Honda Dirt Bike Reviews on Cycle Insider (159)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda Dirt Bike Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Honda Dirt Bike? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2012-11-05 2004 Honda CRF250R Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I never really liked Hondas until I had this one. It is amazing, the power is just unbeatable and overall is a great bike. I rarely ever have to adjust the valves on it and the feel of it feels great. I think this bike is a total buy.
- honda owner, evans city, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-11-02 2004 Honda Interceptor (VFR800FI) Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned this bike for three years and it's been amazing. I added the Corbin saddle to an already comfortable bike and long trips are a blast. The only thing I might otherwise add are a set of handlebar risers and a cheap cruise for a break every once in a while, because with the large tank you don't have to stop very often. I've never had any problems other than those that were operator induced (dropping it in the garage!). My wife loves it as well and is fairly comfortable on the back; only thing more comfy would be a Gold Wing or similar on long trips, but they can't do what this will in any other situation. Last year I put 18,500 miles on it because of a long commute and I couldn't be happier with the low maintenance that this bike requires, even being chain driven. I use Royal Purple oil and have found that to work best overall in extreme highs and lows (Corpus Christi, TX and Amarillo, TX -100+ to 20 degrees - far too cold to be riding). I get about 42 miles a gallon on average and about 45-48 if it's all highway. I could see how this bike could get uncomfortable for the legs of a taller person. This bike will truly do it all and everyone who has ridden mine definitely agrees that this bike is an awesome ride. Downside: insurance companies classify it as a sport bike.
- Dustin Brooks, Amarillo, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-08-14 2004 Honda CRF250R Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Very nice bike. Handles great in the turns. Gets you in and out. I have a little over 100 hours with the stock valves and the bike runs %100. It's a really nice bike if you maintain it well. If not, you should stick with a 2 stroke cause these things get expensive. In my opinion, I like the Honda the best out of all the other 250fs. I've ridden all and this is a great bike. If you're looking to buy one now, make sure it has new valves etc.
- Mike, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-12-05 2004 Honda CRF250R Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
From when I first started it, I knew I loved the bike. I clicked it into 1st and was overwhelmed with the power. This bike's power is really ridiculous. The bottom hit is crazy and in 2nd and 3rd the wheel comes up. The bike is just way too much for me, I can accelerate so hard it's unbelievable. It still pulls through the top and really strong, even more than my CR125! Whoever says 250s don't have much useable power is a liar. This rips so hard. The suspension is stiff but plush at the same time, soaks up the roughest. And it turns on a dime, point and ride. When I bought it, I was scared because I thought it would have been too heavy but was I wrong. It's so light and flickable it's unreal. No specific starting method; just kick, rev and ride. I love this bike. I am gonna have it for a loooooong time.
- Luca Casinelli, Stamford, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-10-14 2004 Honda Interceptor (VFR800FI) Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned this exceptional bike for four years now and it is still my favorite. I have only had two problems. One was an electrical recall, and the other was my left fork seal busted. Other than that the bike has been perfect. It is great for long rides and great in the curves. My Interceptor and I have spent many days at the Dragon's Tail in Tennessee/North Carolina (318 curves in 11 miles). I would recommend this bike to anyone. 17,500 miles and counting!
- David Tipton, Marietta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-21 2004 Honda CR85R Expert Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is an airplane on Nos! This bike can't go slow! First choice!
- Byron Shults, Chapel Hill, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-29 2004 Honda CR85R Expert Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike. It is awesome. Nothing is bad about it. I need new springs, I think I'm too heavy for the stock springs.
- 85 rider, Lampasas, Maine

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-22 2004 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is one awesomely sweet bike. It has more power than any other bike I've ridden (85r,100kx). Also, this bike has never let me down once, starts right up with no hesitation. And, if you don't like fast bikes, it's great for sight seeing, but when you want a burst of power, you're still looking at the right bike.
- Preston, Staples, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-02 2004 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
When you hit the throttle, this bike digs holes!I've only had this bike for 4 days, but so far it can do more than any other bike I've owned(XR100 and CR80R). It has great low end torque, and will go up almost any hill in any gear. People think that CR 80's have as much power as the 230 but I could hardly get my CR's front wheel off the ground, with the 230 a small shot of gas and you're going over backwards, and my CR80 couldn't climb any hills. The downsides to this bike are the rear suspension (it's stiff and throws you off the seat when you hit a bump), and the top end speed, it's fairly fast but I always find myself looking for a seventh gear. I rode a KLX 300R, and my bike can do anything that the 300 could do, and doesn't take 6 kicks to start! Thats all I have to say about the CRF230F, but if you wanna screw around on trails, fields, hills, and mud, then the CRF230F can get the job done.
- Shane Carthew, Peterborough, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-11 2004 Honda CRF80F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Ok, I've had this bike for about a year and I love it. I thought it wouldn't be very good for mx but I was wrong. I clear my 10-12ft road on this bike. The only problem is if you run over one mesquite bush, you better change that tube. Overall great bike!!! I give it 6 stars ******
- mitchell christian, gonzales, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-10 2004 Honda Interceptor (VFR800FI) Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love my Interceptor. I have two bikes (the wife's rule is no more than 2, so...) and just traded my 1997 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe for a new Roadliner. When I'm in the mood for more spirited riding, my Interceptor does the trick. I replaced the pipes with Scorpions, installed the fender eliminator kit, exchanged the levers (I din't like the wimpy aluminum levers that came with her), exchanged the stock seat with a Sergeant, put on a tank bra, and removed the passenger foot pegs and grab rails. In asphalt black, she looks sinister and exotic - especially with the single-sided swingarm and those 2 big polished cans jutting out from under the seat. Many stares on the road. And no one can figure out what it is. Very cool. I'm no track racer, but this bike is fast and stable. In fact, I'd say the best feature of the bike is the chassis balance. It soaks up bumps and inspires confidence both going super fast on the highway and on the sweepers - so much that I have to really remind myself to cool it when I'm riding fast. The engine sounds more like a car than a typical sport bike - very throaty and substantial, especially with the Scorpions - and just plain screams when the VTEC kicks in. I love the lights - on a dark road at night the brights light up the planet in front of you. Also the center stand makes it a snap to top off the tank when refueling and lubing the chain. Also when stored for extended periods the rear tire is off the ground. Just another neat perk that I've come to really appreciate it as I've owned and lived with her. Then there's the user-friendliness - versatile and reliable, you just can't go wrong with the bike. AND, I nabbed her for much less than sticker about a year ago now. So...I love my Interceptor. I know this is a transition bike for me, and the next one isn't a sportbike - as I get older I find myself liking more legroom. So the next one would probably be an FZ1 or FJR. But for now, I'm loving the expensive look and feel and the more reasonable, less extreme and race dedicated ergos compared to sport bikes. It's like one step between a sport bike and an FJR. The only gripes are... The speedo which is ridiculously optimistic. When the speedo indicates 80, the GPS actually reads 72! Also, I have to consciously work to keep my hands and wrists from cramping - but I don't blame the bike for this...it's actually more comfortable to me than a more dedicated sportbike. I could just be getting old!
- Michael, Franklin, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-31 2004 Honda CRF100F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 2006 CRF100F and it flys. The power is amazing. On March 11, I'm taking this bike to capeway rovers in middleborrow. My bike keeps up with the 85cc. This bike needs a few suspension upgrades. I am soon moving up to a RM85l. Overall great bike!
- mike, stoghton, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-20 2004 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
When I first saw the pictures of the new CRF230F in a UK trail magazine, I wanted one. After riding a 1982 XR200R for about 6 years, this had to be the bike to save for. The specs were almost identical to the XR200 in wheelbase, height, weight, and power, but it had 2 things the XR lacked, the electric start and a disc brake. Fitting an mtx disc brake was relatively easy, but the electric start was a different matter. So after saving hard and having a test run, (my wife said I looked right on that bike) I got my CRF in march 2005. I generally trail ride and occasional road use. Our UK trail rides are however very different from those dusty, dry, rock and desert trails in the US. We in the UK, in the south west, have lots of very muddy, slippery, narrow and very wet trails to ride, so something light to pick up that is easily started is a must. I have to say after almost 2 years of ownership, I would not swap it for anything else and I intend to keep it as long as I can ride it. The reliability is excellent and it has taken everything thrown at it, including a 70 mile event in the pouring rain and hailstones. I have left the gears standard as well as the suspension. The only down side I can find is the rear of the front mudguard is not long enough and I have had to fit a plate under the tank to stop all the mud accumulating there on the ignition coil. Honda is now selling direct in the UK, but only as a play bike, an opportunity missed I think.
- shaun matthews, burnham on sea, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-05 2004 Honda CRF250X Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Recently I sold my z400 quad for one of these. Wow am I happy this thing hauls! But I needed more power so I added an fmf Q muffler with new cams. The bike will now lift the front wheels in forth just tappin the gas. Its nuts. The only complain I have is that it is tall for me but the seat is kind of hard for a long ride.
- Jordan, Pine City, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-16 2004 Honda CRF250R Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased a 2004 CRF250R December '03 and have enjoyed every minute!! With over 100 hours, I've never experienced ANY problems with valves or anything else. I've raced a couple of hare scrambles but mostly use it for trail riding. I simply love this bike!
- Anonymous, Sarasota, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-11-17 2004 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Honda CRF230F is a great starter bike. And it will last a long time as long as you treat it good. But once you get used to it, you'll be wanting more power, and it only has so much to give from the 230cc motor.
- Kurt D., Escanaba, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-18 2004 Honda Interceptor (VFR800FI) Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first real bike. I am just becoming comfortable with it and I can tell that we are coming out of the break-in period. It is pretty easy to shift and accelerates well. The brakes are thus far reliable and reassuring. Sometimes I think I want a "sportier" bike, but then the comfort level (and less expensive insurance) brings me back to my senses. This is all I need, at least for now. I am very pleased with it.
- chris, ricmond, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-15 2004 Honda Interceptor (VFR800FI) Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I read many articles on the bike before selecting my 2004 Interceptor. After consideration of many models, nothing comes close in my opinion in offering the balance of characteristics I was seeking. I love the look -the single-sided swingarm, front fascia, montone paint and beautiful underseat dual exhaust make for a very expensive looking and almost sinister looking package. Honda build quality is apparent, although to be fair, the Kawi's, Yammie's and Suzook's also all rate high in my opinion in this area. I ride a 1997 Yamaha Royal Star as my other ride, so there are no problems with "overweight and underpowered" for me. I'm just nearing the end of the break-in period, and I have yet to feel the need to rev it higher or visit full throttle (although you can bet I'll enjoy getting there!) - granted, I may be gettin' old but the Interceptor feels more than fast enough for me. The v4 provides nice low-end grunt for around town stuff, and if you're into engine technology like I am, you'll love the vtec system - both the power surge and sound. The tranny has well-spaced ratios for me - good launch but also a relaxed top gear. The bike is well composed on all street surfaces and always feels planted - at high speeds and mid-corner road bumps. It feels like an extension of my body, and is comfortable enough for long Sunday morning rides. All-in-all, you can say I'm extremely pleased so far...
- M Aron, Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-03 2004 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Even at my size this bike is enough for me! I would like a little more bottom end and a little more snap. Of course I could lose some weight and that might help! Overall, though, it has enough power to move around pretty well. It is pretty comfortable except it wears on the ol' seat a little. The suspenstion is lacking in that it has a tendancy to bottom out, but that will be remideed eventually. It is a great bike and very affordable also.
- rcdann1, greensburg, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-25 2004 Honda CR85R Expert Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the best 85 on the market. No other 85 is like it. I made another review back in May on the 8th.This bike is wicked awsome. Ride Red or your not really riding. Ride safe!!
- Chase Lancaster, Duck Hill, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-14 2004 Honda CR85R Expert Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is so awesome! I got it not that long ago, and the powerband is wicked awesome! It wheelies all the time. I LOVE my CR85 expert!! I beat all of the other 85's on the track.This bike is awesome, it won't let you down!
- Grace Wilson, boston, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-04 2004 Honda Interceptor (VFR800FI) Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned a '96 VFR750 since new and absolutely LOVED it. Then when my wife expressed interest in wanting to be a passenger with me and we began doing a lot of mountain riding (10,000 feet above sea level), I was finding myself shifting all of the time and it was wearing on me. After tossing around the idea of purchasing pre-owned '98-'01 models, a friend convinced me to purchase the '02-Current style. I noticed a flat spot around 7K RPM's, but it wasn't so noticable that it ruined my experience. The headlight low beam pattern is MUCH better than my '94-97 styled Interceptor (always a complaint I had when riding dark roads at night). I've recently added Sylvania Silverstar H4 bulbs to the low beam and have a nice clean white light for night riding--which for me greatly increases visibility. So if you want a good reliable-sexy looking, all day comfort (for a sport bike), check out the latest Interceptor!
- Super Dave, Westminster, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-16 2004 Honda CRF250R Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This Bike is the best bike I have ever had. This is so much better than all of the 2-strokes (no offence) if you're still looking for a great bike, come and buy this Honda, you will deffinetly not regret it.
- Tony, sd,rapid cty, South Dakota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-15 2004 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got this bike two days ago and I can already tell it is the perfect bike. It's fast and good in the trails. The seat is a little uncomfortable but thats nothing to worry about. If your looking for a bike this is the one. It is deffinately a must buy for all of you out there longing to get a dirtbike.
- Tim , Middleboro, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-02 2004 Honda CRF100F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The CRF 100 is an awesome bike for beginners. I have had mine for 2 years. I started on ATV's when I was 4. I raced a 2 stroke 50cc. I decided to move to dirt bikes. I'm glad I did. The CRF 100 was the perfect bike to start on. It does need more power and good suspension. Well, Honda should have just put the CRF 100 motor in a CR 85 frame. that's what I think. I'm moving up to a CR 85 expert soon.
- Chase Lancaster, Duck Hill, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: