Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bike Reviews on Cycle Insider (35)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bike Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bike? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2006-06-03 2003 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm a new rider, and I have to tell you, if this is the way someone is supposed to feel when riding, I will ride for the rest of my life. I am the second owner of my R6, because the 1st owner didn't have time for it, but he has a lot of compliments for it, he loved it and he praised it; he was sad when he sold it to me, and I was the happiest man in the world, what a great machine! Flies through corners and is fairly comfortable. I honestly feel like I can get out of any bad situation on the road when I'm on this bike. Great choice!
- Danny (Charlie), North Plainfield, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-07 2003 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I would have to say that this has been the best bike I have ever had the pleasure to ride. The handling is great and the power for a 600 you can not beat. I am now stationed in Korea and I do not get to ride, so mine is sitting in the garage but I can not wait to get back home and ride again.
- Travis Marshall, White Pine, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-16 2003 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike and I bought it used in November of '04 with 3000 miles it is now June and I have over 13,000 miles. Yeah that's right this bike is awesome. Highly recommend. It is even good on long rides and once the suspension is set up it corners like nothing else. I have riden other bikes and it only makes me miss mine.
- ClintG82, Holloman AFB, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-08 2003 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is the love of my life! I can't wait to ride it! The power and response that you get from this "no less than race ready" bike is incredible! I consider myself a good rider but even at the track I will never be able to harness all of this bike's power! Yamaha is heads and shoulders above the rest and it looks like it will stay that way with the '05 model upgrades. As for me I am keeping my '03 R6 and might get a new R1 as a garage buddy for it! Thanks Team Blue!
- R6Sam, Charlotte, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-09 2003 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this bike! I have had it now for 14 months and hate to get off of it. It is the smoothest 600 I have ridden to date. It kills at the track.
- Cody Bushman, Thornton, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-12 2003 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 2001 R6, which is my first bike ever and I can't begin to explain the feeling it will provide you. The R6 is a very powerful 600-class bike and handles amazingly. You wont go wrong getting any year R6 and it's by far the best 600cc bike on the market. that's just my 2 cents.
- Roni , Germantown, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-17 2003 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is one of the best all around sportbikes on the market. It is fast, fun, and handles perfectly. This is my second R6 and I wouldn't trade it for anything.
- JOE NICHOLS, ROXBORO, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-25 2003 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got my R6 out of storage for the first time in over 3 months and I have to say I had forgotten how it feels to run 150mph and have throttle left to go. I absolutely love this bike. I wrote an earlier review while it was still in break in. I have been doing that for some time and do I love this machine. Only had one problem with it. On cold nights the bike felt dead in first gear but fine in other gears. Dealer remapped the fuel injection to account for cool night air and haven't had any trouble since. And my comment on running 150mph is completely true. At least once a week I run her the way she wants to be ran and it is awesome. Still running on the stock tires too with 4000 miles on them so you know they are good tires. I suggest this bike to anyone that once to be able to ride fast and hard but still be able to cruise along city streets with no trouble. Hope you like it as much as I do. Safe riding.
- Randall, Saint Joseph, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-22 2003 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've put 2,000 miles on my 03 R-6 and I can honestly say that this is the ONLY bike that has ever made my heart skip a beat when I get on it! When this rocket hits 8 and then 10k rpm it's neck snapping time....and I'm talking stock pipes stock everything. It handles like a dream. The only draw back is comfort. For long rides consider fitting it with Heli- bar extensions. The seating position is true cafe racer. But overall this bike rocks!
- dustoff77, dothan, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-02 2003 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the first sport bike I have ever owned. I would have to say after shopping around that the 03 R6 is one of the best bikes for a new comer to the super bike world to start out with. It is enough bike that you don't get bored too quickly and it handles so well you can slow down and get yourself out of trouble fairly easily. I have had my bike for about 10 months and I love every inch of it! I have over 5000 miles on it already and only road for 5.5 months! I recommend this bike to all my friends and anyone who is unsure of what they are looking for.
- mark losh, meridian, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-29 2003 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Had the bike about a year now, so decided to write the review. The bike is nice and light, easy to flick from side to side. Acceleration is snappy and smooth, except when the bike is cold. My only real complaint is the tiny little windshield, which gives no protection, and the mirrors, which give me a great view of my elbows.
- Rolf, Redmond, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-26 2003 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my 1st sport Bike but my third bike over all. This Bike is fast for a 600cc and is light weight enought for the corners and driving in and out of traffic. I very much enjoy this bike. The complaints are: the very big fender flare in the back (I removed at 12 miles) and the small storage compartment under the seat (but this is a race bike!).
- Adam Wadkins, Columbus, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-22 2003 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Being a first time sport bike owner, the task of which one to choose became quite overwhelming. I then decided to go to the motorcycle show in January of 2003 to really get a good grasp of what was out there and which bike would be the best fit for me. I had spent the whole day talking to reps and "trying" the different bikes on for size and for the hit my pocket book was going to take. When it was all said and done...I went with the 2003 Yamaha YZF R6...in factory blue of course! I remember the first time I rode her...I was afraid for my life! I had never been on a bike so responsive and powerful! Keep in mind however...she has a real good side to her in terms of giving the rider a second chance at survival. She is very forgiving and predictible to the first time sport bike owner, and she will provide a ton of latitude before she bucks you off! Afer a few months of riding...I am totally certain I had made the very best choice in terms of performance, quality and the bottom line...price. The 2003 Yamaha YZF R6 is a steal!
- Eric, Elmhurst, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-06 2003 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Perfect ergonomics, sweet styling, plenty of Go! The 2003 R6 is by far the coolest bike in the 600cc class. The only thing I wished Yamaha had done for this bike is to offer a polished frame (it would have saved me a lot of work). Oh well, you can't have everything! Two thumbs up!
- Dan Harris, Osan AB , Korea (South)

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-14 2003 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The R6 is a great bike. It is a little small for a 6'3" person, and it hurts the chest bad laying down on the gas tank going high speeds. The storage compartment is also kinda small. And the 2003 headlight setup is kind of weird. Those are the only flaws though. Other than that it is crazy fast and handles great.
- Nic Wendt, Watertown, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-08 2003 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just picked up my new R6 this week and still in the break in period. This is by far the best handling and most responsive bike I've ever had a chance to ride. This was the best purchase I've ever made. Can't wait till it's all broke in to see what it can really do.
- Mr. R6, youngstown, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-22 2003 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
What a bike. I just got mine and am still in the break in period. So far, all I can say is WOW! This bike handles so well and has great power in all ranges. The new design is definitely more aggressive than previous R6s and it will take getting used to. I hope they come out with a gel seat, but it is not that bad. I ordered a Yoshi Tri-Oval CF slip-on...cannot wait to get it!!! During my purchase decision, I couldn't decide on whether to get an R6 or a Ducati...chose the R6 and have no regrets!!!!
- Rick, Leesburg, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-16 2003 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is probably the best purchase I've ever made. I've ridden several 600's and 1000's and the handling of this bike surpases them all........by far. And its no slouch on power either. I can be from 70 mph to 150 something in seconds, not that I'd ever do that.
- Robby, Birmingham, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-11 2003 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my second review that I have sent in (my 1st was LOVE AT FISRT BIKE) I have had my bike for 3 month's now and have really gotten a chance to feel the bike out. It is so powerful and responsive it is unbelievable!! I have been riding with a GSXR600, Honda RR600 and best of all a GSXR750 and my R6 ALWAYS comes out of the turn with me slowing down for my freinds. I never thought that I would be riding the way I have with a 600cc bike. The power that this bike produces actually makes your stomach sink. I have to be careful when really getting on the throttle because this bike will loft the front wheel in not only 1st and 2nd but also 3rd gear. All you have to do is start the R6 and find some gears and the bike will do the rest. I thought that I would changed the stock pipe by now but the only reason that I would need to is to change the sound. It definitly does not hinder it's power. If you have any questions please e-mail me. I love talking to fellow R6 riders. See you in the turns.
- Josh Schleupner, Hebron, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-03 2003 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got my 03 R6 I don't have to say a word but I must tell you this. Even with the stock pipe this machine can beat the ducati 748s easyyyy.. Have fun with it. it's the best 600 I ever rode.
- NiGHTLiFe, Brooklyn, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-21 2003 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Where to start is the question.I have found the my new R6 to be a work of art. The finish of the paint is great. The engine has all the power I would ever need, and handling is fantastic in the curves, not that I was speeding. All in all I give the new bike two thumbs up
- shooter, Fergus, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-21 2003 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just traded in my '97 YZF600R for the new '03 R6 and the differences in comfort, power and handling are unbelievable! I'm still in the break in period and this bike has done nothing but impress me so far. I can't even imagine what it will do above 7000 rpm! This bike just draws attention! Be prepared to have complete strangers come up to it for a closer look and tell you how sharp it looks! Best purchase I've ever made! It's a CHICK MAGNET!
- Jason, Madison, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-10 2003 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had this bike for one week now and so far it has turned more heads and recieved more complements then any other bike I have ever ridden. Oh and as a little bonus, it's also the best ride you can get on a 600cc engine.
- Joshua Woodworth, San Antonio, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-08 2003 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my new 03 R6 about a month ago now and let me just say that this is by far the best 600 in the class. I have had the opp. to ride all R6's 00-current and believe me you cant go wrong on any of them!!
- Dusty Shannon, Des Moines, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-05 2003 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my second bike and wow what a bike it is!!! The R6 truely brings man and machine together. Words can't describe what an awsome bike the 2003 R6 is.
- Tommy, central, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: