Kawasaki Vulcan 2000 Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (34)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki Vulcan 2000 Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Kawasaki Vulcan 2000 Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2009-10-11 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 2000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just got back from a ride to the smokey mountains. One of many trips I have taken on my vn2000 I call "The land cruser". I have to say the 35 years I have been riding, this is one of the best motorcycles I have ridden. I have had this one for 4 years and yes I bought it used and only had to replace the front tire. I also ride it to work everyday rain or shine. I would say snow, but there's no snow here. One thing I can say is everywhere I go everyone is always nice. I don't call myself a biker, I am a motorcyclist who just loves to ride.
- David1la, Covington, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-03 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 2000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding street bikes since 1977, and have always owned Harley Davidson street bikes. Mainly because they were big, and are the type of bike that I like to ride, a cruiser. That all changed in July of 2004, I bought a Kawasaki VN2000. There is nothing that this bike doesn't do well. The only complaint that I had was the seat, which I remedied with a new Mustang seat. I think that Kawasaki has out done themselves with this one.
- Brian Wottle, Batavia, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-07 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 2000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
5500 plus miles. Lots of power and holds the road very well. The 2000 is more of a highway bike. I road 550 miles in one day and could have gone a lot further. The stock seat was a little hard, so I put a mustang seat on the bike....
- Randy Duke, Guthrie, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-25 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 2000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought it as a DEMO from dealer with 2000 miles. Had Cobra pipes and OEM 15 in wind screen and bags. Was looking at the 1600 until I rode this one. Ten minutes and I was hooked. Handles the WV twisting roads like it was glued on. The power is awesome. I especially like the extra weight. Makes for stability when encountering wind gusts from trucks and mother nature. The technology and craftmanship is awesome. Yeah, the saddle is a little firm & checking the oil is a pain, but a small price to pay for what you get. This one sets the mark.
- Robin Spencer, GLenville, West Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-12 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 2000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my purple torque monster 5/04 and have not looked back since. Of all the v-twin cruisers I have riden in my 52 years, this Vulcan 2k is nothing short of amazing. For a big boy, the bike that is, handling is excellent, power is smooth, engine is nearly vibration free, revs easily, and pulls hard into next week. The kick stand could be 2 inches longer. A word of caution, make a kickstand pad out of alum. plate. On a hot day on an asphault surface, I have buried mine over one inch deep and the lean angle gets ugly. I have also read reports of engine overhead rattles, cure, remove the headlight assy and instal rubber isolaters between the headlight and headlight mounting housing, "valve" rattle disapeared. You must test ride this machine before you purchase ANY big cruiser and you too will be nothing short of AMAZED!
- Daryl Chabot, Seatac, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-24 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 2000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The only real problems I've delt with so far is a squeeking rear axle(fixed on warranty),comfort,lack of factory accessories, and the cost of oil changes. I added a 1"spacer to the bottom of the kickstand to raise the angle of the bike when parked so it is easier to pick up.Weight of the bike in slow going is a chore as well as backing into parking spaces. On the road the bike is very responsive and quick. The seat was too hard and hurt my butt after only 100 miles of travel. The handle bars were too wide and low and hurt my shoulders and made the steering to sensitive.The width of them caused me to lift out of the saddle when trying to park making hard turns. The tramsmission is noisey and clunks when shifting. The bike is a blast to ride though. It is very stable and quite predictable. I had to learn to start into corners sooner than I used to on other bikes though. It is also easy to underestimate how fast you are traveling too. With the power of this engine, downshifting doesn't happen very often except to slow down. The design of the rear fender allows road film to get on the fender and it gets dirty fast. I've averaged over 45 MPG and that's good for a large engine. The bike starts fast when hot or cold with no stutter or miss. This is one of the best engines I've owned. I've been riding about 50 years and I'm 70 years old. The transmission is overdriven in 4th and 5th gear, but there is no need to downshift at road speeds to pass. Just twist the throttle and go. The suspension is stiff and causes the bike to jump over bumps rather than rolling over them. The guages are easy to see,look good and are accurate.With the changes I've made, I think it is a fun dependable bike and would buy it again.
- Dave Schwab, Burlingame, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-11 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 2000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought mine in June of '04, and love it. I have been a Kawasaki buyer for years. I started out with the 800 Vulcan then owned a 2000 Vulcan 1500. Now I own the big daddy. I thought my 1500 was fast (hyper-charger made a big difference), but this bike cannot be compared. The mustang seat (with backrest) and passenger seat was the first thing ordered. I "Finally" got my jardine pipes, windshield, thunder hyper-charger and fuel-computer. I got a tank bib, chubby bags, and am just waiting for more new accessories to get on the market (manufacturers hurry up!). I ride with lots of friends...Hondas, Harleys, Kawis, etc. All I hear is how awesome the bike looks and that strange look on their faces when they catch up with me is "priceless". I can only manage to get one of my buddies to ever dare challenge the "big boy", (vtx 1800) and he fades rather quickly. The Harley buddies just "potato, potato, potato" behind and eventually mosey up with a reserved grin on their faces. Love Harleys, but wouldn't trade my bike for one. I can't wait for the weather to warm a little...I can hear the big boy getting restless as I type.
- bill heinrich, bethany, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-27 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 2000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought it in the middle of October and rolled up 2400 miles before the 1st of December. I added the windshield first and followed with the lowers to stop the buffeting. What everyone is saying about the hard seat is true. 45 minutes is about all you can take before you start squirming. I just installed the Mustang saddle and can't wait for the weather to improve to try it out. The engine seems to get stronger every time I ride and I am impressed with the total lack of mechanical noise.
- Dennis Carlson, Stephens City, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-12 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 2000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just got my 2004 Vulcan in deep Purple. Used to ride a Honda 1100 Shadow and was worried about the added weight. The Vulcan handles as well as the Spirit even though it is 200 lbs heavier! The Vulcan is the ultimate cruiser! More power than you will ever need, outstanding look and all the components, fit & finish so far are of excellent quality. Lots of bike for the money. When you crank the throttle on this baby you better hold on! Already replaced the passsenger seat with the Kawasaki upgrade and the wife loves it (she sits much higher). Added the Engine guards and passenger floorboards. The Kawasaki sissy bar and luggage carrier are top quality and make the passenger's ride outstanding. Adding a PowerCommander this weekend. Still waiting for more choices on aftermarket exhaust.
- Ootman, The Woodlands, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-08 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 2000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The only bad sticking point to this bike is the seats. The passenger seat absolutely sucks and the riders' is not much better. I rode 25 miles when I first bought this bike and my butt hurt. It took me exactly 2 days to order Mustang Wide Touring seats. The bike now is fantastic. What else can I say about it? The kickstand is too short so it is a bit more to pick up off the stand than most bikes...but livable. I won't say the good points because the rest is all good.
- George McCormick, Tyngsboro, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-04 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 2000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This machine continues to amaze me, I have just about 5000 miles on it now and still I suffer through each work week, knowing this machine is at home setting idle. I've ridden through many mountain roads through Glacier Park and Yellowstone Park and still can't get enough of this Vulcan. Taken rides on many cruiser rally's and received a lot of compliments. The only complaint that I have is hearing "but HD holds its value longer" from disgruntled HD owners.
- DWenz, Great Falls, Montana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-02 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 2000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
She's big and blue, headturning looks. Nice flowing lines, detail work is very good, paint job is top notch. The only bike that makes me feel normal sized, the foot to seat distance was major sale point, great for longer legs (rocking chair position). Stock seat is wide, but feels a 1" too short at tailbone. Smooth idle, easy clutch and good brakes front and back. Spouse needs extra pillow to soften the bark of that stock flat pillion seat. Night ride over Gates Pass (twisty/steep), made me aware that the bike can't be snapped around tight corners like my '97 Sporty, it drags a footboard occasionally. Headlamps work great/highbeam doubles visable distance and width of the low beams, makes additional lighting lower on my "want to get" list. Stock tail light a little dim for early evening, if driving into the sun other drivers may not see it light up. LED replacement lamps in future, also want to upgrade rear turn signals to dual function markers.
- Russell Barker, Tucson, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-25 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 2000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had the pleasure of riding this big twin at this years Americade rally in Lake George, NY. I was one of the first riders on Tuesday June 7th, to ride the big beast through the twists and turns of this beautiful New England countyside. I got on expecting to ride a dog, and what I got, was a tiger! The bike is heavy when you first get on and upright it from its kick stand, which is too short (easy fix by Kawasaki). The twin fires to life with a smooth mechanical melody which I thought was a little quiet for a twin. The heaviness vanishes quickly once the bike starts to roll. Cornering is effortless, the big twin is very smooth in the the twists and turns of the Adarondacks, with more than ample excelleration, and braking that just simply put is, "perfect"! The Vulcan 2000 is an absolute homerun for the engineers at Kawasaki, Kudos gentlemen, well done. I felt the fuel injection made this "big twin" truly exciting to ride. With every twist of the throttle, I felt my heart race with adrenaline as this Vulcan reminded me of why I love to ride motorcycles. That thrill and excitment was just like riding a rollercoaster. Our hearts thumped vigorusly as we swooped again and again through the twisties. Before we hit the highway, I looked around at the faces of the other Vulcan 2000 riders and saw their faces reflecting the same feeling I was experiencing, "WOW". We all shared that same grin that you couldn't slap off of us. We all loved this bike. I could see the anticipation in their eyes as we waited for the light to turn green and "unleash the hounds" as it were. The light turned green and the "big twin", smoothly pulled away from the intersection, onto the entrance ramp and left the world behind! We were doing 110 MPH in just a few seconds and the 2000 was still pulling when we backed off. I am pleased to recommend the Vulcan 2000 as a truly exciting bike to ride and own! You will not be disappointed by the precise handling, gentle suspension, responsive acceleration, smooth and effortless shifting from clutch and transmission, roomy seating & genuinely good looking ride. There are a few things that must be changed about the bike however. Such as: 1) the kick stands is too short and needs more of a tab for the rider to catch with his/her boot/shoe heal. 2) Bike is too quiet, little louder exhaust would be nice, not too much! 3) An RPM gauge must be standard equipment. I kept hitting the "rev limiter",while riding. Come on guys, add a tachometer so we can see where we are in the RMP range.
- Jack O'Hara, Willis, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-04 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 2000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my Lime green bike a little over a week now and ohhh baby do the HD riders drool!!!! I have owned 5 other bike's but never dreamed of a monster bike until I took this for a one block test ride!! Impressed is not even close. The wife and I went to a bike show in Ottawa, IL and guess what... in the middle of the 2000 Harley's was a Vulcan 2000. Need I say more??? This bike is a 10 in my book.
- Jeffrey A VanOstran, LaSalle, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-30 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 2000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had to have a motorcycle that would run, and this is it. My first trip was to break it in. The ride as well as the comfort was very impresive. The first time I stopped for gas I was very suprised. I had travled 150 miles and the bike only took 2.7 gal of gas. That was 55.5 miles per gallon... very impressive. The next thing was riding through the Black Hills of S.D. The Vulcan 2000 hugs the road and I never felt out of control. After the break in I had to see how fast the Vulcan 2000 would go. Again I was very suprised when a stock motorcycle would do 133 mph. don't tell the police. I love this motorcycle and recommend it to anyone who wants to just ride in comfort or get there fast. Thank you Kawasaki for making what I think is the best machine on the road today.
- Elmo, Cheyenne, Wyoming

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-29 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 2000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My first bike! This bike has awesome power coupled with much better than expected handling. I have put 1500 miles on it in the three weeks I have owned the bike. Fit and finish are top quality. The stock seat only looks good, and is poor comfort at best. The headlight is great because it is both big and bright with four bulbs. Love the big tires as they really hold the road. Ordered a Mustang seat with back rest and some quality leather saddle bags with clip on capability. The new seat should make the bike much more comfortable on longer rides. Overall, this is a lot of bike for the money!!
- Jim, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-27 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 2000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
She's a dream to ride. My daughter loves it as much as I do. See says "No one messes with the Monster" Not a weight problem or lack of horsepower. Handles well in the corners. My Vulcan always gets great comments and looks from the HD riders. I love the fact that HD's can't keep up, though the Y-Rod was close. I'm waiting on more accessories, rev limiters(too low) and someone to come up with a longer kickstand.
- Dennis Gehle, Tiffin, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-12 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 2000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding for over 20 years on a variety of street bikes from 350cc up to this beast. Never have I had a bike that corners as well as this one. On my last bike (yamaha road star) I had to push the bike into turns. This one just glides effortlessly through even the tightest twisties (but watch out for floor board scrape). The seat MUST be replaced or at least padded more. I don't want to play Iron Butt that much. Overall a great machine.....get one!
- Amagalous, Laurel, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-10 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 2000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Have 1800 miles now. Awesome ride, handles great (even at parking lot speeds) Just starting to bump the rev limiter now and then. Needed to break in a bit. Great power, especially top gear roll-ons. Absolutely smokes my buddy's new heritage softail and his brother's new road king. Pulls away nicely from the vulcan 1600. Rev limiter is definately set too low (5850), am adding tornado intake and computer upgrade, which should solve that RPM issue. Can't wait for more aftermarket stuff to come out. I'm very pleased with the bike.
- The Other Guy, Cottonwood, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-13 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 2000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
From the second I saw the curves and the lines of this incredible machine I knew I HAD to own it. Placed the wife on the back and took off for 80 miles. We were both somewhat intimidated but for only for the first 45 seconds. Once this baby starts rolling the weight just melts away. The roll on it is absolutley breath taking and the handling in the West Virginia Mountains and turns is nothing short of addicting! The view from the behind lets you know Baby Got BACK! If you EVER get a chance to take one of these Super Cruisers for a ride, by all means DO IT! The most incredible machine I have ever owned. PERIOD
- Ed Peirce, Reedsville, West Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-11 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 2000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had 8 motorcycles since I have been riding for the last 36 years. This one beats all expectations! I bought a Kawasaki Vulcan Nomad Fi 2 years ago, have taken it to 12 states touring, and decided to try out the new 2000 Vulcan for comparison. Numerous advantages with the 2000 over 1500. Key can be removed, no choke,bigger engine, deeper sound with the pipes, bigger gas tank, brighter headlights, easier to remove seat to get to the battery. I'm really looking forward to touring with this dream machine. I ordered the backrest with handles, windshield with lowers, engine guard, alamo chubby saddlebags, saddlebage supports, and passenger seat with emblem. Should be a prize to be pictured when the bike is equipped in the next 2 weeks, stay tuned!
- gary wilzbacher, Eagan, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-08 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 2000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Not a glowing review just the pros and cons in my opinion. After 220 miles, I got a "diesel" engine noise from my motor at idle. Over two weeks before I got it back. Cons - mirrors are too low (I see elbows), turn signal indicator is green instead of amber, stock front tire grabs the rain grooves just enough, low-speed tight turn requires too much body movement, seat too firm, throttle has slow response, trani is clunky. Pros - Nice torque, riding position comfortable, suspension has good response, belt smoothes out the motor, chrome is excellent, getting ~41MPG after break-in, front brakes pull it down quick, has a good rumble (I've gotten alarms to chirp). While I trust the reliability of a Honda (VTX1800R my other choice), I just HAD to have a 2 litre. Email me if you want to know more.
- Kevin, Lakewood, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-13 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 2000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the third bike in my garage and will serve the purpose I had hoped ... a powerful, boulevard ride for buzzing around town. Good low-end torque. Handles corners well. Nice sound. Will be keeping my Road King for touring and my Bandit for my adrenaline needs! As the VN2000 is neither a replacement for either, but does what it does well. The ergonomics need a LOT of work! Very uncomfortable stock ride. Will need bars and a new seat for sure. Fit and finish is expected. Some use of plastic where metal should have been used, but not unexpected.
- Bill Stopes, Chicago, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-08 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 2000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Have had mine for 2 weeks now. 1000 miles on the bike and the only real complaint I have is on the driver legroom. I realize mine are long, but it's a bit cramped. If you are going to be doing a lot of two up riding, put on the optional tour seat. Your passenger will love you for it. Longer better shaped and more padding. I have also put on the factory backrest and luggage rack and Cobra passenger floorboards. Bike runs like a bandit. Second gear roll on is tremendous. Getting about 40 miles per gallon (combination interstate/city). Love the bike, the headlight looks a little strange, but it's great at night. Beautiful paint job, nice detail work.
- BigBob, Cozad, Nebraska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-07 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 2000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Finally, I purchased something where the manufacturer got it right ... very right. My last bike was 20 years ago (an original 903 Z1, S/N 45) the first time I sat on the Vulcan, I drove it home. Very comfortable, and like others have said, weight is not a problem. I love everything about it, except the passenger seat has to go. On a twisting, hilly Southern California road, the transmission is almost "set it and forget it" ... downshifting was hardly necessary. I can't be more pleased.
- Bob Wolfe, Joshua Tree, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: