Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 2000 Motorcycle reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
4.8
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.2

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Motorcycles

Reviews

34 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

David1la

Covington, Louisiana

Reviewed on 2009-10-11

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 2000

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Just got back from a ride to the smokey mountains. One of many trips I have taken on my vn2000 I call "The land cruser". I have to say the 35 years I have been riding, this is one of the best motorcycles I have ridden. I have had this one for 4 years and yes I bought it used and only had to replace the front tire. I also ride it to work everyday rain or shine. I would say snow, but there's no snow here. One thing I can say is everywhere I go everyone is always nice. I don't call myself a biker, I am a motorcyclist who just loves to ride.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Brian Wottle

Batavia, Ohio

Reviewed on 2007-06-03

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 2000

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've been riding street bikes since 1977, and have always owned Harley Davidson street bikes. Mainly because they were big, and are the type of bike that I like to ride, a cruiser. That all changed in July of 2004, I bought a Kawasaki VN2000. There is nothing that this bike doesn't do well. The only complaint that I had was the seat, which I remedied with a new Mustang seat. I think that Kawasaki has out done themselves with this one.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Randy Duke

Guthrie, Oklahoma

Reviewed on 2006-10-07

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 2000

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
5500 plus miles. Lots of power and holds the road very well. The 2000 is more of a highway bike. I road 550 miles in one day and could have gone a lot further. The stock seat was a little hard, so I put a mustang seat on the bike....
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Robin Spencer

GLenville, West Virginia

Reviewed on 2006-06-25

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 2000

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Bought it as a DEMO from dealer with 2000 miles. Had Cobra pipes and OEM 15 in wind screen and bags. Was looking at the 1600 until I rode this one. Ten minutes and I was hooked. Handles the WV twisting roads like it was glued on. The power is awesome. I especially like the extra weight. Makes for stability when encountering wind gusts from trucks and mother nature. The technology and craftmanship is awesome. Yeah, the saddle is a little firm & checking the oil is a pain, but a small price to pay for what you get. This one sets the mark.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Daryl Chabot

Seatac, Washington

Reviewed on 2005-09-12

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 2000

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I purchased my purple torque monster 5/04 and have not looked back since. Of all the v-twin cruisers I have riden in my 52 years, this Vulcan 2k is nothing short of amazing. For a big boy, the bike that is, handling is excellent, power is smooth, engine is nearly vibration free, revs easily, and pulls hard into next week. The kick stand could be 2 inches longer. A word of caution, make a kickstand pad out of alum. plate. On a hot day on an asphault surface, I have buried mine over one inch deep and the lean angle gets ugly. I have also read reports of engine overhead rattles, cure, remove the headlight assy and instal rubber isolaters between the headlight and headlight mounting housing, "valve" rattle disapeared. You must test ride this machine before you purchase ANY big cruiser and you too will be nothing short of AMAZED!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
3.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dave Schwab

Burlingame, Kansas

Reviewed on 2005-08-24

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 2000

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The only real problems I've delt with so far is a squeeking rear axle(fixed on warranty),comfort,lack of factory accessories, and the cost of oil changes. I added a 1"spacer to the bottom of the kickstand to raise the angle of the bike when parked so it is easier to pick up.Weight of the bike in slow going is a chore as well as backing into parking spaces. On the road the bike is very responsive and quick. The seat was too hard and hurt my butt after only 100 miles of travel. The handle bars were too wide and low and hurt my shoulders and made the steering to sensitive.The width of them caused me to lift out of the saddle when trying to park making hard turns. The tramsmission is noisey and clunks when shifting. The bike is a blast to ride though. It is very stable and quite predictable. I had to learn to start into corners sooner than I used to on other bikes though. It is also easy to underestimate how fast you are traveling too. With the power of this engine, downshifting doesn't happen very often except to slow down. The design of the rear fender allows road film to get on the fender and it gets dirty fast. I've averaged over 45 MPG and that's good for a large engine. The bike starts fast when hot or cold with no stutter or miss. This is one of the best engines I've owned. I've been riding about 50 years and I'm 70 years old. The transmission is overdriven in 4th and 5th gear, but there is no need to downshift at road speeds to pass. Just twist the throttle and go. The suspension is stiff and causes the bike to jump over bumps rather than rolling over them. The guages are easy to see,look good and are accurate.With the changes I've made, I think it is a fun dependable bike and would buy it again.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

bill heinrich

bethany, Oklahoma

Reviewed on 2005-01-11

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 2000

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought mine in June of '04, and love it. I have been a Kawasaki buyer for years. I started out with the 800 Vulcan then owned a 2000 Vulcan 1500. Now I own the big daddy. I thought my 1500 was fast (hyper-charger made a big difference), but this bike cannot be compared. The mustang seat (with backrest) and passenger seat was the first thing ordered. I "Finally" got my jardine pipes, windshield, thunder hyper-charger and fuel-computer. I got a tank bib, chubby bags, and am just waiting for more new accessories to get on the market (manufacturers hurry up!). I ride with lots of friends...Hondas, Harleys, Kawis, etc. All I hear is how awesome the bike looks and that strange look on their faces when they catch up with me is "priceless". I can only manage to get one of my buddies to ever dare challenge the "big boy", (vtx 1800) and he fades rather quickly. The Harley buddies just "potato, potato, potato" behind and eventually mosey up with a reserved grin on their faces. Love Harleys, but wouldn't trade my bike for one. I can't wait for the weather to warm a little...I can hear the big boy getting restless as I type.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dennis Carlson

Stephens City, Virginia

Reviewed on 2004-12-27

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 2000

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought it in the middle of October and rolled up 2400 miles before the 1st of December. I added the windshield first and followed with the lowers to stop the buffeting. What everyone is saying about the hard seat is true. 45 minutes is about all you can take before you start squirming. I just installed the Mustang saddle and can't wait for the weather to improve to try it out. The engine seems to get stronger every time I ride and I am impressed with the total lack of mechanical noise.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ootman

The Woodlands, Texas

Reviewed on 2004-11-12

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 2000

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Just got my 2004 Vulcan in deep Purple. Used to ride a Honda 1100 Shadow and was worried about the added weight. The Vulcan handles as well as the Spirit even though it is 200 lbs heavier! The Vulcan is the ultimate cruiser! More power than you will ever need, outstanding look and all the components, fit & finish so far are of excellent quality. Lots of bike for the money. When you crank the throttle on this baby you better hold on! Already replaced the passsenger seat with the Kawasaki upgrade and the wife loves it (she sits much higher). Added the Engine guards and passenger floorboards. The Kawasaki sissy bar and luggage carrier are top quality and make the passenger's ride outstanding. Adding a PowerCommander this weekend. Still waiting for more choices on aftermarket exhaust.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

George McCormick

Tyngsboro, Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2004-10-08

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 2000

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The only bad sticking point to this bike is the seats. The passenger seat absolutely sucks and the riders' is not much better. I rode 25 miles when I first bought this bike and my butt hurt. It took me exactly 2 days to order Mustang Wide Touring seats. The bike now is fantastic. What else can I say about it? The kickstand is too short so it is a bit more to pick up off the stand than most bikes...but livable. I won't say the good points because the rest is all good.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 1 - 10 of 34 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: