BMW R 1150 R Dual Sport Reviews on Cycle Insider (16)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with BMW R 1150 R Dual Sport Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a BMW R 1150 R Dual Sport? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2009-10-05 2004 BMW R 1150 R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the second review I've posted for this bike. First one was July 2007, called Worth the Wait! I've owned this bike for 3 1/2 years and have put around 8,000 miles on it. I know that's not much, and I wish I could ride more, but I have a family and a demanding job. Like the title says, I'm STILL LOVIN' IT! How can you not enjoy riding such a superb machine as this? It's a beautiful machine, too. It's red and I keep it immaculate, so it gets a lot of looks. I'm in the middle of replacing the battery - wow, talk about open heart surgery! You damn near gotta take the whole bike apart to get to the battery. I hope the replacement battery lasts five years like the original lasted. And I pray I get it all put back together the right way! ;) I can't say enough good things about this bike. I feel lucky to own it. Will write again in a couple more years.
- Tom Hayson, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-08 2004 BMW R 1150 R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my used 2003 R1150R for over a year now and ridden it all over the roads of VA, WV, and MD and also roundtrip to Fl and have enjoyed all 12,000 miles I've put on it. Handles the twisty's fabulously and with a Sargent seat and a an Alaska sheepskin butt pad burning 2hrs of highway before a break is not a problem. Been 100% reliable so far, not a single issue, just required normal maintenance. Buy it - you'll like it!
- Erik W, Washington, District of Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-28 2004 BMW R 1150 R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Hard to improve on this machine. The only thing I would change is the saddle height. I travel 40 miles a day round trip to work on this machine 95 percent of the time, the other 5 percent I feel like I'm missing something.
- George Hastie, Trenton, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-21 2004 BMW R 1150 R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The R1150R is very close to doing every thing right. It handled a 700 mile trip in constant rain with no problem. Power assist servo's are still touchie...but it does work. Overall, a great ride.
- John Thomas, Livonia, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-10 2004 BMW R 1150 R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Re-entry bike for me. I have owned a variety in the past but it has been a few years since the last one. I looked all winter and began testing in the spring. I knew the 1150R was the choice within a few blocks of the dealership. This is a very comfortable and well thought out machine. I have the heated grips and ABS and like both. The gearbox is clunky and my only complaint. I can live with it but it is not up to the level of the rest of the bike. This bike is an excellent choice between a cruiser or sport bike.
- Shelby, Livermore, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-08 2004 BMW R 1150 R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I started riding a motorcycle three months ago. I had no previous knowledge of motorcycles so I took a riding class and bought the R 1150 based on reviews, price and recommendations. I love it. At first I thought it would be to much to handle, but in a short time I have become very comfortable and pleased that I got the 1150. I take it to work and I cruise open Texas roads. The bike handles great on both and is very comfortable for my size. Every night before I come in from the garage I just stop and look at it, the curves and lines are awesome and I get a lot of looks from folks around town.
- Chris Kralich, Dallas, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-18 2004 BMW R 1150 R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my third bike, replacing a Triumph Daytona and Suzuki SV650. It's great on back roads and on the freeway. The economics are near perfect after adding a Corbin Seat and Bar Backs. I lowered the pegs to gain leg room, but removed them after losing too much ground clearance during cornering. I still love it - good power, smooth, very stable in corners, very reliable - it almost needs a problem or two to keep it intersting and give it more character. It is German engineered and it shows. The quality of manufacture and attention to detail is amazing! I have a severe case of needing (actually wanting) another BMW - one just isn't enough!!
- Tom Radue, Savage, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-07 2004 BMW R 1150 R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have the 2003 R1 150 R with ABS. I commute to and from work on the bike every day, thanks to corporate casual. The bike works great, in city driving the ABS is very good, after you get used to how sensitive it can be. My only complaint is the seats available from BMW, I have both the standard and the "comfort" seat. Neither one has enough support. Plus I'm in a slightly pronounced leaning position with too much weight on my wrists and palms. It has taken me a while to become accustom to the weight, at 530 lbs. Empty it isn't a light weight bike. Overall, I've enjoyed the bike and definitely recommend it to other riders. I think it does need some work on the peg placement, but that may be just because, at 56, I need a little less lean and more leg room.
- Ron, Plano, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-11 2004 BMW R 1150 R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had this bike for a year and although I haven't put too many miles on it, I love it. Have had sport bikes, cruisers, etc., and this bike is a combination of them all. Handles great, has excellent power and is reasonably comfortable. Peg to seat distance is a bit short though. It is definitely a looker and the price was reasonable. My buddy has a VTX1300 and the Beamer is more comfortable and absolutely smokes it.
- john, ashland, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-12 2004 BMW R 1150 R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My local dealer had a Dark Ferro Blue Metallic R1150RA in stock at 0.9% and BMW of North America pays the first 5 payments, so how could you go wrong with that deal! Anyway, I agree with all the comments about the acceleration, suspension, and agility through the twisties. I am an inch shorter than she is and I can see that the pegs will need to be dropped down as well. Also, the dealer rotated the clutch and front brake levers too far down and I would like them at a shallower angle, so it's not so much of a reach even at the #1 setting. I think I may need to add some riser blocks to the bar, so that the sitting position is a little more upright and take the pressure off my palms a bit. If I make the bike comfy for me then the wife will like it as well. Other than those two things the bike has a very high 'giggle factor' when out cruising the twisties!
- John, Williamsburg, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-20 2004 BMW R 1150 R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the first bike I have owned. Only knock is the footpegs, which I fixed with a peg lowering kit. Around town, or on big high mileage adventures, it's always fun and this bike has all the stuff the gearheads love to talk about. I can't get into all the technical talk - I just like to get on the bike and go... and this bike goes.
- Steve S., Randolph, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-19 2004 BMW R 1150 R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had the bike for about a week now. Only 200 miles so far, but what a great bike. It handles great, nice brakes (non-ABS), very good real world performance, good comfort, and it has (boxer engine)character. This is my 10th bike in 18 years and a keeper.
- AL, Westchester, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-02 2004 BMW R 1150 R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This motorcycle is fantastic. I have had six bikes before this one (all cruisers). This bike tops them all. Acceleration is great as is overall engine performance. Seating position takes a little getting used to but it is comfortable. No more lower back pain. My bike has the power assisted ABS brakes. They are just the best... period. Overall quality is first class. These bikes cost more than the Japanese bikes but in my opinion, they are worth it.
- Craig Schmidt, Media, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-27 2004 BMW R 1150 R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After riding this motorcycle for 15 months in all kinds of weather, on the slab, through twisties, in the city, I've got to agree with the other reviewers that this bike does it all. The balance and slow speed maneuverability are excellent, stability at high speed (90+)is solid. That motor always wants to give you more. Flickability and stability in twisties are also superb. On the highway I'm getting real close to 50 mpg. The brakes on my non-ABS are the best I've ever had. The suspension really allows this bike to perform as well, or better, than much more expensive bikes. The motor is solid: the bike's fast with real decent torque. On the negative side, I agree that the rider pegs cramp the rider too much, even a short rider, but this can be corrected. And yeah there is some surging (mine is single spark) but it's never a real problem and it goes away in time. I came over to BMWs in the early 80's, they are not the fastest, not the coolest, not the best at any one thing, but there's just something about them I seem to mesh with. For the price, the r1150r is the best deal out there. And with proper care, these bikes will last forever. Hope this review is helpful.
- Dave F., Walkersville, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-15 2004 BMW R 1150 R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
An all-around great bike. Fun, easy to ride and plenty of power. The brakes and handling are awesome. Acceleration is good. Suspension is the best I've had in 20 years of riding. My only complaint is the seating position. Footpegs are a bit close for a tall rider. I moved them down 2" and it is perfect.
- John Pope, Tucson, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-31 2004 BMW R 1150 R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike, a 2004 BMW R1150R. All I can say is wow. All the reviews are true on this bike. Great handling, suspension, seating position, and more power than I know what to do with. Stability and handling are confidence inspiring. I see myself having this bike for a long time, plus you don't get lost in a crowd like the Harley folks (no offense). If you want a great all-around bike, this bike is worth a look (and a free test drive from your local BMW dealer).
- waltrider, Northville, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: