Honda Shadow Spirit (VT1100C) Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (38)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda Shadow Spirit (VT1100C) Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Honda Shadow Spirit (VT1100C) Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2012-03-27 2004 Honda Shadow Spirit (VT1100C) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the bike used in August with 14,500 miles and have had a hard time staying off of it! The ride is comfy, quiet and smooth. Thanks to a fairly dry fall and a very warm winter this year, I have put over 4,000 miles on this bike since I bought it in August! From 19F degrees to 90F degrees it has started every time. So far, its been more reliable than the the USPS.
- Steve Benefit, Cleveland, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-08-02 2004 Honda Shadow Spirit (VT1100C) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Although I love my bike. I have some complaints about the gear rationing. Around town 1st gear is too low and 2nd gear is too high. But on the highway, it's better than the last Harley I owned. That was 30 years ago though. Still I love the dependability of my Honda.
- David Chadduck, jamestown, North Dakota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-11 2004 Honda Shadow Spirit (VT1100C) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Overall, the performance has been great. Just replaced rear tire at 6000 miles. OEM rear tire was down to 3mm of rubber. Purchased Metezler ME 880 Marathon. PSI is different than OEM tire. Knock on wood, have not had any mechanical problems. Have changed out shocks & front fork springs with Progressives. It did make a difference. Gas mileage avg is around 46 mpg.
- Sarge309, La Marque, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-06 2004 Honda Shadow Spirit (VT1100C) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is everything I could've wanted. It has enough power to keep going on the highway at 80-90 mph,is extremely comfortable and still has had no problems since I got it in August. of '04 and I have been riding it hard and often. It is very light, people think it is a 750 but the power is anything but. Very comfortable for passengers also. Also gets compliments from other riders. I'm glad I got a Honda.
- sean, waterford, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-30 2004 Honda Shadow Spirit (VT1100C) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am pushin' 60. In college had a Honda 50, 150, and 305. Waited about 38 years to get the kids through college. In '02 I bought a Honda VLX600 Deluxe to see if I would still enjoy riding. Well, after 12,000 miles the first summer, I realized not only did I love it again but needed more than a four speed. All the friends rode Harleys and encouraged me to go that route. However, in '03 at a Bike Night, I saw this Shadow Spirit 1100. Just so happened the owner was looking at an VTX1800, and so I bought it. I now have 20,000 miles on it. Last weekend I rode the Harley Wide Glide at a Dealership open house. I wouldn't trade for anything. In fact, all the Harley guys were asking me about my bike. In my opinion, this is the bike.
- Mike Hamilton, West Chester, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-26 2004 Honda Shadow Spirit (VT1100C) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I LOVE THIS BIKE! IT'S WHAT I WANTED. IT'S ALL I EXPECTED. I DO HAVE A FEW COMPLAINTS... THE ACCELLERATION IS GOOD, BUT I NEED MORE. IT CORNERS GOOD, BUT PEGS SCRAPE AND A RAM AIR INTAKE NEEDS TO BE MADE FOR THIS BIKE.
- ERIC , WALLINGFORD, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-26 2004 Honda Shadow Spirit (VT1100C) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Hello Fellow Enthusiasts: <br /> I bought my new 2004 Shadow VT1100C in July but during the first week of October a group of my friends and I rode 1,753 miles from Windsor/Detroit across Ohio, West Virginia, Virgina and North Carolina. The trip was down the Blue Ridge Mountain Parkway to Cherokee, NC. We returned north on Hwy. 129 (Deals Gap) then I-75 to Detroit. My VT1100C Shadow performed perfectly. Tons of power and smooth. I found the bike very comfortable and did not have any use for 'Monkey Butt' powder. This bike is also great on the hills and twisties. I love this bike, a real joy to ride. Thanks Honda!! Ride safe everyone.
- Chris S., Essex, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-16 2004 Honda Shadow Spirit (VT1100C) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
A very nice cruiser, I found this baby last August. It is a 1996 and has 1800 miles only. The only thing that I would like to have is a bigger fuel tank, I have to refuel every 150 miles, can go to 200, but I feel more comfortable with 150.
- Magnum, Fletcher, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-10 2004 Honda Shadow Spirit (VT1100C) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Almost bought the Sabre but my spouse liked the seating comfort/position of the Spirit better, so I made her happy! haven't regretted it one bit. Longest trip 1,750 miles roundtrip with no problems. It is geared a little high for in-town cruising, but I just keep it in 3rd or 4th gear to avoid bogging down. For the money don't think you can beat this bike. Took off the tank badges to get a clean, solid black look. Love it.
- MW, Knoxville, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-20 2004 Honda Shadow Spirit (VT1100C) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm now 51 and this is the first bike I have been on since I was 17 and I could not have picked a better one. The dealer showed me a 750 but knew I needed bigger with my size. Have had it just over 4 months now and have over 4000 miles on it, just cannot stay off it. Have taken some nice trips on it and it holds up great, good on gas and has all the power you need on the highway and some. Had to keep the wife happy so I got her a Honda Shadow 600VLX. Now we are always riding together. I love it!
- Anonymous, Winter Haven , Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-06 2004 Honda Shadow Spirit (VT1100C) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The watercooling is great for FL riding and I've always been a shaft drive fan. Took it in for service once so far and am very happy with the dealer. Have had it up on the highway to 80MPH with no problems, usually commute down A1A at 35MPH. Gas mileage just under 50MPG. Only one camping trip so far (Peterson's Poker Run to Key West). Several H.D. riders mistook it as a Dyna Wide Glide except they couldn't hear me over all their noise.
- Tom Leddy, Ft. Lauderdale, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-23 2004 Honda Shadow Spirit (VT1100C) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I would like to say that this is one smooth bike. I got bored last night and went out for a 300km ride after 9:30pm. The bike never missed a beat. I have added the shaft drive cover, fork tool pouch, wind shield, willy max saddle bags, and frame cover from custom world, 6" forward controls. I have read some of the comments that this bike likes to steer itself into corners. I believe that this is true because Honda sets the handle bars too far forward. If you loosen the handle bar clamps and move the handle bars back two notches, the bike will handle like a sport bike. Have fun riding. Dress for the fall not for the ride.
- sam22, detroit, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-10 2004 Honda Shadow Spirit (VT1100C) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm 53 years old and after not riding for over 30 years I decided to get back into motorcycle riding again. My only bike was a Honda 160cc scrambler but, I've driven 450 and 650cc bikes. Like a lot of guys, I toyed with the Harley dream bike but, I could only afford a 1200cc Sportster and after reading so many negative reviews on this bike I decided to look else where. Well, I've been riding my new Honda Shadow Spirit 1100cc for about one week now and I'm having a blast. I think the bike has lots of power. It handles well on back roads and on the highway and if I sit-up as opposed to slouching, the seat is fine. The handle bars sit back at a good angle so I don't have to reach for them. I don't feel the need to make the exhaust pipes louder than they are. This is a great bike with no upgrades. I hope to drive it for many years. It makes a middle aged man feel like a kid again.
- Rob Heinink, Morristown, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-21 2004 Honda Shadow Spirit (VT1100C) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 1978 Yamaha XS650 Special, and love it; but I wanted something newer, bigger, more reliable for my daily ride...and man my new Shadow fits the bill. This bike is so fine. So far I am digg'n it all the way. The forward position of the pegs is new for me, but I'm getting used to it. And I will HAVE to get more roar out of it!
- MidnightRider, Memphis, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-16 2004 Honda Shadow Spirit (VT1100C) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Not everyone is the same height, so I put an aftermarket seat on it which is 3" narrower, and a bit lower. This effectively 'lowered' the bike some. Big improvement for me. I put on a pair of coil-over chrome shocks, which are shorter than stock, and I was down another inch. Perfect. Lot's of power even for a big guy like me. Added a windshield and rode it to Laconia in 2003 with comfort. Highly recommended. Now, at nearly 58, I'm looking at a VTX-1800!
- Bob, Easton, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-10 2004 Honda Shadow Spirit (VT1100C) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
OK,THIS A GREAT BIKE. IT HAS SPORT BIKE HANDLING AND CRUISER RIDE. I JUST LOVE IT. POWER TO WEIGHT RATIO IS RIGHT. I CAN RIDE ANY BIKE I WANT, AND I STILL WILL NOT GIVE UP MY SHAWDOW. I RIDE A HUNDRED MILES A DAY TO AND FROM WORK-I WISH WORK WAS FARTHER AWAY!!! I LIKE THE VTX, BUT I PREFER THE SHAWDOW SPIRIT. SABER IS GREAT BUT IM 6'3' AND THE HIGHER SEAT IS NICE AND THE TALLER GEARS FOR OUT ON THE HWY.
- unknown, mammoth , California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-06 2004 Honda Shadow Spirit (VT1100C) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Been out of the saddle for the better part of 30 years. Just bought a new Spirit. With each mile my old skills are coming back. Love the feel of this bike. It sounds crazy, but to me it feels like it's glued to the road. Heavy, in a good way. Like a big old caddy. Yet it handles well. They've come a long way with bikes since the early 70's I reckon. She's got power to spare and I'll never know her top end. Love it. Wife wants to go for a spin now. Later!
- Andy, Locust Fork, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-26 2004 Honda Shadow Spirit (VT1100C) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first big bike. I'm 50 now and haven't ridden since I was 25. I had a 450 honda and 350 yamaha. This bike is a great looker and performer but my legs are a little too short for it. It's geared for the road and in town you will rarely get above 3rd gear, but that's ok because it will do at least 85 in third. I have no idea how fast the bike will run. It's heavy so if you're not a big guy, consider getting a bike with a lower center of gravity. A friend of mine has a 1800 goldwing and it feels lighter than the shadow even though it weighs much more, because of the low center of gravity.
- robert cox, selmer, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-13 2004 Honda Shadow Spirit (VT1100C) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After 25 years away from riding, the Wife and I decided it was time. Got some great advice from friends and fellow riders, and while Hogs look (and sound) nice, the price is just not for me. The Spirit captures the "spirit" for us, and is perfect for two-up riding in the Central PA hill country. My only complaint: the seat height. I'm short legged and it just isn't comfortable at an awkward stop. Anyone found a lower seat option? However, the seat is GREAT for crusin' ... both front and back. Put Vance and Hines pipes on it for sound, and notice the increased performance too (surprise!). Memphis Shades are a must in this Cycada Season but the attached [three pocket] windshield pouch hides the speedo. Where's the Tach? Been squeezing 48 to 50 MPG - cruising range before Reserve is a reliable 155 miles two-up.
- Mac, Boiling Springs, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-01 2004 Honda Shadow Spirit (VT1100C) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I sold my Honda 500 Shadow 5 years ago. Ever since then, I knew that I needed to get back on the road. I turned 40 and entered my "mid life" zone and had to do something. I first looked at the 750cc Aero, but then the sales person showed me the 1100. Smart man. Great choice. Being 6' 3' I needed a bigger bike to get around. This is the perferct choice for that big man.
- Mid life, Medina, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-01 2004 Honda Shadow Spirit (VT1100C) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well, let me just say that after I bought my 2004 Spirit, I was extremely impressed. Now that I've put a few miles on her I am even more impressed. The ride is very smooth, even on windy days(I am talking 20-35 mph cross winds). I would take her across the country and back without a moment of hesitation. ROCK SOLID! Honda has done it again!
- Mike Clemons, USA, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-16 2004 Honda Shadow Spirit (VT1100C) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love everything about the bike. The ride is superb and it handles good too. I just wish it had a little more power. Other than that, you can't go wrong with this bike.
- KRA, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-14 2004 Honda Shadow Spirit (VT1100C) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After 20 years of raising kids and putting them thru college I decided to buy this baby a month ago. No major complains other then it needs a gas gauge (ran out of gas once already!!!), the gears (shifting) takes a little getting used to (do not follow the manual's recommended shifting/speeds). Other than, this is a great cruising bike, good power, comfortable, looks great, and handles well!! Easy maintenance. Go buy one.
- Oldhobo, Lacey, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-23 2004 Honda Shadow Spirit (VT1100C) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been an enduro rider for years. I currently have a 2003 Suzuki DRZ-400 in addition to my newly acquired Spirit. I never understood the draw of street riding until I rented a Harley last fall. One ride and I was hooked. Although I enjoyed the Harley Low Rider I rented, I wasn't willing to shell out the 16 grand it took to be Harley cool. I looked around and did a lot of research and the Shadow Spirit just fit me. It is everything I hoped for at less than half the cost of the Harley. My only complaint is why hasn't Honda changed the turn signal location so you can get some decent sized saddlebags on this fine machine?
- KB, South Jordan, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-28 2004 Honda Shadow Spirit (VT1100C) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
So far the bike is more than I expected. Handling is super. The power is awsome. And the bike is very comfortable. I had a VLX deluxe before this one and there is a difference of night and day. So far I haven't found anything wrong with this bike. It is great. Oh one thing the pipes are a little soft. But that's it.
- Frank, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: