Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bike Reviews on Cycle Insider (22)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bike Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bike? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2008-03-22 2004 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Last year I swapped a Suzuki Katana 600 for a 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 750, looking for a smoother, more relaxed riding style. However, I wasn't happy with the power or the vibration. So I recently traded the Vulcan in on a 2004 GL1800 in Titanium. WOW! This is the bike I have been looking for. It has the power and handling of a big, bad sport bike, the ride of a BMW 7 Series, and the bags and trunk to carry a weekend's worth of stuff along. I could never get my wife to go more than 5 or 10 miles on my other bikes, because they hurt her butt. Not so on the 'Wing. She LOVES that seat! If you ever get the chance to ride a GL1800, take it. But, don't be surprised if you find yourself figuring out how to get yourself a Gold Wing! Have owned CB350; KZ750; KZ900; KZ1000; GS-L1100; GSX600R; VN750 and now this GL1800. This is by far the best ride I have ever owned.
- Gunslinger, Henderson, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-04 2004 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Purchased this bike in 2005 with 20k kms. Great ride with power to spare. Would have been nice to see a 6th gear or an OD gear for highway speeds but overall it is the perfect machine. I looked at the Venture and Ultra Classic and neither comes even close to the Wing. A little pricey and not very well equipped from the factory but there are an abondance of after market accessories availabe, all be it a little pricey.
- Jim McCrindle, Mt Pearl

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-01-22 2004 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned this bike for 1 1/2 years now and have put over 12000 miles on it. I am not one to fall in love with anything right away. But, after this serious road test, the GL is unbelievable! And, it just keeps getting better. A twist of the throttle makes it feel like a sport bike, and it has no problems getting up to freeway speeds way before the end of the onramp. On the twisties, it is limited only by your own riding skill. On long freeway rides, it is comfortable and FUN, especially with the XM Radio playing in the headphones. I ride with mostly the Harley crowd after having been one myself before the Wing. At first, they gave me some ribbing. But, privately they tell me they wish they had the GUTS to buy one. Everyone knows it's a better bike. This is not just for the 60+ crowd. Ride one once, and you will run to the Honda dealer to buy one. It happened to me!
- Linerider, Orange County, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-24 2004 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2004 GL1800A in May 2004 and right from the first test drive I was impressed with the performance. I have owned 2 other Wings and this is a completely different bike. This bike is faster and nimbler. I ride it to work almost daily through heavy rush-hour traffic and it feels just as comfortable there as it does on the open road where it really shines. It rips through corners like a sport bike (ask the V-Max that was trying to catch me) but is my 2 wheel "motor-home" for comfort on the long rides. I average about 48/49 miles per gallon (those "big" Canadian gallons) on the long trips. And it's QUIET! I wouldn't own anything else.
- Mike, Calgary, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-28 2004 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just cracked 30K mi on my '04 Wing this weekend. Bike still feels/runs like new...no problems...low maintenance. Fabulous on the highway and fun in the twisties as well...believe it. Comfort is also unmatched. Power is very good too. The ONLY thing I wish the Wing had was a 6th gear for overdrive. It revs a little high on the top end in 5th but not really a big deal or deterrent to purchase this great bike. It's so incredibly smooth and stable....and FUN. Test rode a Harley ElectraGlide....more expensive and not even in the same class as the Wing...slower, doesn't handle...not as comfortable....etc. I suggest some aftermarket pipes though to make the Wing sound like it should.
- Howie, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-29 2004 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I HAVE A GL1800 THAT I BOUGHT LAST YEAR IN MARCH. THIS BIKE HAS GIVEN MY WIFE AND I HOURS OF ENJOYMENT. IF you're LOOKING FOR A GREAT MACHINE THEN DO YOURSELF JUSTICE AND MAKE IT A GOLD WING. THIS BIKE IS THE RIGHT CHOICE FOR COMFORT AND DEPENDABILITY.
- Charles Bailey AKA "Preacher", Crosby, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-12 2004 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just picked the bike up today in Litchfield, IL. It's a black '04 with no miles on it. Traded a 1998 Goldwing SE with 68000 miles on it. What can I say about the Goldwing that has not be said before? Rides like a dream, with power to spare. Handles like a slot car on rails.
- Mark Rogers, Herrin, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-12 2004 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just cracked 21K miles on my '04 that I bought in January. Yes, she gets ridden. Zero problems. Just regular maintenance and on my second set of tires. Installed Torqmaster pipes on the bike at 19K miles and now it sounds like a Mustang GT at speed! I've ridden my Wing over 1100 miles in one day. Bottom line is this bike has a ton going for it. Its comfort is unmatched. Once you're used to riding a Wing and then hop on almost any other bike, you'll truly appreciate the Wing's comfort. But it doesn't stop there... the power and performance is amazing. You can really lean this bike and it loves to be driven aggressively and FAST... if that's your style and it's just as happy to be a mellow cruiser too. I've ridden V-twin cruisers and most of them seem anemic after getting off the Wing and none come close to the Wing's handling. As far as one guy complaining of tire cupping, my OEM Dunlops cupped a little but nothing close to being bothersome. The new Bridgestone's I've put on supposedly don't cup... I'll find out. As long as you keep tire pressure at 41F/41R, you should experience minimal cupping. I plan on keeping this bike for a long time. It's just getting warmed up!
- Howie, Germantown, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-09 2004 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It took me over two years to make my decision and I am glad I picked the Goldwing. Looked at all of the big bikes and came very close to the Harley, but the ride, power and comfort the Honda gives simply buried the Harley and everyone else. The dealer put a quarter on the valve covers and raced the engine, the quarter did not move. He said "Why would you buy anything else..?" Well, why would you?
- Jim Swanson, Somonauk, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-01 2004 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Believe me, it was not an easy decision. I rented an '04 Ultra-Classic the previous week. I liked it, but decided on the Goldwing for practical reasons: reduced engine noise (I found I needed earplugs after riding a short distance on the Harley), best passenger comfort (a priority), power (lots more) and price (another priority). I prefer a quieter and smoother machine, even though I thought the Harley was the better looking motorcycle. After riding the Honda for a while I found that the windscreen generates LOTS more wind buffeting/turbulence, for both passenger and driver alike, than the Harley. This took some getting used to. I am told there's an accessory available that should help and I'll probably look into that next spring. I am an average height person and (unlike some people) found the Honda riding position the most comfortable. I prefer pegs to platform foot supports and didn't care for the heel-toe shifter on the Harley. I felt those features limited foot position adjustment when riding. I realized highway pegs would solve that problem, I plan on getting them for my Honda anyway. As an inexperienced large motorcycle rider, I appreciated the backlit controls on the grips, it was a little easier to find things. I prefer the Honda integral turn-signal over the type used on the Harley. I accidentally hit the starter button on more than one occasion. don't know if I ground the starter or not because I couldn't hear well enough to tell. I have bumped the horn more than once when working the turn-signals on the Honda (I said I was new at this.) It's LOUD by the way. Also, a radio is almost pointless without helmet-mounted headsets (expensive). The Honda has great performance (surprise, surprise) and makes it really fun to ride. We found the Honda super-smooth on the highway. We rode all day long with very little discomfort. For the kind of riding we like to do, it was definitely the right choice (in the long run, I guess) Stay tuned.
- Tom, Minneapolis, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-28 2004 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Went from a 1500 Kawasaki cruiser to the Wing. Smoothness and acceleration are unbelievable. Black and chrome were made for each other although I kept the front faring stock (no chrome) because the lines are too clean. Laid it down once in the driveway but the design prevented damage, no scratches either.
- Habernaro, Centreville, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-30 2004 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently sold my Harley-Davidson. I was looking for a motorcycle that could provide performance with comfort. So I took my wife to a local Honda dealership to test ride a Gold Wing. It didn't take long before we knew that this was the bike to own. We have had the bike for about two and a half weeks and have driven over a thousand miles. The bottom, mid range and top end is excellent for a touring bike. The overall comfort is, according to the wife, like riding in a luxury car, and the price is not bad either. So, if you want performance, comfort, quality and looks...buy a Gold Wing.
- Al Anderson, Atlanta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-11 2004 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my 2003 Wing since July 2002. as you can tell my wife and I have put some miles on it. Last year over the July 4 week we rode to Thunder Bay Canada and the bike preformed great. The only draw back to my Wing has been the two recalls I have had on the bike but they were both taken care of promptly. I had the recall on the overheating problem which they put the new ECM on the bike and the other was to reweld the frame. We bought the Escapade trailor to pull behind the bike and this was a big asset on our trip around Lake Superior. I have owned bikes since 1973 and this is by far the most comfortable and easy to ride bike I have ever owned. Great job Honda on building a great bike.
- Donald L. Ball, Hartford, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-01 2004 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Having owned 23 motorcycles over 37 years of riding, this is the only motorcycle which I have owned the same model more than once. My first Goldwing was a 1985 Interstate, which I have taken cross country several times. I test drove this bike after I started getting tired of the HD image. I was very impressed with the power, accelerating, handling, the fit and finish. It was fun to ride, smooth and quiet. I have to admit that I no longer get the looks from women at lights as when I rode my HD, but their loss, not mine. I started riding bikes when I was 12 years of age. I started out with dirt bikes, then street bikes, then touring bikes. I sold my FXR to buy this bike and have no regrets. The HD was a fun bike, but not a serious riding machine. Besides I got tired of the fake HD life style. I am not a weekend bad-ass all dressed in black and leather with a loud bike trying to scare small kids and old women at traffic lights. In fact, when I was a policeman in south central FL, I rode a Harley and enjoyed it. I live in WI where HD was born, so I am considered somewhat of a trader for selling the HD (or the way some people acted, my child) but I went with the quaility and the ride, not the image. I am planning my first long distance trip in a few weeks...hope to see you on the road.
- Mark Harrison, Twin Lakes, Wyoming

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-25 2004 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently took the 1800 on a test ride with my wife. I am VERY glad I took the wife. For one thing, at the end of our ride, she was mad that it was time to get off, she has NEVER said that before! I have ridden for 30 years now, starting with a Honda 350. Currently have a 2002 VStar 1100 Classic. I will get a new wing next year, as soon as possible, and I can't wait. I was so impressed with the power, the comfort, and the smoothness of the bike. Even little things impressed me like how nice and large the mirrors are (and not vibrating) like my VStar, also how awesome the horn was, sounded like I was driving a truck instead of a bike. I had been considering four bikes to purchase next year, the BMW K1200LT, the Yamaha Royal Star Venture, the Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide, and of course the Honda Goldwing. After checking everything out, and test rides, there is no quesion about it. The Goldwing beats them all hands down. With my wife being so comfortable on the bike, maybe she will ride with me more now and that can only be a good thing. I see a LOT of touring miles in my future, with a huge smile on my face. I can't wait till I get my new Goldwing!
- Tom Cecil, Nicholasville, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-12 2004 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I moved up from a 1978 GS750 to this Goldwing. This bike rides, corners, and handles like a dream. I couldn't be happier. At high speeds 90 plus, I expected to feel shaft vibration - I didn't. What a pleasure to ride.
- David, San Antonio, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-04 2004 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my 40th year of motorcycle riding (I started in my early teens). I have owned motorcycles manufactured in Japan, Germany, Great Britain, Italy and America. This is my first Gold Wing, though not my first Honda (that was a 305 scrambler in the early 70s). The 2004 GL 1800 I purchased one month ago is a marvelous machine! It is very powerful, well-manufactured, well-designed and beautiful. It handles and brakes as well as several sport bikes I have ridden, and is the most comfortable bike I have owned or ridden. It is a joy to drive, whether on the highway or in the twisties. I sold a 2003 HD Hertige Classic to buy this bike. The HD was a nice bike, but was (like all Harleys except the V-Rod) antiquated. The Motor Company has done an enviable job of marketing it's bikes by selling a "lifestyle" that includes the bike, the HOG, and HD Motorclothes. I sold my Heritage and for the same money bought a 2004 GL 1800, a far better bike. A few of my HD friends rode the GL and I expect some will buy a Honda this year or next. It's so much better! At the first fuel stop I made with the Wing, I met a group of 4 Wing riders who had all jumped from various HD models to the Wing. They said they felt like they had escaped a cult. This is the first time I haven't had at least a twinge of buyer's remorse the day after I brought a new vehicle home. This one will be in my fleet a long time!
- BikerMike, New Berlin, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-18 2004 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just traded in a 2002 Yamaha V-Star 1100 Classic cruiser, for my new GL1800 Goldwing last Saturday. Boy what a big difference in power, ride, and the handling on the new wing....there really is no comparison. Anyway, I just wanted to say that this new Goldwing is without a doubt the best bike I've ever ridden or owned. Its throttle response is second to none and passing cars is no problem whatsoever. We went on a breakfast ride this morning and on our way home I decided to head out on the straight away and boy 90mph (2up) wasn't even a chore and I still had probably two thirds of the throttle left. I know this bike will be in our family for years to come. Nothing but, good things to be said about it.
- Larry H., Phoenix, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-19 2004 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
We've only had our Black Cherry wing for three weeks but I am in love! This thing is a truly outstanding machine; comfortable, powerful, quiet, economical (45mpg). I just say enough about how much I am impressed. Hard to imagine that they could improve it; except for two things: Front-end wobble and too much plastic. The big desperately needs a super brace as standard equipment, and all the chrome we added is plastic. For the price I'd expect metal...
- Kevin, Grapevine, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-17 2004 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I rode into the local Honda dealer's parking lot on a Kawasaki voyager XII with 2500 miles on it after owning it for two years. I bought it thinking it would be comparable to the voyager XIII that I rode before adding children to my family several years ago and had to start playing football, soccer, and baseball again instead of bike riding. The XII is nowhere near the same bike as the XIII and I never enjoyed riding it. The Honda salesman offered a test drive on the Goldwing that I was looking at, so I took him up on the offer. I explained that I was not going to just follow him around the block like I did with the salesman when I bought the voyager. He handed me the key and asked that I not be gone all day (it was 10 a.m.). He was confident enough that I would buy the bike that he said he would have the price difference between the two bikes worked out with the sales manager and the paper work to do so when I got back. It only took 60 miles in some of the areas curviest roads to decide that he was right and that I was not going to ride a Kawasaki home today. The Goldwing handles curves better than any touring bike that I have ever rode, and I've tried them all. I was riding in 30-mile winds and hardly noticed that it was blowing. The power is instant in every gear. I never needed to gear down in 40 mile per hour curves to come out of them at a comfortable speed. I don't know how fast the bike will go; at 130 mph I let off the throttle because I was coming up on a 40 mph curve. The seat is more comfortable than any factory seat that I have ever sat on. The numerous buttons for the radio, cb, lights, cruise control and accessories are easy to find and easy to learn where they are without looking at them. There is plenty of storage space in the trunk and saddlebags for over night trips for the rider and passenger. The easy to move windshield is really nice when you run into rain on a trip and need to move it up a little. There are enough accessories available from the factory and after market suppliers that you can have the bike of your dreams. I don't know if a perfect bike will ever be made, but after owning Kawasaki, Suzuki, BMW, and Harley-Davidson, I would have to say this is the closest that I have come. The only thing that I would suggest to add to the bike from the factory is a convenient battery tender connection. I've put over 1200 miles on this bike in one month, some interstate miles, some curvy road miles, and some city traffic miles, and loved every mile of it.
- mike hall, siloam springs, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-12 2004 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I traded in my CBR1100XX for this rocket ship. No it doesn't have the insane power that the XX has but it's still plenty damn quick! Cruising at 85mph is awesome! Great for cold weather riding too with the shield and fairings, much better than my XX was. And unlike the XX, I can ride this baby all day; have plenty of storage, and no jarring front suspension. Not to discount the XX. It is an AWESOME and I mean AWESOME bike. I just couldn't get used to the riding position for more than 45 min in the saddle without tons of aches/pains and can only afford 1 bike. I went straight to the top and don't regret it at all. This thing handles great too! Fun in the corners and incredible on the highway. And for 2 up riding, it can't be beat. Highly recommend. I'll update this review when I accumulate more miles as I have only recently bought this bike but I'm very happy with my choice!
- Howie, Germantown, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-17 2004 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is easily the best bike I have ever owned and is a big step up from the GL1500 body style. That bike was great but this bike is awesome. The 1800 has plenty of power to stay in front of any pack and will get you their in style without crippling you or your co-rider along the way. I picked my '04 up on a cold rainy Nov. morning, drove it 300 miles and had a great time. You cannot go wrong with this bike. It has the power and handling of a sport bike with the comfort and style of a full dresser. The only suggestion I would make to improve the bike would be a taller windshield. The tall or x-tall Tulsa really does the trick of keeping wind and rain off you and your co-rider.
- Jonathan Kitchen, Lawrenceburg, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: