BMW Dual Sport Reviews on Cycle Insider (73)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with BMW Dual Sport Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Andre Strydom from Yukon says:

I'm 6'1", 54yrs having owned ZZR1100, Blackbird, GSXr1100, VFR800, FJ1200 to mention but a few. I bought this BMW with 23kkm on the odo. I've managed

Read More (73 reviews)

Have you owned a BMW Dual Sport? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

Voted Most Helpful Review 2004 BMW K 1200 GT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm 6'1", 54yrs having owned ZZR1100, Blackbird, GSXr1100, VFR800, FJ1200 to mention but a few. I bought this BMW with 23kkm on the odo. I've managed to find very good you tube directions to do complete service on her. May I add that I'm not a mechanically minded rider but servicing this bike is a labour of love, quite therapeutic might I add. ito riding...She is heavy regardless! I do not believe this bike commutes well but she is an open road intercontinental joy. I've found many scary stories on the net about the ABS II and yes, I believe that its costly to repair. BMW however do warn that complying with regular servicing with circuit bleeding is a prerequisite. I have to say that this bike is one that you could virtually do most of the work on yourself...the only part that has a dark cloud hang over it is the seal in the clutch. I dread that day as its a major job. On idle, expect to hear that dry clutch sound like a 'thousand tambourines' but its apparently normal. Engine performance: Loads of usable torque makes for a very rewarding ride. Perfectly ratio'd gearing simply makes for great touring. She's not going to scare you performance-wise but these days I'm beyond that. I'm not quite sure what the Bavarian designers were thinking though with the tanksize. Fuel range is below par.... I get about 15-17km/litre which should give me over 300kkm per fillup but the fuelgauge is not linear and things get a little scary as she drops toward 1/4 full. I've subsequently learnt that on a long tour you need to plan re-fuels well but this is a very poor and obvious weakness by designers. The price of spare parts is reasonable but the actual cost of BMW agent servicing is simply shocking...learn to look after as much as possible yourself, its completely do-able and you'll have years of a high quality machine serve you well.
- Andre Strydom, Yukon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-09-10 2004 BMW R 1200 CL Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the most comfortable seat on a bike that I've ever owned...and I owned a 1987 Suzuki Cavalcade 1400 LE. Highway miles just flow under the tires with ease and it handles the back roads with precision. At 65 bhp., you will need to downshift a couple of gears to crank up rpm. during passing. But the six speed tranny makes for easy riding up and down hills.
- Vince, Winchester, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-11-05 2004 BMW R 1150 R Rockster Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am 53 and finally was able to own the bike I always wanted. I was visiting dealers for about 1 year sitting on the bikes and leaving the stores depressed because I was not confident on a bike tip toeing. One night it dawned on me that when added my bags and gears the bike would sag a bit and it may actually lower it, so that was the key to my problem, with inseam 29/30 I was able to find a stock low seat right away on the craigslist and it kind solved the problem. Took a 6 day tour from Central CA to Portland Or, and was amazed by the comfort and performance. The seat is not perfect but every 2-3hrs a stop made the trip confortable enough. I had a foam pad underneath my behind and it made a world of a difference. I ride it for short rides 2-4hrs and it is a fun bike, because it has plenty of clearance for cornering despite, that I scraped my boot on the pavement a few times, I am not a hard rider but enjoy the twisties. I have owned a hondas 360-750's, hd sportster and I currently own an 05 MV F4-1000 witch is the performance bike but, mile per mile, the bmw R 1150 Rockster I think surpasses the fun factor.
- wei, Monterey, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-10-05 2004 BMW R 1150 R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the second review I've posted for this bike. First one was July 2007, called Worth the Wait! I've owned this bike for 3 1/2 years and have put around 8,000 miles on it. I know that's not much, and I wish I could ride more, but I have a family and a demanding job. Like the title says, I'm STILL LOVIN' IT! How can you not enjoy riding such a superb machine as this? It's a beautiful machine, too. It's red and I keep it immaculate, so it gets a lot of looks. I'm in the middle of replacing the battery - wow, talk about open heart surgery! You damn near gotta take the whole bike apart to get to the battery. I hope the replacement battery lasts five years like the original lasted. And I pray I get it all put back together the right way! ;) I can't say enough good things about this bike. I feel lucky to own it. Will write again in a couple more years.
- Tom Hayson, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-08 2004 BMW R 1150 R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my used 2003 R1150R for over a year now and ridden it all over the roads of VA, WV, and MD and also roundtrip to Fl and have enjoyed all 12,000 miles I've put on it. Handles the twisty's fabulously and with a Sargent seat and a an Alaska sheepskin butt pad burning 2hrs of highway before a break is not a problem. Been 100% reliable so far, not a single issue, just required normal maintenance. Buy it - you'll like it!
- Erik W, Washington, District of Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-10-10 2004 BMW R 1150 RT (ABS) Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my '04 RT in January of '07 with 34,173 miles. As of this writing, I have put 10,000 miles on the bike in 10 months. Riding includes to and from work, to a 5,000 mile trip out west (Nevada) and back. This bike does everything I ask of it - from the power delivery, to the comfort, to the cornering capabilities, to the ease of maintenance. I enjoy this bike, and certainly don't mind riding to work in the rain. The weather protection is decent, and the Metzler tires that it's equipped with really grip the road well, even when wet. And speaking of wet, the heated hand grips are worth their weight in gold. The storage capacity is good, and I keep the necessary gear loaded, just in case Mother Nature decides to add a challenge to the ride. I don't regret purchasing a bike with 34,000+ miles.
- Jason Nieding, Cleveland, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-21 2004 BMW R 1150 GS Adventure Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my GS for about 4 months now and I love it. I love dual sport bikes because of the type of riding I do. I started with the KLR then bought a V-STROM because of my size I needed more power. After some modification on both the KLR and the Suzuki it just wasn't enough for me so I bought my GS. I cruise at 90 with out even knowing it. It's perfect for me.
- steve, hoover, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-28 2004 BMW R 1150 R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Hard to improve on this machine. The only thing I would change is the saddle height. I travel 40 miles a day round trip to work on this machine 95 percent of the time, the other 5 percent I feel like I'm missing something.
- George Hastie, Trenton, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-19 2004 BMW R 1100 S BoxerCup Replika Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This motorcycle turns heads! It is absolutely breathtaking to see going down the road. And...It doesn't stop there -- to feel it is like nothing you can explain. It will do whatever you want it to: cruise around -- slow and easy -- or take it to the limit...it floats and glides and goes into another dimension like nothing you have or will ever experience on any other motorcycle. Extremely smooth and comfortable...especially for those who are inseam-challenged since it has lowered shocks! This is an awesome motorcycle.
- Kim, Bedford, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-13 2004 BMW R 1200 CL Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding for more than 35 years and have owned all kinds of motorcycles from a Honda CL 160 all the way up to my 1997 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic to which I added many extras to try and make it a touring bike. Now that I have the BMW R 1200 CL, it cannot hold a candle in comparison. The Vulcan is not nearly as comfortable even with a $400 custom Bill Mayer touring seat, and suspension wise, forget about it. I prefer the Vulcan for around town cruising and the R 1200 LC for longer trips and it really shines on twisty curvy roads, a delight to drive. The Vulcan cannot handle twisties like the BMW. There are so many finely engineered mechanical features on this model BMW, they are really too numerous to try and mention them all. I really appreciate the nice layout of the dash with attention to details like two tripometers, tachometer, and that classic looking analog clock (a nice old school touch.) The cruise control is easy to use and helps on longer trips. I haven't had a chance to use the heated grips or heated seat yet because I live in So. California where it will seldom be needed. I like the easy adjustment of the suspension system with just a twist of the knob you are ready for two up riding and another twist to go back to single riding. There is ample room for any junk you just have to carry around. I use the the top trunk for registration/insurance papers, leathers, jacket and would still have room for a few small grocery items (i.e. a 6 pack). I like the slighly less than roomy saddle bags and how they easily lock. Even with the CD stereo unit built into the right side bag there is still room to hold a helmet, gloves and small clothing items. The stereo system is not audiophile quality, but OK and I enjoy having the weather station at my fingertips. The controls are easy to use and accessible while riding and not becoming distracted. I can hear the system OK even at 70 mph, especially when playing CDs. Parked I can give a concert at tailgate parties! I was happy to find my R 1200 CL and purchase it as a pre-owned bike. The previous owner must have been a dedicated rider as the bike was very well maintained and I plan to keep her that way. I get a lot of compliments on the bike and that wild looking metallic blue really stands out in a crowd. I am very happy with this motorcycle.
- Greg from Bakersfield, CA, Bakersfield, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-12 2004 BMW R 1200 CL Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first big bike. I got accustomed to the handling right away. Smooth and easy to handle except for low speed parking lot manuvers. Speedo is approximately 10% off. I like the low seat, it fits like a glove.
- mike hummer, modesto , California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-23 2004 BMW R 1150 R Rockster Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Been riding dirt and street bikes for years but this is my first BMW. Wanted a high quality, nice handling, reliable bike for longer rides with 'two-up' and I didn't want one of those ubiquitous Japanese models. Got my wish! My only complaint is the saddle. For a bike that is supposed to be good for the long distance my butt goes numb after 60 miles! A Sargent saddle is definitely in the future. Standard saddle height low enough for my 29 inch inseam. Get about 40 miles per gallon though a larger gas tank would have been nice. Weird looking bike and that's why I like it. Not commonly seen - lots of stares and comments from the two and four wheel group.
- Jay Harding, Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-19 2004 BMW R 1150 R Rockster Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My last bike was a Suzuki V-Strom, so with the new bike I wanted something that wasn't a full blown sport bike- but something that was sportier than the V-Strom. I rode a lot of bikes before buying the Rockster- and I'm happy I got it. It is comfortable on longer rides, and you still get a sporty and fun ride. With no windscreen you can get blown around pretty good, and it definitely isn't as fast as some of the other bikes I was comparing it to (Aprilia Tuono, Ducati Monster), but all around it's a great bike. I think I will be happy with this one for a long time.
- Andy, Eagle Mountain, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-28 2004 BMW R 1150 RT (ABS) Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I primarily commute on the bike but also get out for longer runs occasionally when I can. Never thought I'd be wishing for a longer commute but once you get on this bike you don't want to get off it. That is of course until your butt starts screaming at you. At 5'9", I have the seat at its lowest setting. This leads to the famous BMW slide toward the gas tank and makes longer trips less than ideal. On a bike where everything is so incredibly well thought out, it amazes me that the saddle (central to a decent riding experience) can be so bad. Even on short trips I find myself continually squirming and repositioning myself in the saddle. Sure I can buy an aftermarket saddle for $500 - $600 but when you spend the kind of money that you do for this bike, I don't think I should have to. Only other gripe is that I occasionally get some funky feedback from the handlebars for no apparent reason. This tends to happen at lower speeds or when taking tight corners but it's never been a major issue and overall the stability of the bike is incredible. When I first started to ride it I was a bit overawed by the size and weight but no matter how hard I push it into corners it never budges and I've never felt anything other than in complete control. It's also amazing how a huge bike can shrink the longer you have it. When I look at it now it doesn't seem in any way large compared to when I bought it. I've heard and read some complaints about the servo assist brakes but personally I have no problem with them. When you ride a bike anything that will help you stop quicker while maintaining control can only be a good thing. Despite the above moaning, I absolutely love my RT. I fell in love with the styling the first time I saw it and was completely smitten after I finally got to test ride it. Everything about the bike inspires confidence, and the reliability is second to none. I've ridden it almost every day since I drove it off the showroom floor and have not had a single issue. Scheduled services have been done despite the feeling that she would keep running without them. On longer trips this reliability along with a 6 gallon tank means you can just sit back and enjoy with no worries about leaking fluids, bits falling off or how long to the next gas station. No bike is perfect and everybody is looking for something different. This is not a sports bike but will keep up with most of them if asked to, it's not an all out tourer in the ilk of a Wing or an LT but it'll take you from one end of the continent to the other no problem, and it's not a cruiser but will allow you to cruise all day (and with fewer gas breaks) with a little help in the saddle department. My RT is not perfect but she is like an old friend now, completely reliable, confidence inspiring and always fun to hang out with.
- John, Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-03 2004 BMW R 1150 GS Adventure Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike was purchased in April 2003 and is the 44th motorcycle I own. Obviously, serious trail riding isn't something that can be done with a machine this size, but then that wasn't the intention. It does very well on an occasional dirt road but this bike is one of the best all around touring motorcycles avaiable. It is nimble in the curves and handles an interstate with no sweat. The more you load it with luggage and gear, the better it handles and the smoother the ride. I am 5'7 and I have no trouble at all with the GS. It's great for an afternoon ride or a 4,000 mile vacation. Heated grips are wonderful and the mileage range is good too. The only alteration that is a must is the stock seat! Much too soft and it is literally a pain in the butt. Overall, the R1150GS is a fantastic machine.
- timothy, lenoir, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-30 2004 BMW R 1150 GS Adventure Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The 04 Adventure has been a great bike. I like it's adaptibility. It is a decent off road bike and can take you on the those long distance rides in fairly good comfort. For those looking to off road more, you might want to consider that the bike feels extremely top heavy, is hard to handle in deep sand or gravel without maintaining a dangerous speed, and the lowest gear is not low enough to engine brake on trails where you need to lower your speed to 25 MPH or slower. So, going down steep dirt hills with no engine braking and nothing but your brakes on a 500+ lb bike equals difficulty. This may be different for some but I found the bars to be too low to stand for extended periods of time. I also found the footpegs too narrow and uncomfortable while standing. For touring the bike is great, it keeps a straight line on the highway and can handle high wind and gusts with its weight and power. You can load a lot of gear onto the bike with room to spare. The windshield is a little shorter than I needed (I'm 6'4). The seat is incredibly uncomfortable... way too soft and limitis long distance riding without an aftermarket seat or seat pad of some kind. Dispite a few short comings, I still love the bike over others and can easily fine tune the bike to fit me just right with a few aftermarket products.
- Steve, Las Vegas, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-05 2004 BMW R 1100 S (ABS) Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my '04 R1100S in Jan.'05 while still riding two other hot performance bikes. Couldn't help but fall in love with it at first sight. Today, she is the only one in my stable because simply put, the S is all the bike I'll ever need. She's fast, nimble, reliable, and a great traveler. Took it from OR to MI this past summer and literally had the speedo pegged at 100+ thru Mont. and N.Dakota. Same on the return thru S. Dakota and Wyoming. The cops don't care as long as you are careful! It never used any oil after break-in and never missed a beat. The bike was designed for the autobahn and it did not disappoint. There's plenty of room for solo riding with hard bags and a tail bag. I look forward to many more rewarding trips around the U.S. Unfortunately, they don't make this bike anymore. '04 was the last year for this incredible machine.
- Valentino, Canby, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-21 2004 BMW R 1150 R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The R1150R is very close to doing every thing right. It handled a 700 mile trip in constant rain with no problem. Power assist servo's are still touchie...but it does work. Overall, a great ride.
- John Thomas, Livonia, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-20 2004 BMW R 1150 RT (ABS) Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
What a great bike. Had an '02 RT and it too was fine except for the surging motor. The Twin Spark '04 totally eliminates that problem and lets the flat twin run like a BMW should. Smooth with torque every where in the power band. Have done multiple trips to Alabama, Florida Panhandle, and northern Georgia in the past year. Bike is a mile eater. 6th gear lets you cruise at 80mph all day long and the motor feels like it's barely idling. You can knock off 300 miles before you realize it's 10am. Comfort is amazing and the electric windshield works as advertised, keeping wind blast off your face. I am most impressed with the handling and brakes. Can keep up with almost anyone on a twisty road, and absolutely outbrake anything out there except another BMW. Nice to have ABS with all the deer running around Michigan. I ride to work 9 months a year and 25 degree weather isn't even an issue. There are other bikes that are faster, handle better, etc., but this BMW (like most) excels at all of those attributes to become an excellent all-around bike.
- rpg, Farmington Hills, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-13 2004 BMW R 1150 RT (ABS) Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike used after renting one in Arizona. It had 12k on it and got it for a very good price. I like the bike but wish it had a larger peg for the rear brake pedal will buy a after market extension. I do get some cycling vibe thru the handle bar's more so then the rental and I do get the surging in the 3k range from time to time. I was told the 4 plug model does not do that well mine does. I wanted the 1150 over the 1100 for the six speed box gear box for the most part it is pretty good and the that 6th gear is nice. I do have trouble @ times where it does not want to go into 1st and have to rev it a little then it seem's to work okay. I really need to add cruise control as the throttle return is a bit on the heavy side. Hope to correct the surging with a valve adjustment and sync the F.I. Hope to learn how to do this and do most of the maint. myself.
- John Goodwyn, EDGEWOOD, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-17 2004 BMW R 1150 RT (ABS) Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I HAVE OWNED MY 1150RT FOR ABOUT 18MONTHS. I LOVE THE BIKE, FLUID LINES (NO HARD EDGES LIKE THE '05), EXCELLENT HANDLING, GREAT ABS (MAYBE TOO GOOD-GRAB A HANDFULL AND HOLD ON), HEATED GRIPS, ACCESSORY PORTS AND PLENTY OF STORAGE. HOWEVER, I AM STILL BURNING OIL (BREAK IN CAN LAST TO 10K MILES IM TOLD) AND THE SEAT WAS DESIGNED BY THE DEVIL HIMSELF! (EXTREME FORWARD LEAN AND WIDE). ELECTRONIC CRUISE CONTROL AND A RADIO SHOULD BE BASIC OPTIONS ON A BIKE SUCH AS THIS.
- Mike, Batavia, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-27 2004 BMW R 1150 GS Adventure Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The 1150 GS Adventure is the perfect machine for a quick European tour. Two weeks across England, France, Switzerland, Liechtenstein, Italy & Germany; no issues at all and purring beautifully on its return.
- David Hills, London, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-16 2004 BMW R 1200 CL Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Been riding this bike from March 2005-new. I've ridden this fabulous bike across Canada, down to CA through WA, ID, NV [ during March of this year-2006]. A very satisfying smily ride. Wish I had cruise, they didn't bring the CL into Canada with cruise otherwise it's a "ride all day" and still be pleasant to your riding mates when the day is over. Only gripe is that it's an "oddball" so acccessories like a Throttle Meister aren't available. But for the in seam challenge with a desire for a cruiser with some real handling ability nothing else is like it.
- dparas, leduc, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-11 2004 BMW R 1150 RT (ABS) Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Had Harley's before I shipped out for Iraq. Thought I would buy another one, but I just didn't find one that turned my head and am I glad because it lead me to this great bike. Bought this used 2004 with 10,000 miles in great shape and at a great price. I have put almost 3,000 miles and it makes me smile everytime I hop on and twist the throttle. Great response and handling, smooth and consistant power. Shifting a bit clunky but overall fairly good. The seat is a bit unconfortable and I am looking for a new wind screen, but overall I could not be happier!
- hoodtex, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-14 2004 BMW R 1150 R Rockster Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After 24 years of responsibilities raising a family, I told my wife that I would be returning to motorcycling. My last bike in 1981 was a souped up Suzuki GS450. The way it was setup it was a killer bike for riding the curves of Skyline Blvd between SF and Santa Cruz. But within ten minutes of riding my new Green Rockster I was rocketed back to 1982! It is everything that I have always wished for in a bike. Fast, good looks (in a guy kind of way), and a true road performer. Each time I get on the Rockster I return to that mystical world of GP races, Laguan Seca, Sears Point, and the life I missed for 24 years. Thank you Rockster.
- Santiago, Hollister, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: