Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2004 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bike reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.8
Comfort
5.0

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Touring Bikes

Reviews

22 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Gunslinger

Henderson, Nevada

Reviewed on 2008-03-22

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Last year I swapped a Suzuki Katana 600 for a 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 750, looking for a smoother, more relaxed riding style. However, I wasn't happy with the power or the vibration. So I recently traded the Vulcan in on a 2004 GL1800 in Titanium. WOW! This is the bike I have been looking for. It has the power and handling of a big, bad sport bike, the ride of a BMW 7 Series, and the bags and trunk to carry a weekend's worth of stuff along. I could never get my wife to go more than 5 or 10 miles on my other bikes, because they hurt her butt. Not so on the 'Wing. She LOVES that seat! If you ever get the chance to ride a GL1800, take it. But, don't be surprised if you find yourself figuring out how to get yourself a Gold Wing! Have owned CB350; KZ750; KZ900; KZ1000; GS-L1100; GSX600R; VN750 and now this GL1800. This is by far the best ride I have ever owned.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jim McCrindle

Mt Pearl

Reviewed on 2006-07-04

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Purchased this bike in 2005 with 20k kms. Great ride with power to spare. Would have been nice to see a 6th gear or an OD gear for highway speeds but overall it is the perfect machine. I looked at the Venture and Ultra Classic and neither comes even close to the Wing. A little pricey and not very well equipped from the factory but there are an abondance of after market accessories availabe, all be it a little pricey.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Linerider

Orange County, California

Reviewed on 2006-01-22

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have owned this bike for 1 1/2 years now and have put over 12000 miles on it. I am not one to fall in love with anything right away. But, after this serious road test, the GL is unbelievable! And, it just keeps getting better. A twist of the throttle makes it feel like a sport bike, and it has no problems getting up to freeway speeds way before the end of the onramp. On the twisties, it is limited only by your own riding skill. On long freeway rides, it is comfortable and FUN, especially with the XM Radio playing in the headphones. I ride with mostly the Harley crowd after having been one myself before the Wing. At first, they gave me some ribbing. But, privately they tell me they wish they had the GUTS to buy one. Everyone knows it's a better bike. This is not just for the 60+ crowd. Ride one once, and you will run to the Honda dealer to buy one. It happened to me!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mike

Calgary, Alberta

Reviewed on 2005-10-24

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my 2004 GL1800A in May 2004 and right from the first test drive I was impressed with the performance. I have owned 2 other Wings and this is a completely different bike. This bike is faster and nimbler. I ride it to work almost daily through heavy rush-hour traffic and it feels just as comfortable there as it does on the open road where it really shines. It rips through corners like a sport bike (ask the V-Max that was trying to catch me) but is my 2 wheel "motor-home" for comfort on the long rides. I average about 48/49 miles per gallon (those "big" Canadian gallons) on the long trips. And it's QUIET! I wouldn't own anything else.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Howie

San Diego, California

Reviewed on 2005-06-28

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Just cracked 30K mi on my '04 Wing this weekend. Bike still feels/runs like new...no problems...low maintenance. Fabulous on the highway and fun in the twisties as well...believe it. Comfort is also unmatched. Power is very good too. The ONLY thing I wish the Wing had was a 6th gear for overdrive. It revs a little high on the top end in 5th but not really a big deal or deterrent to purchase this great bike. It's so incredibly smooth and stable....and FUN. Test rode a Harley ElectraGlide....more expensive and not even in the same class as the Wing...slower, doesn't handle...not as comfortable....etc. I suggest some aftermarket pipes though to make the Wing sound like it should.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Charles Bailey AKA "Preacher"

Crosby, Texas

Reviewed on 2005-03-29

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I HAVE A GL1800 THAT I BOUGHT LAST YEAR IN MARCH. THIS BIKE HAS GIVEN MY WIFE AND I HOURS OF ENJOYMENT. IF you're LOOKING FOR A GREAT MACHINE THEN DO YOURSELF JUSTICE AND MAKE IT A GOLD WING. THIS BIKE IS THE RIGHT CHOICE FOR COMFORT AND DEPENDABILITY.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mark Rogers

Herrin, Illinois

Reviewed on 2005-02-12

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Just picked the bike up today in Litchfield, IL. It's a black '04 with no miles on it. Traded a 1998 Goldwing SE with 68000 miles on it. What can I say about the Goldwing that has not be said before? Rides like a dream, with power to spare. Handles like a slot car on rails.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Howie

Germantown, Maryland

Reviewed on 2004-11-12

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Just cracked 21K miles on my '04 that I bought in January. Yes, she gets ridden. Zero problems. Just regular maintenance and on my second set of tires. Installed Torqmaster pipes on the bike at 19K miles and now it sounds like a Mustang GT at speed! I've ridden my Wing over 1100 miles in one day. Bottom line is this bike has a ton going for it. Its comfort is unmatched. Once you're used to riding a Wing and then hop on almost any other bike, you'll truly appreciate the Wing's comfort. But it doesn't stop there... the power and performance is amazing. You can really lean this bike and it loves to be driven aggressively and FAST... if that's your style and it's just as happy to be a mellow cruiser too. I've ridden V-twin cruisers and most of them seem anemic after getting off the Wing and none come close to the Wing's handling. As far as one guy complaining of tire cupping, my OEM Dunlops cupped a little but nothing close to being bothersome. The new Bridgestone's I've put on supposedly don't cup... I'll find out. As long as you keep tire pressure at 41F/41R, you should experience minimal cupping. I plan on keeping this bike for a long time. It's just getting warmed up!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jim Swanson

Somonauk, Illinois

Reviewed on 2004-11-09

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
It took me over two years to make my decision and I am glad I picked the Goldwing. Looked at all of the big bikes and came very close to the Harley, but the ride, power and comfort the Honda gives simply buried the Harley and everyone else. The dealer put a quarter on the valve covers and raced the engine, the quarter did not move. He said "Why would you buy anything else..?" Well, why would you?
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tom

Minneapolis, Minnesota

Reviewed on 2004-10-01

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Believe me, it was not an easy decision. I rented an '04 Ultra-Classic the previous week. I liked it, but decided on the Goldwing for practical reasons: reduced engine noise (I found I needed earplugs after riding a short distance on the Harley), best passenger comfort (a priority), power (lots more) and price (another priority). I prefer a quieter and smoother machine, even though I thought the Harley was the better looking motorcycle. After riding the Honda for a while I found that the windscreen generates LOTS more wind buffeting/turbulence, for both passenger and driver alike, than the Harley. This took some getting used to. I am told there's an accessory available that should help and I'll probably look into that next spring. I am an average height person and (unlike some people) found the Honda riding position the most comfortable. I prefer pegs to platform foot supports and didn't care for the heel-toe shifter on the Harley. I felt those features limited foot position adjustment when riding. I realized highway pegs would solve that problem, I plan on getting them for my Honda anyway. As an inexperienced large motorcycle rider, I appreciated the backlit controls on the grips, it was a little easier to find things. I prefer the Honda integral turn-signal over the type used on the Harley. I accidentally hit the starter button on more than one occasion. don't know if I ground the starter or not because I couldn't hear well enough to tell. I have bumped the horn more than once when working the turn-signals on the Honda (I said I was new at this.) It's LOUD by the way. Also, a radio is almost pointless without helmet-mounted headsets (expensive). The Honda has great performance (surprise, surprise) and makes it really fun to ride. We found the Honda super-smooth on the highway. We rode all day long with very little discomfort. For the kind of riding we like to do, it was definitely the right choice (in the long run, I guess) Stay tuned.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 22 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: