Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bike Reviews on Cycle Insider (18)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bike Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bike? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2011-05-09 2003 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have aproximately 6,000 miles on my bike on the street and who knows how many on the track, as I disconnect the speedometer on the track. (probably around 1,000+ miles on the track). This bike is great! The acceleration is exactly the same as the R6's of the same years. The only reason I gave it a 4-Star on performance is because I'm comparing the suspension to an R6. The front forks are just a little weak stock for the track. All in all, I ride this bike as a daily driver on the street and race it on the weekends and have had zero problems with it.
- alex, lincoln, Nebraska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-24 2003 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this bike in the spring of 2003. I had not rode a sportbike for about 12 years. After riding this bike for about 2 days, I decided that I would need more low end speed. I changed the front sprocket (1 down) and the rear sprocket(2 up). Stage 1 jet kit(dynojet). Yosh slip on pipe. Frame slides. Stock tires sucked so I got pirelli diablos. They work fantastic with this bike. My buddy has a 2002 R6(stock). I can take him in any set of twisties. On the straights, he has me a by little in the top end. This bike is definitely more comfortable than the racing bikes. Also can do power up wheelies with ease.
- Jason, Pottstown, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-03 2003 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this as my first bike, (ever) having rode a couple dirt bikes, and I found the YZF to fit my needs perfectly. It would roast my friend's '99 CBR600 up to about 4000 RPMs in 3rd gear, and he didn't gain much on me after that, and none top end. The low end of this machine is incredible. I started building power at about 2500, with enough to lift the front tire at 3200 with a little help from the clutch. The seat, wow. Incredible! I rode this thing for 300 miles at a time on numerous occasions and never had any problems. I also enjoyed the stability through corners. The only complaint I have is weight. I mean, it weighs more than an R1!! But for those who are satisfied with mediocre performance (I could take on any car confidently. I almost ran against a Lamborghini) and want a comfortable bike, this is it. Passenger comfort is also awesome. Alas, a car pulled out in front of me, not seeing me, and totalled the bike. I am currently in the search for more power, but can't find anything nearly as comfortable as this bike.
- Shane Brisendine, Fort Collins, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-29 2003 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is by far the best beginner to advanced rider's motorcycle you could possibly ever own. The thing is super forgiving up in the corners when you're first learning to ride and are a bit jumpy leaning into the corners apex. It has plenty of speed to get you in trouble in a big hurry, if so desired. It has an awesome gas tank capacity that will get you more or less about 250 miles to a tank. It has the most comfortable seat in any super sport full fairing bike available on the market. Has plenty of power down low where you would need it for every day driving and when you're out on the track has a nice high Rev limit to tear up some serious rubber when needed. I am usually passing most 1 liter's in the corners because of the lack of bottom end torque. This would normally spin your rear tires, thus being able to hammer the throttle on a Thundercat giving you a serious advantage if used properly. You can start out on this bike without any prior knowledge of riding a sport bike and go from there to a complete professional on the corners of your local mountain. If you're looking for a bike that has it all plus lots more, then this is the bike for you. It'll take good care of you, if you take good care of it.
- Jesse Van Wickel, Santee, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-18 2003 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This may be my first street bike, or supersport bike, but this is a kick@$$ machine. I may be only 16 but I know the difference after riding other top name/dollar bikes, and this bike rocks. I've put over 3,000 mi on my bike already only after 11 mo. 2 of which I didn't ride due to an injury! So I strongly suggest this bike to anyone, teens starting out to expert riders, and at 600cc s you can't go wrong!!
- Joey Elizondo, Laredo, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-26 2003 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I AM SOMEWHAT NEW TO THE SPORT BIEK ARENA. I RODE A HONDA ENDURO ALL THROUGH COLLAGE(I WAS A CHEAP ALTERNATIVE TO A CAR). I COULDN'T BE HAPPIER THE BIKE IS VERY COMFORTABLE AND VERY DOCILE IF THE RPM'S ARE UNDER 6000. WHEN YOU NEED JUICE SHE HAS IT!!! THE HANDLING WAS A LITTLE SOFT SO MY DEALERSHIP ADJUSTED THE FRONT SHOCK SETTING AND NOW ALL IS FINE. I LOVE IT
- joe, Randolph, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-21 2003 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a finely crafted motorcycle that suits both beginners and experienced riders. It has plenty of power for the street and still carves corners like a real sport bike. With the adjustable suspension, experienced riders can squeeze some real performance out of it and, should you want to, you can stand her up without any trouble. Realistically, though, what you want to do is gas up the 5 gallon tank, get comfortable, and go cruising in style - and with a performance edge. that's this bike's claim to fame. I recommend this bike to anyone who wants the "all around" sport bike.
- JD, Providence, Rhode Island

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-26 2003 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got my 2003 YzF-600r last Friday (06/20/03) and I've put 300 miles one it already. I credit the comfort and the positioning of the bike. Bottom line, the bike is fast enough for the average rider, comfortable, stylish, and great price. Great first or second bike.
- Geno Colang, Somerville, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-12 2003 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had bikes off and on in the past 6 years. '84 Honda vfr 700, '94 Honda cbr 600 f2. Got the 600R a year ago. don't ride much, have 1400 miles on it. When I do it provides plenty of power and comfort in the Atlanta traffic. Best bike I have had to date
- mobrien, atlanta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-07 2003 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great bike to start out on as far as price and comfort is concerned. But if you are planning on learning to do tricks the R-6 is better suited for it. This bike has enough power for average use but it wasn't built for the extreme rider
- Lead Wrist, St.Paul, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-06 2003 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a superb sport bike, with plenty of power for everyday riding and some track days here and there. One of the most comfortable bikes I have ever ridden on, you can saddle this for hours and not get fatigued. I am thoroughly impressed with this Yamaha product and recommend it to anyone out there looking for a great sportbike thats not too hard on the wallet or your rear end. With a jet kit and exhaust this ride can contend with any R6 on the road. Way to go Yamaha... you made a winner in the YZF 600.
- David, Boston, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-22 2003 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought this bike within the last month and could not be happier. The balance and power is awesome, with a 1st gear that will launch you. No real need to jet or use a slip-on can. If you are experienced than you may want an R6 but and daily commuter will be more than happy with this bike!
- Anonymous, Baltimore, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-17 2003 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
just purchased a 2003 yamaha yzf600r. I've owned many bikes and have ridden for over 25 years. this bike is a change for me. I've owned harleys, hotrods, race bikes and scooters, but this bike is the best. it's a blend of super bike and touring bike, with added good looks and comfort. slightly raised handlebar mount makes the leaning over efect less than a superbike. nice wide seat feels good after 2-3 hours of riding. full suspension andjustments make it handle for almost anyone. tons of torque and power, all from a modest 600cc bike. yamaha has a winner here. the best part was the price. 3 grand less than the superbikes. if you're hardcore, this isn't the one, get the r6, but for an older rider, or someone looking for a commuter with enough pep to get you to work early, when you originaly left late.....this is your ride!!
- Dave, in the mountiains of..., Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-12 2003 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had this bike for 12 days and have 1600 miles on it with no butt, back or arm pain. If you want to haul ass and keep feeling in yours buy this bike.
- Clint Cavender, Renton, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-02 2003 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my standby bike. I also have a Harley Davidson FXSTB. I have always been a Yamaha fan. I fell in love with the YZF600 when I saw it in "Liquid Silver & Black". I was surprised by the comfortable and less agressive riding position. This is a bargain @ $7000
- Chris S, Jacksonville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-31 2003 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike and let me say that it is definitely the PERFECT bike to begin with. The power is very smooth and it has plenty of it throughout the entire RPM range. I ride 100 miles round trip on this bike almost everyday and am never hurting afterwards!! VERY COMFORTABLE AND PRACTICAL!! If that is what you want in a bike, get the YZF600R!!
- mowstrap69, oxnard, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-29 2003 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike pulls stong with as much power early in the rev range as an R6. The bike handles well, can be ridden in a city or out on the country roads at unbelieveable speeds. Absolutely no complaints.
- Dan, cincinnati, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-15 2003 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
THIS YAMAHA IS A GREAT BIKE FOR ME, IT IS MY FIRST BIKE. IT'S COMFORTABLE TO RIDE, EASY TO LEARN, NOT TOO MUCH POWER (SO I didn't KILL MYSELF), BUT ENOUGH TO KEEP UP CLOSE TO FRIEND W/AN R6. I WILL ALWAYS KEEP THIS BIKE FOR ONE MAIN REASON, COMFORTABLE FOR A 2ND PASSENGER. IT'S A FUN BIKE AND DOESN'T HURT MY REAR EVEN AFTER HOURS OF RIDING W/OUT A STOP.
- MARK HAIN, WICHITA, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: