Honda Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (250)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Honda Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2021-06-10 2004 Honda XR250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got an 04 xr250r and I love this bike. I live in the foothills of Cody,WY. We have a lot of terrain right outside our back door. I’ve always wanted a dirt bike since I was a kid. At 45 I now have one and I’m loving it. My son is on a CR80r, which just flies. I’m learning, reading, and watching content like crazy. For a guy my age, beat up contractor, it’s been a great bike so far. There are time I have to stand, but for the most part I’m centered on the sandal, feet on pegs on the balls of my foot. The bike was temperamental to start initially, but I was dumb. I read up on the decomp, as well as too dead center, jetted the carb, and did a round of overall maintenance…now it’s a hard kick and I’m gone. I’d say if you’re a dude my age and you find one of these bikes, buy it. I might be a lame, but I’m working on it and having a great time. What else matters?
- Michael File, Wyoming

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-05-22 2004 Honda Shadow Sabre (VT1100C2) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The look, the accessories, the acceleration, style, comfort, make for not just a great looking bike, but a sweet ride. Heads turn.
- Philly Jim, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-03-27 2004 Honda Shadow Spirit (VT1100C) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the bike used in August with 14,500 miles and have had a hard time staying off of it! The ride is comfy, quiet and smooth. Thanks to a fairly dry fall and a very warm winter this year, I have put over 4,000 miles on this bike since I bought it in August! From 19F degrees to 90F degrees it has started every time. So far, its been more reliable than the the USPS.
- Steve Benefit, Cleveland, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-08-02 2004 Honda Shadow Spirit (VT1100C) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Although I love my bike. I have some complaints about the gear rationing. Around town 1st gear is too low and 2nd gear is too high. But on the highway, it's better than the last Harley I owned. That was 30 years ago though. Still I love the dependability of my Honda.
- David Chadduck, jamestown, North Dakota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-03-15 2004 Honda XR400R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My only complaint is that it can be hard to start especially when it's below 50 degrees. Other than that I couldn't ask for a better trail bike. I am a large person and the bike is plenty big for me. Its also good on gas and very easy on maintainance. I've never had a problem with the bike. It's still running on original everything except gas and oil, including tires, which is amazing because this thing flies! I've clocked it at 78 mph. on gravel, a 200-pound rider could easily break 80 mph. on asphalt. It wheelies with ease and if you give it too much gas in 1st gear, it'll put you on your backside in a hurry. Which reminds me, it's been laid over several times without any visible damage to the bike. They should never have stopped making this one.
- Tom, St Louis, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-08-27 2004 Honda Shadow Sabre (VT1100C2) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first cycle in 25 years and was recommended by a friend with a 2007 VT1100C2. This cycle rides and handles amazingly. It's extremely reliable and easy to service (plugs and oil). There is much available after-market, and the only significant change I made was to install Cobra slash-cut pipes (and jet kit of course). This makes the cycle sound like the machine it is and adds performance also. I purchased this cycle with 2950 miles in 2009 and now have 15000, so you can tell I absolutely love riding this machine. The only think needing changing besides the oil/plugs are the tires. What can I say?
- JayC, Suffern, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-03-24 2004 Honda Shadow Sabre (VT1100C2) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The wheels on this bike help differentiate it from other cruisers immediately - one of the reasons I wanted it was that they are much easier to clean than spokes. This bike gets thumbs up in all areas except comfort - the stock seat is not very comfortable. Aside from that, great styling, low maintenance, durability, performance - it's all there. If you're considering one of these - you can't go wrong.
- Todd, Orlando, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-01-26 2004 Honda Shadow Sabre (VT1100C2) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought the hot rod flame 2005 in September '07 and have put over 17,000 miles on it as of this post in Jan '10. These Sabres are still it! They ride right, look right, sound right, feel right. I've made some upgrades and added a little flair but I still should be working on commission for Honda. Upgraded the seat to a button down Mustang for my passenger. I'm now looking for a low mileage 2007.
- Tim Gosteli, Springfield, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-08-04 2004 Honda Shadow Sabre (VT1100C2) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was a bit rusty before I hopped on, within the first 5 min it was as if I never stepped off. The power is great on this bike. My only problem with the bike is the shaft final drive; it makes curves a little different. I addapted to it quickly. All and all this is a great bike, even if your short like I am.
- Matt, Frisco, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-11 2004 Honda Rebel (CMX250C) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I used to own this bike, GREAT BIKE, loved it, runs great, drives great, would recommend this bike to anyone, only reason I got rid of it, it was time to move up to a larger bike, if not for that I would not have traded it in.
- tim, franklin, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-06 2004 Honda CRF70F Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had this bike since new and I absolutely love it. It has a load of power and reliability is awesome. I have had it up to the handlebars in water and it still ran great. This bike will go up any hill you want it to. It will also follow big quads on long rides!! It is unbelievable in the mud too. All round this bike is amazing and is great for anyone.
- canam guy, reddeer, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-02 2004 Honda XR250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I spent some time between riding the XR 250 and the XR 400. Although the bigger sister is powerful and stands back for nothing the power/agaility ratio of the 250 is magnificent. Although it lacks a bit on the power side, this is a great bike for a new entrant to the wonderful world of dirt biking.
- Adriaan Ferreira, Johannesburg, South Africa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-26 2004 Honda CRF150F Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
OK, I've only had this bike for about a month and I can already safely say that it is the best bike ever. I can clear almost all the jumps at the mx track at metcalf (the local park). These are not dinkey jump at all they have like 10 to 20 foot gaps. For an off road bike, that is amazing. It also pops wheelies so easy, you hardly have to do a thing. don't forget about its speed, I don't know exactly how fast it goes but I can say that I'm always out running my dad when he is on his CR250R. It is without a doubt, THE BEST BIKE FOR THE BUCK.
- Jeff, San Jose, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-22 2004 Honda CR85R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is crazy fast. I have a CRF150F and it's too slow so I got a CR85R. At first I was afraid of it. Now I love it. Every time I shift it does a wheelie, even when I'm sitting almost in the gas tank. I love the bike and love its power.
- paul, lemont, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-20 2004 Honda CRF50F Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike was the best bike for a kid to start off with. My son was 5 when he started riding this bike and we just traded it in at 9.
- Chris Donihue, Springdale, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-10 2004 Honda CR125R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I race big bike beginner which means I'm up against everything from 07 450's to 500's and it's great. I get great starts and pull away real fast. I took 3rd on this bike. Great bike for racing.
- Jordan Stevens, Draper, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-20 2004 Honda CRF50F Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike fires first kick every time and cannot be stopped. My 5 yr old is just getting into it and it's great fun for all. Good safety features for kids and a tank of gas lasts forever.
- TK, Wpg

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-07 2004 Honda Shadow Sabre (VT1100C2) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Ok, this is back to biking. I've had the bike for over 1 year. I've put 14,600 miles on it, most of it cruising. Some rides 400 miles round trip through some harsh conditions, desert at over 105 degrees, rain, snow, etc. The bikes first 5000 miles, no water in the radiator. That would have destroyed most other bikes, the Honda kept running. I am suprised how well this bike has lasted, compression still strong, ride semi comfortable. I would have to state, all in all, this is a very sturdy and reliable bike. It has always started without fail. I have always made it back home from where ever I have taken it. I am very pleased with the bike. But, it tops out at 91 mph; anything after 75, gas mileage goes down; speedometer off by 10%; not that many upgrades for the Sabre as compared to other bikes. But upgradeable. Comfort was increased when I installed 5 inch forward controls. Louder pipes make it really nice, but still missing the rumble I am looking for. After a year, I still get compliments on the stock paint job. It is a very nice ride and even with all the trouble I had on it at first, I would recommend this bike. This bike is a real cruiser that has always gotten me there and back home. Yes, get one for a first time cruiser or an upgrade from a smaller cruiser.
- SteveL, Mission Viejo, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-02 2004 Honda XR400R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is one the greatest bikes I have ever had! It's fast and can go up any hill. There's nothing wrong with it. No radiator for lighter performance if you want a trail-race-hill climber. It doesn't really do wheelies but sometimes you can wheelie for a moment. A+++
- nick chat, lake hughes, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-29 2004 Honda VTX1800N Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding for the past 30 years having ridden all of the Metric brands in that time. When it was time for me to buy the last bike that I will probably own, once again Honda filled the bill. The VTX 1800 was the bike for me. After seeing a few Runes at Daytona in 05, I was stunned by the fenders, especially the rear. But a Rune was well out of my financial reach. Then in 06 while on Daytona's main street, there it was the 1800N model. That was in March and by May of 06 I was the proud owner of a Titanium VTX1800N. Needless to say, I am DONE. Honda could hve not have built a better all around bike and my hat is off to them. When people say to me, Nice bike I just have to grin and agree with them. You see in Daytona some of the bars get off on having bike bashes where the metrics are hit with sledge hammers and beaten to a pulp. What's so sad here is that most of these guys wielding these hammers, are the very same guys that were tooling around on Honda, Yamaha, Suzuki, and Kawasakis only a few years ago. Sure now they have some money.....that's cool, but they have forgotten where they came from. No sledge hammers for ME. Just give me the my VTX the wind and a tank of gas and I'm outta here.
- George, Hartsville, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-17 2004 Honda Shadow Sabre (VT1100C2) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm 50+, and have had a bike since I was 14. I've had other Hondas, Harleys and Bennilli's. This bike kicks butt! Smooth/easy shifting. Nice seat/comfortable and plenty of power! I think this bike has a lot of style too. Nice line, I like the cast rims. The front fender doesn't have that big frumpy look, and I like the wrap around rear fender. I like it!
- Phil, Westminster, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-09 2004 Honda CRF150F Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is pretty fast for a 150. It blows 300EXs and 350 Raptors away. My bike goes around 65ish the only bad thing about them is that they are heavy and hit hard when you land off jumps.
- jj carter, locust grove, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-24 2004 Honda XR650L Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 1996 model that has given me a lot of service after much abuse and play. I had a cam bearing problem that my extended warranty took care of. I have had it stolen/blown up once. I have run it out of oil and taken it swimming. I finally put a new piston in it three years ago and found that the head was cracked by the spark plug hole. My connection at my CDI box was making the bike shut off on me but I found it and fixed it myself. I have a lot of miles on it for what it is but it is always ready. And now that all of the bugs have been worked out I plan to go super moto with it. For the the low price I paid a decade ago compared to the performance, I really can't complain about bugs after all of the abuse I have given it.
- Chad, Tampa, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-11 2004 Honda Shadow Spirit (VT1100C) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Overall, the performance has been great. Just replaced rear tire at 6000 miles. OEM rear tire was down to 3mm of rubber. Purchased Metezler ME 880 Marathon. PSI is different than OEM tire. Knock on wood, have not had any mechanical problems. Have changed out shocks & front fork springs with Progressives. It did make a difference. Gas mileage avg is around 46 mpg.
- Sarge309, La Marque, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-09 2004 Honda CRF150F Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great bike for beginners or for people who have a huge backyard! I really liked the size of the bike as it was a snap to maneuver. It does great in the woods and tight spaces. Even though the suspension was not enough for my 180lbs, it handled alright. 10ft doubles no problem, but any jump over 20ft it would bottom out with a clunk. If you're just riding around though, it's okay. The front soaked up bumps and mid size stones pretty well. Brakes were ok; wish there was a disc in the back, the shoes wore out very quickly. Definitely needs exhaust and jetting kit. Without mods, the bike bogs out heavily in 3rd. In a muddy soyfield, you can't put it in 4th because it just won't pull and eventually you'll slow down so much you have to put it back in 2nd again. If I sat back on the bike, it wouldn't even spin the tire in 3rd on mud! Otherwise a great bike for slippery surfaces. Very easy to control the power. On dry surfaces, it hit a top speed of 110km/h (drove the jeep side by side). However, jetting and exhaust fixes bottom end problems and the bike wheelies in first two gears no problem with a little jerk on the bars. Stock, it's no match for a YZ85, my buddy constantly kept on zoomin' past me. 150 was much easier to control than the 2 stroke, it didn't try to get away from you that much and the throttle response was very predictable. Overall, I liked the bike for its ease of riding. I would've liked a little more power or shorter 3rd and 4th gear. It was better suited for my 140lbs friend, he didn't experience as much power loss in higher gears and the suspension didn't bottom out under his weight. I'd love to try the 230, I think that would be the better choice if you want a little more power.
- Lex, Toronto, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: