Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bike Reviews on Cycle Insider (23)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bike Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bike? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2011-01-25 2003 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike has lots of power and is crazy fun. This bike is great for the track.
- YAMAHA #222, camas, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-08-11 2003 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It is an awesome bike, but I do wish it had a lighter frame. It runs awesome, handles great and I love this bike to death.
- brandon, San deigo, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-10 2003 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This has to be one of the best motox bikes that have ever been manufactured. I have owned this 2003 Yz 250F for a couple years and it has treated me better than any other bike I have owned. If you do proper maintenance on this bike it will last you forever. In comparison to other two strokes, I don't think there is. I live in Maine where the winters are ICE cold and the summers have perfect riding conditions with average temperatures from 65-80 from May till September. My only problem is craving to ride it in April when the snow is melting. I took the bike out and didn't do my routine maintenance before ripping down my road with it and unfortunately blew it. My own fault but $1,800 later and my bike still hasn't given me a problem (knock on wood). This bike is perfect for the average trail rider down to the every day motocrosser. I definitely recommend this bike to anyone who loves pure horsepower, immediate throttle response and reliability!! Do oil changes with Yamalube factory oil every week and you shouldn't ever have a problem and remember to always clean your air filter and lube your chain before every ride. It WILL prolong the life of your bike.
- Kenny Ouellette, vb, Maine

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-31 2003 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My dad owns this bike and he lets me ride it. This bike is very fast. All you have to do is turn the throttle half way and you rip like a rocket, get her wide open and you are going light speed! I own a TTR125LE and the TTR is like a wimp compared to it. The larger wheels are awesome, you don't have to worry where any rocks are. The front suspension is sweet, you dont even feel the bumps. You can rip over anything. The one surprising thing about this bike is that it is managable on the trails too. If you want to go slower in the trails, you can without stalling. I recommend this bike to anyone who is looking to get a 250F.
- Daniel Holder, Pleasant Valley, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-26 2003 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
You can just jump on the bike and ride anywhere and when I say anywhere I mean it. It is a great pit bike, race bike, and trail bike. It will take anything you can give to it. It has so much power you cannot use all of the power that the bike has. Unlike a 2 stoke it does not have the power in one place it has it all over the gears of this bike.
- B-Rad, Orrington, Maine

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-25 2003 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike in 2002 and it is my dream come true it is a bigger bike for a bigger guy this is the best thing that has ever come into motocross
- Chris Pratt, Parker, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-24 2003 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have never owned a bike that works on all types of terrain. I just got it back from 240 miles of trail riding in Utah. It is also ridden in the Ocotillo desert and at local mx tracks like comp park. This is a great bike that continues to surprise me everytime I ride the thing. The engine,suspension, and handeling are all nearly flawless. Only mods are applies clamps, fat bars, and white bros exhaust, Troy Lee hand guards. All great mods. If you can find a good deal on these used, grab it. You won't be dissapointed. Way easy to ride and light! This bike puts the fun into dirt bike riding for anyone.
- Matt, Temecula, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-14 2003 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike is sick. It is hands down the best 125 legal bike I have ever ridden. I recently rode a few of my friends' 125's and I can't believe I used to ride one of those things. This bike doesn't even have any close competition. I can't say enough good things about it!!!!!!!!!
- Nads, South Fayette, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-10 2003 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had this bike since October 2002 and have never had a better time riding than on this thing. I put on a power bomb and the Q and it made it that much better. I like the midrange power in the exhaust because I do alot of trail riding as well. This is the best bike I think I have ever ridden and recommend to all.
- Tom, Fort Collins, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-04 2003 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned a 2003 YZ 250F since February. I race all over New England, and let me tell you, this thing hauls. With a small amount of money, you can put on an aftermarket exhaust, run some 103+ octane, and you will feel a huge difference. To go fast on this thing, you need to do one thing to it, OPEN HER UP AND REV IT TO THE MOON.
- Mike A., Plymouth, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-24 2003 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is a century ahead of itself. All the speed AND MORE of a two stroke with all the traction and handling of a four stroke. All the rev's AND MORE of a two stroke and all the dependability of a four stroke. All the torque AND MORE of a two stroke and did I say the dependability of a four stroke. Just wondering if anybody knows if they have quit making the two strokes yet? Or is there still a reason too?
- Biker-UR2B12, Spruce Pine, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-11 2003 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The closest you can get to owning a magic carpet . The best bike EVER
- Tosh, St Johns, Yukon Territory, Great Britain (UK)

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-15 2003 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Remember to rev this bike and you will love it! There's more torque in that little motor than should be legal in the 125 class, but since its not illegal you would have to be a fool or small or realy good to not buy this bike. The Pros have no problem keeping a 125 on the pipe (note Bubba) and small guys, and Kids stepping off 80s like the YZ 125 better! But the fact that this bike will run with 250s is amazing, I said that they were nuts if they thought I was ever going to believe a 250cc 4 stroke would be competitive!!! 3 years later My brother buys one and I have to eat my words! This bike will make you feel like Superman, Think its time to shift think again it revs to the Moon. if you can't get into riding on this bike than hang it up!! Good engine braking, good handling, hard seat, big fun.....MXP
- Mike Peters, Terre Haute, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-21 2003 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is extremely powerful in the right hands. It is great for a heavier 125 rider the bike's full potential is reached with the throttle pinned WFO it is great for rough and outdoor tracks you will dominate outdoors for sure if you don't let off the throttle.
- J.D., LAKE ELSINORE, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-18 2003 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is the best bike i have ever ridden. I am only 13, at about 5'5" and the bike is a tad bit too tall but that doesn't matter. This bike has a huge powerband. I recently went down to a riverbottom and this bike just hauled. The suspension is great, however the seat is not as soft as i would like but go figure, its a race bike. I can start this bike fine thanks to the new Hot Start Lever. This bike is great for almost anyone as long as you can touch the ground with at least one foot. So, go out and buy one for yourself.
- Jack, Camarillo, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-18 2003 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is awesome. I will never own a 2 Stroke again. My bike just moves.
- Nick, Rockton, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-07 2003 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Before buying the bike i was worried it was too heavy and slow to race against the 2 stroke 125, how wrong i was it is the best handling and easiest to ride bike i have ever owned and i am already going faster than ever before because it gives you so much confidence. I would recommend this bike to anyone and mine seems to start first time everytime aswell.
- steveUK, London, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-04 2003 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
i just got this bike the other day, i broke it in and then started to drive it a bit harder and man, that thing has some power, its light and fast, also handles awesome
- me, winnipeg

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-03 2003 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is killer in the woods. The suspension is so adjustable it isnt even funny. Just put a big skid on it and some handguards and ride. I have rode crf450s and yz450fs. The 250 takes me anywere no matter what mud,snow,rocks, and fast.
- Anonymous, Morganfield, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-01 2003 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is so unbeliveable in all areas.Acceleration, handling,suspension and top speed. Best bike I ever road!!
- chris, bakerstown, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-29 2003 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
this is a good bike if you know how to ride and have advanced skills because to get the most out of it you have to avoid the slow throttle response. But once you get it going it is the best on the track. HANDS DOWN>
- Eric Smith, Mazeppa, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-28 2003 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this bike, I went up to Ocotillo Wells and this bike rocks. At first I thought I would be too big for the 250,weighing 195lbs, but it took me wherever I wanted to go. This is a great bike and you won't find anything quite like it, except the beast, the yz450f.
- Coby, Perris, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-07 2003 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got the new 250F last friday and i am in love with it. If you want a bike that hauls @ss get this one! Tons of torque and horsepower. I would strongly reccomend getting the 03 250F if you haven't all ready!!!
- Nick Hillman, Temecula, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: