Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Classic Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (27)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Classic Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Classic Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2010-05-17 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this bike used. Pearl white(which seems to be the majority color on these reviews.) Already had power commander, bags, engine guard, 360 pegs, front and rear floor boards, mustang seat, trailer hitch, light bar, and vance&hines power shots, and windshield. It had 7500 miles on it. Purchased it in 09 at local kawasaki dealer. Purchased it for what I consider a steal. This bike is definitely the bomb. Well worth every penny. Just like other reviews no complaints with the power here. This is a keeper.
- Smcnamara, knox, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-10 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought mine used with 7700 miles on her. I added bags and lots of chrome. Just did the 8500 miles service where they adjusted everything. Then I put Metzlers Marathon 880s on. WOW! This bike was incredibly great since day one and now it's even better. Getting ready to put s&s type thunder air, vance and hines big shots and a power commander 3. Read the reviews on the Harleys and am so glad I went metric. I want a Harley too someday if they ever go with liquid cooled engines with dual brakes. Super smoooooth cruiser and set it up for touring too, you won't be disappointed.
- rasvulcan, Beaverton, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-26 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If you are thinking about buying a really cool looking bike with great performance and style, than this is the bike for you. It is about half the price of a Harley and is so much of a better deal and the quality has been a proven factor through out many years. I am very well pleased of this bike and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a nice powerful bike without digging in to your pocketbook. Plus Kawasaki has one of the best reliability of all bikes put together. Check it out!! I know you are going to like it. This bike will bring you many years of enjoyment and you don't have to worry about it breaking down on you like all the bikes you see on the side of the road. See you on the road and have a safe and fun time.
- Wynn, North Las Vegas, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-12-16 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I remember seeing a white 2004 Vulcan 1600 at the dealership and saying "that's the bike right there". No regrets since. I'm not going to pull any punches, it's not the best cruiser out there, it does have some draw backs, especially in the performance department. For having an engine that's 1552cc it's down on power. It's a smooth engine for sure, but why is it other motors of this size make considerably more power? The other shortcoming is the brakes. During emergency stops, the rear brake locks up very quickly. The front brakes are the single action 2 piston units, not the 4 pistons calipers you'd expect on a cruiser that is not entry level. Outside of these areas, I can't complain. I've had it 1 year this month and it has been trouble free. Here's the value I saw in it: Tubeless tires as opposed to wire spoke (with tubes), floorboards as opposed to foot pegs, Hydraulic valves as opposed to lock and screw type, shaft drive, liquid cooled, and a big comfy seat (with the help of an added backrest). All for a great price. That put it tops on my value per dollar chart.
- Richard Haag, El Mirage, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-22 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got this bike in June of 05 put 3000 miles on it in a short period. The bike has handled everything I have thrown at it. I cruised 400 miles in one trip and got 55 mpg on the interstate @85 mph. The bike has perfect weight balance and is a dream to ride. One problem is dragging the floor boards. So I slow down in corners. Only up grade comming is a new seat.
- Steve Bell, Ft. Knox, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-11 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the 1600 Vulcan after much research in an effort to find the most bike at a decent price. This is my 6th bike and I must say it proved itself and surpassed my wildest dreams. Smooth and even acceleration throughout the power band and a ton of throttle left in 5th. I left with 5 HDs of a variety mainley road kings. A few cracks were made about the "Rice Burner" Cruising at speeds across UTAH that at times exceeded 100,one of the HDs Blew a head gasket. Then on the third day another HD had a Timing chain tensioner Break. This is a carefully guarded HD flaw. (Made of a Composite that breaks easily and is a common fault per the harley dealer.) Not here to knock the "American made"! The kaw was smooth and confortable and a pleasure to ride on marathon bike trips. It was difficult not to try and catch a few tickets along the way. You have to give the speedometer a glance occasionaly or you will find yourself going way to fast. The 1600 seems to like 75 and 80 as optimum but there is hardly an increase in rpm to take it to 90 and a 100. It sort of sneaks up on you!. Shifting is smooth and despite its substantial weight and size it handles very well at the low speed required in the parking lot. The balance is that of a throwing Knife. I have ridden HD, Victory, and others and I am going to try and wear this "Rice Burner" out it is such a joy to ride! It is not a HD Clone. It raises the bar for the V-Twin Cruiser. Check one out for yourself. It not only looks good but it also runs like a bike should.
- Bill Young, Davis , California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-02 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
What can I say about this bike? It's beautiful and rides like a Caddy. Its size and design garners respect wherever I took the bike. The low end power is also fantastic. However, I always found the bike just a bit too heavy for moving around town or around the garage. Riding two-up wasn't a comfortable option for me either. A more patient rider would do better than I with this bike. So, be wary of the weight if you're like me and haven't quite gotten your need for feeling your wheaties out of your system. That said, this bike is great for the long distances.
- Joshua 7s Black, Fayetteville, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-27 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I rode this bike for 5,000 miles or so and was quite pleased with everything but the seat. No longer than an hours worth of comfort in the stocker. Ponied up the cash for a Mustang Wide Touring seat and that made all the difference. WOW. Now I can go until I need gas and longer. As for the rest of the bike the stock power was great and the handling too. However laying it down too far in the corners is a bit nerve racking since the floor boards drag. Guess that is why they are spring loaded. As I said, the stock power was good but being a guy I needed more. And boy did the upgrades produce! I do love it and it does turn heads!
- Bill Austin, Sedro Woolley, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-21 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
You've read all the reviews. I can't emphasize how much I love this bike! I have the burgundy/maroon color and I am quite pleased with it! If, and I mean IF I only had one complain it would be the seat comfort. It feels fine, until you've been on it for an hour or so. My wife complains about the passenger seat comfort. But, it seems to be getting better as it breaks in. I'm thinking of upgrading to a mustang seat, but I could also live without it. This thing sounds sweet, and handles even better. It feels like it was custom made for me! The wide handlebars haven't presented any problems for me. You do need to watch it on turns, if you're trying to lay it down. I'm having some issues with my gas gauge registering accurately, but that's a warranty issue. I went back and forth between this and an HD. I know I made the right decision!
- 1600 Classic Lover, Lakeville, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-21 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have never owned a bike before but have done some riding when I was younger. I'm 47 and finally got to a place where I could afford a bike, but not a second mortgage. I looked at every cruiser for a year and a half including the VTX 1300 and 1800, Suzuki 1500 and Harleys, and had decided on the Classic 1500... when Kawasaki announced the 1600. I fell in love at first sight! I have 3000 miles on the girl and the only problem I had was that a short developed in the wiring when someone at the factory ran the wiring over the battery instead of around it and when it got wet it wouldn't run. The problem was it only showed up when wet. It was under warranty, but missed a week or so of good riding. Otherwise, this is a perfect bike for me. I am adding a Mustang seat as I like the looks and my wife says the back seat gets a little uncomfortable after an hour or so. Makes for more stops at the ice cream shops! If I had to look for something to complain about I guess I would have to say that the bars are a little wide for tight parking lot turns and the options for accessories are somewhat limited, although once I add a couple more items it will be just what I want. Happy riding.
- Jim Ming, Meriden, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-20 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My wife bought me a '04 Crystal Pearl White 1600 Classic for my birthday last May. I haven't made any long trips on it, but have done several rides of over 100 miles. Love this bike. Not super fast but can give any cager a run for their money. It is solid, comfortable, reliable and turns heads everywhere I go. I've added a Tornado Air Kit, HK 2.5 American Classic pipes and screwed up by getting a Cobra Fi2000 fuel processor. I'll be correcting that mistake this summer with a PCIII from DynoJet. I've degauged it, added a Mustang seat with driver's back rest, 4" Aeromach pull back risers, a Rifle 21 inch Classic II windshield with lowers, Throttle Boss, Passenger back rest; I have saddle bags for trips to the store but don't use them in the winter for 1 up riding. My idea of winterizing a bike is to ride it. I've rode all winter, weather permiting. This bike starts immediately, even at 6 degrees which was the coldest day we had, without using the idle boost. I've been riding since 1967 with only one break of about 6 years when I got into sports cars. This is the best bike I've ever owned and I've owned a bunch of them.
- Dano, Wartburg, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-21 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my bike back in May and I love it. It is a smooth riding bike with good power and it handles well as far as cruisers go. Mine is the pearl white metallic and it looks good especially in the sun. I rode it to work one night and we had a terrible storm and pea gravel came off the roof and chipped the paint on the fenders, gas tank, pitted the chrome pipes, and broke the glass off the speed odometer. The insurance paid to get it fixed, and when you get a new tank and fenders from Kawasaki they come already painted from the factory so everything looks as good as it did when I first bought it. Plus I got after market pipes instead of stock pipe replacements. I got Vance and Hines Big shots and boy does it sound good. I have a friend who has a Harley and he says that my bike sounds just like his. It took about a month to get mine back, but I love the way it sounds now. I almost bought a Harley Super Glide, but I could not justify the extra money it was going to cost. I am very happy with my decision and would highly recommend the 1600. It looks a lot better than the Kawawaki 1500 and is a better bike, power wise and handling, more real chrome and a seamless tank. Go get one!!
- steve williams, gallatin, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-22 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had this badboy 1 week to date. So far my wife and I are pleased with this machine. It is smooth, powerful, and great looking. We chose the majestic red color. Kawasaki should have called the color black cherry metallic. I have the Harley riders looking at this machine in amazement. Half the money, twice the bike. If you are looking for value, this is the one!! Try to find a used one for sale, Good luck. Want a harley, they are everywhere, ain't cheap either. Thanks Kawasaki!
- Michael , Sweetser, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-23 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have put 2500 miles on an '04 white 1600 in two weeks. The bike handles very well, and has all the power I need. Brakes are very good. Handling is very good except for full lock turns at slow speeds. The handle bars are a little too wide to make this maneuver easly. The seat locks you in one place, which makes you squirm after 100 miles or so. That would be my only complaint. The bike starts on the first push of the button. Two-up, my wife loves her seat. It is wide and padded very well. The bike will lug down to 35 mph in 5th gear and take off from there with no problem. The white paint is metal flake! A nice touch. The crome cover beside the shifter is plastic. It will scratch if your boot touches it. I installed the factory windshield (large). It creates some wind buffering to your helment above 55 mph. I would look for a taller windshield if I were you. In reguards to the fit and finish, it is one good looking machine! The exaust note is great to me. For the money, buy one. You will love it!
- Satyr, Newark, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-11 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If you are like we were, wondering how this bike stacks up in a crowd of Hogs, you will be extremely pleased at the reception you get. This bike has presentation with a 20in wide tank and all the chrome they spent thousands on for those HDs - and when you park beside, say a Heritage, this bike is a lot larger - hah! OK I better not brag too much, don't want to offend anyone, but this is a true reflection of our weekend in the So Cal mountains.
- mike richardson, winchester, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-10 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my VN1600 for less than a week now and have riden it for 300+ miles. It is truly an awesome bike. I stepped up from the VN800 and this bike even with the extra 200+ lbs is easier to ride. It was a toss up between this bike and the Midnight Star 1600 but the Star had a transmission recall and I didn't want to buy a bike that had it's engine and transmission busted open before I brought it home. Plus I got a much better deal on my 04 Vulcan versus the 03 Star. Better financing also. Plus the dealer had already installed a windshield and highway bars and the vulcan was still less expensive. This thing rides great at all speeds and has plenty of power. The black paint job has blue flakes in it you can see really well in the sunlight. I know I made the right choice.
- Rob Bankston, Upatoi, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-07 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Hey! I just got my bike today, and as you can see I have not put many miles on it yet. I don't know much about motorcycles, other than cruising them, but after riding this bike, and reading these reviews, I am pretty happy with my decision on this purchase. I will write more after a few more rides.
- Phillip Martinez, Center, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-21 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This ride is PHAT!! I compared this to Harley touring bikes and this is such a bigger bike. It handles great, rides like a Cadillac but I would change the stock pipes. (I have COBRA'S) And the sound and performance is awesome baby.... I've always dreamed of owning an H-D but I now consider this purchase to be a very smart move. For the money I wouldn't hesitate to buy this again.
- Steve Pugmire, St.George, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-18 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well for 2 weeks I compared the Vulcan to the Yamaha 1100 and the Honda STX 1300. I decided on the Kawasaki and I must say it rides beautifully. It is nicely balanced, has nice pick up and is very smooth.
- .dale, Grosse Pointe, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-12 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned this bike only for three weeks now but I can truly say that I am impressed! For a big cruiser the bike is superbly balanced and easy to handle. The comfort of the bike is second to none and it has the power to get it moving quickly if needed. The shaft drive and hydraulic clutch insures smooth and effortless shifting through all the gears with no annoying clatter or vibration. The bike looks and runs great! No second thoughts on this one!
- Mike Rofshus, Luverne, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-04 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Got a black beauty ten days ago and am very impressed so far. I live in South Korea on a little island called Jejudo, and the dealer and distributor told me that my bike is the only one in the country. There are heaps on Hondas and Harleys here, but I wanted a Classic after reading so many good things about the bike. FI, no valve adjustments, dual disc brakes, gorgeous tank, excellent suspension and tires, and a good quality finish with lots of chrome...so far I've only ridden about 300 miles because we've had some rain and gnarly yellow dust/sand that blows over Korea from China (not good to ride an FI bike in this stuff!). The dealer in Seoul, whom I purchased the bike from, is actually a Triumph dealer, but he has just got the license to sell Kawasaki's, and soon he'll bring in some VN2000s and Mean Streaks. I am very, very excited to own this bike. One small thing: the final drive gear oil looks a little low, but I'm not sure how this can be after only 300 miles. The shaft drive kind of whistles, too, though not at all RPM's. I hope to have this solved soon. I'm glad I bought the bike so far. It's everything I imagined and more.
- Darcy, Jejudo, British Columbia, Korea (South)

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-30 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have just over 1K miles and have had the bike a couple of months (didn't ride much in January and February). Bottom line so far is, the more I ride the more I like!
- Jim Sewell, Austin, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-10 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought my 04 pearl white and it is a really nice looking bike. The ride the performance is like none other bike I have ridden in my time. And I am 42 years young. The only complaint I have is the engine has a little noise while running and has slight vibration but other that that I love this bike. I will probably own this bike for several years to come.
- Paul, morris, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-30 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have nearly 1000 miles on my new ride, and am very pleased with it. It's smooth, comfortable, sufficient power, with a lot more in the engine if you want to go after it. I compared the Road Star, a series of Harleys, Honda's VTX, and at the time I was riding a BMW. The Roadie was a good looker, but vibrated a lot in the floorboards, and fell into the corners more so than the Kawasaki. The VTX felt top heavy and awkward, especially at slow speeds, and not as roomy as the Kawasaki. The Harleys were nice rides, but way over priced and smaller frames than the Kawasaki. The 1600 Classic simply fit me best @ 6'2" and 220#. It's not a crotch rocket (not as agile as it might be), but it's not a farm tractor, either. It's a cruiser, and it does all you could ask of this style of bike very well. If you want a 120-horse chopper, buy one. If you want a rocket, buy one. If you want a good priced, all around cruiser look at Kawasaki's 1600 Classic. Obviously, I'm a satisfied owner.
- Bruce Van Roekel, Tucson, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-27 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Excellent Bike! Great looks, power and handling. My Harley Buddies are "Kawasaki Green" with envy!
- Clarence E. Williams, Conyers, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: