Yamaha Zuma Scooter Reviews on Cycle Insider (28)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha Zuma Scooter Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Yamaha Zuma Scooter? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2005-08-15 2003 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my Zuma since October of 2003 and I've put almost 1700 miles on her. She's been ridden during the winter months in SD on city streets and in the Black Hills of SD offroading in the heat of late July. I upgraded the engine to a 72cc kit with a handmade Italian exhaust with a bigger carb. I've had my share of problems with the upgrades, but they've been worth it, especially everytime I ride it in town and beat cars with her. All-in-all a darn good machine built by Yamaha.
- Eric, Omaha, Nebraska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-25 2003 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great machine! I grew up riding mopeds and my first one was one of those pedal type. Just recently I purchaced a zuma 49cc scooter, as I don't have a drivers licence and one is not required. Wow... was I surprised! The pure power of this scooter was a far cry from the others I've had. I would recommend this scooter to any onw who wants to get around town and go crusing. And don't let the size fool you either, it has some power to it!
- jason thompson, gosport, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-07 2003 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well winter has lost its lock on NE Ohio. I got a chance to go on a scoot today. My Zuma continues to impress me with its ride ability and cornering prowess not to mention the excellent brakes. It seems like once you fill the oil and gas tanks you could go forever. It even keeps up with moderately fast (Up to 40mph) traffic. On a steep uphill it will drop to 25-30. I try not to keep it pegged too long but with only 49cc and a strong headwind I was working her to keep up in the 35mph zone today. What it really likes to do is cruise at 25-30. This thing can really corner. The seat is spacious although I seem to hit it at the hump for the passenger. Under seat storage hold a full-face helmet, gloves and the other storage will hold a soda or water bottle. I also got the basket that fits on the rack in the back. It was only 20 bucks and expanded the storage some more. I plan on getting the windshield, as here it's pretty cold. In this class of scooter this is the one to beat. Paul
- Paul, Cleveland, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-07 2003 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Zuma brand new. As soon as I got it I let it set on the stand and idle for about 2 hours. I varied the rpm up and down several times. I did this to "break" the engine in. I then rode it like I wanted it to runFAST!!! Full throttle most of the time. I put 1700 Miles on it last summer and it ran just great, about 47 mph or more. Please believe me when I say 99 mpg. I couldn't believe it either. But I am getting that mpg on High Test gas. As soon as I got it I put a NGK plug in it and it lasted well all 1700 miles. This is NOT a scooter for young ones. It's a little too much for them I think. Be Careful.
- Don, Dunkirk, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-29 2003 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
A great little scooter on two wheels, I have had this 2003 for less than a year and have found it to be quite reliable and durable. I have also found that it does get 70 miles to the gallon. I have thoroughly enjoyed the use of this little machine and haven't gotten tired of it yet. It has gotten me more interested in something on two wheels and wanting more and hopefully wanting to upgrade to something a lot stronger. It's a great little machine to get someone ready to try out something bigger and better, but I don't think that anyone can totally give up on the purchase of this little machine. It's a lot of fun to ride not only for pure enjoyment but to get you to where you want to get to around town.
- Chris Herford, Greensboro, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-14 2003 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
We recently purchased two of these and I couldn't be happier with them. Top end is about 40 on flat land but it will climb some pretty impressive hills. The suspension is stiff enough and the front disc brake is light years above the drums on the competition. The only other scooter that I could compare it to is the Elite 80, of course a 80cc will have more torque than the zuma but I think the Zuma has a better chassis! But I couldn't give the 5 star rating because it is only 50 cc. If it had 100cc 2 cycle it would be perfect. Maybe the new Vino 125 fills this niche. I'll go look at them in the spring or this winter. All in all a great little scoot when you really consider what it really is.
- Paul RM80, Cleveland, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-30 2003 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I received my Zuma in April of 2003. This scooter is awesome. I love the power it has. It has awesome power for a 49cc scooter. The display panel is excellent and convenient. The off-road tires give it a sporty look and provides great traction for those sharp turns. The other great feature about the Zuma is the sturdy handlebars for the passenger to hold on to. I recommend getting the Yamaha Zuma!
- Tyler , Anderson, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-23 2003 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the first scooter I've ever owned, but I decided on this one because I read that it was the best: strongest, smoothest, and they were absolutely right! It's very easy to ride and control and it has lots of power. In fact, if you aren't careful with the throttle, it'll jump right out from under you! The only thing I have a problem with is that it's very hard to get it up onto the kickstand because it's so heavy, but I found that I can do it if I use both hands on the grips instead of using one hand to steady the front and one to lift it. Also, this scooter is a whole lot more impressive looking than any of the other scooters I've seen. :)
- Malka, Brooklyn, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-08 2003 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just purchased the 2004 model Zuma this past weekend as a replacement for a car that had died. The cycle is absolutely fun to ride. As someone who had never ridden a motorcycle or scooter before, the Zuma was very easy to acclimate to and within a few hours I was already out on the major thoroughfare at top speed.
- Steven Buehler, Lakeland, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-07 2003 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
3 days and 250 miles of pure fun. Looking for more fun so adding exhaust, 70cc head and piston, carb, and clutch...Stock I have seen close to 50 down hill, strong 40 on straights, low 30's up hill. Only suggestion to Yamaha and tuners; lets make both headlights work together, how about HID kit, and air horns. Final words...love this scooter!
- charles reed, newtown, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-05 2003 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my scooter at the beginning of the summer, and the riding season is just about over up here... What can I say, great price, looks 'streetfighter'ish and has more character than most scooters. Underseat storage holds my full face helmet and my gloves. Costs me all of 2 dollars to fill the tank. Great ground clearance in comparison to the vino, jazz, and other japanese scooters... fatter, taller tires good on both the street and gravel. Brakes very well with front disc. Still easy to ride with a passenger. Only problems/nitpickings are: front disc squeaks a bit, not sure what's causing it. Everyone always thinks one of my headlights is out (regular and high beam are separate lights), and everyone always wants to ride it.
- boro, Calgary, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-05 2003 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Zuma is the best purchase my husband and I have made in a long time. Its great for crusing around town. The looks we get are unbelievable! People can't help but look everywhere we go. We bought a 2004 blue and red. We have the best time with them. The gas mileage is a big plus with gas prices soaring lately. For less than 2 bucks, we can fill the tank! You can't go wrong. That is if you are fortunate to get your hands on one!!
- Anonymous, watertown, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-01 2003 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love the Zuma and I think it is the greatest 49cc out there. Yamaha makes the best. It runs great. One push or one kick and you are ready to go ridin around town or off road. I recommened getting a Zuma
- Fadi Mustafa, Jackson, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-31 2003 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my Zuma for 2 weeks and absolutely love it. It has good power and pulls me very well on hills, etc. It is very easy to drive and also fun to double on. I would recommend it to everyone!
- Sheila, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-29 2003 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
On road or off-road, this thing shines. Around the corner to a store or flying down your favorite trail. Its more of a Mini Motorcycle then a scooter. Best scooter for under 2 grand. A must have!
- bob, Howell, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-10 2003 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently bought a 2003 Yamaha Zuma. I absolutely love the scooter. I like the way it handles, I'm very happy with the speed, there is plenty of storage room under the seat, and it's just an overall fun and easy scooter to ride. The only problem that I have with it is that I have a very hard time getting it up on it's center stand when I'm done riding. When the gas is under half full, I can manage, but when there's a full tank I can't lift it up an over. That may be something to consider when buying one if you think you might have a problem with that also. Other than that though, I would recommend checking them out...they're awesome!
- SSP, SH, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-02 2003 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It has tons of bottom but hardly any top end but it is so cool and fast and I can out run a vino easy. Mine only has 361 miles on it. It is better to use plus or premium gas. It gets great mileage. So if you don't have one get one. i love it
- michael mattingly, lexington, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-29 2003 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I traded for my 03 Zuma this spring and have been very pleased. I have ridden the yamaha vino, razz, jog and the honda ruckus and metropolitan and this is by far the best(the vino is fun too.) Stock it tops out at 38mph and accelerates faster than other scooters. I put a 70cc kit on it and seem to always take it instead of the car. It now does 45mph on a flat and accelerates much harder.
- Wesley, PB, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-22 2003 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great piece of machinery. It gets going from 0-40 in under 4 seconds. I rented this scooter for transportation when I was out of town and I took some friends along on it too and it still got a steady 40 mph. Without 2 passengers it will do well over 40. I looked at Vespas too pricey. Piaggios same company a little better on price though. And then I remembered hmm the zuma so I'm falling deeper and deeper into buying one and I think by the end of the year I will have one..
- Joey, chesterfield, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-19 2003 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my Zuma for about a month. I bought it primarily for camping. However, I am using it more everyday for the neighborhood. I have driven it to my office several times; its a blast. My kids love riding with me; good quality time. I have no negative comments for this bike. Before purchaseing this bike, I spent many hours online looking for the right bike, no doubt I made the right decision. I had a difficult time finding a Zuma, no thanks to the local dealers. I had to call many dealers on my own to find one in stock. NO REGRETS AT ALL. GET ONE!!!!
- Lad Ladner, Gulfport, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-15 2003 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my Zuma last febuary and all I get is positive comments when I'm on it, of course there are some idiots who say stupid things, but who cares what they think. I love My Zuma (Spidey). It's a great passenger bike.
- Brandon Simmons, Concord, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-05 2003 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
this scooter is perfect for anything you want to do. perfect for cruising to the store or riding through muddy trails it will do anything.
- bobo, lalal, Hawaii

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-01 2003 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My zuma is only stock and it flys. Spining the tires are no problem. It only has 1680 miles on it. IM in the process of buying a 70cc cylinder head and a exhaust. it could use more top end power. Very good offroad capability
- josh cobb, Abington , Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-28 2003 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great Bike. Great Vaule! Worth every cent!
- Craven Morehead, Los Angeles, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-09 2003 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This moped is very good. Why i think it is so good it is fast and can easly keep up with traffic in town. I can get mine to do about 45 mph. i think this bike is strong i think it can ride nice with two people. It is also good off road. it goes over dirt mud any thing you put it threw it will go. another great thing is it is easy to take care of. changing oil is way easy. This is the best moped for your money
- Zach Zaputil , Cedar Falls , Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: