Kawasaki NINJA ZX-6R 636 Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (40)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki NINJA ZX-6R 636 Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Kawasaki NINJA ZX-6R 636 Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2009-06-29 2004 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-6R 636 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got the bike a year ago with 20,000. Yes, 20000 miles on it and it now has 28xxx miles no problems. Still smokes the new GSXR and runs all over the CBR f4i's. The bike burns no oil and I have never had a problem with it. Had it going about 160mph and scared the crap out of me. Wheelies like a champ all the way up to 100mph. I had a 2001 R6 and on the R6 the plastic didn't fit together good and it was a snail compared to my ZX6. The ZX6 plastic fits together like a glove. Comfort isn't too bad. I went on a 12 hour trip and only stopped for gas once and it wasn't too bad on the back.
- greg kerr, cumberland, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-02-21 2004 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-6R 636 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased the bike in spring of 08. Being a very tall person is always a concern when I get on a motorcycle. I have tried all different makes and models, but this bike is the only one that accommodates me (in this class). It has fantastic power and control through all types of corners and riding. Kawasaki did everything perfectly when they made this machine.
- blake johnson, berkshires, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-11 2004 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-6R 636 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Kawasaki is selling guns out of the back room of the candy store. This screamer accomplishes the perfect balance of power and precision. What a motor! Exceptional braking power. Add a Corbin saddle and a cruise control for steroid induced sport tour duty. Not sure why Kawasaki dropped the Cheater from it's lineup. Why fold your Aces? Found one bone stock with 4,500 miles on the clock. SWEET!
- Bravado, Savannah, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-24 2004 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-6R 636 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am a pretty tall person at 6'2", this bike is great. Super comfortable and very fast. Handles like a dream in the corners and you have the option to bring up the front end coming out of corners. The only real downfall I can find is the passanger seat. I ride a passanger every once in a while and it is not to cunfy for them. Overall a GREAT bike and I am happy I purchased it.
- Mark, Buffalo, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-12-18 2004 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-6R 636 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Let me start by saying my first bike was a 95 Ninja 600r, then this became my second bike, which I picked up in June 2005 used with 4500 miles on it. All I can say is the power on this bike is very impressive, good low end, then around 9000 RPM you start to hear more engine growl and pull, and by 12000 RPM, she is blasting off to the 15,500 redline. Handling is great, feels planted around turns and my only problem is the fact the 04 636's are known to have rough suspensions stock but overall it is awesome and the bike is lightweight to start with great flick ability. My only honest complaint with this bike is the seat, it is designed so your crotch is up against the tank, add in the rough suspension then, you see where this is going. If you want a great reliable bike with great power and awesome looks, then give the 636 a shot on your next bike purchase.
- Mike, Egg Harbor, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-11 2004 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-6R 636 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This thing can move! I've only had it for a week and I must say it is the most exhilarating experience whenever I step onto it. You can really feel the extra cc's on this bike, it feels almost like a 750 but it handles like a 600. This definitely is the best bang for your buck. I would not be happier with any other 600cc sportbike.
- Aaron, San Francisco, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-11 2004 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-6R 636 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my bike in March '04 and the only thing that I changed is the front sprocket (14 tooth) and there is not a 600 out there that can keep up. I can out run most other bikes on the street. With the exception of an extremely low top end (158.5 - 160 actual), top speed is my main gripe with this bike. You eventually get used to the riding position and the suspension stiffness.
- Jaeson Reese, San Antonio, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-11 2004 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-6R 636 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
When it comes to the 600 class, nothing beats the green team. My friends call my ZX-6R 2004 "HULK" because after the break in period the beast within my bike was revealed. No R6 or GSXR [600 or 750] could keep up with me. Sorry if your ride does not have the letters ZX-6R on the side. You better stay away or "HULK" might smoke you.
- Hector E. Marietti, Kissimmee, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-27 2004 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-6R 636 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It is an awesome stoppie bike. The first gear roll on wheelies are strong on this bike. It is an all around track, race, and stunt bike. A Must Buy!
- TheSilverBullet, Central, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-10 2004 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-6R 636 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
From what I've been through the last month I would definitely say this is the fastest 600 out there. Great all around bike. Easy riding. You can take cornes all day long. you're not going to beat a 1000 but you can stick right with them.
- dustin, california, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-08 2004 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-6R 636 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike really competes with bigger 750's and 1000's. A rider with good skill will love this bike. Might be a tad too much for a beginner. Add a slip-on and you will be the envy of bike night.
- lexojon, cerritos, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-05 2004 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-6R 636 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike and I will admit I chose it because of looks! That orange is slammin'! It sat in my garage for four days until I finally called my brother and asked him how to ride. After that it was smooth sailing ever since. It is most definitely rider friendly. don't be fooled one second by its 600 classification. For all of those who would like to know the answer to the GSXR750 vs ZX-6R: In a quarter mile the GSXR750 without a doubt is faster and will win but if you add a YOSHI full exhuast with power commander to the ZX-6R, the GSXR750 blows out the frame by heavy margins, if you got skills. If anybody out there can tell me where to get a clear orange shield for my ZX-6R, let me know.
- Choke on This!, Orlando, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-28 2004 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-6R 636 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's my first bike and I love it. I know you can't go wrong with any of the 600's, but after having the 636 for 2 months there is nothing that I can find that I don't like about the bike (maybe the tach but you get used to it). I get compliments and chicks love it. It goes fast and handles like a dream!
- John, Tampa, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-18 2004 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-6R 636 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's been a while since I have ridden, but it is all coming back now! I chose the 636 after looking at many different bikes. It seems to fill the spot I am looking for. I commute a short distance to work so comfort is not really an issue. I do like performnace though. During break in I have been averaging over 40 mpg. Will finish break in today so I can really see what the power band is like. I think this one is truly a winner!
- Chuck Harrington, West Richland, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-16 2004 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-6R 636 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
don't let the Ninja fool you. This bike is bad as can be. I just got past the break in stage and I've been riding her like crazy. I got the bike lowered to hit corners better. Now I can hit curves with much more speed and control. Added power command and now the ride is awesome.
- Night Rider, Charleston, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-08 2004 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-6R 636 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Hey, I Just Bought a ZX-6R. And the first thing I did when I got onto it was wheelie down the the biggest street in my town! I love sportbikes. I've always dreamed of driving a sportbike and showing up all the guys in my town that think they're fast and furious in their cars. I think I'm the only one in my town with a sportbike....BUT PROUD OF IT! BUY THE ZX-6R. IT IS A GREAT BIKE!!
- Michael~~ WhiteOut, Antigonish, Nova Scotia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-03 2004 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-6R 636 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is the bomb. I had a ZX6E and decided to trade over to the ZX6R. I hit the jackpot. This bike is so nimble and quick. My first suggestion is to get a steering dampener. The bike is so light, it will rise on you and if you just happen to take it up on the freeway (not that I would ever do such a thing like that; it power wheelies in 3rd with no problem) it can be hairy on the landing. Other than that, just open it up and hang on. I have mods on my 636, but this bike screams out of the box. Kawai has the quickest 6 on the market. This bike can even hang with a lot of sevens and where the power lacks, the manuverability will get you back in the race (I had two 7's blow by me and cut me off on the freeway, downshifted twice and hit it and you should have seen their necks; by the way, they never caught me, nor did that officer I accidentally passed at 159). In short, I love the bike. Unfortunately I just got a sneak peak at the 2005 and it looks like it is going to be even more vicious! All I can say is, "Hang on!!" If you own a 636 and you're in S.D., hit me up for a ride!
- Kevin aka Jester, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-31 2004 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-6R 636 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have lots of toys, i buy them for the pure rush and look, this is a great bike--compares very much in performance to my 2002 GSXR750 and thats a NICE bike too. The look and feel is great, BRAKES are the BEST PERIOD... Very firm ride and my wrists hurt badly after 15 minutes of riding anywhere (gloves or not it hurts) I think its the aggressive racing position it has Vs. the others in its class. But its about performance and handling and style this has it all, its so so light too. Just what the Dr ordered..
- Mike McRobert, Dallas TX, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-12 2004 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-6R 636 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the first street bike I have ever owned and I have had a great time on it. It accelerates very easily, and handles great. The ride is very comfortable, and the digital gauges are awesome! I've gotten many compliments on it. This is a great bike all around.
- Chris Batten, Lincoln, Nebraska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-09 2004 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-6R 636 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Man oh Man, Im 17 and I just picked up my " Blue Beast " 2 weeks ago. After taking the MSF I was troubled over which of the 600's to get, at first I fell in love with the CBR600rr, test drove it at the dealer ship and thought it was great, but then me and a buddy of mine drove past the local Kawasaki dealer and I decided to test the Blue Beast( 2004 ZX-6r,blue). Words can not describe how much better it was. Now that I own it(my first bike) I can't stop riding it, like the other morning I woke up three hours early for work and went and rode it around town. Anyone looking for a GREATTTTTTTTT first bike I definetly recommend this one. Although for a first bike it does have A LOT of power to play with. So if you are a new rider and decide to get this one, BE VERY RESPONSIBLE, she will bite you if you don't watch out. First that happened when I got the BlUE BEAST was her popping up with out me even having to barely give any throttle. Though I had ridden other bikes before that, both brothers have owned sport bikes and I rode dirt bikes when I was younger, so I already knew how to operate the machine but it still amazed me, I dont think I'll be upgrading to a 1000 anytime soon, she's GREATTTTTTTTTT, ride on..........!ps: anyone in the CAPE CORAL, FL area that rides sportbikes , give me a hollar, I need someone to ride with, lol not many people my age ride.
- Alex D-man, Cape Coral, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-18 2004 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-6R 636 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is insanely fast and torquey throughout the entire RPM range. I always wanted a GSX-R600 but changed my mind. I have gotten a lot of compliments on the green skittle. Great bike for a beginner!
- JR, Las Vegas, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-09 2004 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-6R 636 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I know you guys don't like having the girls on the back.. but come on. My boyfriend and I love riding together. We have ridden all over the mountains for hours at a time. His ZX6R is so comfortable and fun. We have been up to 141 with me on the back and 170 with him alone. I am taking lessons right now and can't wait to get my own bike... I think I am doing great on the ZX6R but I may need to get it lowered a little. This is a great bike for new riders. Very fast and fun!
- Heather, Denver, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-06 2004 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-6R 636 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my review for my sweet blue Ninja. It is my first bike and it is awesome. The power and performance is great, let me tell you. I know how to ride already and I have raced my beautiful bike with a Suzuki 750c and I kept on his tail. Thiss bike can beat any 600cc stock.
- Carlos, Miami, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-19 2004 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-6R 636 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Finally I got the dream machine that I've always wanted. This bike is awesome compared to my baby ninja, it is the perfect bike for me. But one thing to get completely comfortable, I would have to lower the bike. The bike dealership ordered the lowering link for my bike and it will drop about 2.5 inches. I'm not a tall guy and I need to be comfortable when I ride. Good luck to all the new owners. Ride responsible.
- linh ho, boston , Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-23 2004 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-6R 636 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a very responsive bike, quick out of the corners and fast in the straight aways. Will not go much over 160 without change to rear sprocket, but not bad for a 636, I had mine up to 154mph so far even with upgrades. Bike gets great gas milage at around 37mpg with Yoshimura map downloaded. The bike runs alot better once I installed headers and pcmIII with map, does not hesitate anymore. Still needs clutch upgrade because it misses in 2nd & 3rd sometimes.
- Mathew Osborn, Hillsdale, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: