Kawasaki NINJA 250R Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (22)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki NINJA 250R Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Kawasaki NINJA 250R Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2006-07-10 2004 Kawasaki NINJA 250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I ride this bike everyday to work (40 miles total) and it is a great commuter. Most people think that it is not capable of keeping up with highway traffic, but I actually find it hard to stay below legal speeds! This bike begs to be revved and it can easily go from 0-60 mph in less than 5 seconds! I have read many great reviews about this bike and the owner's group helped me pick this bike out. You can't go wrong with this one!
- Anonymous, DFW, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-13 2004 Kawasaki NINJA 250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had this bike for two years now, and it just keeps getting better! I have read many reviews of this bike, and the majority of them were all positive - so I bought one! Most people think that this bike is "too slow" or "too small" but I don't think a bike that can do 0-60 in 5 seconds and 1/4 mile in 14 seconds is inadequate! It's basically got the same stats as a stock mustang GT! The best part - gas mileage is more than 50 mpg! So, if you are only starting out or maybe if you want a second bike, deffinately do not overlook this amazing bike! You won't regret it!
- easyryder, United States

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-18 2004 Kawasaki NINJA 250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This motorcycle is an excellent starting point for any new rider. I have always wanted a bike but was too scared to really jump on one. My biggest fear was losing control and crashing. Well, I took the motorcycle safety course offered at the local comm. college and passed. I then went to the Kawasaki dealer and bought a 2004 250 Ninja. It has been excellent to learn on. I hated the break in period. It was horrible. don't plan on breaking 35 mph any time soon. <br /> Well I got through it and now rev this machine to make it go. From a dead start this bike pulls well. If you rev the crap out of it will barely pull the front wheel off the ground as you have to shift into second or feel the pulse of the rev limiter. If you keep the RPMs high, this bike will get you to sixty in about 5-6 seconds. If you are on a roll, acceleration isn't there. You have to kick down so many gears you think that you are going to blow up the engine. The engine won't blow though. It will take the RPMs happily and move the bike. The roll on performance will not scare you as much as the sound of the engine winding. <br /> This bike is something that you will out grow if you do any long highway driving. Any distance over twenty-five miles on a highway is a work out. It really isn't the wind so much as it is all of the shifting up and down of the gears. If you drive mostly in the city this bike is for you. It is great on fuel, handles perfectly, and will get you to 45 quickly and easily. This machine is cheap to own, run, and insure. The true up side of this bike is its value. It is dirt cheap to operate and is very tough and reliable.
- Bill, Berkley, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-04 2004 Kawasaki NINJA 250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a starter bike, don't expect to keep up with GSXR's or CBR's. However this bike is great to start out with, especially with its smaller price tag. I've had it now for about 10 months and I still like it a lot, but it's not quite fast enough for my 18 year old wants. Pros - <br /> There have been more than a few instances where I would've laid down a bigger bike but with this bike's smaller size and lighter weight I saved it. Great price also. Cons -<br /> Having only 250 cc's underneath you, you'll have to downshift a couple to pass at 45-50mph, and admitting it's only a 250, but if you don't care what others think it's a great bike to cut your teeth on.
- John B, Hartville, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-05 2004 Kawasaki NINJA 250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Light (355lbs wet), reasonably quick (0-60 in 5.5 sec, 105mph top), great on gas (50 - 70 mpg). I have had several used bikes (gs550, interceptor500, XL350, nighthawk 700) and have 19 intermittent years of ride exp. This is a great commuter bike for the reasons above (12 miles round trip for me). This bike is comfortable, it's easy on wrists and butt-I'm 5'9"-170lbs with a few 150 mile no break rides. It has seen highway use (80+ mph and stable). The insurance is cheap (no loan=$96 yr in mass. -minimum ins.). It has a full fairing and strong disc brakes (at this price-excellent!). My only bike now, but destined to be a second bike that I will not sell anytime soon (I'm getting an M50 in April or may for longer rides with cruiser friends).
- joe, holyoke, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-18 2004 Kawasaki NINJA 250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Never rode or even sat on a motorcycle until 3 weeks ago. Owned a 125cc scooter but had the urge to "go all the way" without killing myself (age 58). The Ninja 250 is great fun to ride and very forgiving while shifting gears which I found easier than not to do as a beginner. Highly recommended. I have the black and silver one and enhanced it with checkerboard decals (3M) and black lightning bolts on the front fender and front fairing.
- Leonard Tomsik, North Royalton, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-06 2004 Kawasaki NINJA 250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
THIS BIKE OVERJOY'S MOST PEOPLE. THE SLEEK DESIGN AND RELIABILITY PUTS KAWASAKI'S NAME UP FRONT AGAINST COMPETITORS. I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS TO ANYONE WHO WANTS TO BUY A BIKE AND NOT SPEND A LOT OF MONEY DOING IT. THIS BIKE IS GREAT FOR JUST AROUND TOWN DOINGS. AVERAGE GAS MILELAGE CITY: 55, HIGHWAY:75. YOU CAN SAVE YOURSELF MONEY BY PURCHASING FUEL EVERY MONTH INSTEAD OF EVERY WEEK WITH REGULAR CARS.
- JOE, ERIE, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-29 2004 Kawasaki NINJA 250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike. Just got my license in May, and got the bike on Memorial Day weekend. I had it back to the dealership to have the 500 mile service on it 2 weeks later, and I only had time to ride it on the weekends. I love the way it handles. Very easy bike to ride, and the price is right. I looked on eBay before I bought this and I was seeing used ones going for close to the price of a new one. So they must hold their value pretty well too.
- Reviewer, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-30 2004 Kawasaki NINJA 250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this as a beginner bike, its my first and I had never been on a bike before and wanted to start small and smart. I am so glad that I did, I love this bike, it's forgiving, it's fun, it's small, light, it's perfect for a first bike. If I had a heavier bike when I started riding I would have dropped it, luckily this bike is light enough that I held it up. I have had so much fun I just can't say enough about it. I know that I want a bigger bike for the power, it does lack that get up and go that a 600 has because it is a 250, but it's still been awesome. Great gas milage also.
- Monica, seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-16 2004 Kawasaki NINJA 250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just finished the MSF course and I bought the 2004 Kawasaki Ninja 250 and it is off the chain. That is one sexy bike. I'm getting pretty good at riding it too. It's still a little heavy for me but I feel very comfortable on it and can handle it. I highly recommend it to new riders. I feel very safe on it. By the way it's name is NAJEE and we get plenty of attention on it.
- Candy , Carson, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-11 2004 Kawasaki NINJA 250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
All I heard from everybody, while shopping for a bike was, 250, no way-you need a 600cc bike, at least. Well that's a crock! The bike has enough guts to do 100 mph, no problem. It has a lot of pep for a 250, when you reach those higher rpms, after the break-in period. I'm not one of those people that have to ride at 150 mph on a bike. I have my corvette for that and it's fast enough. If you're looking to cruise around the town, then I suggest you take a look at this beauty, this bike is perfect! It's got all the trimmings, like it's bigger brothers, in the Ninja line up. Yes, it is the smallest of the line, but it does the job! Everything is positioned just right. I personally haven't been on a bike since I was 13 years old. So, of course when you ride any bike for the first time, you will feel a little sore in the butt and legs, but in time it goes away. If you're considering buying a bike and you know you just want to have fun with it, then this is the bike for you. You get great gas mileage and it's very easy to maintain. I would recommend this sport bike to any unexperienced or experienced rider.
- Paolo, Seaford, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-30 2004 Kawasaki NINJA 250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well, I just got the bike yesterday night, and I've put on about 80 miles on it. It's quite a bit bigger than it appears in pictures, so I'd advise anyone considering the bike to check it out in person. Comfort wise, it's a really cushiony bike, good relaxed ergonomics, and good peg position. On the down side, I'm probably just a little bit too big for the bike. It's not painful, but tall people may feel a LITTLE sore after riding for a while. You either need to wear gloves, or replace the grips, but because the little grips are sort of sharp and make your hands red from vibration. I'm still well within my break-in period, so I havent been able to really open her up yet, but you can still feel the power under the 4k rpm line (though its not too much). The bike is very easily controlled in both handling and speed. The only really major problem I have with the bike is the exhaust because it's just plain ugly, but if you have no problem with the aesthetics, the bike is a gem.
- Moony, Round Rock

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-27 2004 Kawasaki NINJA 250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my 250 about a month ago, I finished the MSF program and decided to buy a bike. I am a female and this bike fit me perfectly. The height, weight(it's still alittle heavy), but not as heavy as the 500 and 600. I felt confident on my baby since the first day I sat on it. I would definitely recommend it!
- Kia, Philly, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-22 2004 Kawasaki NINJA 250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
With rising gas prices I decided to purchase my first bike in about 4 years. I have ridden much larger bikes having owned a GSXR 750 and an EX600. This bike performs very well for a 250. I have experienced the "wobbles" that have been discribed by others at high speeds. The engine runs well and sounds good but don't expect to get that high pitch "super bike" sound with this ride. I can still keep up with the 500's and the 750's so I am pleased over all. It is nice to have a bike that can turn heads that is so low priced. I would recommend this bike to any new riders or even those with experience that don't want to spend a lot of money.
- Travis Wenkalman, Boston, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-09 2004 Kawasaki NINJA 250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Good comfortable ride. This is not my first bike, and I see no reason to upgrade in the next 10 years. It is plenty fast, and fairly easy to work on. I took a 150 mile trip, and got 74 miles per gallon, but I ride like an old man. The helmet holder did indeed lock my Bell full face helmet, but it is not handy to get it locked in. The gearing seems too close, and I think 7000 RPM for 63mph is too high. Overall, it is an excellent, low cost bike.
- , Franklinton, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-29 2004 Kawasaki NINJA 250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just picked up my new 2004 Ninja 250 yesterday. I have never ridden a bike before so this was all new to me. I read all the reviews on this board which helped me to decide that the Ninja 250 was the bike for me. Since I only have logged 16 miles I will continue to update in hopes my experiences will help someone else. So far so good. I spent the first 20 minutes in my driveway and the ventured out on the street. I started driving at 10 mph and within a half hour I was riding the speed limit in my track of 30 mph. The bike handles awsome, for someone who has never been on a bike I couldn't be happier. No problems what so ever, I shift, stop, accelerate all very easily, like I said I never rode a bike before and the Ninja 250 boosted my confidence FAST! I never once felt out of control and the bike was very forgiving. If you have never ridden before you need to buy this bike, I don't think any other bike out there can give you confidence faster and have you smiling ear to ear. I looked at cruisers first and was convinced that is what I needed/wanted but when I sat on the Ninja I was sold. As a new rider I think having your feet under you on the Ninja makes it easier to balance instead of having your feet in front of you like on a cruiser. Like I said before, I have only been on a bike for 16 miles, no problems and I didn't drop or dump the bike. No one gave me lessons and I am doing fine with the help of my Ninja. I will be taking the MSF course in a couple months, very important I think to make sure you can get all the knowledge you can to make you a better rider. More to come as I ride........... Have fun and happy riding!
- David, Rochester, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-10 2004 Kawasaki NINJA 250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Ninja 250r is actually a lot faster than you would think from a 250 cc bike. It's one of the smallest sport bikes you can find, yet I have no problem getting up to 110mph. It's great for entry level riders and riders that are smaller in height and weight. It's a smaller bike, so I wouldn't recommend it for anyone tall like me at 6ft2in. It's fun overall, but If you are planning on doing some stunt riding or riding a lot I would choose a 600cc class bike, keep in mind those aren't going to cost you what I paid for my 250r, but around double.
- Matthew Burgess, Cincinnati, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-31 2004 Kawasaki NINJA 250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is a blast. I bought a 2004 with only like 10 miles on it and I am enjoying the heck out of this bike!!! The break in period is a long one I mean 500 miles is hard to do when you are on a sports bike but hey grab some back streets and ride for a while before you know it you will have the break in miles to cruise and see what the bike can do!!! Second is the smoothness of the clutch and shifting I mean I have ridden a CBR and other bikes and this bike has a nice feeling when it comes to shifting one down five up pretty easy and if you forget to clutch it you can still shift. I bought this bike because I broke my back in 2002 and I am partially disabled and I can not handle the bigger heavier bikes I mean at only 308 dry weight that is light! I mean I am 6' 215 and it gets up and goes with me on it and I am a pretty big guy!! So I hope this helps in some sense for a buyer that is thinking of buying one of these fun bikes. With its low MSRP and the fact that it is highway legal it is a steal!!! Oh and one more thing there is a helmet holder on this thing and it does not hold any brand of helmet so you end up lugging your helmet around with you but hey that is a good idea because of the theft in Denver and Colorado. Happy riding and be safe!!
- George Hayes, Thornton, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-28 2004 Kawasaki NINJA 250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just recently got a Ninja 250 and it is just awesome!! It handles perfectly under my weight. Most riders will dismiss this bike all together because its "just a 250", but let one those people ride one and they'll change their attitude. I've raced several 800s and beat them. While these 800s were cruisers, they were still 800s and they got eaten alive. I love my little bike.
- ddjjd, jdjhhg, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-20 2004 Kawasaki NINJA 250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike can be a lot more fun than people give it credit for, especially if you live in an area with lots of back roads. You can throw it into corners with little effort and acceleration really isn't that bad considering the tiny engine. The bike also works fine for interstate riding; I've ridden over 200 miles nonstop before (I only stopped for gas). It gets great gas mileage (55 mpg) The ergonomics are good, the seat is comfortable and the upright seating position is easier on your back than some of the more aggressive sport bikes. And almost anyone who sees it thinks it is a 600, too.
- Jesse, Martinsburg, West Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-20 2004 Kawasaki NINJA 250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The best bike in 250 sport category, which only has one bike to offer. The Kawasaki Ninja 250. Nice starter - better then any MSF provided bikes. I was able to go a solid 105 mph on a highway, got bored after 4000 miles and bought a new SV650 last year. Will upgrade to R6 in year or so. The Ninja 250 is a good bike to learn on, reliable, inexpensive, good brakes and handling, good sitting position for a beginner! But it does vibrate a lot on a high rpms, no wind protection on high speed, and if scratched, the plastic fairing is expensive to replace or paint. Also it is a very underpowered bike, the Ninja 500 is a better choice even for beginner!
- Leo, Chicago

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-19 2004 Kawasaki NINJA 250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
As a beginner, I did not want to spend a lot of money on my first bike. that's when I decided to give the Ninja 250R a chance. Mine's a dark blue color, new for '04. After following the break-in period, and 1,000 miles later, I decided to take my 'Ninjette' on an empty highway and open up the throttle. This bike has a decent low-end torque up to 6,000RPMs. After the 250R reaches 7,000RPMs though, you feel a sudden increase on acceleration, like turbo charged vehicles after the turbo lag. The engine sounds rather rough and trashy at idle, but after around 2,000RPMs, the engine note changes to a rather pleasant, banshee-like sound. No one will know it's a 250cc engine in there. My only gripes about this bike are, first, the high engine speed during interstate/highway riding (7800RPMs at 70MPH). At these high RPMs, the engine's sound becomes annoying, and the whole bike vibrates with it, seat included. This is NOT a bike for interstate cruising, unless you change the sprockets to lower the engine speed somewhat, which is what I am planning on doing. My other gripe, like I mentioned earlier, is the powerband at low engine speeds can be a little bit on the sluggish side, especially from a standing start. Once you hit the magic '7'(RPMS), that disappears, but I wish this Kawasaki had a more fluid, smooth acceleration all across the board. My third and last gripe, while not significant, still is worth mentioning. The helmet hanger will not fit any helmet! Try as you might, it's as if the helmet hanger was thrown in as an "afterthought. You might have to carry the helmet with you wherever you go, which can be a blessing at times, especially if you park it in a high-risk, high-theft area. Everything else is great. Riding position is comfortable, mirrors that actually help you see through traffic, and the fact that this Ninja feels so light when throwing it into corners is quite a fun experience. This baby can definitely corner. Also, it has dual disc brakes, which make this featherweight bike stop on a dime. You can easily recover from 'rookie' mistakes that might kill you on bigger bikes. It's great on insurance too (I am only paying $54 a month on it). And as I mentioned before, it has a great engine sound at least until around 6000RPMs or so. All in all, it's a great first bike. You can hone your skills in it, and when you are ready to upgrade to a bigger bike (I am planning on doing so by next year), you can either trade/sell it (these bikes hold a high resale value), or you can keep it, like I might, for around-town riding.
- Jose, Lakeland, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: