Ducati Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (17)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Ducati Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Ducati Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2008-09-16 2004 Ducati Supersport 1000 DS Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
All I can say is it's totally awesome! My previous bike after a 13 year lull was a '94 SS and all I can say is the 1000DS is worlds apart. The motor spins effortlessly right into the nether regions of the speed and rev limit; it never for a moment feels vague or disoriented in any way. I'm in love. It's not the latest or greatest, but for me it satisfies all needs of a modern biker - speed, handling, reliable and smooth power delivery, encompassing wonderful handling properties which leave the rider looking for more corners and tighter bends in every foray on the open road. I love it and I don't wish to part company any time soon. Here's to an ol' girl with plenty to offer the discerning rider.
- John , Bunbury, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-29 2004 Ducati Multistrada 1000DS Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a silver/grey 2003 model with 20,000 miles on it. With full service history. I've just come back to biking after a 12 year gap and I have to say I love this thing! Handles superbly with good tyres-Pirelli Scorpions(original fitment here)are fine and the tread pattern really suits the look of the bike. The weather here in Ireland really does not suit Ducati's - corrosion is a real problem on any exposed metal surface especially the engine casings and brake/clutch levers. I was really suprised how light and narrow the bike feels compared to a Japanese straight 4 - as a result the seat height is not a problem even for someone of my stature and I felt right at home after only a few short miles. Wind protection is only okay -anything over 75mph is a real pain if you intend on covering any distance. Jesus - that side stand is plain dangerous!- very unstable. Ducati will offer an improved version to anyone who contacts them - I believe that 2005 onwards models do not have this problem. However, overall the feel good factor I get riding this thing more than makes up for any minor gripes I may have.
- Brendan C, Dublin, Ireland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-30 2004 Ducati 999 S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I struggled with the looks of the 999 series at first, but now I love them. One test ride was all it took to hook me into the 999S. The power and handling not to mention the comfort is amazing. To me the design now looks like something from the formula 1 circuit. So far the bike has been dead reliable, absolutely no complaints. If your stuck with loving the looks of the 916/998 series, try one of these. I never thought I would say this but in some ways the 916/998 series bikes now appear to look a little dated! For me the point is that at some time they all start to look a little dated with the passage of time. So why not ride something that still looks great but is cutting edge technology for today? The Ohlins suspension and the S package in general are great. How can you not like 136HP, from a stock V twin!!
- Nocaster, Calgary, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-19 2004 Ducati Multistrada 1000DS Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought an 04' MTS, in red this spring. It was a demo bike from Ducati Richmond. It is a great bike! Much more comfortable with its riding position. I like it b/c it's an all-rounder. I can take it on long trips, ride it around town, to work. And it's got a perfomance enough to rival sportbikes! The DS engine is, I think, one of Ducati's best. Only problem has been an exhaust leak, which has been known to occur on bikes fitted with the Termi exhuast. It's being remedied, but it is my only real problem I've had with the bike. I will be looking into a touring seat in the future!
- Aaron F., Virginia Beach, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-01-06 2004 Ducati 999 S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike surprised me at how refined and smooth it feels. Throttle response is instant no matter if you're rolling onto or just opening it up. Brakes are phenomenal with feel and power. The best part of the ride is the torque that is instantly present all the way to redline. My only complaint is that my wrists become uncomfortable if I'm working the clutch a lot. I don't have this problem on the curvy or the long stretches of hwy. I really am pleased with the 999S, it has great power and power delivery. The torque of the twin makes it my favorite engine configuration for the street and occasionally track day.
- Patrick, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-14 2004 Ducati Multistrada 1000DS Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought this bike one month ago and it is in a league of its own. I researched it before I bought it and decided to test drive it (do not test drive this bike unless you are prepared to buy it). I grew up on dirt bikes and enjoy the similar stance that the multistrada offers. I admire the sport bike hunch but for the all purpose riding that I need, this bike has it all! The bike is light and maneuvers with ease. Response out of the dual spark is incredible! Fuel capacity is a problem if you need distance but it won't be a problem for me. That is the only thing I can say about it that could be a problem for some. THIS BIKE ROCKS!
- Bill Cullison, San Rafael, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-11 2004 Ducati Monster 620 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Things I like about the monster 620ie are the seating position, the vtwin sound and torque, the nakedness, light weight low seat height, and looks that wont grow old. Things I don't like are the stiffly sprung front fork, low clearance, the front header always hits speed bumps, and the lack of a bigger storage compartment. My previous bike was a 1999yzf-R1 but i still love the monster..nuff said.
- rob, Philippines

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-20 2004 Ducati Multistrada 1000DS Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Finding a bike that can double as a sport bike and tourer is not easy, but the Multistrada is pure magic, fantastic on the open road and brilliant on the twisties. Computer system had to be replaced and just needed to be cut out, which is just like hitting the kill button... very unerving when it happened. After replacing the command unit, no more problems. Front brakes suffer from juddering in the last few feet before stopping. That will need to be sorted. Useless mirrors and crazy fuel gauge are the only real gripes. Superb riding position for the taller riders, short riders might find it hard getting their feet on the ground. Handling is magnificent and this bike will teach the R1s and GIXXER's a thing or two. Not ballistic in the power range but more than ample to dispose of most other machines, here's hoping they stick the 999 lump in it one day and then it will be untouchable.
- Phil Dinnis, Kissimmee, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-27 2004 Ducati Multistrada 1000DS Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike feels very light, more like an open class motorcross bike with killer tires! The throttle response is like nothing else you will ever ride; really. So smooth, linear but nicely intense. Dry clutch has been fine. Best shifting bike I've ever owned. Mirrors are a crime! Zero problems the first year of ownership. Riding from Texas to South Dakota in August on it, so I trust it 100%. I have no problem strongly recommending this bike.
- Boyd Rose, Arlington, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-06 2004 Ducati Supersport 1000 DS Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am the very recent owner (11/02/04), of an '05 1000 DS. My last mount was a Ducati 900 SS/FE, a rare and unique bike. The difference in the two bikes however, is amazing. I am first and foremost impressed with the new generation twin-spark, fuel injected engine and its seemingly quantum leap in torque. Good work Ducati. I mean, this thing is incredible! I had a set of Remus carbon cans installed before I took delivery, knowing that the stock exhaust system is quite restrictive and renders the Duc as melodic as a Sears lawn tractor. I believe it liberated about 7 HP, according to the Mechanic. The bike has a definite sport feel, yet behaves in a civil manner, reacting predictably to expansion joints and other road maladies. It is a bit cramped, but that is the nature of this type of bike. I have not noticed the type of power fade I had experienced from my previous Duc, and hope that the Fuel injection has remedied that problem, as it was quite pronounced on my '98 900. This machine exudes character, from the quirky clutch antics to the beautiful clattering of Desmodromic valve actuation, and is a must for someone who has run the Japanese Sport bike gamut and is now ready for the panache that only a Ducati can provide.
- Andrew MacVicar, Sacramento, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-04 2004 Ducati Multistrada 1000DS Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just bought a dealer-used rare Black Multistrada. Put on about 100 miles this weekend and can't wait to do more. I got a fantastic deal - I paid less for the Ducati than I would have paid for a Kawasaki, Yamaha, Honda, or Suzuki. Ride is fantastic. Nothing unsettles the bike. Grips the road perfectly, even on the poorly maintained county roads around my house. Acceleration is simply amazing, even with my big self on the bike. Brakes have serious power up front. The clutch is a bit stiff, but not bad enough to matter, and the transmission doesn't miss. The lights are super bright, and controls are intuitive. The seat isn't so bad, but I've only put 45 minutes on at a stretch. I'll probably give an update after a couple thousand miles, but I LOVE this bike.
- matt, Chester, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-24 2004 Ducati Supersport 1000 DS Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my Ducati in April of 2004 and after 3 Japanese brands of motorcycle(Suzuki GS 500LF 1985, Honda 750-4 '79, and a Kawaski ZX-9RD '01) I feel I have found my destiny in sport bikes. Power and handling are 5 star, I ran, in a friendly race against a Hayabusa 1300 on the highway and was thoroughly impressed with the power and the speed at which I was able to reach redline. I love this Ducati!
- Murrill McLean, Danville, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-17 2004 Ducati Multistrada 1000DS Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the most impressive bike I've ever owned. I started riding three decades ago, mostly Harleys and wanted something with sport bike power & handling. Problem is those bikes are not made for tall riders. The first time I sat on this bike it fit like a fine leather glove. Being used to heavy machines I've had to go easy on that throttle otherwise it's on one wheel. This bike sits quite high and as such is great for those of us on the large size. Power at about 85 Hp on a 400 Lb. bike is great! The handling is super. This thing slices corners like soft butter. Fairings keep the wind off the legs very well. Wind screen is somewhat effective but probably better for a shorter rider. The mirrors are great for checking on your elbows & the side lanes but again my size may be a factor. I looked at many bikes but there's just something about those Italians!
- RC, Napa, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-14 2004 Ducati Supersport 1000 DS Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is my 1st Ducati, but my 8th sportbike. I was a bit worried about the tranny for the first 500kms, but all the false neutrals/missed shifts have sorted themselves out since break in. The bike has so much character when ridden. The sounds, the shakes, the looks, the feel, and even the differences day to day. It is very special every time I ride it. It lacks the head snapping acceleration above 200km/hr, but sub 200 it is really a wicked smooth ride. Naturally it is rock stable in the corners, and deceptively quick since there are fewer moments of holy crap as the bike is so easy to ride fast. I am very pleased and would buy this one all over again, which is saying a lot. My last Honda 929 I wanted to sell after 3 weeks. I have put Termi low rise, and a K&N filter with open airbox lid. The sound is to die for, and the machine has a quicker response now. First gear can power the front up at will, and second is just plain hang-on fun with the occasional small powerlift now. I would say I need about 10 more hp to have a pure dream ride machine. That would make the 1000ds a legend in sportbike rider satisfaction history.
- Lou tattrie, Whitby, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-12 2004 Ducati 749S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first Duc, and could've picked a better one. This thing has both bark and bite...not the fastest around, but handling is very strong and predictable and the people that turn around in their cars and follow me to the gas station is getting a little rediculous. Clutch is heavy, but this is not a bike you are buying to sit in traffic. Favorite features???? This bike transmitts so many fantastic sounds from the exhaust tone, the airbox, clutch and even the front brakes. Highly recommended if you live in an area you can actually ride...read as: desires to be on the track and out of rain...
- 749S Rider, Novi, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-27 2004 Ducati Multistrada 1000DS Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
So far I love this bike. It's very comfortable for a taller person. It might be harder for a smaller person to ride due to its overall height. It seems very light for its size. Overall everything is good on the bike, stock seat is a bit hard but does provide good feedback also. Mirrors are almost useless for me; maybe I just haven't found a good position yet. Suspension adjustability is great; accessories selection is good from Ducati, slow in coming from others. Shifting is positive, braking is good. Low-end punch is awesome! This really is a great bike. If you don't like how it looks, go and ride one anyway!
- Madmatt, Fredonia, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-05 2004 Ducati Monster 620 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I wanted to buy a bike; I was looking for a Harley. I was about to hand over the money for a Harley Sportster 855, when I noticed that it was simply, a one-person bike, which I would have to customize to make it a two-person bike. I was looking also at a Yamaha very nice looking very, very fast, but everyone had one of those. that's when I started to think more about the Ducati. So there I was...I was about to buy the Multistrada 1000. Excellent bike, but I started thinking about my car payments, house etc. that's when I decided to go for the Monster 620 i.e. I bought my Yellow Monster. Beautiful bike. (I choose that color so that people can see me from far away. don't get fooled by the small engine. It performs great. The best thing about this bike besides its handling. Is the respect other bikers give you. I when to one of those bars on Thursday nights where there were at least 100 bikes. All of them where Yamahas, Hondas, Suzuki's all Japanese bikes were there. I parked my bike and walked away. All these guys one by one walked to my bike and stared at it for minutes. I am not kidding, they have no shame on admiring it. My head grew so much I could not put my helmet back on :). Finally when I was about to leave this guy told me " You have the Lamborghini of motorcycles, the best bike of all of these" Imagine how I felt. Now 1,500 miles later, around the beaches and mountains of Puerto Rico I can tell you that I am very satisfied with my purchase, even thou I had to pay around 2k more that what you would pay in USA.
- Carmelo Milian, Humacao, Puerto Rico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: