Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (37)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Moot from Washburn , Iowa says:

My 2004 Vulcan 1500 classic is flawless. After 20,000 miles, I have had no issues with this bike. I can get on it anytime and go! I got a new seat to

Read More (37 reviews)

Have you owned a Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

Voted Most Helpful Review 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My 2004 Vulcan 1500 classic is flawless. After 20,000 miles, I have had no issues with this bike. I can get on it anytime and go! I got a new seat to improve comfort on long drives. A recent 500 miles haul was great. On group rides, I never break down (the big dollar Harleys do). I would buy this bike again, and I have sold a couple of my friends on it too. The biggest luxury is reliability. The greatest accessory is simplicity.
- Moot, Washburn , Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-22 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 04 VN1500E7 July of 03. Have had a lot of fun with it. I have literally made the crotch rockets nervous in the twisty turnys. The bike is very dependable just change the oil on regular basis and replace your tires when you wear them out. I think I am going to wear this one out. The overall best bike I've owned out of 11 road bikes. Just wish the could come with a Corbin seat.
- Tim Ishmael, Edmond , Nebraska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-11-18 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
We purchased this bike new in 2004 and have loved it since. The bike is coming up on 27,000 miles and except for wearing out tires (not the fault of the bike), it has been rock solid. I have taken some long trips on it and I ride it to work as much as possible (when it's above 23 degrees and no snow). If you are looking for a solid, dependable bike that runs like a champ, this is the one.
- Rene Blankenship, Longmont, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-04-02 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love the Vulcan Classic! I test rode many different brands and the Kawasaki fit me the best. I had a 97 Vulcan Classic and traded in for the 2004. All my accessories could be moved over to it. That saved me a bundle. That allowed me to modify it a little. It was nice going from the 4 speed to the 5 speed. Smooth ride, easy for me to handle, looks great and I've not had a problem with it. Had it for 3+ years and it still runs perfect. If Kawasaki comes out with a Vulcan Classic 6 speed, I'll be the first to get one!
- John C., Mentor, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-01-13 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After spending my first riding season on a Kawasaki 440 LTD, I quickly out-grew it, and was ready for a bigger bike. I researched for months looking for the bike that had the look I wanted, combined with performance, and that was also comfortable as well, as I plan to go on extended rides. The Vulcan 1500 classic was a perfect match. It's an incredible performer, and extremely smooth. It corners differently, but I believe that's due to the large tires. It's very balanced, so it feels much lighter than it weighs. I'm still getting used to it, I think the reason the gas mileage is lower is that it's so easy to ride it hard. The bike is extremely responsive, and when you lay into it delivers incredible results. I'm extremely happy with my purchase, and can't wait for the next season to really start! I highly recommend this bike, as it delivers incredible performance for the dollar.
- Daddy018, Allentown, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-18 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had not owned a bike in a while and got the itch. I looked at eveything there was and the 1500 Vulcan kept jumping out at me. I bought one and broke it in with a ride from Bend, OR to Sacramento, CA. After 500 miles, I stopped by a friends and 20 minites later was ready to ride more. Put 12000 miles on her the first year and still love it. Installed cobra classic pipes and jet kit first. What a difference! Then a kuryakyn air cleaner, and she will run 80-85 all day 2 up if you want to. I don't think you can get a better bike no matter what the cost.
- big mike, prineville , Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-03 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my 2004 Vulcan 1500 Classic new Mar 06. It is a great cruiser and rides, handles, and performs without any flaws. This bike fits the bill comfortably for my size and age (70 YOA). My rides cover 60-220 miles per trip. This summer I plan to ride out to S.D. Badlands which will be the ultimate test. Cruising speeds 60-75 mph makes the engine purr. Gas mileage could be better averaging 37-41 mpg.
- Dan Vallo, Wheaton, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-15 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well from nothing to a 1500cc Vulcan is something. I always acted like a biker from the 70's, even when I only had a French bicycle. It must have been the bandana and the mean green karate attitude. Now 30 years later my first moto compliments my stage in life; I am doctor and a black belt. I sit well on that bike and I am aggressive to the point where I lean too much for a novice. I ride mainly at night (cool, solo) MIDNIGHT rider. Bike has Sampson pipes (loud) black-red, stable and low --I LOVE it--
- dr. jalal k.sidani, panama city, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-01-16 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my bike since April 2004, and have put 16,500 miles on it, including a trip from Spokane, WA to Yellowstone/Jackson Hole and back, and Spokane-San Diego and back. It fits big guys like me way better than the Harleys do. A great smooth ride, and comfortable enough for a 15 hour day in the saddle.
- pat coast, Post Falls , Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-11-19 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just put 4400 miles over 9 days in October. Went from Virginia to Arizona and back averaging 500 miles a day. The rather smallish tank was not a problem with careful refueling stops. Bike was reliable and comfortable. Ready for another trip.
- Tak Eto, Woodbridge, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-19 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Having not ridden motorcycles for over 20 years, I was a bit apprehensive about getting such a big bike. This Bike handles like a dream! Great overall buy and the best bang for your buck out there. Good job Kawasaki!
- Scott Ayer, Washington, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-18 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I work with several fellows that purchased motorcycles this year. One fellow bought a Honda VTX 1300, 1 Harley 883 sportster, and one Harley 1200 sportster. Let's just say the only one that comes close is the Honda. Every where we go everyone checks out my Kawasaki 1500. I do not have that many miles on it due to some rainy weather since I bought it, but I can not wait to get on the bike more and more. I looked at several motorcycles before purchasing my first bike. I am sure I made the correct choice.
- Jason, Morganton, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-01 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Kawasaki 1500 Vulcan in 2003. I've been loving it ever since! I'll take this bike over a Harley any day,or any other bike for that matter. I've always wanted a bike, so I bought one for my 50th birthday! REALLY A GREAT BIKE!!
- ALLEN OWENS, SUMMERVILLE, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-27 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 2004 Classic in June '04, brand new, I've made some changes and after reading some of the reviews, I thought I'd pass along some info. Divng into corners and clunking front end on rough road. Immediately check the torque on the fork triple tree nut! Mine came off in my hand! (torque is 33 lb/ft). Hard to start when warm and/or dying after warmed up. Take it back to the dealer NOW, I took mine back they made a couple of small adjustments, runs great now, easy to start, runs better, 42 MPG consistently. For the seat, find a NOMAD seat(eBay) excellent value for a whole lot less than a Mustang. Rejetting carb? I did and I can't really tell any difference, when the weather breaks, I might be able to notice a difference 2 up with my wife on, but with just me, I can't tell a difference. Run the tire air pressre at about 40 front and 41 rear, and loosen the handlebar clamps and raise the grip end of the bar about an inch. It helps immensely with shoulder fatigue and back fatigue. Find some passenger floorboards (if you carry a passenger). I put a Road King backrest pad on (the F&S sissy bar) These few things turned the best bike I'd ever ridden into the greatest bike I've ever owned!
- Vic Hairston, Sikeston, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-14 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I began motorcycle riding at age 48. I researched bikes for neophytes and got a Nighthawk cb650. This was great to learn the principles of biking. As I became more proficient, I wanted a bike that would allow me to commute locally, and cruise long distances. I just picked up a leftover 2004 1500 Classic. I drove it home in 25 degree weather, and found myself wishing that spring was here so that I could stay out longer. Easy to ride, I am pleased with the fit, finish, and comfort of this bike. I will get back after the 600 mile check up.
- moose, washburn, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-12 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Like several other reviewers, I hadn't ridden in several years, but the price of gas and an unending need to scratch the motorcycle itch, drove me back into the saddle! I've always been a Honda guy, but the Classic has me converted. My only real complaint is it's a hard starter... especially when the bike's warm. I've heard a stronger crankin' battery will help. If anyone else has any thoughts I'm all ears! Comfort-wise it's only okay. I'm saving my pennies for a Mustang seat to give my aging backside a bit of a break. Handles well, dives a bit into turns. Gas mileage is not great (40 mpg going downhill with a tailwind), but if I wanted better mileage I'd have bought a 500. I've added the Fire and Steel windshield; Leather Works leather bags with Easy Brackets... and that's it! (Saving for the Mustang seat remember?) Thinkin' of rejetting the carb to give it a little more oomph. that's it for now... keep it between the lines and watch out for the other knucklehead! I'm headin' to Daytona!!!
- Jim, Orange Park, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-27 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought it in June, and have logged a little over 6,000 miles. It has been very satisfying. I also have a Honda Magna which has get-up and go, so they don't compare in that aspect, but I really am pleased with the ride. It has enough power and it is comfortable. The only two negatives I have at all is the dealer told me it was fuel injected (it is carb). I don't think he did it on purpose, he had just started with Kawasakis. And second, of course the gas mileage, I only get 37 or 38mpg at the most. Other than that I love it. I have only put on a windshield, bags, fork bags, windshield bag, sissy bar, bag and driver backrest, and highway pegs. I like it a lot.
- Joey Roberts, jesup, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-07 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had the bike for 11 months now and approaching 8,000 miles and still trying to get the grin off my face. What can I say, I just love it. I finally got the ignition switch moved to the top of the tank and that was a great improvement to the worst feature of the bike. I do wish for a little better gas mileage or a slightly larger tank but that hasn't really proved to be that big of a deal. I'm usually ready to get off and stretch my legs after 100 miles or so anyway. I now have the rear fender cargo rack and I love it. I have it backed up with a grab rail where a sissy bar would normally be. I also changed the risers since I'm a bit short and short armed and it has relaxed my reach for the bars. I have a light bar on order for night riding and I think I'm going to change the air cleaner/air box out with a unit from Thunder Mfg. A little performance boost and a change of look for just a small gas mileage drop. That will probably be about all the changes I'll do to this ride. From now on I'll just ride and ride and ride... I have been suprised by all the compliments I have gotten, even from those I wouldn't expect a compliment from. I still can't say enough good things about this ride. I just love it.
- Doc, Birmingham, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-22 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After a co-worker bought a new Vulcan this summer I took a real good look at the specs of the 1500 Classic. Being a Harley owner for the past 7 years I was ready for a new ride. I was tired of having to pack 1/2 of one of my saddle-bags with tools. I was also tired of all the vibration I got on the Harley. So I researched the Vulcan line, and was IMPRESSED with what I found. Needless to say I'm now the proud owner of a 2004 Vulcan 1500 Classic. Oh the Harley... well it just sits in the garage leaking oil!
- April, Denver, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-19 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this bike in the summer after riding a Mean Streak. I was sold right away. The comfort is outstanding, even with two riders. My wife loves to ride with me. If I only had a sidecar for my Daughter. Could stand alittle better gas mileage, but I can live with it as is.
- Brett Hansen, McNabb, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-26 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I did a lot of research before I bought this one. The dealers around Houston had very few to choose from. My dealer did have 3, I really thought I liked the red, but the green really grew on me fast. I have had many compliments. The dealer installed the windshield, I installed the rest. This bike rocks! Extremely happy with it, price was right, runs great, shifts are smooth, braking is good, and overall handling is great.
- Dave Daniel, Baytown, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-22 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the best bike for comfort, price, reliabilty, and overall satisfaction. The only bad thing was where the ignition switch was from the factory.(They put it in the wrong place).
- Michael Smith, Lexington, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-21 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased a new one last month for a great price! Unbelievable buy. It has plenty of torque and will cruise all day at 75mph. It's as big as a Harley, rides better and is half the price. I'd recommend it to anyone. It gets lots of compliments too.
- Peter Bousnakis, Chester, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-15 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I hadn't been riding in 15 years and got the itch back about 18 months ago. My previous bike had been a Yamaha Virago 750, back when I was 80 pounds lighter in my mid-thirties, and I had forgotten how much I loved riding. This go 'round I initially purchased a Suzuki Volusia (805cc), which is a great bike but after I got used to riding again I found it straining a bit on the upper end. Eight months later I wrangled a trade-in deal on a Vulcan 1500 and, though I lost some money in the process, I am very pleased with that decision. This bike is a phenomenal ride! Last spring the local Harley dealer offered a day of test driving all of their rental bikes and I took the opportunity to burn some rubber aboard a Fat Boy, V-Rod, Road King, Heritage Softail, and a Deuce. The Road King and Heritage Softail were nice rides, but I came away still preferring my Vulcan all around.
- Swamp Thang, Savannah, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-01 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got the 2004 Vulcan Classic. My wife wanted a bigger and more comfortable bike. That she got. I was riding a 2000 Honda Shadow Sabre. Power wise, the Honda was much stronger. Comfort and drivabiliy, the Vulcan wins hands down. I only put the first 100 miles on it today but I am fairly certain that with straight pipes and a hyper-charger installed at the 600 mile check up, the performance will increase to compete with the Honda. I'm still smiling at the value you get for this Vulcan. It is easily worth the money and then some. I'll review again after the upgrades. Ride on!
- Upskywalker, Calumet, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: