Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bike Reviews on Cycle Insider (31)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bike Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bike? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2009-11-28 2003 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 2003 YZ 85 and it rips!!! The power band is extremely strong and sometimes it can be a little too strong, ha ha. But otherwise I love it. An YZ 85 is definitely the better buy over a stupid 150 4 stroke racing bike. Yamaha for life!!!
- Gavin Grant, Albuquerque, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-10 2003 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This thing flies!! I race a 2008 crf150r and I thought that had a lot of snap after carb adjustments but I got this 2 days ago and...I can't believe it! It starts 1st kick cold!! yz85s are just as fast stock. I almost flipped off the seat coming off a corner. I have drove 250 and 125 2 strokes that are all bored out and I still think this could beat it out of the hole! This will beat any 85 out there, and if you know how to ride a bike like I do you will be amazed and smoke anyone out.
- Nick, Mishicot, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-25 2003 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my second dirt bike. It is very fast and is an awesome bike. I would recommend this more than Honda, Suzuki, Kawasaki or any others... I wouldn't recommend this bike for beginners because it is clutch and quick.
- BRIAN, YARDVILLE, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-15 2003 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is so darn cool, I could ride wheelies forever, ramp as high as I could possibly go, I like the power band, it's powerfull, this bike has great handling, great power, plus speed...this bike rocks!!!
- Marcello, Questa, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-24 2003 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
IVE BEEN RACING 2 STROKES ALL MY LIFE AND THIS BIKE IS THE BEST. IT REALLY HAS ALOT OF ACCERATION AND I CAN WHELLIE IN 6 GEARS I GOT 60 FEET OF AIR ONCE. THE SHOCKS HANDLED IT REALLY NICE. I ALSO DO FREESTYLE OUT IN CALIFORNIA IN L.A. OVER SUMMER. GREAT BIKE FOR THAT TOO. NOTE: picture is me riding it all stock
- KEvin Johnosn, AVon, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-04 2003 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great bike but needs a little bottom end power. I rode the Rm 85 back to back with my bike, and the Rm has a lot more bottom end power. The bike is great, as long as you keep it in the powerband. Has awesome suspension as long as you ride it aggresive.
- Chad Brown, Tieton, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-01 2003 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
A great bike for an amateure rider. A big step up from a stock 60 or 65. One of the best things about this bike is the suspension, but the seat is too hard. You could come off a triple and case it pretty hard and you would only feel it a little bit.
- Jessie Willoughby, Iron River, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-24 2003 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is great. I just started racing this year and I am already in the head of the pack with the YZ85. This bike is fast! I have gotten close to getting a holeshot with this thing and I just started. You beginners have got to be careful and don't get too cocky because you'll regret it!
- Mike D, Shelby Twp, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-22 2003 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a GREAT bike. It's my first bike that I have owned. SCARY fast and reliable. I can beat most 4 strokes and some 125 2 strokes. Great bike for jumping. I don't race, but it's the best 85cc class dirtbike there is.
- Corey, Joppatowne, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-20 2003 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is by far the best that I have ever had. It is very comfortable, responsive, and very reliable. This bike is great for both long and short distance rides. If you also like to go off jumps like I do, I suggest you get this bike.
- Jason Sesto, Torrance , California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-24 2003 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is an awesome bike! This is my first year racing at Lake Geneva raceway and this bike is a really great bike to start out with. I think the YZ85 out-performs ALL other 85's stock. Has the broadest power band for sure. You pop wheelies like crazy!
- Kevin Graham, Wadsworth, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-13 2003 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my '03 YZ85 in '02. The first 3 times I rode I was totally clueless of what it could do until I got good enough to push myself to my own limits. First and second gears are screaming, third is, too. Wheelies? 1-4 gear with my 170 pound butt on it. I got it when I was 120ish; I wasn't good enough for it, then. Just an awesome bike all around.
- bob, marysville, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-03 2003 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my bike for about 2 months already and it is great. This bike has superior power, suspension, and speed. This bike is great for jumps and other stuff, especially for racing.
- YZfreak, Questa, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-29 2003 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The 2003 YZ85 is the best bike in the world. It is great for beginners and my Dad loves it too. I am a beginner and it is easy to ride. We did not know anything about motorbikes when we got it, and found that the two stroke engine is great. We've never have any problems with it.
- Me, clovhale, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-15 2003 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 2003 YZ85 and it is awesome. Every thing race I enter I win no matter if it is Harescrambles, Motocross, or GNCC. This bike has stood up to every thing I could throw at it.
- cj, rice, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-07 2003 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have an YZ85 and I have never had so much fun on a dirtbike. If anyone ever asks me what bike they should buy I would have to say a YZ, because Yamaha is the best bike company ever. No one can top them, not even Honda, Suzuki, Kawasaki, or KTM.
- Mxstarrpro, kingston, Nova Scotia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-14 2003 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is so sweet. There is no other way to describe it. I added an SST pipe and a shorty silencer, and it pulls the front wheel up even with the holeshot device locked. Best 85 of the year.
- Blake Molnar, Port Clinton, Ohio, 43440 United States

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-14 2003 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
i got one not too long ago and i rode a cr85 and it doesn't get out of the hole quick but it can beat the yz85 at the rest of the track by a long ways.the cr85 can getout of the hole quicker if you know how to ride right it can go really fast if you put a bigger sprocket for ten dollars and it will get out of the hole quicker than a yz85. Now i'm kicking butt on my cr85 2004.
- anonymous, Albuquerque, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-24 2003 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
this is my first moto bike...but I've ridin many racing atv's...but this is one heck of a bike..madd props to yamaha..
- mario laucella, roswell , Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-22 2003 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
fast exciting off the hook yamaha is the best i do not suggest the yz85 to a beginer
- mike, boston, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-02 2003 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My 2003 YZ85 is awesome! It moves and handles like a champion. I'm just learning, but already can tell that this bike is a work horse and will perform well for me for many years. I plan to race in six months and try to win some races. I recommend this bike highly. 1-10, ten being excellent. I give my 2003 Yamaha YZ85 a TEN! Go Yamaha!
- Ross, Peoria, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-02 2003 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
this bike is fast and you won't be disappointed if your small and you want a racing iron charriot!
- Mike Morrow, Phoenixville, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-27 2003 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I GOT MY YZ85 ABOUT 8 MONTHS AGO AND IT IS BY FAR THE BEST 85CC DIRT BIKE. I HAVE RIDDEN A CR85, AND PUT UP AGINST THE YZ 85 THE CR HAS NO TOP END POWER THE YZ 85 IS SWEET.
- JORDAN, BURLESON, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-10 2003 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The 2003 Yamaha YZ85 is a great bike for smaller MX'rs. If your little MX'r is planning on racing, it will need some modifications.
- Mike, Indianapolis, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-08 2003 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the best 85 I have ever ridden. It is even better with pro circuit pipes. This bike is the most comfortable to ride. I rode a rm85 and I think it is not as good. It seems slower then the yz85. As you can see the yz is the best bike out there
- cody, new egypt, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: