Honda Shadow Aero (VT750) Cruiser Reviews on Cycle Insider (105)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda Shadow Aero (VT750) Cruiser Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Honda Shadow Aero (VT750) Cruiser? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2012-10-25 2004 Honda Shadow Aero (VT750) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I haven't ridden a bike for several years, approximately 15. I purchased one from a friend and rode home 900 kms. in one day. I was amazed at how smooth it was and the power it had. On the highway my average speed was 115 kmh. but when I needed to pass it still had power. I ride with a group who all have larger bikes and find no problem keeping up with them. The bike is just the right size to be able to move when you have to. I'm 58-years-old and love it.
- Reg, plentywood, Saskatchewan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-08-24 2004 Honda Shadow Aero (VT750) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This was my first ride in forty years. The bike handled well. It was a real joy, but easy. There's plenty of power as needed and has a comfortable configuration. It was a rental and I needed a left night light bulb and headlamp adjustment.
- Neil McKenna, North Attleborough, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-08 2004 Honda Shadow Aero (VT750) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought it to ride it. Over 35,000 miles in less than 3 years. I ride with heavy cruisers and have no problems with keeping up and sometimes, passing them. The real secret: I'm a better rider. (don't tell anyone) I highly recommend this bike to anyone and everyone.
- Curtis Scaglione, Hudson, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-08 2004 Honda Shadow Aero (VT750) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great bike, biggest bang for the buck all around. Handling is great and is very forgiving of mistakes that would surely result in a wipe out on most other bikes, I feel this is due to it low C of G and its over all design. For comfort, it is by far the most comfortable bike I have ever owned or even driven. Vancouver to Alberta was like a walk in the park on it and after some 12+ hours of mostly non stop riding (stopping every 3 to 4 hours for gas and some food) I was not sore or tired. However a 6th gear would have been a great idea for those long open highways to drop the RPM's down. A rear disk brake would have been nice in place of the drum style. Fuel useage: I get about 270 to 290 Km's from a tank, before I have to switch to my RES tank, this works out and has averaged out for me to be about 28 Km per liter of gas. Worst case was riding above 5,000 feet above sea level in the mountains on very steep hills in temps that where so hot that I thought I was going to melt (41c). It was only then that my fuel useage went up and was getting about 22km per liter on high mountain steep roads in very high temps. I was fully loaded and near the max load weight limit for the bike at this time. Perfect speed for best fuel mileage is between 80 to 110 Km/h as I have found. I have put 35,000 Km's on this bike in just 2 years and has been problem free and a joy to ride and own. I see no repair issues to come up for a very long time to come.
- Lloyd Blazs, North Vancouver, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-21 2004 Honda Shadow Aero (VT750) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been searching for about a year for a black and pearl blue aero. I finally found one somewhat close to me and made the purchase. I have rode nearly every day since I bought it and it is exactly what I expected and more. I think I read every post on here before making my decision that the aero was it. Anyway, this is my first bike and after taking the Basic Rider Course with the MSF I was worried about how I would feel. I can honestly say that one the first day I started by riding around my neighborhood, and ventured out onto the main road a few times. I was excited because I got it up to 45 mph. A few days later I was cruising the main roads normally. And a few weeks later I ventured onto the highway. A couple weeks after that I starting accepting passengers and there is almost no difference in weight distribution. The seat height is perfect for comfort while stopped and while riding. The bike handles remarkably for a 750, it looks like it would feel so much heavier. It does seem like there should be another gear for the highway. I have been on road trips locally and all the way down to Virginia Beach. I ride both alone and with a passenger and find that the acceleration and cruise is superb. I could not see how anyone would regret this purchase. Do yourself a favor, stop reading and go get it now.
- Eric M, Lancaster, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-31 2004 Honda Shadow Aero (VT750) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Having now put 9,000 miles on this bike in 14 months, I'll still say this is a great commuter bike. Highly recommend the stock windshield; it's monster huge and really blocks the wind. Adding the stock light bar greatly increased the visibility -- drivers see me much, much better. Still no saddlebags; too expensive. I am making do with a tank bag. Bike is heavy enough to keep you from doing something stupid (like the crotch rockets) but agile enough to avoid cars and potholes. Still use stock seat; round trip is only 31 miles a day. A little too cramped for my frame, but still very glad I bought this bike.
- anonymous, Springfiedl, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-16 2004 Honda Shadow Aero (VT750) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have ridden a lot of bikes over the years and have owned a lot. The Shadow is one of the best. Right from the first I knew that we were meant to be together. Me and my Shadow. It is responsive, clean, lean, and mean. I've been asked on at least one occasion if it was an Indian. I said nope, It's a Honda. The lines are typical retro with all the current guts. I have power and performance. I am an all season rider and the bike performs when I'm ready and hasn't failed me yet. I love this bike.
- Gene Deck, Natalia, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-28 2004 Honda Shadow Aero (VT750) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is one fantastic bike. I wasn't sure when I first bought the bike how it would be but now that winter is setting in and I can't ride as often as I would like to, it's killing me. The seat is the biggest flaw this bike has. After 45 minutes, my back and butt would hurt. I replaced it with a Mustang classic two up and not only am I happy, but my wife loves the passenger pillion as well. After 6 months of riding I am convinced I made the right choice (yes 8200+ miles in 6 months). It has plenty of power, while I may have to shift more with it being a 750 and not a 1300 or 1800 but that's O.K. I love that part of the experience. It still has more than enough power and it gets 52 MPG.
- droopyman, pataskala, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-17 2004 Honda Shadow Aero (VT750) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a fantastic bike. It is great for commuting or for the long hauls. I have made several 700+ mile weekend trips with a passenger and both of us enjoyed every minute.
- darkstar, blue springs, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-19 2004 Honda Shadow Aero (VT750) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a superb bike. I've owned it for only about a month and have fallen in love with it. I had a little trouble with the bolts in the front fender, but the dealer handled the situation very well. After some minor adjustments to the rear shocks & rear tire pressure(rider weight issue), it handles & rides superbly. Would love to have another gear, though. It's an overall delight to ride. I feel I've made the right choice with this bike.
- Russ Miller, Loveland, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-01 2004 Honda Shadow Aero (VT750) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am a proud owner of a shadow VT 750 which is how this model is best known in Portugal. I bought this bike on September 2004 but to my regret I haven't had the chance to ride it as much as I would like to since I've been abroad. Now that I'm about to complete my first 10,000 Km is about time to share with you my first impressions. Let's start with the so discussed performance; believe it or not I've taken this baby as far as 180 Km per hour - of course that being achieved on a descendent road. Even going up hill most of the times I get speeds of about 140 Km to 150 Km per hour. With that being said I see no point in accusing this particular bike of being under powered. Now for the looks - one thing is for sure wherever this one goes it shines; everyone seems to agree on that. As for reliability I've done two oil changes so far and that was about it - no problems at all. When it comes to comfort well - I'm sure you'll find a way to deal with this machine after cruising around a little bit - it is a cruiser all right so expect a sore back after a bumpy road, but guess what just stand on your foot pegs and lift your butt out of the seat on the real heavy ones and that should do it. Well my shadow rider friends would go for this particular bike again in a blink of an eye - this one will keep you fully engaged in your ride and manoeuvres far better in slow speeds than its bigger cousins.
- Fernando Costa, Abrantes, Portugal

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-07 2004 Honda Shadow Aero (VT750) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have wanted my own bike for many years, but until now I was unable to do so because I am such a little woman. Last year my husband bought a new 1800VTX and after a few weeks he decided it was time for me to have the bike of my dreams. Thank You Honda for making a bike for a small person. It is truly a great bike and I keep up with the big boys all day.
- Kathy, Perryville, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-26 2004 Honda Shadow Aero (VT750) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike in August of 2004 and as of May 2005 I have 1255 miles on it. I do mostly around town driving and to and from work but am getting ready to take it on a long trip to Branson MO for Memorial Day weekend. This will be the first long trip that me and my wife are taking together on it. We have done some freeway driving, but noting like this. It should be great.
- Joshua Clatk, Galdstone, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-22 2004 Honda Shadow Aero (VT750) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I puchased my 04 750 Aero in Sept of 2004. Living in Nebraska the weather tends to be colder, so I have not been able to put the miles on it yet that I would like. (working in a bike dealership doesn't help much either) As a beginner solo rider, (although I grew up riding passanger) I think this is the perfect bike to start with. I had not been on the back of a bike in almost 9 years due a very bad accident on one. The fear kept me away. I have worked in a dealership for almost 5 years. My husband bought a Harley last year and encouraged me to purchase a bike of my own. I debated back and forth between my aero and a v-star 650. The aero won out quickly. With its low seat height and pulled back handlebars, it was by far more comfortable than the v-star. I have also learned that I CAN pick it back up off the ground....Nebraska in Febuarary = Sand at stopsigns. I was also amazed that the footpeg kept my bike from hitting the ground....not a single mark on the bike. I encourage anyone wanting to start out to look at the Honda Aero. It is a great bike for all.
- Brandi, North Platte, Nebraska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-13 2004 Honda Shadow Aero (VT750) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 2004 750 Aero, which I purchased last April, I now have 11245km on it, had a wonderful trip to British Columbia last year, Bike preformed excellent all through the mountians, it would be a little shy on power with 2 people on it I think, but other than that I just love my 750. Averaged 61 mpg on trip, cruised 65 to 70mph. I'm 67 years old and have owned bikes of all shapes and sizes since I was young. For me the VT750 is the perfect bike.
- James Ruchotzke, Hague, , Saskatchewan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-22 2004 Honda Shadow Aero (VT750) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought an Aero, new in late March '05. The bike currently has 1400+ miles on it, a month later. It is a great bike, however it needs an aftermarket seat for the long haul. Very responsive bike! I use it for recreation and a commuter. I've been averaging about 60mpg, with most of my travels being on the interstate at 65+ mph. This bike is a great choice, and a very well-balanced piece of equipment, always attracting on-lookers. I'd get another one in a heartbeat.
- AJamis, Boones Mill, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-20 2004 Honda Shadow Aero (VT750) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my 5th bike since 1972. My 1st was a Triumph and I have owned a harley 66 Police Special Electra Glide. This is a fantastic bike for the money. Has enough power, handles great and looks very good. Add-ons are becoming limitless. I have put on bags, lightbar, stilleto grips and pegs, low profile tiny mirrors, and cobra pipes sound GREAT.
- Clayton Born, Pinnacle, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-17 2004 Honda Shadow Aero (VT750) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I finally picked up the bike yesterday. Looks great, starts on the first crank, overall running like a charm. It has lots of torque, great sound and good power. I was surprised at how loud it is while riding, it almost sounds like HD. Hadn't been on a bike in 6 years so I was a little worried at first, but 2 minutes in I was comfortable. The bike handles great and the low center of gravity makes it easy to ride. Neutral is easy to find, all gears go in easily. The only drawback is the seat. It's shaped wrong, but that can be fixed on a cold day. Overall I am very happy with the bike. Nicely surprised at how it performs. Read a lot of reviews and some think that a 750 is too small. I don't think that at all. It is a powerful bike and it is light enough to actually have fun. Big bikes tend to be less fun in the city, stick it in second gear and ride all day long, what fun is that? The Aero needs rider interaction more; you need to shift more etc, that's what fun is all about. If I wanted "lazy" ride I would've bought a scooter. Honda is all about quality. I am sure the bike will run trouble free. Honda could've put better effort into details, though. The pegs are cheap looking, little more chrome would be nice (fuel valve, choke etc). I guess I'll have to spend a few $$$ myself to get more bling. In short, great ride for a good price.
- Pete, Calgary, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-15 2004 Honda Shadow Aero (VT750) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this exactly 7 days ago and already have 600 miles on the bike. I bought what I could afford, and after checking out the Suzuki Boulevards, I opted for the Shadow. Boy, am I thrilled that I did. Each time I fill up, I have gotten no less than 50mpg, refreshing when you consider the gas price. The bike has handled wonderfully, and has all the power I need on the highway. I fully plan to install footboards to increase long term comfort, but other than that, I need to make no real changes to the bike. To say that I'm thrilled would be an understatement, and it was a great deal.
- Shawn , East Greenville, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-31 2004 Honda Shadow Aero (VT750) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have now owned this bike for a year, and while I initially purchased a number of the Hondaline upgrades, I was pleased to see the aftermarket kick in so fully with their support. Yes, I spent some $$$, but I am still far less than if I purchased a VTX and had to leave it bone stock. My winter was full of shopping, then installing everthing. Now, it not only turns a few more (Harley) heads, it performs stronger than ever. Now I think I will leave it just the way it is and see how many try to copy what I have done.
- Zipfweger, Palatine, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-10 2004 Honda Shadow Aero (VT750) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
For my first bike, I wanted something easy to ride, comfortable, and with enough power to "get out of the way" if I had to. The 750 is plenty of power for me. At my weight (265) it has enough power to "pick it up" when I've asked it to. I have driven it on the freeway and have had no problems with power or speed. Then again, I don't need it to go faster than 70 MPH. Great ride, great handling, great price. My ONLY complaints would be a lack of a stock windshield, and it could use a softer seat. Having said that, I'd buy mine again in a heartbeat.
- Rich, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-10 2004 Honda Shadow Aero (VT750) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my Aero for two weeks, but only five days of riding. 700 miles already! Did my own oil change, but it still needs the "new bike" inspection and look over. When it's on the kickstand, the oil drain plug is very low so you'll need one of your wife's really nice cooking dishes or something to slide under it. You'll save a lot of money that way. It needs another gear and the foot pegs drag in tight turns and yada yada yada!!! This bike is awesome for a 750cc bike, it has great torque at all RPMs, in any gear, even with two people. It's gorgeous, usually fires on the first turn over, it's got enough power, has a pleasing sound and the price is very good for what you're getting!
- Jason Brown, Redding, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-24 2004 Honda Shadow Aero (VT750) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the second bike I ever operated, and the first bike I ever bought. I operated one other bike prior to this one, the day before I bought it. I looked at larger bikes, 1100-1300cc models, but opted for the smaller one, since it was my first. I have no complaints. Performance wise, I'm a big guy, so a little more 'umph' would be nice when I'm riding with the larger engine bikes. But it does well. An aftermarket exhaust and intake system definitely would improve it. The only thing I am going to add is highway pegs to strecth out. It is an upgrade that is well worth the money. Other than that, it rides awesome, and with the accessories, it is a beautiful bike. I can park it next to Harleys and other cruisers, and get more looks then the others. The hardest thing is to keep the retro look when buying accessories.
- Christopher Bourg, Lockport, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-04 2004 Honda Shadow Aero (VT750) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been a bike rider for 40 years. My first one was a Honda Hawk 400 (1965). All my bikes (5) have been Honda, except for one, of which I had luck with. This was a 1985 Yamaha 850 (3 cyl, shaft driven). I went through a XL-125, a 1985 Aspencade, and my latest, the 2004 Shadow. Never thought I'd go back to biking, but, Oh boy! That urge ...! As of now, I am so happy I went back, and particularly with the Shadow. Good workmanship, good looks, enough power, and style. Glad I'm back. Me and my Shadow...
- Arthur J., Miami, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-09 2004 Honda Shadow Aero (VT750) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well, I will begin by saying that this bike has me hooked to riding. It's a great first bike. It is very reliable and economic. Runs great and because of my size it is pretty comfortable. However I will still say that the seat needs a little more padding for the long trips. Great price and look. I was going to get a Harley but when I did my research and found the Shadow I went for it and don't regret it. If you have been looking around and have not made up your mind yet let me tell you this is the bike to get. Enjoy your riding and always be safe...
- Julio Candelario, Fort Sill, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: