Honda Cruiser Reviews on Cycle Insider (390)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda Cruiser Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Anonymous from Rosamond says:

Great bike! Has a low center of gravity and handles like a dream whether it's on a canyon road or the Interstate. Water cooler and shaft drive means l

Read More (390 reviews)

Have you owned a Honda Cruiser? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

Voted Most Helpful Review 2004 Honda VTX1300C Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great bike! Has a low center of gravity and handles like a dream whether it's on a canyon road or the Interstate. Water cooler and shaft drive means lots of trouble free riding. Typical Honda. Very well thought out.
- Anonymous, Rosamond

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-06-12 2004 Honda Valkyrie Rune NRX1800 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
A comfortable ride for one. More power than you can safely use. Good riding position, low center of gravity. A 900 lb beast that draws attention everywhere. Especially noticeable when riding with a group of Harleys.
- James Vander Poel, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-10-25 2004 Honda Shadow Aero (VT750) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I haven't ridden a bike for several years, approximately 15. I purchased one from a friend and rode home 900 kms. in one day. I was amazed at how smooth it was and the power it had. On the highway my average speed was 115 kmh. but when I needed to pass it still had power. I ride with a group who all have larger bikes and find no problem keeping up with them. The bike is just the right size to be able to move when you have to. I'm 58-years-old and love it.
- Reg, plentywood, Saskatchewan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-09-27 2004 Honda 919 (CB900F) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my 919 for six years and I've been to San Diego, Vegas, Tahoe, Reno to LA and i live in San Francisco. It's the best bike I ever had. I think your body can not stand this type of bike. Yea, this bike is not your typical crusier, which I think is what you need. I am 49 years old, just came from Vegas, great time on my 919.
- jose hernandez, millbrae, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-04-12 2004 Honda ST1300 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought it new back in 2004 and I have never put this many miles on one bike before. She is running as strong as the day I brought it home back in 2004. Change oil and filter, spark plugs, brake pads, headlight and tires. I head out tomorrow to the west coast and not worry about it.
- Noll Davis, Winchester, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-12-23 2004 Honda 919 (CB900F) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned a 919 Hornet for about nine months now and really love it. I was a little reluctant to buy it, because I wanted something that was fast. After riding it for 9,000 miles, and several short duels with other bikes and sports cars, I have determined that it might not be "fast" like my buddy's RL, (180ish) but it is just as quick as almost anything out there. I mean from light to light, it is very quick! I also determined that I don't want to ride at 180 mph. It's just not my thing. With no fairing, 140 is scary enough. I am happy with the smooth torquey power the fireblade motor makes, and with a bafflectomy it sounds awesome! The brakes are solid, and the cornering is decent. I have pushed it a time or 10, and so far, have found its limits are better than my skill level allows me to go. I have gotten the back to slide a bit in a hard corner, but it seemed to take care of itself. I use it for daily commutes of 30 miles, and for playing on weekends. I may eventually get a faster bike, but for now, this is an everyday bike I can have fun, and learn on. I get lots of positive comments on it because they are so rare in the states. The only mechanical issue has been keeping a rear tire on it. I eat em up fast! I just can't help it, it's so fun! I'm 45-years-old, 5'-9' and a bit over 300 lbs. I probably need a bigger bike, like a ZRX 1200, but when I compare hp and 1/4 mile, etc., they're almost identical - in the low 11's or very high 10's. I think the only other standard I would trade it for is a B King. That is supposed to have a Busa motor in it. Maybe a YZF1 but they're just so plain looking. I think I'll keep the 919 until somebody comes up with a really powerful standard. It feels neutral in corners, but can be manhandled with an acceptable degree of safety.
- jcates41, yuba city, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-08-23 2004 Honda VTX1800C Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been a Harley rider my whole life...NO MORE!!!!! What a great bike. The power is unbelievable, the ride smooth and steady, the look is great. The Vance Haynes exhaust even sounds better than an HD. Honda, you rock, you are the true leader in cruisers. I don't know how you can top this, but I will be waiting to see. GREAT JOB!!!!!!
- Norm Wallace, Chicago, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-06-02 2004 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe (VT600CD) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Choosing this bike was one of the best decisions I ever made. 60-62 mpg. is wonderful, especially with the gas prices continually rising. I have had no problems whatsoever with the bike. Just keep up with the maintenance and this gem should last 20 years!
- Glenn, North Canton, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-11-02 2004 Honda 919 (CB900F) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Having read a negative review on this website of the 919, I had to respond. I am 41, a long time rider, not a big guy and I love this bike ('05 new in '07). There's plenty of power, simple looks, good ergonomics and, unlike the other said, you can ride it all day even with the stock seat! I went from Vancouver, BC to Laguna Seca in three days all the way down the coast and three days back after the races and without a windscreen. The only drawback, if you want people to admire your bike as they walk by, is chances are they will just walk by and stare at the Harley up the street or CBR/GSXR/Ninja next to you. Being a little anonymous is not all bad.
- Michael B, Vancouver, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-08-24 2004 Honda Shadow Aero (VT750) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This was my first ride in forty years. The bike handled well. It was a real joy, but easy. There's plenty of power as needed and has a comfortable configuration. It was a rental and I needed a left night light bulb and headlamp adjustment.
- Neil McKenna, North Attleborough, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-08-02 2004 Honda VTX Retro 1300 (VTX1300S) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is an excellent ride especially when you hit the highway. It's better than any other Harley or Kawasaki I have ridden.
- Big John, Carlisle, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-03-18 2004 Honda 599 (CB600F) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned a bunch of bikes, but I stopped looking since I've had this one. Never a problem. In the years that I've owned it I've replaced the tires a few times, plugs, oil, filter and one dead blinker bulb. Biggest issue is the battery. Leave your light on by error for 10 minutes and you are looking at a push start. It's real fussy about starting with a cold engine on a hot day until you figure out how to caress the choke. The exhaust is pretty much pure death. You don't want to stand behind one while it idles. The tank is a small. You'll stop many times for gas on a highway run, but you'll want to anyway as the legs get a bit cramped from the rear-sets. It's brilliant in the city. Decent low end off the lights without the need to rev to the moon. It runs nice and quiet in 'stealth' mode at about 5 to 6k rmp, but if you wick it up a bit it wakes up and screams a nice song. It'll lift the wheel from a start for the first couple gears if you get in the power. The wind from this 'naked' is not an issue until you hit about 140kmph. You can ride around all day at 'normal' highway speed without much trouble. The buffeting is less on this bike then many bikes with screens. (DO NOT BUY A MINI SCREEN, you'll rip that junk off to reduce the buffeting if you do). It could use about 10 more HP, but couldn't they all once you get used to them? If you are a larger person (I'm only 135lbs) you'll maybe want to consider the 919 for the extra juice. All in all, I have zero regrets with this buy and I'm too afraid to sell it to buy a new one which will probably not be as fine as my 599. :) In yellow of course :)
- Les, toronto, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-11-15 2004 Honda 919 (CB900F) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am 49 years old and I have owned the bike for about 1 month now. It has around 1600 miles on it. I previously owned a Shadow Spirit 750. I really enjoy the bike especially the performance. The riding position is great as I do not have to lean too far forward. However at high speeds (135-140 mph)the more upright position will give you a beating but it is manageable. The seat is a little hard but hey it is more a sport bike than a cruiser. It is not built for comfort. Do not miss my Shadow but it was an excellent bike. Previous to the Shadow I owned a Rebel. All three are great bikes. My wife has upgraded the life insurance as she feel this gives her better odds than the lottery.
- Norman, Rowlett, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-11-08 2004 Honda VTX 1300 (VTX1300C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have enjoyed getting back into the bike riding world since the gas prices did what they did in '07 and '08. Even with some relief at the pump, I still wouldn't give away my VTX 1300. It is a real pleasure to ride and very reliable. It has plenty of power for me to move ahead of anyone I need to and do it with class. Many people remark what a real looker it is.
- Keith McVay, Farmersville, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-26 2004 Honda VTX 1300 (VTX1300C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this bike on 7/25/09. This was the first time I have ever rode a motorcycle. It handles very well, it is comfortable and easy to manuever. I would recommend this bike to any one who is thinking about purchasing a bike, but thinks it is too complicated to ride.
- william ferguson, bunkie, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-11 2004 Honda 599 (CB600F) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
2004-599, my second bike. Purchased new in 2005. Now with 45,000km. Used for everyday commuting, never a problem, just the usual wear items changed (brakes, tires, chain) and regular oil changes, otherwise all original. You cannot beat Honda reliabilty. I've been riding for 0ver 20 years (first bike was an '83 Honda CM450E, retired in 2005, still ran, but I wanted an upgrade, tired of front drum brakes!) I prefer standard naked street bikes! Hate cruisers and not a big fan of super-sport bikes. The 599 is a great bike, period.
- Fab S., Toronto, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-01-26 2004 Honda Valkyrie Rune NRX1800 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike new 2 years ago. I split lanes on the 405 the first day. It has heavy steering and requires very deliberate force on the handlebars to corner tightly at slow speeds but the amount this bike can be laid over in a smooth turn is amazing considering how low it is. Get it out on the freeway and this cruise missile keeps up with the crotch rockets to about 120mph where I tend to start to contemplate my mortality. Longest ride was to Big Sur with a couple Beemer guys. It is not hard to ride at high speed without a fairing. The stretch of the headlight creates a laminar flow of air that if you lean forward into it holds a full face helmet up nicely with no buffeting in the head or chest. It turns heads in Brentwood here in West LA and that's not easy with all the Aston Martins, Lamborghinis, etc. People ask me what it is all the time or just stand and stare at it. Always remember to stand up over big freeway bumps. The rear sport suspension can pound you.
- Chuck Shickley, Los Angeles, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-01-03 2004 Honda VTX 1300 (VTX1300C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my 1300C since May of 2006. I bought it new, even though it was the 2004 model. It is my first motorcycle, fresh out of the MSC. It seemed too large and powerful at first, but I have since learned to control it, love it, and push it to its limits. At my height and inseam, an 1800 might have been a better choice, but I adapted my 1300 for comfort and style instead. Overall, the 1300 can't be beat. Solid performance and great looks - just a great package. I have updated many parts to improve the ride quality and comfort, but even stock, the bike is great. I've done many short and long trips, two-up, with lots of luggage, and the VTX has always performed like a champ. I would recommend it to pretty much anyone looking for a metric cruiser.
- Adam, Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-11-27 2004 Honda Valkyrie Rune NRX1800 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this bike without ever riding it or ever seeing one in person. I knew from the day my friend emailed a photo of it to me and said 'THIS bike is YOU' I had to have it. Once I took delivery of it and straddled this beast and fired it up, the grin did not come off my face for hours. My inaugural ride was over 500 miles from the dealership to my home and I could not have been happier. It performs even better than it looks. I have only owned it for 5 months now, and already have 10000 miles on it. The power from the HO six engine is super smooth and the torque is unbelievable, and the linked braking system is awesome. The only thing I wish Honda had done better is spec'd a more durable front tire for this beauty. I've had to replace the front after only 5800 miles and I am close to replacing the front again, while the rear tire still has lots of tread. That said, this is the most refined, elegant, and complete bike I have ever owned or ridden in my 40+ years of riding, bar none!
- Nate Monie, Woodstock, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-21 2004 Honda Valkyrie Rune NRX1800 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I never knew that this bike even existed until my son told me to go and take a look at the 2004 Rune. After the test ride I said, "Let's make a deal.I had just seen the Harley Rocker C pictures on the web site and bike fever started to come over me. But I'm very glad I did not make that choice now. My 2004 Rune had only 4 miles on it when I bought it the month of September 2007 and I've only put 400 miles on it so far. But I can tell you I've found my friend for life. My wife likes a cool looking bike and I doubt I'll ever find one that looks better than this one. The ride is smooth, the look is great, and people strain their necks to get a look at it.
- Danny Davis, Mount Juliet, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-30 2004 Honda 919 (CB900F) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike does it all and does it well. I get in Manhattan in less than 15 minutes and squeak through traffic out in around 40. (1 1/2 hrs by car) Never had a problem starting it. I ride it all year round, just bundle up for winter. I've had an '84 Honda Magna and then an '03 Shadow Spirit 750. The Shadows look was nice but the 919 overall can't be touched. It's fast, loud, and looks mean. The speed of a sportbike but with a cruisers feel. Wind in your face, seated more upright and no plastics to hide the bikes guts. I highly recommend it if you don't want a sportbike but want the speed & ability to zip through traffic. This is literally an all-purpose motorcycle.
- John Tompson, queens, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-27 2004 Honda VTX Retro 1300 (VTX1300S) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2004 VTX 1300 used in early April 2007. It only had 1497 miles on it when I picked it up! It's a great bike but I'm not crazy about the plastic chrome and the motor sounds like it has a little rattle in the front. I don't know if this is normal or not! Over all, it has plenty of power and rides great.
- Thomas D. Kane, Springfield, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-09 2004 Honda 599 (CB600F) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My 599 is my very first bike. I have never ridden anything before, I got on it in the parking lot of Hayden and killed it about 3 times and then I just took off. Very easy to learn how to ride. I think I made a very good choice on the 599 for my first bike, I LOVE IT. I've put just over 400 miles on it in my first 4 days of riding. It has a lot of power and yet very clean to ride. I plan on keeping this bike for 2 years and swithcing up to the Honda ST1300, the bike that I really wanted but decided it wouldn't be a good idea to spend so much on my first bike. I love Honda.
- Josh Roberts, Avilla, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-14 2004 Honda Dream 50R (AR02) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I couldn't resist purchasing a new (non-current) piece of Honda's illustrious racing history. The exquisitely built Dream 50R is a modern recreation of Honda's 1962 Works Racer. It is built by Honda Racing Corporation (HRC), featuring a 49cc 4-stroke engine capable of 14500rpm and producing 7HP at 13500rpm. I think that I will put it on display in my home for the time being...can't stop looking at it !
- HRCguru, Toronto, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-13 2004 Honda VTX 1300 (VTX1300C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my VTX 1300C brand new on 3/18/06 and put 13K miles on it in 9 months. I added Vance and Hines Cruzer II pipes and rejetted the carb, custom leather saddle bags, tool bag and highway pegs. I've driven the bike through rains and storms and even 30 mph winds. I have no problems with the bike on the highways. Can't even tell when Semis pass by. I weigh 280 without the riding gear and saddle bags packed and the bike has no problem accellerating or cornering at high speeds. It has plenty of pick up in the higher gears, even 2 up. The custom fenders and pull back handlebars are great and the mag wheels are excellent. If you want to buy a name and be a weekend warrior (1000 miles a year), then buy a Harley. IF you want to ride and won't settle for less than quality and a great ride.....then buy a VTX. The VTX is an excellent motorcycle.
- Chris C., Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: