experiences at a couple Harley dealerships so I said forget the overpriced bikes. I finally decided that the V Star Classic was the bike I had been looking for. The shaft drive meant no maintenance which was a plus because I have no clue about maintaining bikes. It fit my budget and looks awesome. Mine was still in the crate it was shipped in when I saw it at the dealership and for $5100 I couldn't pass up this deal. I honestly do wish I could afford a bigger bike like the Road Star but the V Star suits me just fine for now. It is comfy and fairly peppy for a 650 but it is a little on the quiet side. Everytime I park it I love watching people walk by and gawk at it. It truely is nice to look at. I would recomend this bike to anyone with a budget and looking for a nice big bike. I only have 700 miles on it so far but with the quality and reputation that Yamaha has I will probably have many years of headache free riding to come.
- Switchroyale, Minneapolis, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-01 2003 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first road bike. What a great bike. I haven't ridden in 20 years.I'm a tall lady(6FT) and this bike has great leg room. Very smooth and comfortable to ride. Lots of power. The weight intimadated me at first but this bike handles like a dream. Wouldn't trade it for the world!!!!Why in the world did I wait so long......
- Becky Haag, Galena, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-05 2003 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
For a first time rider, this is a great bike, smooth, fun, and looks great, a lot of bang for the buck, all decked out with bags windshield, lights for under 7K, and it turns heads
- Joe L, Medford, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-04 2003 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought the 605 Classic with a hypercharger aftermarket kit installed which kicks up the power a little and the growl alot (well worth the $1200 extra). Looks great, handles beautifully and is very comfortable riding alone or with a passenger. Best bang for the buck I could find and when HD guys stop to look at it (and they do) you know Yamaha did something right in the design department.
- Scott C., Boulder, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-24 2003 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The detail mechanical and cosmetic work on this machine creates a total riding experience that is just fantastic. For me, the power is just right. The V Star Classic is well balanced, smooth and comfortable.
- John, St. Petersburg, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-07 2003 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first motorcycle purchase. I must say this is a fine piece of machinery. I'm a pretty big guy, the 650 has very similar specs as the 1100. Just enough power and very good looking. Several positive comments. Only wish sound was more pronounced so aftermarket enhancements were not necessary. Definitely recommend to anyone as first time bike purchase.
- Casey Yaceczko Jr, Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-08 2003 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
In almost every category you can think of to rate this bike... it will get high marks. I think for a bike this size it needs a larger displacement (750, 800), other than the lack of power and exhaust sound it is a great joy to ride and own.
- Richie, Chicago, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-01 2003 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Very user friendly. Will do anything you ask it. Good pep for it's engine size unless you ride two up. Reliable as the moon.
- Mike Creasy, Collinsville, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: